Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Fungi Around Marysville

In the last few weeks I’ve been to Marysville three times with a friend. The first time it was raining so the only photos I took were with my phone.  The second time was lovely, but we think we might have got there too late in the day. We did find a lovely waterfall, but we also wanted to do some photographs of the mushrooms and the fungi, but it was too dark.  Then the last time we went I put the macro on the camera while we walking around and I took lots of photos.

It is incredible how many different types there are.  Then there are also other small things to take photos of. I had so much fun.  I had to delete a lot of photos as the lighting wasn’t great, but I am happy with the ones I got. It is something I would like to do more of. Rainforests are so interesting and there are things to take photos of everywhere you look, especially after all the rain we’ve had.

I am just going to put them all into a gallery for you today.  I don’t know what any of them are, I just think they look pretty. The weather is mixed here this weekend, I hope you fair better where you are and get to take some wonderful photos.

77 Comments
  1. Great photos!

    May 30, 2015
  2. Loved this series, Leanne! Thanks so much for it! Hope you are having a terrific weekend! Best to you, the girls, and your husband! 🙂

    May 30, 2015
    • You’re welcome Fabio, they are funny things, and who knew there were so many different ones. Thank you, my weekend just started, but it looks like a busy one. 🙂 You have a good one too.

      May 30, 2015
  3. The fungi is beautiful, Leanne.

    May 30, 2015
  4. Wonderful images. I love finding fungi when we are out for an explore. I have, however, yet to take a decent photo of any of them. There is a real skill to it that I have not yet mastered but which you certainly have.

    May 30, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, it is very hard to do, the light is so bad because of the trees. I did have to throw out quite a few and some of these, a couple anyway, aren’t quite in focus, but being small you can’t tell, so shh don’t tell anyone. 😉

      May 30, 2015
  5. Very nice selection of photos!

    May 30, 2015
  6. These are some very interesting pictures of fugi. When I am out looking for some to photograph I never see any. Great pictures.

    May 30, 2015
    • The best time to go is just after a lot of rain Sonya, if it’s dry you won’t see many. We’ve had a lot of rain lately so the rainforests are very wet. Thank you.

      May 30, 2015
  7. I really like the fungi photos–a combination of my biologist interests and training and, of course, photography. Really cool

    May 30, 2015
    • They are really cool, I can’t get over how many different ones there are, and in a relatively small area. Incredible, the macro is a great for this. Thank you.

      May 30, 2015
  8. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The variety is amazing to see and your detail is stunning. 🙂

    May 30, 2015
    • Thank you Jackie, it is amazing, I want to go back and do more. 🙂

      May 30, 2015
  9. Gorgeous photos! 🙂

    May 30, 2015
  10. steveo #

    Pretty!

    May 30, 2015
  11. anita ibeakanma #

    Reblogged this on Anita.com.

    May 30, 2015
  12. Absolutely fantastic!

    May 30, 2015
  13. Amy #

    Love this beautiful mushroom collection. Great captures, Leanne!

    May 30, 2015
  14. They are so beautiful *_*

    May 30, 2015
  15. RMW #

    Lovely photos…. fungi are amazing plants.

    May 30, 2015
  16. Amazing, Leanne. I love fungi too and have occasionally photographed them, but not really done anything with them until I started blogging and I’ve used a couple of photos. Fungi are so mysterious–most of us don’t know much about them, perhaps that is why they are interesting. Your photos are beautiful!

    May 30, 2015
    • They are, I think so too, so weird and funny little things. I do love taking photos of them, and then once you start finding them, you see them everywhere. Thank you Ardysez.

      May 30, 2015
  17. Fantastic capture especially in the dark but you have manage to catch the beautiful lighting on the mushroom and fungi creating the beauty of these tiny wild life..

    May 30, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, it is hard down photos in those conditions, just have to click and hope you get something. I love photographing fungi, they are so interesting.

      May 30, 2015
  18. Great series Leanne!

    May 30, 2015
  19. I love a fungus shot. You found a lot.

    May 30, 2015
    • Me too Tootlepedal, I know, we couldn’t believe how many there were, and there were more, but the photos didn’t come out.

      May 30, 2015
  20. These are beautiful images Leanne – we visited Marysville the year after the fires and the rainforest driving into the town was of course so devastated. The mood that day was so sombre I just couldn’t focus on anything but the sadness that pervaded, but driving back down to Healesville I would have loved to stop and walk into the forest and take it all in. I imagine the regrowth by now is phenomenal. Wes

    May 30, 2015
    • It is Wes, Marysville has grown so much. I will try and take photos of the town the next time I am there for you. I first went there a couple of months after and it was so devastating. It has been wonderful seeing it come back to life in the last few years. thank you Wes.

      May 30, 2015
  21. I love fungi. They are so interesting. Great photos.

    May 30, 2015
    • I think so too, so little and so intricate. Thanks Raewyn.

      May 30, 2015
  22. You make fungi look like art 🙂 Great shots!

    May 30, 2015
    • thank you Tiny, lovely compliment. 🙂

      May 30, 2015
  23. A great variety! Love the shots!

    May 30, 2015
  24. Ahh, looks like you were in a forest like where I live 🙂 Beautiful fungi finds, they are such interesting shapes. I can only image how fun they must be to see from a macro lens. Beautiful Leanne, looks like fun!!

    May 30, 2015
    • Yes, I’m sure it is very similar Carrie, I love them, they are so interesting, so much to see. It is fantastic through a macro lens, I love it, did I say that already. Thank you Carrie.

      May 30, 2015
      • I understand your enthusiasm. I love them too. 🙂

        May 31, 2015
      • You’d be able to get some good macros with your camera wouldn’t you? 🙂

        May 31, 2015
      • I think so, although I still feel like I can’t get as close as I want to with my new camera. For the most part, I really like it, some things that are small just don’t come out as sharp as I would like. That could have more to do with me hand holding my camera though. Still trying to get a feel for it 🙂

        May 31, 2015
      • It is amazing how still you have to be, I just take several shots one after the other and hope that something will be in focus, LOL. It is still pretty amazing how close you can get and don’t forget most macros you see are cropped, I cropped quite a few of these.

        May 31, 2015
      • Thank you for being so honest! I had no idea. I thought I was doing something wrong. I have this little routine, reminds me of when I used to go step in the batter’s box playing softball, with my breathing to slow everything down so I stay steady. I need to get the Manual Focus figured out, I know that will help too. When it all works, this camera does take crisp, great photos…still on the learning curve 🙂 Do you think that is the case, cropped images I mean, for just the petal edges of a flower? I have yet to figure out how to take them with any clarity.

        May 31, 2015
      • You’re welcome Carrie, it is a hard thing to do, especially hand holding, of course using a tripod would make it easier, but then that is a whole other thing. I don’t use manual focus, my eye sight isn’t that good. I think many people do crop them, some people have equipment that will allow them to get that close, I don’t, so I crop, not always, but sometimes. A steady hand Carrie, or a tripod. If you really want to do shots like that, you will figure out how, believe me. go forth and experiment Carrie 🙂

        May 31, 2015
  25. I love the pretty little pink lamp shades!

    May 30, 2015
    • Thanks Gypsy, they are very pretty.

      May 30, 2015
  26. Awesome. Scenes of “Lord of the Fungi”. A look into a fantasy world. Reinhold

    May 30, 2015
    • I love that Reinhold, it is a bit like that. Thank you.

      May 30, 2015
  27. lovely series! these are very interesting and creative – cool 🙂

    May 30, 2015
  28. You’ve entered the fairy universe Leanne!! I love these!!

    May 31, 2015
    • I know what you mean Cybele, I was looking for them. Thank you.

      May 31, 2015
  29. Magic! I love pics of fungi …

    May 31, 2015
  30. What an amazing collection of photographs. I waited till I could really appreciate them!

    May 31, 2015
  31. Great collection Leanne

    June 1, 2015
  32. Incredibly beautiful series. Such great colours, contrast and textures throughout. Simply stunning!!

    June 1, 2015
    • Thank you Mark, mushrooms are great to photograph for exactly those reasons.

      June 1, 2015
      • And so tasty to eat…..so many varieties make very interesting compliments to a dish.

        June 1, 2015
      • I have to admit, I have really only tasted the normal ones from the supermarket, wouldn’t have any idea which of those you could eat or couldn’t. I do like them though.

        June 1, 2015
  33. Lovely …like a fairytale☆☆

    June 17, 2015

Comments are closed.

