Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Things Progressing

It is funny how some things just start falling into place and you start to see some clarity about what you should be doing. I think that is happening to me.  I still have no idea what I’m doing, but I’m really enjoying the journey.

Book on Banyule Flats

I am starting to get to the point where it is almost time to start thinking about putting the book together. I have taken so many photos and the trick is going to be which ones to use.  Then there is also the problem of me being worried that scshed-hsi03893-3-2I don’t have enough or the right photos.

I’ve had a meeting with a publisher recently who is going to help me bring the book together.  I don’t know anything about this part and I think it’s best to get help. I want my first book to be beautiful.  I’m going to use Busy Bird for this. They do a lot to help people self publish, and that can only be a good thing.

I have a meeting with the Wurundjeri Council on Thursday to talk to them about the possibility of using the Aboriginal seasons for the book to show the images.  It is going to be an interesting meeting I think and I’m looking forward to it.

Learning Astrophotography

I have my class for Astrophotography in Sorrento this coming Saturday night.  The weather is looking really good for it scwoomelang-hpm0490-3so far.  I am going to be teaching people how to take photos of the Milky Way.  I had thought that this would be a popular class, when I mentioned it last year so many people said they wanted to learn how to do it.

There are places available for anyone who would like to learn how to do it.  It should be a great evening.  We are starting at 4.30pm and doing the sunset, getting our camera ready for the evening.  We will go and dinner and wait for it to get dark before heading out again to find the milky way and take some amazing photos of it.

I am charging $120 for this class and if you would like to come and do it send me an email.

Dynamic Range Magazine

railway-0709-1scAlways things to discuss about this.  Right now I’m researching and trying to find out about some software that will enable you to purchase the magazine and download it at the same time.  I would also like the same software to enable people to subscribe and look after those so I don’t have to do it.  So if any of you know some software that is like that, I would love to hear from you please.

Photos

Todays photos are some of the very early ones I took up in the Mallee when I was just getting into digital photography. I saw them and immediately thought I have to get back.  I really do.

54 Comments
  1. Sue #

    Sounds like you’ve been busy, Leanne!

    June 9, 2015
  2. Amazing! You are doing so much and have so many opportunities coming your way! It is good. You are very talented enjoy it all! 😊

    June 9, 2015
    • Thank you so much, it is an exciting time ahead.

      June 9, 2015
  3. Delicate set; fine late-light atmosphere.

    June 9, 2015
  4. What a fabulous idea to link the book to the Aboriginal seasons. That’s a unique take on the place and I think it will add a lovely theme to the photographs. I can’t wait to see it Leanne.

    June 9, 2015
    • Yes, I can’t take credit of the idea, but we have to see if they will give me permission to do it first. I hope so, should be wonderful. Thanks Carol.

      June 9, 2015
  5. Hi Leanne, I am participating in the Five 4 Five Challenge, where you post a photo each day for 5 days and write about it. May I please use one of your Beautiful photos? Of course I will credit you, but your photography is so Lovely, and I’d love to Share it 🙂

    Thanks Either Way!

    June 9, 2015
    • No problem, as long it is clear that the image is mine and link back to me would be good.

      June 9, 2015
  6. I hope that you get the right weather for your class.

    June 9, 2015
    • So far it is looking good, thanks Tootlepedal.

      June 9, 2015
  7. Everything is sounding amazing Leanne! Wishing you success with all that you’re doing..as always 🙂

    June 9, 2015
    • Thank you Robyn, hopefully something will work. 🙂

      June 9, 2015
  8. Your first sentence is so true!

    June 9, 2015
    • Thank you Jesh, I think it is too.

      June 9, 2015
  9. Great to hear things are moving along for your book! Will be very interested to talk to you about the process with your editor.

    June 9, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, they are moving along, slowly. No problem, though not a lot to talk about yet, but anytime.

      June 9, 2015
  10. Deciding on just which images to use is a very daunting task…good luck, glad things are coming together for you on this.

    June 9, 2015
    • Thanks Robert, yes, I bet you know exactly what I am going through.

      June 9, 2015
  11. poppytump #

    I know you enjoy what you do immensely Leanne 😉 but I also hope all your hard work pays off in a way that you would wish . Lots of juggling going on .. keep all those balls in the air !!
    Lovely mellow Mallee gallery .
    Hope you’ll post some pictures from your Astrophotography workshop ….

    June 9, 2015
    • I do Poppytump, thank you. I hope so too, it would be nice for something to actually work. I will, something has to stay up there. LOL
      Thank you, and yes, you will see some of my Milky Way photos.

      June 9, 2015
  12. What you need is an app developer who will develop an app for Dynamic Range. They can download it for free, and then you charge for the subscription. Hope that helps. Lovely photos btw

    June 9, 2015
    • My husband does that sort of thing, but I don’t think he wants to do it. I think he thinks there will be something out there already. Thanks Raewyn.

      June 9, 2015
  13. hi leanne .. i like your work but im not able to like any of your pictures 😦

    June 9, 2015
    • Not sure what you mean Natasha, you like by work, but you don’t. Or do mean like pressing the like button?

      June 9, 2015
      • pressing the ‘like’ button

        June 9, 2015
      • OH, yes, it isn’t an option with this theme. I don’t know why.
        Thanks Natasha.

        June 9, 2015
  14. Leanne .. the photos on this post are just amazing (as always :D) I love the ones from the Mallee. Best of luck with that book, it will look brilliant! So looking forward to tomorrow’s lesson 😉 Speak then Miss …

    June 9, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, I love going up there to do photos, can’t wait to get back up there. The book, I hope will be great. I’m really looking forward to it as well, it will be fun, yes, talk soon 😀

      June 9, 2015
  15. I like the shots. I am going to start writing my travel & photography book in the next few weeks. Would love to do that astro-photography class. In fact I am planning my next trips around doing some of this. But, I live in India, and you in Oz-Land, so attending your class may be a challenge..

    June 9, 2015
    • Yes, attending could be quite difficult, it is good fun to do, Astrophotography is a lot of fun. I’ve been thinking of writing a tutorial for it to sell for a couple of dollars, so if I do it you would be able to do it. Thank you Rajiv.

      June 10, 2015
      • I think you should write that tutorial. I will either go to Bhutan at the end of this month, or for a week long drive in July. One of the things that I want to do during these trips, is to try astro-photography. It is very difficult to find a really dark patch to do it. When I went out last year, there were lots of trucks disturbing the exposure. And, then the police thought I was a terrorist as well.

        However, I want to explore this area of photography this year

        June 10, 2015
      • I will have to see if I can do it, writing for the Digital Photography School has meant that I have got a lot better at writing them, so I will do it, soon. It is hard when you live somewhere that is heavily populated. We are lucky here, we don’t have to go far to get out and away from the lights. You might just have to come here. That is terrible that the police thought you were a terrorist, it happens here too.

        It is a good area to explore.

        June 10, 2015
      • Cool. Let me know when you write it. I will probably buy it.

        India, if you scrape off that yoga-Gandhi-sadhu crappy veneer, can be a dangerous place to live. The bigger risk in going into dark areas, is the risk of being murdered. We have a wooded area near where we live. I avoid certain routes at night, simply because of this danger.

        There was a story about this American tourist who hitched a ride in a truck at night, in the hills. She was gang-raped. While I feel really bad for her, she should not have done that. We Indians would never do that. Too risky.

        Many years back, when I was on the highway, we had a puncture. The cab that we hired did not have a torch, and he dropped the screws. We were on our hands and feet looking for them in the dark, hoping that we would not get mugged. We were lucky that night.

        June 10, 2015
      • Yep will do, I will announce it on the blog.

        I have heard that many women get raped there, and the legal system is very good at dealing with it, if that is a way of putting it. I don’t know if that is true or not. I had no idea that it was really that scary. We avoid areas here, but often the fear is more in our heads that being real.
        Glad you were okay, that would be very scary. I would have thought that girl should have done her research and known that it wasn’t safe to do that.

        June 11, 2015
      • Well, the legal system works at the higher levels. There, our legislature is quite independent and often challenges the government.
        The problems lie at the lower levels of court. Here, it is bad.
        The bigger problem is the rather “primitive” and contemptible attitude of many of our male politicians.

        In terms of criminals, I don’t know if the percentage of criminals in India is that high. Our population is huge. I don’t know the population of Australia, but I guess it should be 15 million. Delhi City has 15 million people, and Delhi-NCR has 22 million. So, the concentration of crime goes up.

        June 11, 2015
      • I’ve heard that it is more of a problem with the legal system and how they treat women, that is what we hear here anyway.
        You could be right, we have 23 million here, but they are spread out pretty far and wide.

        June 11, 2015
      • Well, at the high levels of court – Supreme Court and the High Courts – things do move. It is at the lower levels, the provincial courts, where things are a disaster,

        Many years back, when I was in my corporate avataar, I had to fight a consumer case. I had to take an overnight train every month, for a year, to appear in court. Inevitably, the hearing would be postponed, once because the judge decided he wanted to take his family for a picnic. The plaintiff was never available either.

        One day, when I was sitting under a tree, drinking some tea, bored out of my wits when I saw a heavily chained man lead by a cop walking near me. They stopped next to me, shared a smoke and a gossip like long lost buddies, slapping each other on the back and laughing, before moving on.

        Life goes on!

        We finally met the plaintiff after a year, and did an out of court settlement. We paid him 25 US Dollars, and that was it!

        You should visit India some day. I live in a fun country!

        June 13, 2015
      • You never know,I might come.
        I think any country you go to would have weird legal issues, or problem.

        June 13, 2015
      • You will enjoy India, I think

        June 13, 2015
      • I hope so one day.

        June 14, 2015
  16. sarinal #

    Sounds like you’re at a very exciting point right now! It feels amazing when things are slowly coming together and you get a better idea of what you should be doing, it’s a thrilling spot to be in. Hope all goes well with the book you’re putting together, I’m looking forward to seeing the finished product 🙂

    June 9, 2015
    • I am, it is an exciting time ahead. I hope I am, it does feel good so that is nice. The book should be great, I think. I’m looking forward to it being finished and done. Thank you.

      June 10, 2015
  17. the book sounds exciting Leanne, good luck with your meeting 🙂

    June 10, 2015
    • Thank you Dawn, I’m looking forward to it, not sure what to expect, but I’m sure it will be fine. 🙂

      June 10, 2015
  18. oh your Milky way class sounds like fun!! Beautiful photos of a place that looks like it has a lot of character!!

    June 10, 2015
    • I wish you could come to it Cybele, I will have to work on a tutorial for it, I started it and then forgot.

      June 10, 2015

Comments are closed.

