Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Things Decided, Things Purchased

It has been a good week, something very exciting and some things more about decisions.  It almost seems like time is racing these days.  I’m in a race and my opponent is the clock.

Planning My Trip to the US

The tickets have been purchased, so it looks like I’m definitely going.  I will be arriving on the 1st of September to San Francisco where I will be staying with a friend, and then after a week I’m to my brother-in-laws.  Very early on the 15th I sccbg-4hpm1337will be catching a flight to New York and will stay there until the 25th of September, then on another plane home.  It is quite exciting, though I have to say I am very scared of LAX, I know silly, but there you have it.

Dynamic Range

I had hoped that the first issue would be released at the end of June, but I’ve decided that the first one should be the end of July, then three months after that the next one. I don’t think I could deal with having to get an issue out as soon as I get back from the US.

I’ve had some artwork done, Julie Powell is a graphic artist and has done the following for us.

I like the first one, a touch of red.  Would love to hear what you think as well.

Camera Bags

I have got another new bag, it is a Lowepro Pro Runner 350 AW II.  It is all black and very compact.  It has quite a bit of room in it and it is the bag I will be using when I go to the US in September.  It fits my camera, and another two or three lenses.  sccbg-1487

There is a spot for my laptop, and my tripod will fit on the front. Actually my tripod doesn’t really fit it, but since I won’t be taking mine to the states, it doesn’t really matter. I am borrowing a small travel one that belongs to a friend for this trip.

It has very firm handles and makes you feel like it is a very safe bag to use. It has a waist band, a thick padded one.  I don’t really like them, but you can remove this one, so if you want it for something particular you can put it on.

I’ve used the bag a couple of times now and it is comfortable to wear and easy to use.  I think it will be the perfect bag for my trip.

Social Snappers

We had a lovely outing at the Royal Botanical Gardens in Cranbourne on Sunday. The weather was meant to be bad, sccbg-1437and it was when we got there, it was bucketing down.  We decided to start with coffee, so we went to the cafe and did that.  The rain stopped and then we had a lovely visit outside.  We managed to get around the whole thing, and I got home before it rained again. Got to meet some new people which was lovely.

I thought today I would show you the photos I took of the gardens last year.  Then when I do the photos from Sunday you can compare them.  I hope you are having good time where you are and have time to do things.

70 Comments
  1. I like the logo just as you presented it, both together! Having it show both ways gives a little more of the feeling of a dynamic range!

    Glad to see that your trip over here is taking good shape. We do have a thing or two worth photographing!

    June 2, 2015
    • Thanks for your feedback John, appreciate it, though think we will just use one, but it is an interesting idea.

      It is, no idea what I will be doing, but that’s okay, looking forward to seeing new things, and really put anything in front of me and I will photograph it, lol.

      June 2, 2015
  2. I always have fun looking for your watermarks. I eventually find them all but your second-to-last photo was especially difficult!

    June 2, 2015
    • I am going to have to think looking for harder spots, I think it’s fun, and it’s great to see that others do too, thanks for letting me know.

      June 2, 2015
  3. LAX is a major hub but no worries, you will be fine. Other smaller airports in the area are Ontario and John Wayne.

    June 2, 2015
    • Thank you John, it is good to know and so many of my friends have said similar things. I will be pleased when I get there, and change planes, and get it out of the way. That will be good. I fly from Australia to there and then to San Francisco.

      June 2, 2015
      • My wife is from Anaheim, a suburb of LA, she has been n and out of LAX so many times, no worries. 🙂 Hope your visit will be awesome!

        June 2, 2015
      • That’s good to know, very reassuring John, thank you, I’m sure it will be, the trip of a lifetime really. 🙂

        June 2, 2015
  4. An advanced welcome to the U.S.! Enjoy your stay. Though LAX is rather daunting, look on the bright side-you might get to see a few celebrities! 🙂

    June 2, 2015
    • Thank you Alexandria, I’m sure I will love being there. I might at that, that could be fun. 🙂

      June 2, 2015
  5. Hi, Leanne:
    Very exciting you will be coming to the US. Should be a great trip and if I can be of any help, just let me know. One comment on the artwork for Dynamic Range. The size difference between the two words seems to make the word “Dynamic” disappear, at least it does to me. Just one opinion, however.

    June 2, 2015
    • Thanks Robin, I hope we can catch up. It is an opinion that I will take on board, though on the magazine cover, or online thing, it will look much larger, so that should be fine, I hope. I will keep it in mind. Thanks for your feedback.

      June 2, 2015
      • No problem, Leanne. Just one opinion out of many and I have no special credentials in graphic design. Anyway, I’m glad your trip is finally set. I may be in NYC about that time, stopping for a few days enroute home from Iceland.

        June 4, 2015
      • I don’t either Robin. LOL That would be great if you were there, would love to catch up with you.

        June 4, 2015
  6. I can’t wait to see the first issue of the magazine. How exciting. I like the first header too.

    June 2, 2015
    • Thanks Carol, I hope you don’t mind that I put it back a month, I think in the long term it will work out better than way. Thanks for that.

      June 2, 2015
  7. Personally I like the big red one, for some reason the red sideways words screws with my eyes??

    Have a great trip,

    Jim

    June 2, 2015
    • Okay, thanks for your feedback Jim, not sure what we are going to do yet.
      Thank you, should be fun.

      June 2, 2015
  8. leecleland #

    Wow, you have been moving along, Leanne. Prefer the artwork with just a touch of red.

    June 2, 2015
    • Oh yes, things are happening, not sure what I’m doing half the time, lol. That’s great to hear, thanks for your feedback.

      June 2, 2015
  9. Yay! You’ve purchased your tickets, Leanne 😀 You’re so going to love San Francisco, and as for New York, well, so much to see and experience there as well! I’m actually going up next week for a few days and am really looking forward to it.

    Love the design Julie did for you. I’m partial to the first one as well – black with a touch of red seems easier on the eyes (well, my eyes at least!).

    Beautiful photos of the gardens!

    June 2, 2015
    • 😀 I know Stacy, it is really happening now. I think I will love San Francisco too, should be fantastic. Oh yes, New York will do my head in I’m sure, I can’t wait to see it. I will look forward to seeing your photos then Stacy.
      Yes, I think most people prefer the first one, interesting, the guys seem to prefer the second one and the women the first.
      Thank you Stacy, I hope we will still be able to catch up when I go.

      June 2, 2015
  10. If for some reason you get stuck on Martha’s Vineyard and need help, send me an email.

    June 2, 2015
    • I will have to remember that Tom, thanks for the offer.

      June 2, 2015
  11. Personally, I prefer the first one though I think the second looks more feminine.. They both look great though 🙂

    June 2, 2015
    • Thanks Livonne, it is interesting, most women like the first one and the blokes like the second one. 😀

      June 2, 2015
  12. Great photos Leanne, cant wait to compare with your recent ones. re Dynamic range, I’m with you the touch of red is great, too much red has too much impact on the one word 🙂 Looking good!

    June 2, 2015
    • Thanks Kaz, I suspect they will be very similar. I like the touch, and agree with what you said about the other one. 🙂

      June 2, 2015
  13. Maybe alternate the header……….red one month, black the next! Depends on what image is behind it as well. Just adding in my 2 cents 🙂

    June 2, 2015
  14. Both together it is 🙂

    June 2, 2015
    • Someone else suggested that. 🙂

      June 2, 2015
  15. Lovely images, Leanne. I’m certainly looking forward to the set of photos on Sunday, sure I won’t be disappointed. Julie’s work on the logo looks great. Prefer the first one. Though red is an eye-catching colour, it sort of looks rather bold in the second one. Like the simplicity of the design too, it speaks for itself with those two words.

    Glad to hear that you are happy with your Lowepro Pro purchase. Exciting when you get new stuff 😀 I’ve been mulling about buying a new camera bag for myself a while. Hoping to get one that is both practical and doesn’t scream “camera bag” when I’m out. I have a a Lowepro camera bag, one of the smaller ones, and I really want to get a bigger one where I can fit other things like notebooks in it. Quite hesitant about buying online since I like to have a feel of bags before I buy them.

    Looks like all systems go for your trip to the US.How exciting. When the time comes to enjoy the trip, don’t miss us 😀 I’m doing well, time off work for a while so that is amazing. Pity the weather isn’t too good but that means times indoors to write 🙂

    June 2, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, it will be interesting to see how they come out. She did a great job with the logo, I’m really happy with it. I agree, I like the little bit of red.

      I am happy. There are bags that don’t look them, but it isn’t something that bothers me, I usually have my camera around my neck anyway. You should try Vanbars in Fitzroy, they have lots of different brands and makes.

      They certainly are, I’m excited about going now, the planning has to start now. I am sure I will enjoy it. 😀 That great to hear, writing is good, I’ve been doing quite a bit of it myself. 😀

      June 2, 2015
      • Can’t wait to see the first issue. Won’t mind paying the subscription fee either as I’m sure the content will be top notch 😀

        Thank you for the recommendation. Vanbars have a website. I’ll have a browse there. Love exploring the options out there.

        Good luck with your Banyule Flats book. Everything’s coming together 😀

        June 2, 2015
      • That’s great to hear Mabel. I am hoping for good things.
        You’re welcome, I go there all the time.
        Thanks for that, it should be good, it is time to start moving on it.

        June 2, 2015
  16. I love all the shapes and the water from your pics from last year! I really like the logo. The one with the touch of red is my favorite. The only thing I noticed about that one was that the shadow beneath might be toned down a bit so that it is a bit easier to read the word “dynamic” more easily. I’m on my iPhone 6 plus so it’s smaller proportion which could make a difference. Otherwise, I like the simplicity of the design and the “range” of the words. I hope that makes sense! Lol

    June 2, 2015
    • Thank you Kirsten, it is quite an amazing place for photos. I like that version of the logo as well. Yeah, I was thinking the same about the shadow, it is a bit strong. It is a nice design, Julie did a good job. It all makes perfect sense. LOL

      June 2, 2015
      • Julie did an amazing job on the logo! I bet it is really exciting having everything coming together for the magazine. Im really looking forward to your debut issue :-).

        June 2, 2015
      • She is Kirsten, I wish, I am a bit nervous about it, bit worried I’ve taken on too much. I hope it will be great. 🙂

        June 2, 2015
      • I know it will be great. But I understand the nervousness – new projects seem riddled with nerves. The good news is that once you get one publication under your belt you can decide what is too much. Maybe you make it a twice a year magazine. Maybe less writing, more photos. If there is anything I can do to make your load a little less let me know. I’m good at content editing – in regards to writing. I’m also good with time management (when it come’s to projects with deadlines) and organization. It’s kind of my day job 🙂

        June 3, 2015
      • Yes, I think also because nothing ever seems to work that I try, I think I’m really nervous that this will be another one of those. I really want this to happen and I want it to be successful. I think you are right, get the first one out and then decide what is enough. I think I can do every 3 months, it is getting it into a routine, I think that’s what I need. That’s a good idea, though I am hoping I won’t have to do too much writing, just one article from me, and hopefully lots of others from some other amazing people. I will keep that in mind KIrsten. I am hopeless at time management. I just go with the flow and don’t around to things, haha. Maybe we should talk 🙂

        June 3, 2015
  17. FWIW I’d go for the black logo with a teensy touch of red 🙂

    Amazing photos as usual :).

    Greetings from Germany, Jan.

    June 2, 2015
    • Thank you Jan, and it is worth a lot, all opinions are good. 🙂
      Thanks so much.

      June 2, 2015
  18. The word ‘dynamic’ is easier to read in black but the range in red is a bit much perhaps! Amazing gardens; most unusual. Funny how they kept incorprating your name into the design. 😉

    June 2, 2015
    • Interesting RJ, will have to look at that. The gardens are really amazing, it is nice going there. OMG I’m thick, I was trying to work out what you meant, but I get it, it is funny, LOL, 🙂 Thanks.

      June 2, 2015
  19. I love your social snappers idea and wonder how you got something like that kicked off. It is always great to gather with others for ideas and tips!.

    Logo wise I like the first one with a touch of red.

    June 2, 2015
    • When I work that out I will let you know, they haven’t been that successful at this stage.
      That’s great, thanks for the feedback.

      June 2, 2015
  20. Great job on the logo .. I like the both! How exciting Leanne .. Tickets bought .. And the countdown is on 😄

    June 2, 2015
    • Wonderful Julie, and yes very exciting, almost can’t believe it. LOL. Thank you.

      June 2, 2015
  21. I’m still using my original Lowepro Pro Runner; it’s suffered years of general abuse and stood up to it really well. I’m sure you’ll be pleased with yours – and have a great trip!

    June 2, 2015
    • That’s great to hear Noeline, seems I got a quality bag. Thank you.

      June 2, 2015
  22. dalleninabq #

    I agree that the first version, with Dynamic in red, seems more powerful. But Range in solid black seems something . . . I wonder how the word might look with a fade or different angle/perspective?? And glad to hear you are making your way to the US. I hope to make my way to Australia, as well!

    June 2, 2015
    • I think originally we had the Range in white and it might have looked better that way as well. It might have to change depending on what is on the cover of the mag. Yes, should be a fun trip, I’m looking forward to it. I hope you get to come to Australia, lots of great stuff here to take photos of, especially in Melbourne. Thanks.

      June 3, 2015
  23. All sounds exciting for you.

    Needn’t worry about LAX, not unless switching airline that’s located in one terminal for another in a different terminal. As my wife would say, wear sensible shoes. No sandals, not unless you like walking with one on and the other lost somewhere. 🙂

    In NYC, a friend says the must visit is the 9-11 Memorial at the World Trade Center. She said don’t let the somberness of the site overwhelm you. There’s a lot of positive there as well – resiliency. The admission to the observation deck in the Freedom Tower at 1 WTC is $35US, a tad pricey in the friend’s opinion but may be worth it. She’s waiting for the novelty of the observation deck to wear off.

    June 3, 2015
    • It is David, a new adventure.
      Oh no, I will have to switch terminals I think, international to domestic, but I will wear sensible shoes and hopefully I will know exactly where I am going by the time I get there. I will remember no sandals.

      I think we plan on going there, not sure, I haven’t heard of the freedom Tower but the $35 does sound like a lot, $45 Australian, so it is a lot, I hope the views are worth it. Maybe if people don’t go they will put the price down. The problem with going to touristy things, we have here all the time, if they think they can make money from tourists, then they charge heaps. Thanks David.

      June 3, 2015
      • I’m sure you’ll do fine if you have to switch terminals at LAX. There’s plenty of help for travelers there.

        The Freedom Tower is the new building that replaced the Twin Towers. I’ve only seen the news reports about the observation deck at the Freedom Tower. They said the view is magnificent, being able to see about 50 miles in every direction. They also have the 9-11 Museum. My friend hasn’t done the museum tour because of the reservation backlog.

        June 3, 2015
      • Someone was saying that as soon as people there hear me speak they will help me because they will like my accent, I don’t know how true that is, guess I will find out.

        Sounds interesting, though I have to admit the observation deck I really want to go to Empire State Building, iconic that one. I want to be able to say I’ve been up there. I know probably dorky, but there you have it.

        June 3, 2015
  24. I actually like both the logos together. Much more interesting. You would have some interesting photos after the rain.

    June 3, 2015
    • A couple of others said the same thing, but I don’t know. Thank you, I suspect the new photos will look very similar to these. Time will tell.

      June 3, 2015
  25. The design of Dynamic Range (shown twice) is according to my opinion very good. It is definitely an eye catcher with its alternating colors.

    June 3, 2015
    • You aren’t the first to think that Peter, not sure myself. Thank you for your feedback.

      June 3, 2015
  26. I thought it was one logo all together like that and really liked it. I’m hard-pressed to choose one or the other. If I’m choosing, I like the one on the right. Dynamic really pops in the black. Cheers!

    June 9, 2015
    • You aren’t the only one Elen, I think lots of people thought that. Thanks for your feedback.

      June 9, 2015

Comments are closed.

