Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Trips Away

Last weekend I was able to get away for the weekend and take some photos down at the coast.  I think for the two days I was there we got two sunrises and two sunsets.  Not all great, but the sunrise on the last morning was spectacular and the best.  It was a great weekend, and we made use of all the time we had there, but it was exhausting.  We left on Sunday feeling very worn out. We did a lot of down hill walking and up hill. The beach can be hard for that.

Before I show you the photos I thought I might ask you want you wanted for tomorrow’s Up for Discussion.  I had a couple of ideas, one was to look at the new version of Photoshop and see what’s different or what they’ve changed. The other option was to do a tutorial on how to do Black and White images.  I need to know fairly soon what you want.

Today I have some photos that have been up on Social Media this week. Three are Instagram photos, so taken with my phone, and two are ones I worked on quickly and put up.  There are also two that I had worked on, but didn’t do anything with, so I am going to include them here as well.

89 Comments
  1. Spectacular colours.

    June 18, 2015
    • Thank you Laura, have to love that time of day.

      June 18, 2015
  2. I like how your images are displayed here in your theme. Well done. And your first image closely resembles my dream image from last night! 🙂

    June 18, 2015
    • Thank you Anita, it is a gallery that you should be able to do in any WordPress theme. That’s great, thanks.

      June 18, 2015
  3. cool.

    June 18, 2015
  4. Lovely photographs – we’re a ten hour drive from the nearest coast, so really appreciate these photos!
    I’d love to read more about black and white photography.
    Enjoy your day!

    June 18, 2015
    • You’re welcome, glad I could bring a little bit of the ocean to you.
      I will have to work on the tutorial now.
      Thank you and you enjoy yours as well.

      June 18, 2015
  5. I think my favorite is the black and white image. It really shows the “raw” power of the ocean when it hits the rocks!

    June 18, 2015
    • That spot there is amazing for capturing those big splashes, I’ve got some great ones there. Thanks Kirsten.

      June 18, 2015
      • I need to go down to the jetty at the beach and see what I can capture. We don’t have the rugged coastline though near me. I need to go to CA and get some shots there 🙂

        June 19, 2015
      • YOu will be so happy if you do Kirsten, try at sunrise ;). Rugged isn’t always necessary, it is great to do piers, can be so calm and quiet. Haha, you need to come here and go and take photos with me. 🙂

        June 19, 2015
      • I was just telling Chris that I need to get over my aversion to flying so I could come to do a weekend photography adventure with you. I loved the shots she got 🙂

        June 21, 2015
      • I think so too, just take some drugs to make you sleep, roll off the plane, we’ll catch you. Haha. 😉

        June 21, 2015
      • Lol…now that would be a hoot. I have some friends over there so I have a place to stay! I need to work on it!

        June 22, 2015
      • Sounds like the beginning of a holiday for you. We could do lots of stuff too.

        June 22, 2015
      • I am actually getting tempted…

        June 22, 2015
      • Fantastic, don’t come in our summer though, yuck yuck. The best time in Melbourne is usually our Autumn, so maybe March to May next year. If you come I will take you around, show you places, we will have a ball.

        June 22, 2015
      • I avoid summers on all continents! Lol I will definitely look into those dates and flight prices :-). I know we would have a blast!

        June 22, 2015
      • oooh fantastic, I look forward to hearing how you go. We will have to start planning. 🙂

        June 22, 2015
      • I actually talked to my mom about the possibility of going! She is all excited. The only thing is I have lots of food allergies. So I need to find out if how much it would cost to have “safe food” shipped to my friends.

        June 23, 2015
      • I wouldn’t worry about the food allergies, many people here have them too and so there is always food available, and even many restaurants are starting to cater for them as well. I know quite a few people that have a lot of them as well. I will email you.

        June 23, 2015
      • Thanks Leanne. 🙂

        June 23, 2015
      • 🙂

        June 23, 2015
  6. I’d love the tutorial on black & white images.

    June 18, 2015
    • Okay, others have said the same so I better work on it.

      June 18, 2015
  7. An absolutely fantastic Sorrento sunrise Leanne.

    June 18, 2015
    • It was Denis, stunning. Thank you.

      June 18, 2015
  8. lensaddiction #

    Either option will be fine Leanne 🙂

    June 18, 2015
    • Thanks Stacey, I think the B&W one is appearing more popular. 🙂

      June 18, 2015
  9. leecleland #

    Lovely images Leanne. Photography is hard work isn’t it 🙂 but the results worthwhile. I’d love to know how you process B&W

    June 18, 2015
    • It is, especially this kind of photography very physically demanding. Yes, they are worth it, which is probably why I keep doing it. thank you Lee and I will do something on how I do them.

      June 18, 2015
  10. you are incredibly talented! where are these pics taken?

    June 18, 2015
    • thank you, what a lovely thing to say. There pictures were taken down in and around Sorrento, in Australia.

      June 18, 2015
      • awesome coincidence is I am from canada – but HAPPEN to be staying in saint andrews beach…and I totally saw it in your photos. Awesome. You really captured the unreal nature f this place 🙂

        June 24, 2015
      • Thank you, I love the beaches down there, so wild. I am hoping to show more of the photos this weekend. 🙂

        June 24, 2015
  11. You took some nice pictures. I love B&W one 👍

    June 18, 2015
    • That’s great Raymond, thank you.

      June 18, 2015
  12. Hi, my name is Carmen Cacalano. I’m a professional painter. and I love photography. Since I’ve just begun to follow you I know my interests but not of your own. So, when you ask which anyone would prefer. I realize I am an anybody. And I would follow up on your next blog post. And I would like to see the first option. In all seriousness. I would like to see the effects of photoshop against the original product. I love photography and to learn new things. so Its okay, whichever you choose. but i will surely follow you up.
    https://cacalanostudios.wordpress.com Maybe you’ll follow up with a look at my paintings.

    June 18, 2015
    • Hi Carmen, I don’t really show the before photos, I use to, but I stopped. It was frustrating the things that people would say. For me the final image was more important, that was my vision of the scene.
      Thanks Carmen.

      June 18, 2015
  13. Beautiful as usual.

    June 18, 2015
  14. Reblogged this on Carmen Cacalano and commented:
    So i left a comment on this blog post. and I love the photographs. Amazing to in TWO days get such footage so. Here it is. I’m sharing it with all who visit my blog

    June 18, 2015
  15. Beautiful👏👏

    June 18, 2015
  16. Very nice as always. Love looking at your photography. Especially like the third from left on bottom: so colorful. Looks like an awesome place to visit. 🙂

    June 18, 2015
    • Thank you Peabea, that photo was an instagram one. It is a fantastic place to take photos. 🙂

      June 18, 2015
  17. Fantastic capture!

    June 18, 2015
  18. Reblogged this on Girl Offlife.

    June 18, 2015
  19. All of these are just beautiful, Leanne! I love all of your work.

    June 18, 2015
    • Thank you azgsgirl, easy to take great photos when you go somewhere so beautiful.

      June 18, 2015
  20. I wouldn’t mind a discussion on the new photoshop. When I get my new computer I will have to get lightroom but I also like photoshop and I wouldn’t mind seeing whats new. On the other hand if anyone else wants a black and white tutorial Im there as well 🙂

    June 18, 2015
    • I think the black and white one is winning Kaz, I can point you into the direction of where to go to find out more, or I can just chat. 🙂

      June 18, 2015
      • Not important I was just putting my 2c worth in.. happy with B&W and we can just talk about P/shop late one evening whilst freezing our fingers off 😉

        June 18, 2015
      • Thanks, we can certainly do that. Just finished writing it, I hope it make sense. Nah, we won’t be freezing, we could take wine with us. LOL

        June 18, 2015
  21. These are all gorgeous especially the b/w with the waves crashing.

    June 18, 2015
    • Thank you Nora, the b/w has been very popular, maybe I should’ve saved it for MM.

      June 18, 2015
  22. Great sunrise and sunset shots. Thanks for visiting my blog. Look forward to seeing more of your wonderful photos. Cheers, Mark

    June 18, 2015
    • Thank you, and you are welcome Mark, thanks for stopping by mine as well.

      June 18, 2015
  23. The monochrome is dramatic but I love the colours in those skies!!

    June 18, 2015
    • I love those colours too Cybele, I seem to hardly ever get these and to get a few was an absolute treat. Thanks.

      June 18, 2015
  24. Enjoying your venture into long exposure photography. Kudos!

    June 18, 2015
  25. That blow back wave is spectacular, Leanne.

    June 18, 2015
    • Thank you Jane, I’ve got some great ones from that spot.

      June 18, 2015
  26. poppytump #

    What *delicious skies Leanne … always for me those sunrise and sunset shoots taken down by the ocean have an extra little bit of specialness .
    The B&W with its contrast of wave power and flowing waters really has impact .

    June 18, 2015
    • They are Poppytump, I was so lucky, I usually miss out on these lovely skies. I agree, there is something about them and water.
      I’ve been surprised how popular that image is, glad you like it too, thank you Poppytump.

      June 18, 2015
  27. Exquisite☆☆

    June 18, 2015
  28. Sue #

    Gorgeous colours, and love the pier shots!

    June 18, 2015
    • Thank you Sue, that morning was really fantastic.

      June 18, 2015
  29. These are fabulous Leanne 🙂

    June 18, 2015
  30. Interesting to compare our shots! I had so much fun and would love to go back again!

    June 18, 2015
    • It is, always interesting seeing how two people photograph the same thing. I love going down there it is wonderful, the coast is very raw there, if that makes sense, very rough.

      June 19, 2015
  31. Beautiful scenery and photographs.

    June 18, 2015
  32. Very nice.

    June 18, 2015
  33. Enjoyed your interpretation of nature’s various lures where the surf meets the earth. That sunrise is spectacular. You had a visually rich experience.

    June 19, 2015
    • I like that, my interpretation, thank you Sally. I was so lucky with that sunrise, not really something I get too often.

      June 19, 2015
  34. Pictures are eerie, but beautiful at the same time.

    June 19, 2015
    • I hope not really eerie, I just though they were great for the time of day they were taken.

      June 19, 2015
      • I think it is the combination of orange and black in the pictures… Your pictures convey textures, colors and various designs. They are a feast for the eyes.

        June 19, 2015
      • I think the warm tones really help, thank you, it is something I find hard to work out.

        June 20, 2015

Comments are closed.

