Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Catching Up

This last week has been quite crazy and some things are getting sorted out. I thought I would update you on my book, and I’ve been given a couple of wonderful testimonials for the online classes I do and I thought I might share them with you.  I’ve also been changing some things so there are more options for them.

Book on Banyule Flats

We had a meeting with the Wurundjeri Council Elders last week about the book I am doing on Banyule Flats. The Wurundjeri are the traditional owners of the land.

We had been thinking that the book would look at the seasons in the area and how they change.  The woman from LeanneCole-banyuleflats-20140525-9473Banyule Council that I’ve been working with a great deal suggested we look at the Koori Seasons, or more specifically the Wurundjeri Seasons. There are six seasons and very apt for the climate here rather than our four that are fairly basic and don’t really do justice to the climate here in Australia.

It is one thing to use the seasons, but another to use the Wurundjeri Seasons so the meeting was all about getting them interested in the book and being given permission, I suppose, to use their seasons.

They were really excited about it and I think they are going to work with us on the project.  There was talk of them looking at some of the photos and perhaps adding some stories to them, which is really exciting.  It was also suggested banyule-flats-swamp-morning-birds-1044that part of the profits per book sale be sent to them and I think that is a fabulous idea.

I am really excited about the book now and it is getting closer and closer to the time that I have to start picking the images. There are still a few images I want to get, but I do have a lot now, so I am sure I won’t need too many more.

Online Photography and Editing Classes

I’ve just finished a couple and both of them have written testimonials for me, so I thought I would share them with you there.

The first one is from Chris:

Just wanted to highlight how much I learnt from and enjoyed my on-line coaching with Art Photographer and Teacher Leanne Cole.  I took a series of 5 coaching sessions focused on Photo editing.  We used Skype, which meant I could be anywhere with internet access and connect with her.  I could see her screen when she explained steps, and she could see mine if I showed something I needed help with.

The content of the weekly sessions was jointly driven by Leanne and by me.  There were some aspects she would cover systematically, and others that I specifically wanted to explore, so there was great flexibility.

I had time to take notes during the sessions, but another valuable feature was that Leanne recorded them and emailed the video via Dropbox the very next day, so that I could revisit anything that was not clear and use the recordings for future reference.

The sessions were really valuable.  I find I learn more quickly with a coach and I picked up shortcuts and techniques that I would not have if I had struggled by myself through tutorials or books. Although in this instance I chose to work on basic photo processing and the usage of newly acquired Lightroom and Photoshop, the online coaching could really be on any subject you want. You choose your topic and Leanne tailors the program to suit your needs.

I would highly recommend this sort of coaching program to others.  I will certainly continue to take further classes with Leanne in the future.

I was so happy to read that, so glad that she got so much from the classes.

LeanneCole-banyule-20140302-0533The second testimonial was a blog posting from Kirsten, so rather than just copy and paste it here I am going to link it for you to go and take a look.

LEANNE COLE PHOTOGRAPHY CLASSES (TESTIMONIAL)

It seems another happy client which is fantastic.

I have made some changes to the classes, so there are more options available. I know not everyone wants to have 5 classes and some would like just one or three, so I have added more options to my page on the Online Photography and Editing Classes. I hope that gives people more options.

Photos

I thought since part of my biggest news today was about the book I would try and show you some of the photos I’ve taken down there, they may or may not be in the book. They are some of the photos I showed the Wurundjeri Elders.

83 Comments
  1. Sue #

    Well done, Leanne 🙂

    June 16, 2015
  2. Wow! Amazing gallery. You are such a great photographer.

    June 16, 2015
    • Thank you Olga, it is almost too easy when you have such a great place to take photos in.

      June 16, 2015
  3. Leanne, I was so pleased to read about the Wurundjeri Seasons. Just as in Canada regarding the First NationsI noticed an increasing awareness about the aboriginal people in Australia. Your involvement in their culture on your part is commendable. There is so much we learn about their customs and traditions. It is not just the photography that attracted me to your site, but also your interests in the cultural aspects of Australia. Thank so much!

    June 16, 2015
    • That is great Peter, I think it is important to respect their culture and not just take it or use it for ourselves, we’ve taken enough already. I hadn’t thought of that, but I think you could be right, I do like cultural things. You’re welcome and thank you too.

      June 16, 2015
  4. That’s very interesting about the traditional six seasons. I’m sure it will be a fascinating addition to the book.

    June 16, 2015
    • I was amazed about it as well Cynthia, and they are very appropriate for here too. I think so too, especially if we can incorporate some of their stories into it as well.

      June 16, 2015
  5. Wonderful series of photos, Leanne! 🙂

    June 16, 2015
  6. Your book is going to be simply gorgeous Leanne.

    June 16, 2015
    • Thank you Carol, I think so too.

      June 16, 2015
  7. Beautiful pictures, I’m sure the book will be absolutely gorgeous. It sounds very exciting especially with the input from the elders. good luck with this Leanne. 🙂

    June 16, 2015
    • I am thinking the same Katie, I was so excited when I left the meeting and now I’m really pumped to get going on it, I can’t wait to see what it looks like. Thank you Katie. 🙂

      June 16, 2015
  8. Oh Leanne, the book is going to be amazing. It so good you are working with the elders. You will learn a lot and who knows what it may lead to! Beautiful and varied images too.

    June 16, 2015
    • I think so too Chris, and hopefully something a little unique, which would really suit me. I think so too, already learned quite a bit. I agree, who know where it will take me, thank you.

      June 16, 2015
  9. Always good to keep the customer satisfied.

    June 16, 2015
  10. Your talent is so tremendous, Leanne!! I have learned so much from you just viewing your work! You deserve ever success and so much more! Fly high, my friend! Thank you for sharing so much of you with us. Love, Amy ❤

    June 16, 2015
    • Thank you Amy, what a lovely thing to say, I hope so, I like the idea of flying high. You’re welcome, you do the same, I’ve seen you, you are pretty good yourself.

      June 16, 2015
      • I’ve seeemingly bounded forward a lot since the passing of my Dad, Leanne. I’l like to think that not only is he assisting me, but I am pouring my Heart into my work, using it as a method to heal the pain of loss. Thank you so very much for you noticing my work. It means the world to me. ❤

        June 17, 2015
      • That’s great to hear Amy and I’m so glad you have been able to turn your grief into working hard on your photography and your garden. You’re welcome Amy, how could I not notice.

        June 17, 2015
  11. Reblogged this on artistjumpoff. com and commented:
    wicked cool photos

    June 16, 2015
  12. these are beautiful and sensitive images Leanne, with the spirit of the land in them. very cool.

    June 16, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, I like the idea of the spirit of the land being in them.

      June 16, 2015
  13. Thank you Leanne Cole Bits and Bobs Things Progressing in Photography

    June 16, 2015
    • You’re welcome Donna and thank you.

      June 16, 2015
  14. I always enjoy your galleries,Leanne. In this one I really like the misty shots. So pretty.

    June 16, 2015
    • Thank you Lois, that is good to know, the misty shots were wonderful to get.

      June 16, 2015
  15. Wow. Some really, really great shots Leanne!!

    June 16, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, it is one place I’ve taken a lot of photos of.

      June 16, 2015
  16. Gorgeous Leanne, I can see why you love it so much. Those misty scenes are to die for! I was fascinated with those grubs on the tree. It looks very comprehensive and I am really interested in the seasons. Do we have to wait for the book or maybe a post one day on the Wurundjeri seasons would be great.. I am very interested. Kudos re your online sessions, looks like you are doing a brilliant job all round! I am sure we will get some misty mornings. On that note what do you recommend glove wise. I have some ski gloves Ill dig out but maybe some mittens for flexibility. What do you use, remembering I am a softie from the north with regards to the cold…. mental note pack the Voltaren!!! 🙂

    June 16, 2015
    • The misty ones were great, hard to get, doesn’t happen a lot. The seasons look interesting, I need to work them out as well and see how I can get my photos to fit them. I don’t know yet, might have to see, might include some things here.
      Thanks, it is good to know that people enjoy the lessons and are actually learning. I think will get some too, Apollo Bay is known for fog. Haha, gloves, I have some from Katmandu, they are wind resistant ones, so not thick, but I have these insert things to use if I am really cold, though I tend to make sure I have pockets so I can stuff my hands in those. Make sure you have a hat that will cover your ears, it is gets windy there and the wind is cold. Good to have a scarf too. Haha, I will have some of that with me too. Thanks Kaz.

      June 16, 2015
      • Chris has some cold weather gear from Mongolia!!! He will give it to me to wear, its not attractive by any means but warm and it will feel like Mongolia to me haha!

        June 16, 2015
      • Who cares what you look like when you are cold. I have a big heavy fluro jacket that is wind proof and waterproof and I think I might bring that with me. I used to wear it when I took photos on the back of a motorbike and it kept me very warm.

        June 16, 2015
      • He also has a fluoro “High Viz” jacket…hmmm

        June 16, 2015
      • We could be fluro sisters, people will see us coming, that’s for sure.

        June 16, 2015
      • Gee my bag will be over the limit with warm stuff and a tripod and equipment …

        June 16, 2015
      • Haha, it might be, glad I don’t have to fly. I just ordered some new waterproof pants, been meaning to do that for a while.

        June 16, 2015
      • might wear my ski pants but I don’t know that I will fit into them…. 😦

        June 16, 2015
      • LOL, you have a couple of weeks to get into them then.

        June 16, 2015
  17. Amazing set of pictures. Congrats on the progress made for your book

    June 16, 2015
    • Thank you Nora, it is all coming together which is great and exciting.

      June 16, 2015
  18. Pat #

    Beautiful gallery.

    June 16, 2015
  19. It will be a fantastic book, Leanne! These pictures have very special and unique atmospherics.

    June 16, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, it is certainly seeming like it will be. I like that.

      June 16, 2015
  20. I especially like the foggy, misty, dewey images!

    June 16, 2015
    • Thank you, so many people do seem to like those, me too.

      June 16, 2015
  21. poppytump #

    I like the idea of the six seasons weaving through your pictures Leanne, and it would be so good not to lose the old stories of the Wurundjeri … make folk much more aware of what could be lost …
    You’ve a fine selection to choose from , I can see it could be difficult . How many images I wonder …
    So it sounds a good week so far ! The testimonials the icing on the cake 🙂

    June 16, 2015
    • I agree, it would be nice to record them in some ways, and it would be a nice way of educating non indigenous people as well.
      I think I need to pick about 200 to 300, but I have a few thousand I think.
      It has been a good week, nice, thanks, they were that. 🙂
      Thanks Poppytump

      June 16, 2015
  22. That’s a wonderful collection Leanne – love it 🙂 Six seasons would be so much more fitting for us here in the UK as well.

    June 16, 2015
    • Thank you, I think the six seasons works so much better, probably everywhere, it is quite interesting.

      June 16, 2015
  23. Hello Leanne,
    Fabulous set of images on Banyule Flats and glad to hear the book is close to completion.
    Ken

    June 16, 2015
  24. Amazing set of photos. Love the bird ones especially. And amazing that your book is moving along very nicely too. The six seasons sounds very interesting, I don’t think it’s something many in Australia or the world are aware of, or even much about the Wurundjeri community. Good luck with your one-on-one classes. Happy for you 🙂

    June 16, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, I have to admit I have really enjoyed photographing the birds down there. I like the idea of the six seasons as well, and I agree, they aren’t well known, should be great. Thanks again, that’s great. 🙂

      June 17, 2015
  25. That book is going to look fabulous!

    June 17, 2015
  26. Really love ur post. I like the photo w/ the reflections of the wooden structure and the sky shots especially 🙂

    June 17, 2015
    • Thank you, reflections in water are fantastic. 🙂

      June 17, 2015
  27. Congrats Leanne.

    June 17, 2015
  28. always interesting and full of inspiration

    June 17, 2015
  29. I hope I am able to order your book! This is going to be not only beautiful, but fascinating.

    June 17, 2015
    • I am hoping you will be able, I’m going to do it publish on demand, so you should be able to order it from anywhere in the world. Thanks Marilyn, it is going be a lot different to what I first thought.

      June 17, 2015
  30. Six seasons and stories that go with that will make for a very exciting book. Fingers crossed for you.

    June 18, 2015
    • I think so too Elen, and something quite different. Thanks Elen.

      June 18, 2015
  31. Wonderful Leanne- Good luck with it though I’m sure it will be a success. Your Banyule never ceases to amaze- always something new and wonderful there!

    June 18, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele. It is a great area and I think it should be great, the book, interesting and even more interesting now.

      June 18, 2015
  32. amy #

    Those birds!!! 😀

    June 20, 2015
  33. you are such a talented photographer… keep it up

    June 20, 2015
  34. I feel like I am at the place where these photos were snapped when I see them.

    June 21, 2015
    • What a wonderful compliment, thank you.

      June 21, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Catching Up | Donna's Blog

Comments are closed.

