Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays – Looking at Time

melbourne-southbank-bridge-sculpture

It’s been a productive week and I’ve managed to get quite a few things done.  I’m feeling less stressed which is great, and I’ve been keeping to my plan of working at home on certain days. I can feel myself getting a grip on things.  Now I just need to work on the blog some more and get some more posts done ahead of time.

Last weekend I was in the city taking some photos and some of the shots I really liked.  I haven’t done a lot to many of them, but I did play around with a couple for you for today.  I will do more soon.

Here are the ones I worked on.  The sky was lovely, lots of clouds rushing by, but more on those in a minute.

Speaking of clouds rushing by I decided to have a go at doing some time lapse photography. So I set up my camera to take a series of images over 10 minutes.  When I got home I played around with them and got this short time lapse video.

Then I noticed some clouds reflected in a building and so had to do another one.

Take a look, you might see more moving than you expect.

On Sunday when we went to Cranbourne for Social Snappers again I noticed the clouds and thought, why not do another one.  This one was done over 15 minutes.

They are all very short. They were fun to do, and I love watching how the world rushes past.  I will be out again this morning, all in the schedule.  I hope you have a great time and quiet time today.

60 Comments
  1. dreamymichaela #

    Hi Leanne! Your post of photos and time-lapse were the first thing I saw, when I got on – such a treat! So fascinating how clouds can create such a solemn and/or ominous mood (in your photos) and help change the landscape effect (in your time-lapse). I enjoyed your time-lapse….my favourite is the second one, where the clouds are so well reflected in those skyscraper windows and they dance and draw you in….as well as watching the water moving in the foreground. 🙂

    June 4, 2015
    • Thank you, I loved doing the time lapse, something a bit different.Clouds are wonderful, I do love them. I was doing the first one series of shots of the bridge and I noticed that you could see the clouds moving in the building, so I had to apologize to the person I was with and say that I had to do another one, it was worth it. 🙂

      June 4, 2015
      • dreamymichaela #

        Ahhh….that’s why. Well, sometimes those second ones are the extra good finds. Certainly worth it. How do you set up time lapse on your camera?

        June 4, 2015
      • They are, you have time to looks around while the first one is happening. I have a special setting on my camera that lets me take photos at certain intervals, most Nikons have them.

        June 4, 2015
      • dreamymichaela #

        Ahhh…..hmmm….. I mostly use my Canon, but I also bought a used Nikon from a photography buddy a little while ago, and I still have to learn my way around with it. I wonder if it has that feature, too? That would be cool!

        June 4, 2015
      • You will have to have a look, you could do it manually, or get a intervalometer.

        June 4, 2015
      • dreamymichaela #

        Thanks for the tip, Leanne. Put that on my to-do list. 🙂

        June 5, 2015
      • You’re welcome, gotta love a to-do list 😀

        June 5, 2015
      • dreamymichaela #

        And especially if I refer to it more regularly…. 🙂

        June 5, 2015
      • LOL I know just what you mean. 🙂

        June 5, 2015
  2. really nice images you have there!

    June 4, 2015
    • Thank you.

      June 4, 2015
      • I just love that time-lapse, especially with the reflection in the building 🙂

        June 4, 2015
      • That’s great to hear, I love that one too, thank you. 🙂

        June 4, 2015
  3. The time lapse videos are so much fun to watch. When I was in Tokyo I met a man who told me about an app called Hyperlapse which does a similar thing on your phone. I haven’t tried it yet.

    June 4, 2015
    • Sounds like you might have to Carol, I really enjoyed doing these and putting them together, quite mesmerizing. Thank you.

      June 4, 2015
  4. Great time lapse recordings. Might have to add this to my wish list on future Skype session with you! Love the one with the reflection of clouds in the buildings!

    June 4, 2015
    • It was very easy to do Chris, I was researching an easy way to do them for an post/article. I love that one too, definitely my favourite. Thanks Chris.

      June 4, 2015
  5. I’ve never tried time lapse Leanne, but I’m not surprised that you have. 😀 You’ve always been such an inspiration to me, even though I still have my old, limping along laptop that’s too old for the needed software to be creative. Still love checking your site every chance I get.

    June 4, 2015
    • I’ve done them before, they are acutally very easy to do. Thank you Keli, that is so lovely of you to say, I’m sure you are creative, I’ve seen it, and we all do things the best we can. 😀

      June 4, 2015
  6. Very successful.

    June 4, 2015
  7. I love watching time lapse videos. Your clouds were so amazing to watch.

    June 4, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, I’m with you, they are mesmerizing.

      June 4, 2015
  8. These are great Leanne, so cool! I did a little time lapse of the Story Bridge with a city cat going past but it was dark so no clouds. Your clouds are amazing! The Cranbourne one is striking because it looks like the clouds are so low – like a lid on the earth. Very impressive.

    June 4, 2015
    • Thank you Desley, they are fun to do. While I was walking around the city all I could notice were the clouds and how fast they were moving. It really was the perfect day for them. It is like that, for the Cranbourne ones, they look like they were just above my head.

      June 4, 2015
      • Very cool. I have to find time and a spot to do this too. Last time was just with my iPhone…

        June 4, 2015
      • Maybe we can all do them, they are fun. I hope find a spot and time to do one Desley.

        June 4, 2015
      • 😄 thanks Leanne!

        June 4, 2015
      • 😀

        June 5, 2015
  9. Really liking your time lapses, how…..? 🙂

    June 4, 2015
  10. Wonderfully fun videos, Leanne! I’ve never done a time lapse. In fact, I’d have to research how to do it and then how to turn it into a video. You always give me things to think about! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    June 4, 2015
    • Thank you Stacy, glad you thought they were fun. I love doing them from time to time. That’s great that I give you ideas, though, just a heads up a tutorial on how is in the pipeline. 🙂

      June 4, 2015
  11. A good heads-up for me as well. I’ve barely got into videos let alone time lapse but I should at least have it all worked out.

    June 4, 2015
    • I haven’t done much with video, too complicated, but I like time lapse they are relatively easy to do. You should have a go.

      June 4, 2015
  12. love the time lapses Leanne!!! There are some fantastic nature ones on youtube!! you inspire me! I want to try those too!!

    June 4, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, I’ve seen some amazing one, they are very cool. I might have to try some more.

      June 4, 2015
  13. I particularly like the last one where the movement seems only to be in the sky while the (living) landscape is mostly so still. The type of cloud and their slightly slower motion contributes to a sense of peace

    June 4, 2015
    • That’s interesting, I thought people might find that one the most boring, but that’s great if you like it. I like how long the clouds seems. Thank you.

      June 4, 2015
  14. Amanda #

    Leanne the time lapse videos looks fabulous. Unfortunately my camera doesn’t have the same feature to take a photo every few seconds. Hope you are staying warm

    June 4, 2015
    • You could just do it yourself Amanda, time it and just take the photos. It is a bit more tedious but it can be done. Give it a go. Thanks Amanda

      June 4, 2015
  15. I love the time lapse photography

    June 4, 2015
  16. You are always so busy Leanne! Love the 2nd video with the reflection in the glass ..

    June 6, 2015
    • Or I just put on a good show of seeming to be busy, LOL. These were actually very easy to do, and you can do them very quickly. Thanks Julie.

      June 6, 2015

Comments are closed.

