Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Waterfalls Around Marysville

marysville-waterfalls-rainforest-3-1025

As  I said yesterday I have been to Marysville a few times lately and while photographing the fungi was fun, we were also there to photograph some other things.  One thing that I am starting to discover is that there are so many waterfalls around that area. Every time we go we find a new one.  They are all marked and there are maps to follow.  It is also so nice to see it all regenerating after the 2009 firestorms that went through the area.

The second time we went we really only went to Keppel Falls. On the way back to town we stopped at the bottom of Phantom Falls and took some photos of Taggerty River before heading back into town to find somewhere for dinner. After dinner we headed up to Keppel Lookout and took some photos of the milky way.

The third time, last time, we went earlier in the morning.  We decided to try the Cumberland Walk.  That took us to the Cora Lynn Falls, then Cumberland Falls.  We headed back into town for some lunch. After lunch we went in search of Taggerty Cascades and we weren’t disappointed.

I am going to put the photos into a gallery for you now. I have put the names of the falls underneath each image so you will know where they were taken.  I hope you have been having a good weekend.  I spent a lovely time in the city today doing a One on One Photography Class. By the time we finished the weather was turning and the forecast for tomorrow isn’t great.  I have Social Snappers tomorrow and it looks like it is going to get rained out again.

53 Comments
  1. justyce1 #

    Awesome photo’s!

    May 31, 2015
  2. justyce1 #

    Reblogged this on MsTeryLady's Blog 2015 and commented:
    These are breathtaking….mentally escaping here brb lol

    May 31, 2015
  3. browniesnaps #

    I love the photos… there so unique, great post. 🙂

    May 31, 2015
    • Thank you, pretty amazing place to get photos. 🙂

      May 31, 2015
  4. Sue #

    You have some nice long-exposure shots here, Leanne

    May 31, 2015
    • Thank you Sue, the new Formatt Hitech filters really help with doing them.

      May 31, 2015
      • Sue #

        Excellent! Why the change from Lee filters?

        May 31, 2015
      • I only had one Lee filter Sue, and I kept hearing good things about the Formatt Hitech ones, so I thought, I would give them a go, they were easier to get and a better price. So far I am really enjoying using them, even thinking of getting a couple of others.

        May 31, 2015
      • Sue #

        Sounds good!

        May 31, 2015
      • They are Sue, I really recommend them.

        May 31, 2015
  5. wezlo #

    Wonderful! What technique did you use to capture the water with that sense of motion? It almost looks like it’s mist flowing downhill.

    May 31, 2015
    • I used a filter Wezlo, just a 2 or 3 stop ND filter to give me a little extra time to photograph them. I love that effect, thank you.

      May 31, 2015
      • wezlo #

        It’s very stunning, I will have to explore filters some more.

        May 31, 2015
      • Filters can be really good and I couldn’t recommend getting filters for waterfalls enough. They are fantastic for that sort of thing.

        May 31, 2015
  6. What a beautiful place….and nicely captured, Leanne.

    May 31, 2015
    • I think you would love it Scott, it is amazing, so many places to explore. Thank you.

      May 31, 2015
      • You’re welcome, Leanne….and I think I would love it, as well….I’m quite certain, actually!

        May 31, 2015
      • Yes, I am too, you would have a lot fun there.

        May 31, 2015
  7. Fantastic capture and all the waterfalls are different in the flow. It look gorgeous with the special lighting on the water. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful weekend, my friend.

    May 31, 2015
    • They are all different, which is lovely too. Thank you Cattan, you’re welcome, glad you enjoyed it, and thank you. You have a good one too.

      May 31, 2015
  8. These photos are beautiful Leanne what a nice experience. Thanks for sharing.

    May 31, 2015
    • Thank you Heather, it was a lovely experience, still more waterfalls to photograph and places to see there, so I know I will be back. You’re welcome.

      May 31, 2015
  9. Beautiful – All.

    May 31, 2015
  10. Absolutely stunning images!

    May 31, 2015
  11. Great photos Leanne

    May 31, 2015
  12. Very nice series!

    May 31, 2015
  13. Beautiful work!

    May 31, 2015
  14. jessicachayenne #

    Wow, the water looks fantastic! It’s so hard for my to expose water correctly! You’re a fabulous photographer!

    May 31, 2015
    • Thank you Jessica, it is all experience and learning what to do, I think. I know I need a slow shutter speed, so I used a filter to help me achieve that.

      May 31, 2015
      • jessicachayenne #

        I’ll keep that in mind next time I’m shooting water. Whenever someone asked me in class what shutter speed or aperture I used I was just like uhhhhhhh….because I really have no earthly clue what I’m doing most of the time.

        May 31, 2015
      • Oh no, but with time you learn all of that, though I often say the same thing, I can usually guess, but I don’t pay too much attention to it, I just want to get the shot and I have fair idea of what will give it to me. LOL

        May 31, 2015
  15. Gorgeous waterfalls. Is that a macaw in picture 16? I love the vivid red among the green.

    May 31, 2015
    • No, we don’t get those here, it is a crimson rosella I think. It really stood out in the bush. Thank you.

      May 31, 2015
  16. I love waterfalls!
    You captured them very well. Thanks, for sharing, Leanne!

    May 31, 2015
    • They are great, I think it would be hard to find someone who doesn’t love them.
      Thank you Solaner.

      May 31, 2015
  17. Loved your silky smooth waterfall images! And the red bird in the Bush 🙂

    June 1, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, the bird was a bit of a surprise. 🙂

      June 1, 2015
  18. Reblogged this on Santa's Reindeer.

    June 1, 2015
  19. nice!!!

    June 1, 2015
  20. more magic in the woods Leanne!!

    June 2, 2015
    • Oh yes, Cybele, loads more, thanks.

      June 2, 2015
  21. Gorgeous!

    June 2, 2015
  22. LB #

    Those ferns are incredible! How beautiful, Leanne.

    June 2, 2015
    • Thank you Laurie, they have really come along since the fires.

      June 2, 2015

Comments are closed.

