Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Taking a Break

yarra-bridge-river-southbank-melbourne

It has been a very rewarding week, especially as some things come to a close and new things start. Something that has been going on in my families life hopefully reached closure and with the new magazine starting something new to look forward to. In between all that I’ve also been getting out to take photos, which is always fantastic.

I know I keep going on about them, but I’ve been out with my new Formatt Hitech filters again.  Yesterday for Monochrome Madness I showed you a photo taken in the city last weekend with the Firecrest 16 ND filter, well I have two more photos to show you from that day as well.

I also have a photo from Marysville.  I went there again on Monday and found more waterfalls.  I will do a post on the weekend of my trips there, but I did put a photo up on Social Media, so I thought I would show it to you today as well. It is of the Taggerty Cascade Waterfalls and was taken using the Formatt Hitech ND grad 0.9 filter, though I only used the dark area.

I am going to leave it there today.  It is windy and cloudy here today, so I might sneak out and take some photos of some dead trees.  I hope you get to have a peaceful day as well.

22 Comments
  1. wow lovely shots, love that black and white one 🙂

    May 28, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, thought you would like that one. 🙂

      May 28, 2015
  2. wow!! beautiful capture and enjoy a your break and have a wonderful Thursday, Leanne.

    May 28, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, I will, it’s nice to have a relaxing day.

      May 28, 2015
  3. Stunning images! the B & W is superb

    May 28, 2015
  4. gorgeous. the depth of tone is just fantastic, love the deep rich velvety quality. very very lovely

    May 28, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, that’s great, I love photographing the city, so it’s good to see that the images reflect that.

      May 28, 2015
      • I’ll have to experiment with filters at some point, later! They seem like they really add Depth. And THANKS! You did inspire me to get 2 lenses: 50mm 1.8 Canon & 100mm f2.8L Canon. now, with the 50mm I see some photo improvements over the kit lens 🙂 will play with macro next week…

        May 29, 2015
      • They are a lot of fun, I started with a Cokin ND8 and worked my way up from there. A polarizer can be good too. YOu’re welcome, so happy to help, when I can. I have a 50mm, but I rarely use it. I do like my zooms, but we are all different. that great that you’ve seen improvements already. Go forth and have fun Debi.

        May 29, 2015
      • I have an ancient polarizer, not sure yet it fits. I just splurged on the canon EF 100mm f1.8L macro AND Lightroom 6 ! Seeing all the REALLY Good Photography like yours… is inspiring. and …Motivational! 🙂

        June 1, 2015
      • You won’t know until you try Deb, just give it a go and see you go with it. I have to say, I think looking at the work of other photos is just that too, you get some much inspiration. 🙂

        June 1, 2015
  5. Three stunning photos. Love the Marysville one and great job with it. What a smooth image and it looks divine. Going out with the camera is always fun, isn’t it. You sort of know what you want to take photos of, but sometimes when you get to a spot there are so many other things to shoot. You never really know 😀 Glad to hear things are going along well in the family and that the magazine is coming along. Exciting times for you ahead indeed. Work hard, Leanne 😀

    May 28, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel. It is fun, the city I usually know what I’m going to do, but Marysville has been wonderful, I’ve been three times in as many weeks and every time I go I see something different and we know there is still far more to see. Yes, it has been a very good week for our family. Yes, exciting and a little overwhelming, I hope I’m up to it. Thanks again Mabel. 😀

      May 28, 2015
  6. Filters are fun!! I’m reading your post on my phone now, but I’ll check it out on a proper screen later.

    May 28, 2015
    • They are Cardinal, I’m really enjoying mine and seeing what I can do with them. Thanks.

      May 29, 2015
  7. There is an almost ethereal quality there.
    Good to read about things going well!

    May 29, 2015
    • Thank you Colonialist, it has been a long drawn out process, but we have had a good result and ending.

      May 29, 2015
  8. Beautiful!

    May 29, 2015
  9. B&W my favorite Leanne!

    May 30, 2015
    • I think a few others are with your there Mary. Thank you.

      May 30, 2015

Comments are closed.

