Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Morning Along Port Phillip Bay

portphillipbay-beaumaris-bay-water-sunrise

The other morning a friend and I decided we would go out and take some photos at some bays that I’ve been to lately. We read that the forecast was going to be cloud increasing with showers in the afternoon, so it sounded like a good chance for a sunrise. So at six am my friend picked me up and I have to say I was shocked when I walked outside, it was 3.7ºC, which is 38ºF, really cold, cold for Australia anyway.  I don’t like that cold.

portphillipbay-beaumaris-bay-water-sunrise-3

First of all we went to a bay in Beaumaris as we thought it could be a good spot for a sunrise and we weren’t disappointed. The sunrise was also nice, not spectacular, but okay.  There was something there to work with.  I took photos around the piers using my Formatt Hitech and Cokin Filters.

melbourne-pied-cormorant-bay-2

After Beaumaris we headed to Davey’s Bay just past Frankston.  My friend wanted to go there and check it out. It might be nice for a sunrise, but by the time we got there the sun was too high and it was too bright to get any good shots, especially for long exposures.

When we got there there were some Pied Cormorants sitting on the end of the pier sunning themselves. We got as close as we could to them. I put on the Tamron 70-200mm 2.8 lens that Maxwell International Australia have lent me to try out.  I think the shots it took were pretty good.

brighton-beach-boxes-melbourne-5

We had some breakfast in Frankston and then thought we might stop at the Brighton Beach to look at the beach boxes. It is amazing how many people go to them to take photos. It was very hard to get any shots without people in front of them.

I’ve been there once before, but my friend hadn’t been there before. Being there in the morning isn’t a good time to take photos.  The last time I went was in the afternoon, and they weren’t so shaded.  I think these boxes are among the most expensive real estate in Melbourne, if you want to own one you have to fork out a lot of money.

It was a very cold morning with a very icy wind blowing, but the sun was shining.  As we headed home the clouds came rolling in and within an hour or so the rain set in.

I have a gallery for you now, a few more photos from the morning.  It is the start of the weekend here, a long one at that, and weather wise, could be good, maybe some bad.  I hope you have a good weekend planned, maybe lots of photography in there as well.

65 Comments
  1. Wow! These are very beautiful shots. Such wide shades of colors captured so vividly.

    June 6, 2015
    • Thank you, I think sometimes it is worth turning away from the sun and seeing what else is happening.

      June 6, 2015
  2. Such beautiful photos Leanne. I love the ones of the pier. Your work is truly artistic.

    June 6, 2015
    • Thank you Colline, I mean really thank you.

      June 6, 2015
  3. Sue #

    Love those piers!

    June 6, 2015
    • A new spot for me Sue, I’m sure you will see these piers again. Thanks.

      June 6, 2015
      • Sue #

        I love them…almost worth travelling the distance to Australia for!

        June 6, 2015
      • Sounds like a plan Sue, you come and I will take you there. 🙂

        June 6, 2015
      • Sue #

        🙂

        June 6, 2015
  4. Hey Leanne .. Great shots. Melb looking fabulous ..

    June 6, 2015
    • It is looking good, I love Melbourne in winter, well not when it’s raining, but the rest of the time. Thanks.

      June 6, 2015
  5. Reblogged this on .

    June 6, 2015
  6. I do love those beach boxes. Beautiful shots.

    June 6, 2015
    • Thanks Elen, the beach boxes are becoming a big attraction, there are so many of them down there.

      June 6, 2015
  7. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Those beach houses/beach boxes were adorable; they are fun and colorful. I like the piers, too. Very nice, well done.

    June 6, 2015
    • They are fun Jackie and very popular, Thank you, the piers is what we went out to take, and the boxes added fun.

      June 6, 2015
  8. Love the cormorants. Sorry about the chill.

    June 6, 2015
    • Thanks Tootlepedal, chill to be expected, winter is definitely here.

      June 6, 2015
  9. Yesterday I took my social snappers group to Pakowhai park and we froze and that was during the day. We got some great shots though. I think our temperature only got to 11 degrees celsius all day.
    Great photos though.

    June 6, 2015
    • It was the same here Raewyn, didn’t get over 10 much, but that is unusual for us, doesn’t normally get that cold, well not quite, I imagine you experience it there all the time. Glad the group went well and you got some great shots. Thanks

      June 6, 2015
  10. Beautiful as always Leanne.

    June 6, 2015
  11. Love the piers – spectacular shots – and the bathing boxes with their bright colours are fun!

    June 6, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, have you been to the beach boxes?

      June 6, 2015
      • No I haven’t! On the to do list😊

        June 6, 2015
      • Will have to see if we can get it off the list.

        June 6, 2015
  12. A great range of colors and feelings. I also loved the pier shot, but I loved the beach boxes too. A very successful morning shoot!

    June 6, 2015
    • Thank you, it was a very successful morning for us, it is nice when that happens.

      June 6, 2015
  13. I love the beach boxes. Beautiful set of photos 🙂

    June 6, 2015
    • Thanks Livonne, the beach boxes are very popular. 🙂

      June 6, 2015
  14. I love the sunrise. You are dedicated going out for the sunrise. My favorite today is of the pair of cormorants.

    June 6, 2015
    • Thanks Nicci, it was a good sunrise, nice to get something. The birds were a lovely surprise.

      June 6, 2015
  15. I love the birds with wings extended–they look almost transparent with the sun shining on them. Very lovely, Leanne. Sorry your froze in the process!

    June 6, 2015
    • They were all doing when we first got there, but we were too far away, and as we crept up to them they stopped. It was lovely seeing them do that. Thank you Lois, we didn’t freeze too much, what’s that saying, makes you feel alive.

      June 6, 2015
  16. Just so beautiful! All of them.

    June 6, 2015
  17. Nice one… Very very nice

    June 6, 2015
  18. poppytump #

    Lovely morning sky for your shots Leanne … three piers !! *envious 🙂
    Many beach huts over here have been owned by the same families for years and are eagerly sought after when up for sale !
    Love that different skyline view of Melbourne across the sands .

    June 6, 2015
    • It was Poppytump, yes three, not many places you get that here as well.
      I don’t know if they stay with families here, but they cost a lot to buy, I was reading somewhere that recently one or two went for over $200,000 so don’t think I will be buying one soon.
      Thank you, I like that, it is hard to get, I keep trying. 🙂

      June 6, 2015
  19. We call them beach huts over here and they are also very expensive!

    June 6, 2015
    • They get called that here too, but I think they mostly known as boxes, though I could be wrong. Yes, very expensive, I was just saying that a couple sold recently for over two hundred thousand dollars. Crazy.

      June 6, 2015
  20. Great Clicks…! Awesome photography.. I really apperciate your Photography… keep your passion awoke… Leanne!

    June 6, 2015
  21. Great shots Leanne! I love the colors of the little beach boxes.

    June 6, 2015
    • Thank you Debby, those beach boxes are so cool and they are all different.

      June 6, 2015
  22. Ah morning. My favorite time of day. Lovely work.

    June 6, 2015
  23. Reblogged this on HYE HOPE.

    June 6, 2015
  24. Truly s beautiful bunch!

    June 6, 2015
  25. stunning capture and such a wonderful place to wander around to take photos. Thanks for sharing, Leanne.

    June 7, 2015
    • There are so many places along the bay for photos, I should explore them a lot more. You’re welcome and thanks Cattan.

      June 7, 2015
  26. Looks like it was worth the trip!

    June 7, 2015
    • It was, very worth it, thank you.

      June 7, 2015
  27. Nice pictures.

    June 7, 2015
  28. beautiful shades in each -and loving the cormorants!!

    June 7, 2015
  29. Fantastic pictures – a pleasure to look at

    June 9, 2015
  30. Wonderful. Thank you.

    June 18, 2015

Comments are closed.

