Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Walking the Streets of Melbourne

melbourne-city-streets-architecture-snacks-1029

Yesterday morning I got to spend some time with a new client and we walked around the streets of Melbourne to take photos. It was a One on One Photography Session that her husband got for her for her birthday. It was a great morning for taking photos and I certainly enjoyed myself, and I hope my client did as well.

melbourne-city-streets-architecture-snacks-1025

Hopetoun Tea Rooms

I started by taking some photos at Hopetoun Tea Rooms, well in the window. It was nice as it was early and I could just take photos without lots of other people getting in the way.

I got to take some photos of some birds and St Paul’s Cathedral and then I met my client. We went and had a coffee at the new Cafe 1932 at the bottom of the Manchester Unity Building before heading out to take some photos. I loved the Cafe and was delighted to see a couple of my photos up on the walls, ones I had taken of the outside of the building.

melbourne-city-streets-architecture-snacks-1030

Work on what was Australia on Collins

We walked along Collins Street and the shopping area that used to be Australia On Collins seems to have been gutted. It was quite amazing looking into it.  I liked the Keep Out Sign and then the workman standing there.

melbourne-city-streets-architecture-snacks-1036

Over the Rail Bridge and over the River – Flinders Street

We liked this scene. The railway bridge that takes trains from Flinders Street Station to Southern Cross Station.  We kept waiting for trains to go over so we could get them in the photo as well.

melbourne-city-streets-architecture-snacks-1042

Great Chocolate and Lolly Shop, Chocamama

We walked back towards Flinders Street Station, into Degraves Street and just had to stop in at Chocamama, a new shop, definitely new to me. Lots of lollies and chocolates. I was in heaven. I was allowed to take photos and I took quite a few. I also came home with two bags full of goodies, I would certainly recommend the chocolate honeycomb.

melbourne-city-streets-architecture-snacks-1049

National Gallery of Victoria Show – Holden EFIJY

We went to Federation Square to try some Street Photography, but first we got distracted by something inside the National Gallery of Victoria.  There is a special show on, we didn’t look at the show, but look at that car. It was fantastic. We took lots of photos of it. It was very shiny with lots of reflections and that made it so hard to photograph.

melbourne-city-streets-architecture-snacks-1053

Street Portraits

I was surprised to find myself doing some street photography and with people. I know, I am surprised with myself as well. I was amazed with how much I enjoyed it as well. I tried to take photos of people taking photos which was funny. I did have a chef in a restaurant who spotted I was trying to take his photo and he just turned and smiled.

Hosier Lane was great for the street photography, though I have to say it was disappointing with the graffiti now. Not much imaginative stuff there and just taggers really. I thought it was really boring.  Shame considering what it used to be like.

I had a great time, and I hope my client did as well. The weather wasn’t too bad, though it was a bit chilly in places.

I have a gallery for you now and have included places I hope. I can’t say where everywhere is as some we really shouldn’t have been taking photos in some of them.  I hope you have a great start to your weekend, I think it’s meant to be sunny here this weekend, perfect.

81 Comments
  1. Some very nice images. I like the food ones. Maybe it’s close to lunch time – nah – nice images no matter my state of hunger. The auto is beautiful. Design was the first consideration here and not safety. How many large blind spots are there with that small rear window? The people shots are great. I love how you’ve caught the interaction between people and/or you.

    June 20, 2015
    • Thank you Tim, I hope you got some lunch. I think that car was a concept car, so never produced beyond one, or maybe two. It was also so close to the ground that I can’t believe it would be road worthy. Absolutely on the design, nothing really matter, even the side mirrors, while very cook, would be very impracticable. Thanks, I’ve not done a lot of that kind of photography, I tend to stay away from it, but it was fun trying it.

      June 20, 2015
  2. Sounds like you had a fun time. I love the B&W street portrait.

    June 20, 2015
    • I did, it was nice just wandering the streets to see what we could take photos of. Thank you.

      June 20, 2015
  3. There’s just something about street photography that draws me. The car! the car! Love the construction image and portraits as well.

    June 20, 2015
    • I think a lot of people feel that way about it too, do you do it Elen? I know, how amazing is that car? The construction site was a bonus, couldn’t believe we could see it and could take photos of it. Thank you Elen.

      June 20, 2015
  4. Hi, thankyou so much for the lovely impressions. I once spent some weeks in Melbourne and loved the city and its spirit. Love from Germany, Jana

    June 20, 2015
    • I hope the photos brought back some fond memories for you. I love Melbourne, so any chance I get to go and take photos of it I’m very happy. Thank you Jana, I’m sure Germany is beautiful too.

      June 20, 2015
      • They did… I loved Brunswick Street, St. Kilda, the National Gallery of Victoria, the Great Ocean Road…. Thankyou for bringing back great memories. Love, Jana

        June 20, 2015
      • I haven’t been to Brunswick Street for a while, but my daughters love going there. Been to the others a bit. YOu’re welcome, I’m always showing stuff from here.

        June 20, 2015
  5. Great set of pictures Leanne. How thrilling to see your pictures in the cafe! Your street photography is great, I always find it hard to pluck up the courage to photograph strangers in the street, but as your chef shows, they often don’t mind at all! And after seeing all those pictures of cakes and chocolates, I’m feeling rather hungry! 🙂

    June 20, 2015
    • It was exciting, I wasn’t expecting it, but lovely surprise. Thank you, I never feel comfortable doing it, but I did enjoy it yesterday.I find it hard too, so I tried to go for people who were engaged in something else, like taking photos themselves. Those cakes are amazing, I want all of them, and I did have a few chocolates. Thanks again Katie, 🙂 if you ever come to Australia we will give each other the courage to do some street photography. 🙂

      June 20, 2015
      • I think sometimes it depends on your mood, I know this is the case for me. It is definitely a step (or two) out of my comfort zone, which I guess you need to do every so often! Anyway you did a great job, you got some really great pictures. 🙂

        June 20, 2015
      • Could be, it is usually something I run away from, yesterday only did it because my client wanted to try it.Thank you Kate, glad you liked them.

        June 20, 2015
  6. That’s what I love about visiting Melbourne. There is always something new to see. I must check out chocamama when we are there in a couple of weeks. At this rate, I will be rolling off the plane instead of walking off!

    June 20, 2015
    • There is, even for those of us who are lucky enough to live here. Yes, do check it out, very little shop, but packed full of sweetness. Haha, you might be at that. I must try afternoon or morning tea at the Hopetoun Tea Rooms one day. Thanks Carol.

      June 20, 2015
  7. Love your street photos of people. More, please!

    June 20, 2015
    • Thanks Linda, not sure how much I will do, but you can be assured if I do anymore I will show it here.

      June 20, 2015
  8. what a treasure trove of exciting and beautiful images! the food of course looks yummy…
    my fav though is the b/w street photo of the man.
    It is a kaleidoscope of the textures and patterns of living on the streets. It tugs unexpectedly – you captured a moment where his uncertainty and fragmentation has been made apparent. and yet he looks up. What a wonderful moment you’ve shared Leanne 🙂

    June 20, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, it does look yummy, I must try it one day.
      I quite like that one too, I like the light and composition. I like what you have observed in that one photo Debi, really interesting.

      June 20, 2015
  9. A nice selection of photos.

    June 20, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn.
      How’s it going over in your part of the world? It’s been cold here.

      June 20, 2015
  10. I love these Leanne makes me home sick 🙂

    June 20, 2015
    • Thank you Athena, are you from Melbourne? 🙂

      June 20, 2015
      • Yes I am but I live in Auckland now, although I get back as often as I can! 🙂

        June 20, 2015
      • I thought you must have been, I would love to get to NZ to take some photos one day. 🙂

        June 20, 2015
      • You should! Especially the south island which is magical and mystical, I haven’t been there yet but I will take some photos and upload them for you to see!

        June 21, 2015
      • I want to, but I don’t know when, it is certainly on the list. I want to do both. I also want to do more here as well. Sounds good Athena, if you do make sure to let me know.

        June 21, 2015
      • I will let you know. Theres some magical places in the North Island too, Tongariro national park is beautiful it has loads of sulphur pools in bright colours and looks like something out of Lord of the Rings (Mordor) if you are familiar with that 🙂

        June 22, 2015
      • Oh yes, very familiar with Lord of the Rings, some of the scenery in that was so amazing, the vistas and big landscapes, beautiful.
        Please do. 🙂

        June 22, 2015
  11. Reblogged this on kernaghanassociates and commented:
    Terrific Article….

    June 20, 2015
  12. wow! Leanne these are so good. I just love the b&w of the guy looking upwards. This is just so good … and the food, and the car and and and …. Awesome as always

    June 20, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, it has been a popular image that one, I wonder if it’s because it’s in black and white. I loved the food, I like doing that sort of photography.

      June 20, 2015
  13. A wonderful variety of photos. I have to go get a snack now because the treats made me hungry

    June 20, 2015
    • Thank you Nora, me too, I really want some of that food too.

      June 20, 2015
  14. I love the tea and chocolate shops!! great gallery Leanne!

    June 20, 2015
    • I love that tea shop, I love the window, must try some cakes one day. Thank you Cybele.

      June 20, 2015
  15. I love the first photo. Great intro to today’s post. Your street photography is really good. I’m thrilled they have your photos up of the Manchester Unity building. I love those.

    June 20, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, that window is so cool to photograph with all the cakes in it.The street photography was a bit of a surprise. Yes, I felt good about that as well.

      June 20, 2015
  16. nice pics and variety! lovely quaint stores and buildings, my kind of stuff, I always go to a new cafe whenever I can!

    June 20, 2015
    • Thank you Nadia. That’s great, it’s my kind of stuff as well. 🙂

      June 20, 2015
  17. Nice click… ♥

    June 20, 2015
  18. I love those photos of the cakes! You feel as if you may grab one and eat it from your photos, great work.

    June 20, 2015
    • The cakes are great, I want to eat them. Oh thank you for that, that’s fantastic.

      June 20, 2015
  19. A wonderful journey through your photography, thank you for sharing!!!

    June 20, 2015
    • Glad you enjoyed the journey Serena, thank you and you’re welcome.

      June 20, 2015
  20. Enjoyed the tour….but was it really a case of ‘Eating’ your way round the streets of Melbourne !? (-:

    June 20, 2015
    • Well I didn’t eat any of the cakes, just took photos of them, LOL, must try them one day, I think a plan is hatching. Thank you.

      June 20, 2015
  21. poppytump #

    You have us all salivating Leanne 😉
    A brilliant variety of photographic opportunities for your client to experience ! That’s one unruffled Chef …. and I love that super sleek car ….
    Have a great weekend … Oh I know I know …. you’re half way through it already Lol

    June 20, 2015
    • Me too Poppytump, I know I keep saying it, but I really must try some of those cakes one day. 😉
      It was great, we went all over the place which was great. Trying to find old architecture. That car was a bit of surprise, a lovely one.
      Thank you, and yes half over, but the best is about to happen, spending the day with a friend taking photos, brilliant. You have a good one too.

      June 21, 2015
  22. Such a great series Leanne! Life as it is! Your street portraits are excellent! I also love the shot of the gentleman looking upward – there is something real about the shot – and I think the black and white adds to the power of the shot.

    June 20, 2015
    • Thank you, and yes, I guess that is it absolutely. Glad you liked that one, it was too colourful, so the black and white seemed to concentrate it a little more.

      June 21, 2015
  23. woo, what an album full of surprises and it make me hungry. Love the cakes and street photos. Thanks for sharing, Leanne.

    June 20, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, I love the window of the Tea Rooms, always looks beautiful and yes, makes you hungry. You’re welcome.

      June 21, 2015
  24. I’m grateful for this sharing and the opportunity to savor a bit of Melbourne’s flavor, including it’s goodies! Best Regards!

    June 20, 2015
    • You’re welcome, I love sharing Melbourne, I think it’s a great city so if I can show it off I do. Thank you.

      June 21, 2015
  25. Some of you images are great. I love the B&W one of the man looking up with the face on a billboard behind. It would be nice if there was a way to talk about specific images. When there are too many displayed as once that isn’t easy. I hope you will not be offended by my bluntness. This is only a suggestion: Post only a few at a time on a topic has more impact. Less is more. Breaking it up into several posts is a possibility. Most of us are pressed for time. I love seeing your work.

    June 20, 2015
    • Sherry you can talk about individual photos, you click on an image in the gallery and then in the gallery there is a place to leave a comment on individual images. Some one just left one for the black and white man. We all do our posts and blogs the way we want to. I like doing this, gives a big impression of Melbourne. You can still look at them individually, as I said by clicking on them. If I spread them out over posts, then you will never see half, or over half of what I take, or I won’t feel the need to go out and take any. I often forget what I have too. Sorry you don’t like it, but everyone seems to enjoy it.

      June 21, 2015
      • I do like your site very much and enjoy following your work. Sorry if my commnet gave the wrong impression. It is hard to express myself properly in a few words. I feel that seeing especially good images isolated shows them off better. Just an opinion to ingone. You are right, we each have our own ways of showing our work and doing things.

        June 22, 2015
      • Oh I wasn’t upset at all Sherry, I guess I just feel that in the gallery if you click on them then you get that isolation, but I also like seeing the altogether. I like the effect they have on each other. That’s me. You know like seeing them in a gallery or exhibition. Please don’t get me wrong, I understand that we each like to do things out own way and I know you weren’t being rude or anything like that. We all good.

        June 22, 2015
      • Relief ♡

        June 23, 2015
      • LOL, 😀

        June 23, 2015
  26. Seems like such fun. I’d sure love to be able to go with you on a photo walk sometime. Not very likely, I live on the other side of the world hehe! Well in the extraordinarily highly unlikely event I ever get to visit Melbourne this is certainly something I will think about!

    June 21, 2015
    • I know the feeling, but you never know. I hope you can come one day, Melbourne is a beautiful city and walking around it with a camera, even better. Thank you.

      June 21, 2015
  27. Yet again a stunning collection of photos. I am in love with the photo of the work on what was Australia on Collins. Beautiful shot!

    June 21, 2015
    • Thank you Tony, you don’t get to see that kind of thing very often and it was one of the highlights of the day, that’s for sure.

      June 21, 2015
  28. You and street photography in the same sentence. Who would have thunk?!? Lol it is a fabulous shot! And the car is so 007-ish! I’m sure your client had a blast. And how cool is it that the cafe had your work on its walls, congratulations :-). And your food shots make hungry…

    June 21, 2015
    • I know, who would’ve thought. Thank you, how cool is that car?? I hope so. I love photographing the cakes from that shop and when you come here we can go there have High tea like the queen, (she says in her poshest english accent) 😀

      June 21, 2015
      • Lol…hearing your posh English accent might actually get me on a plane!!!

        June 22, 2015
      • Well, you will have to come here to hear it, lol

        June 22, 2015
      • Lol!!

        June 22, 2015
  29. Di' #

    It looked like a very well sightseeing and wandering about. Love all the pictures especially about those delectable desserts.

    June 26, 2015
    • It was Di’ it was a lovely day for it thank you.

      June 27, 2015

Comments are closed.

