Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Melbourne Bridges at Night

melbourne-night-river-bridges-1026

A couple of weeks ago I was given an opportunity to take some photos along the river at night. We started at Docklands and found a great place to take some photos of the Bolte Bridge. I’ve never been that close to it before. Β We then wandered back and took photos at various places along the river till we got to Flinders Street Station. It was here thatΒ we said good bye and caught trains home.

I do love taking photos of the river at night, the best time. I am thinking of organizing a group outing to do it.

This morning I’m going out to take more photos in and near central Victoria. It should be a great morning/day for photography. I’m really looking forward to it. I’ve been wanting to get back to this place for while, but you will have to wait to find out where I’ve gone. There might be hints on Instagram.

Here is a gallery of images for you to see. I hope your weekend is going well.

96 Comments
  1. These are really superb Leanne. I just bet they were a nightmare to take too, with the tricky exposures but you have pulled them off perfectly. Just stunning – 1035 is definitely my favourite. -James

    June 21, 2015
    • They weren’t too bad, since I’ve worked out that I can take exposures for longer than 30 seconds, it is good fun. I like seeing what I can get now. Did you like the red light, a cyclist with a flashing red light at the back, pretty cool how it turned out. Thank you James.

      June 21, 2015
      • Ahh..I wondered what that was…now I know (obvious really once you are told)…I had a go at night photography 40 years ago with an old Praktica slr and some tri-x. I got a couple but not many and nothing I was prepared to show anyone πŸ˜‰

        June 21, 2015
      • I know what you mean, I wondered how it would come out. Maybe you should give it a good, so much easier now with digital you can see whether or not you are stuffing things up. What about the milky way, have you tried doing that on the Moors?
        I sent you an email too, I hope you got it.

        June 21, 2015
      • Wow! Thanks Leanne – I have just replied to your email πŸ™‚

        I have a couple of wind overnight camps scheduled on the moors in a couple of months so that would be a good time to photograph the Milky Way. Good idea πŸ™‚

        June 21, 2015
      • I got it too.

        I think it’s a great idea, I look forward to seeing what you do.

        June 21, 2015
  2. beautiful images!

    June 21, 2015
  3. Wow, the night photos are excellent Leanne!

    June 21, 2015
    • Thank you John, they are fun to take too, you never know what you will get.

      June 21, 2015
  4. Wow! Very striking shots.

    June 21, 2015
  5. Fantastic captures of the bridge, Leanne. Gorgeous shapes.

    June 21, 2015
    • Thank you Jane, we do have some lovely bridges here to photograph.

      June 21, 2015
  6. You make me want to go to Melbourne! Too bad it’s 10,000 miles from New Orleans 😦

    June 21, 2015
    • If I can travel to the states, you could travel here, it’s only about 18 hours on a plane, LOL. Thanks.

      June 21, 2015
  7. Reblogged this on Carmen Cacalano and commented:
    Gee, I dont know where these photographs were taken. but they’re really nice. the charm of cities by the rivers. I liked pgh. Where I came from for some time. and these sort of at first reminded me of PGH. Then again, nearly all the time I think about my city experience which was by rivers.
    Thanks these are cool. My Paintings @ https://cacalanostudios.wordpress.com .
    Carmen

    June 21, 2015
    • They were taken in Melbourne Australia.

      June 21, 2015
  8. Beautiful photos!

    June 21, 2015
  9. I re-blogged this.
    Carmen

    June 21, 2015
  10. Your pictures are absolutely beautiful. And Melbourne lights are amazing.

    June 21, 2015
    • Thank you Maryna, they do put on a nice show at night.

      June 21, 2015
  11. compliments,really nice feeling,looks like a perfect clean…ghost town,no noize no people no cars,beautiful

    June 21, 2015
    • Thank you. YOu have to love long exposures for giving you the ghost town effect, I love it.

      June 21, 2015
  12. Very nice photos.

    June 21, 2015
  13. Wonderful series of night shots, Leanne. Great control of the dynamic range.

    June 21, 2015
    • thank you Robin, it was weird as I usually bracket and I often find HDR better for night shots, but I didn’t do any bracketing so I couldn’t do any, but I would love to go back to some of these and do some bracketing and see what I get with HDR, see if it is better.

      June 21, 2015
  14. I love night photos also, but I don’t do them often mostly because I’m just so tired at night.

    You did great with these – much better than I did. I ended up having to use Topaz Star Effects to get a twinkle on the lights. Since I took these, I’ve learned how to do settings and can get a twinkle using the correct exposure. I love the colors on yours – makes me think I should go back and retry mine and see if I can bring out more of that.

    http://livingtheseasons.com/2014/10/20/working-a-day-job-part-3/

    Nancy

    June 21, 2015
    • I know what you mean Nancy, I also don’t do them much because I don’t like being in some of those places at night by myself.
      Can I give you some tips, you will get the star effect if you use a small aperture like f16 or f18, up to f22 and beyond. I just read more, I should do that, read the whole comment first instead of in pieces, so you can ignore that last part. I think too you should see if you can give them more time, see what happens. Some of mine were exposed for a minute, but most around 45 seconds I think.
      I want to go back too, I wish I had bracketed so I could see what HDR would do with them.
      Thanks Nancy, and good luck.

      June 21, 2015
      • Thanks Leanne! The pictures I took last December were much better with the little twinkles, mostly because I understood manual, AV & TV modes on my camera so much better after taking a class on it last summer. It’s all a learning curve, but if you don’t start, you never learn!

        June 21, 2015
      • That’s great Nancy, it is all about learning and working out what you are doing and sounds like you are going great. I like the last part so true.

        June 21, 2015
      • That’s one of my favorite phrases. You’re not learning if you don’t have some failure, so get cracking and start failing. Get it over with! People laugh, but they generally start doing whatever they’ve been putting off once they have permission to not be perfect at it.

        June 21, 2015
      • It is so true, the best way to learn is to stuff up and work out why you stuffed up. Go for it really. I like it Nancy.

        June 21, 2015
  15. Wow Leanne – great shots! Some of them look quite surreal! And no people πŸ™‚

    June 21, 2015
    • We should have a go one night in the city Chris, could be fun. The longer exposures help to get rid of the people. πŸ˜€ Thanks.

      June 21, 2015
  16. Awesome shots and simply love the shots on the bridges they are simply fab. Thanks Leanne for sharing and have a wonderful Sunday.

    June 21, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, the river and all the bridges are such great places to take night photos. You’re very welcome.

      June 21, 2015
  17. That bulb setting and a remote will do it for you Leanne. You’ve some really lovely images here! Well done! πŸ™‚

    June 21, 2015
    • And it did Chillbrook, it was fantastic. Thank you.

      June 21, 2015
  18. leecleland #

    Wonderful shots of Melbourne at night and love the empty feeling to the place.

    June 21, 2015
    • I love that empty feeling too, thank you Lee.

      June 21, 2015
  19. Great shots. There is such a beauty with bridges.

    June 21, 2015
    • I think so Raewyn, I love photographing them. Thanks.

      June 21, 2015
  20. This is such a great collection of images around a theme. So good, I put a link to it on my Facebook site. Excellent work.

    June 21, 2015
    • Thanks for the link William, and I’m so glad you liked the images, I love doing images like this. Thank you.

      June 21, 2015
  21. The right photographer for such beautiful and friendly city. Bravo, Leanne! πŸ™‚

    June 21, 2015
    • Thank you Fabio, lovely compliment. πŸ™‚

      June 21, 2015
  22. Wow these are stunning Leanne.

    June 21, 2015
  23. Wonderful bridges and you’re teasing us! πŸ™‚

    June 21, 2015
    • Thanks Nicci and yes, I’m teasing, haha. πŸ™‚

      June 21, 2015
  24. Ooooh…
    Ahhhhh…
    πŸ™‚

    June 21, 2015
    • I like your reaction, thank you. πŸ™‚

      June 21, 2015
  25. Lee #

    Love the bridges, but really love that ship!

    June 21, 2015
    • Thanks Lee, the ship is quite popular, I’ve only taken photos of it a couple of times.

      June 21, 2015
  26. As good at night as it is by day! Great city, great photos! πŸ˜ƒ

    June 21, 2015
    • Great city definitely, and I think either too, thank you Julie.

      June 21, 2015
  27. Fantastic photos! I like em very much. Love seeing images at times when people should be in bed or at the clubs :-). At what time were these taken? Do you take long exposures usually when it is windy or do you not need to have clouds moving for this? Love the ship & the one with the flashing bike light is really cool.

    June 21, 2015
    • Thank you. They were all taken early evening, some parts were quiet and not too many people were around. It was a Monday night, but it was also a public holiday.It depends with the long exposures, depends on what I want, and what I’m photographing. These shots were all about the water and lights, so the fact that it was windy and the clouds were moving was a bonus.

      June 21, 2015
      • Is it allowed to ask how long shutter time you have for photos in the night ? πŸ™‚

        June 22, 2015
      • Of course you can ask, they were between a minute and 30 seconds for most of them.

        June 22, 2015
  28. Awesome shots Leanne. I’m in Melbourne during the week to eat at Heston’s Fat Duck. Are any of these bridges located nearby? Also did you use any filters for your long exposures? I hope to get out and take some shots during my limited time in the city.

    June 21, 2015
    • Thank you, lucky you getting to go to the Fat Duck. Most of them are, they are up past the exhibition centre towards Docklands. I didn’t use filters, you don’t really need them for night photography. I hope you get a chance to as well, good luck.

      June 21, 2015
  29. Gorgeous, Leanne!! Obviously a tripod, right?!? My nemesis!! Lol. Actually, I’m getting better with it the more I practice. (Imagine that!). These make me want to travel which I don’t usually have the urge to do πŸ™‚

    June 21, 2015
    • Thanks Kirsten, oh yes, very much so a tripod. That is great to hear, the more you use it the better you get with it I think. that’s great, you should, come visit, hahaha. πŸ˜‰

      June 21, 2015
      • Me and my tripod might wreck havoc on the plane! Lol

        June 22, 2015
      • Haha, that would be interesting, lol, maybe the tripod should go in your check in luggage.

        June 22, 2015
      • That would be a “heck yeah!!” Im dangerous enough with just my purse! Lol

        June 22, 2015
      • Maybe before you fly we should get a shirt or something with a danger sign on it. LOL

        June 22, 2015
      • LOL… I like how you think!!

        June 22, 2015
      • LOL, you know what they say about great minds and all that.

        June 22, 2015
  30. Wow, these are fabulous, Leanne.

    June 21, 2015
  31. poppytump #

    Super night time gallery Leanne ! Quite eerie with the long exposures ridding the scenes of people and traffic !
    I did like the dash dash dash of the cyclist πŸ˜€ . I’ve had an experiment or two and been fascinated by what appears and how .

    June 21, 2015
    • Thank you Poppytump, there really were that many people around, though it is kind of fun how the longer exposures does get rid of the people.
      The cyclist was fun, wasn’t really sure how it would come out, but I like it. πŸ˜€ That’s great, have you put them up in your blog yet?

      June 21, 2015
      • poppytump #

        Lol I’ve SO many types of experiments over the last few months I guess I ought to do a post πŸ˜‰ but I’m working on a few lens focus thingies . I have to say I’m love with my Big Stopper πŸ™‚

        June 21, 2015
      • What sort of lens focus thingies, problems or other experiements? I love mine too, though I’ve been using my Formatt Hitech Firecrest 16 more these days. πŸ™‚ Well I will have to look out for your experiments.

        June 22, 2015
      • poppytump #

        I’ve been trying to get nice sharp pictures in landscapes but quite often I miss that nice crisp shot .. I have to say probably a combination of specs/ pixle peeping / and rushing too much . It’s a bit hit and miss at times . I’ll maybe put together some of those that seemed to have worked out better πŸ˜‰
        Happy Summer Solstice From the N Hemisphere Leanne πŸ˜€ Sunset an hour ago … time for bedZzzz
        Enjoy your day !

        June 22, 2015
      • Sunrise is happening now Poppytump, you say good bye as we say hello. Happy winter Solstice. πŸ˜€
        Are you using a tripod? I’m sure they will still look great. πŸ™‚

        June 22, 2015
  32. WOW!

    June 21, 2015
  33. Amy #

    Wow, stunning night light shots, Leanne!

    June 21, 2015
    • Thank you Amy, lots of fun to do as well.

      June 22, 2015
  34. I love this set.

    June 21, 2015
    • That’s great Kevin, thank you.

      June 22, 2015
  35. Some lovely bridge shots there, Leanne.

    June 22, 2015
    • Thank you Graham, we do have some nice bridges along the river.

      June 22, 2015
  36. almost like a fantasy land – the colours and shapes!! Beautiful Leanne!

    June 22, 2015
    • That’s Melbourne, thank you Cybele.

      June 22, 2015
  37. Looks like a beautiful city

    June 22, 2015
    • It is, well I think it’s the best, not that I’ve traveled many places, but I love it. Thank you.

      June 22, 2015

Comments are closed.

