Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Royal Botanical Gardens Cranbourne

cranbourne-royal-botanical-gardens-australia-1033

The other day I showed you some photos that I took of the Royal Botanical Garden in Cranbourne and I said I would show you some photos that I took last weekend when I went there to visit. We were there for Social Snappers and we had a great afternoon. As I was heading there it was raining. When I got there it was still raining, so we headed to the cafe and had coffee. By the time we were finished it was like this outside.

cranbourne-royal-botanical-gardens-australia-1019

Overcast, but no rain. It seemed too true to be perfect. We decided to go out and see what we could get.

The above image is the big garden you first see when you get there. You can’t go in there and can only look at it from behind a fence.

cranbourne-royal-botanical-gardens-australia-1029

There is so much to see there and if you like gardens it is a great place to wander around.  You can see what is possible, though it is also great because I think this one is more about Australia and what you can find here.

You can see that the sky was lovely and blue, we really did get lucky with the weather.

cranbourne-royal-botanical-gardens-australia-1041

You get to see some amazing things, and things that you have no idea what they are.  The above was like that for me. What is it? We all wanted to know, but none of us had any idea.  From the side it looked like a pineapple. So if you know would love to hear.

cranbourne-royal-botanical-gardens-australia-1048

There were little birds everywhere.  It was great to see them. Of course I had the wrong lens on, so I had to do what I could.  I might have to go back another time with a bigger lens.

cranbourne-royal-botanical-gardens-australia-1054

It was so amazing, it was sort of like every where you look there was something different. I think you could spend quite a bit of time there exploring everything. I might have to try that one day, go there, when the weather is better, and just take photos all around.  Maybe take a bigger lens to see if I can get the birds as well.

I have a lot more photos for you now which I’m going to show you in a gallery.  I have more photos to take today and I hope you will be doing the same this Sunday.  The weather is meant to be beautiful here so that will be nice.

49 Comments
  1. Lovely colours, especially the flowers and plants.

    June 7, 2015
    • Thank you, great place for photos.

      June 7, 2015
  2. Susan Portnoy #

    Lovely group of photos Leanne!

    June 7, 2015
  3. Whenever I read your posts and see the photos you took, I just want to move to where you live.

    I am also interested in knowing what that pineapple-looking plant is.

    June 7, 2015
    • Maybe you need to come for a visit and look around Trang, I love it here, I think it is one of the best places.
      Yes, I hope someone knows what it is, though I suppose I could write to them and ask. Thank you Trang.

      June 7, 2015
  4. woo! it look so beautiful and an awesome place for taking photos. Stunning shots even the the weather is horrible. Have a good weekend, Leanne and thanks for sharing.

    June 7, 2015
    • It is Cattan, would like to go there with my macro next time. We were very lucky with the weather. Thanks Cattan and you have a good weekend too.

      June 7, 2015
      • I would love to do so if I am in Australia. Thanks for the offer, Leanne.

        June 7, 2015
      • 🙂

        June 7, 2015
  5. Beautiful photos Leanne 😀

    June 7, 2015
  6. Those plants look like something from an alien planet to my British eye. You have done a great job capturing their shape, colour and texture.

    June 7, 2015
    • Yes, I can imagine that too, bit like that for us some of them too. Thank you, such a great place, I think I will have to go back.

      June 7, 2015
  7. A richly rewarding place to visit.

    June 7, 2015
    • Most definitely, I think you would love it Tootlepedal. Thanks

      June 7, 2015
  8. What an amazing place! I also hope to discover what the mystery plant is. Wonderful photos.

    June 7, 2015
    • I hope someone gives us a heads up too Jeanette, thank you.

      June 7, 2015
  9. Lee #

    Leanne, on that photo where you had the wrong lens for the bird, maybe you should shoot in program mode like I do. Then you always have the right lens. 🙂 But then my photos never turn out as good as yours are. 🙂 (Just a thought.)
    Keep up the great photos you produce.

    June 7, 2015
    • I don’t think it would have mattered Lee, it was a 70mm at the longest, I really needed a 200mm, I also forgot that I had a 70-300mm in my bag and I should have used that. I have never used program, I always use Aperture priority, how can program mode get you closer than what you lens can?
      Thanks Lee, do you know what the birds are?

      June 7, 2015
  10. Great photos Leanne ..

    June 7, 2015
  11. leecleland #

    Looks like a great Botanic garden and good to see one that features Aussie plants in what looks like a very modernistic layout. That pineapple looking plant could be a pandanus or cycad, I’m going with cycad because of what I can see of the leaves. BUT both of these are from the tropical/subtropical north of Australia and I would have thought Melbourne area would be too cold for them. So really not much help at all 🙂

    June 7, 2015
    • It is quite amazing Lee and still fairly new, it will be amazing in about 10 to 20 years. I looked up your suggestions and I didn’t think it was that, but someone else suggested a Araucaria, and it looks like the female cone, someone else suggested it, haven’t approved the comment yet. It is amazing what we can grow here sometimes. Thanks Lee. 🙂

      June 7, 2015
  12. Nice series of photos. Could that unidentified object be a tree cone of some description???

    June 7, 2015
    • I think someone has identified it, it is a cone, maybe a Araucaria. Thank you Raewyn.

      June 7, 2015
  13. Great shots. What on EARTH is that pineapple-thingy?!?!? Love your photos!

    June 7, 2015
    • Haha, Julie that is the big question, I think it might be Araucaria, from what we can workout, very strange. Thank you Julie.

      June 7, 2015
  14. Wonderful Clicks.. keep it up.. .

    June 7, 2015
  15. Great shots as always Leanne, that fruit is intriguing!

    June 7, 2015
    • Thank you Gypsy, it is a strange fruit.

      June 7, 2015
  16. strange magic!! weird and wonderful!

    June 7, 2015
    • I love the words you’ve described for the gardens, they are all those things. Thank you Cybele.

      June 8, 2015
  17. Your shots are always inspiring to me. Superb. The fruit seems like custard apple, though custard apple is white from inside, at least what i have seen.

    June 8, 2015
    • It is a bit like that, but not, I don’t know exactly what they are or if you can eat them, I imagine if you could eat them they would sell them, or someone would be selling them. Thank you Rupali.

      June 8, 2015
  18. Thanks for taking us with you!

    June 8, 2015
    • You’re welcome, I hope you enjoyed the visit.

      June 8, 2015
  19. Whst a fascinating place. Love the pictures.

    June 8, 2015
    • Thank you Sherry, it was great to wander around.

      June 9, 2015
  20. Wonderful place and photos, thank you that’s a great discover

    June 8, 2015
    • You’re welcome, it is all that. thank you.

      June 9, 2015
  21. Amazing, all were beautiful, but the bird on the tree limb was my favorite.

    June 10, 2015
    • Thank you, there were so many birds there, I really wished I had remembered that I had my better lens.

      June 10, 2015
  22. I really like your art! Good display as always!

    June 15, 2015

Comments are closed.

