Skip to content

Quiet Thursday’s: Very Quiet

docklands-melbourne-star-1061

It’s been a funny week.  I’ve been out taking photos a few times and I’m off to Sorrento for the weekend. Looking forward to spending a bit of time down there and taking photos around there.  I’m also teaching the Astrophotography class on Saturday night, so that should be good. The weather is looking okay, so hopefully we will get some good shots.

I wanted to give you a link as well today, Susan from The Insatiable Traveler asked me if I would give you the following link, The Elusive Desert-Adapted Lions of Namibia and the Man Who Loves Them, as she wants to bring some attention to the desert lions.  I know you will all go and take a look at it for her.

I only have a couple of photos for you today and they are both long exposures and taken on the weekend. The first one was of the Melbourne Star at Docklands.  I wanted to see if I could take a photo using the Firecrest 16 from Formatt Hitech and see what I could get with it.  I wanted to see how the wheel would look with a long exposure.

The second image is from Banyule Flats.  I went there the other morning to do a sunrise shoot.  Unfortunately there was too much cloud to really get a sunrise, but I did notice that the clouds were moving quite fast.  Just before I left I went to a different spot and put the Lee Big Stopper on. It wasn’t too bad, I think I got the clouds going in a good direction.  The time might have been a bit too long, but I’m starting to understand that more.  Trial and error, you have to love it.

I have my meeting today for my book, I’m a bit nervous about it, but I’m sure it will be fine.  I hope you have a productive day.  Take care.

52 Comments
  1. joseluisgomez #

    Reblogged this on Arte y Cultura Perú.

    June 11, 2015
  2. Good luck in your meeting! Hope it went well!

    June 11, 2015
    • Thanks Jarrod, it did go well, really well, I’m really excited now.

      June 11, 2015
      • Wonderful! I wish you continued success!

        June 11, 2015
      • Thank you Jarrod.

        June 12, 2015
  3. Love both shots, I’m a time exposure junkie :). Good luck today hope it goes well which I am sure it will. Keep us posted!

    June 11, 2015
    • I think I’m becoming one as well Kaz, haha, we will be a great pair in Apollo Bay. 😉
      Thank you, the meeting went really well, and looks like the book is going to be fantastic.

      June 11, 2015
  4. Thanks for the update and link!

    June 11, 2015
  5. Nice long exposures, Leanne 🙂 I have begun to experiment with this technique lately.

    June 11, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, that’s great to hear, how much fun it is.

      June 11, 2015
  6. have a fruitful meeting today for your book!

    June 11, 2015
    • Thank you, it was a great meeting, I’m really excited now with the direction the book is going.

      June 11, 2015
  7. Good luck with your meeting.

    June 11, 2015
    • Thank you, I’m back and it went really well.

      June 11, 2015
    • Good to hear.

      June 11, 2015
      • Thanks Disperser. I’m so excited now.

        June 11, 2015
    • You have no choice . . . do the happy dance.

      June 11, 2015
      • I think I might hurt myself if I did that, LOL

        June 11, 2015
  8. Amazing

    June 11, 2015
  9. Sue #

    I love that wheel!

    June 11, 2015
    • Thanks Sue, I love how the long exposure make it look.

      June 11, 2015
      • Sue #

        I think I could become a long exposure junkie!

        June 12, 2015
      • Maybe we could start a club Sue, the Long Exposure Junkies.

        June 12, 2015
      • Sue #

        😀

        June 12, 2015
  10. Classy!

    June 11, 2015
  11. Leanne you are such a talented photographer…. keep it up…..

    June 11, 2015
  12. poppytump #

    A little bit of excitement is coming across so nicely Leanne 😉 really good to hear .
    Loving your Big Wheeeeeel 🙂

    June 11, 2015
    • It is a bit exciting, lol. The meeting went so well and I’m really pumped to get it done now.
      Thank you, that wheel was fun to do. 🙂 🙂

      June 12, 2015
  13. Best of luck for your meeting! It will be fine.

    June 11, 2015
    • Thank you Peter it went really well, better than I expected, I will give more details on Tuesday.

      June 12, 2015
  14. Amy #

    Good luck to your book, Leanne! 🙂

    June 12, 2015
  15. Hope the meeting went well Leanne 🙂

    June 12, 2015
    • It did Dawn, really well, feeling a lot better about things and really excited about the book now. Thanks 🙂

      June 12, 2015
  16. Susan Portnoy #

    Thank you, Leanne! So appreciated. xo

    June 12, 2015
    • You are so very very welcome, hope I helped.

      June 12, 2015
  17. Lover the ferris wheel!

    June 12, 2015
  18. All the best Leanne! I’m sure all will be fine!!

    June 12, 2015
    • It did go well Cybele, really well, they were just as excited about the project as we were, that has to be good.

      June 12, 2015
  19. Glad the meeting went well. I really love the wheel. I don’t know how to do long exposure during the day time really.

    June 12, 2015
    • Thanks Nicci, you do need a filter to do them, no other way really. They are fun.

      June 12, 2015
  20. I hope your book meeting went well!

    June 13, 2015
    • It did Elen, better than expected,I will talk about it on Tuesday, thanks.

      June 13, 2015

Comments are closed.

