Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: A Slow Week

There’s no point pretending that it has been a busy week, it has, but not really in the ways you would normally expect. I’ve been spending more time writing for Digital Photography School. I think I just had a few days too where I just wanted to relax and not take much in. I was feeling quite lazy. Let’s see what I’ve got to tell you.

Trip to the USA

I’ve been trying to see if I can get some sponsors for the trip. I will be borrowing a couple of Tamron Lenses, and I have a ripponleal-20131011-8956Lowepro bag to try out on my trip. So I decided to see if I could get some other sponsors.

One thing that I thought would be good would be a travel tripod. Β I sent an email to Gitzo to talk to them about the possibility and got nothing back, never heard from them. Β I sent an email to Manfrotto and got some generic email back saying if they were interested they would let me know, needless to say I didn’t hear anything back. Then I sent an email to Right Stuff, and they were quick in their response, they couldn’t help me, but at least they responded.

I have to wonder if I am in a good position to get things like this. I did try sending an email to Merrell about maybe lending ripponleal-20131011-8905me a pair of hiking shoes for the trip, but I did only send it today, so who knows. I do love their shoes, well, I’ve only got one pair, but I wear them everywhere these days when I’m going to take photos. I can’t believe how comfortable they are.

It seems that I’m set for the trip and today when I looked at my tickets they said that I was leaving in 70 days, wow, so soon, I will be there before I know it.

Computer

I’ve spent a lot of time this afternoon trying to get my computer working. Seems I have a small problem with shutting it down and then getting it to turn back on. I had a technician here all afternoon and it seems the problem isn’t quite fixed, but shouldn’t take too long.

Learning from Me

I’m supposed to use this day to remind you that I can teach you photography as well, so if you are in Melbourne or coming here then you can book a One on One Photography session. I can teach you photography as we wander around the city taking photos. For more information click here.

ripponleal-20131011-8896If you can’t get here then I also do online courses, you can book, one, three or five sessions with me. For more information then please click here.

Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries

I don’t usually talk about television here but I’ve been watching Miss Fisher on television and I find it such a thrill when they have buildings in it that I recognize. It is filmed in Melbourne, and set in the 1920’s. It is not a very serious show, but I love it. the costumes are great, but what I love is the architecture. I especially love it when it is a building that I have been too and love or recognize.

One of those buildings is Ripponlea. I’ve been there a couple of times and today I thought I might share with you some photos that I’ve taken there of the gardens. They are always so beautiful and they photograph so nicely.

Today I’m just going to leave it there today. I hope you enjoy the photos.

71 Comments
  1. Those gardens really are beautiful. I can’t sponsor you for a trip to the states but if you need someone to back up your claims for Merrell hiking boots, I’m your guy. And if you end up in or near Las Vegas Nevada, I can give you a few pointers on where to shoot away from the strip! Can’t wait to see your future work from the US.

    June 23, 2015
    • I agree Emilio, they really are. Thanks for the thought, but I did hear back from them and looks like they are going to do, of course they want some things from me in exchange, but nothing too unreasonable. I would love to go there, but don’t think it will happen this trip, you never know there might be more. Thank you.

      June 23, 2015
  2. I would think your stats are good enough to attract some interest by sponsors. Are they giving you any ideas what they are looking for to do sponsorships?

    Nancy

    June 23, 2015
    • Most don’t bother getting back to me, and others just give you a stand line like everything is in place for this year, and they don’t want to sponsor anyone else, I get that a lot. Apparently my stats aren’t impressive enough, lol, oh well, you can only ask. Thanks Nancy.

      June 23, 2015
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    My computer died a month ago and it has taken a long time to find one with all the memory, bells and whistles I required. It’s sitting right next to me so as soon as I finish work today I will try migrating into it and give the one I’m using back to my husband.

    As you mentioned above, turning on and off is a problem for some these days. The one I’m on right now gave me a problem like you describe. From now on I plan to backup everything at least every two to four weeks.

    I say a little prayer for you that yours does not crash.

    June 23, 2015
    • Mine is brand new Jackie, only had since March, not sure what’s happening with it. It doesn’t seem to like my monitor. That is where the problems start, have trouble getting high resolution.
      I try and back up every time I’ve been out to take photos at the moment while they are fixing up the computer. I’m also getting a SSD put into it as well.
      Thanks Jackie.

      June 23, 2015
      • lensaddiction #

        How old is your monitor vs yr puter? You might have conflicting graphics drivers, bear in mind that your graphics driver AND the monitor need to be able to support the desired resolution. Just because a hi res is an option doesn’t always mean it’s fully compatible, and if it’s an older mon that might be part of the problem. Usually you can get updated drivers to solve that problem.

        If you drop the res on the min do you still have the on off issues?

        Do you unplug mon before or after you turn off laptop? I assume it’s a laptop.

        June 23, 2015
      • The monitor is only a year old, maybe a little more, my husband organized it, he’s a programmer and apparently knows all this stuff. I got a new desktop computer back in March. We got it from Dell and we spent a lot of time chatting to someone there to make sure it was the right computer for me. We told them what my monitor was. I suspect the Dell staff are not very good and don’t really understand what people are asking them just interested in the sale. OMG the hassles I had with the tech staff, they couldn’t seem to understand what I was asking them.

        June 23, 2015
      • lensaddiction #

        Yes sadly that is the case with a lot of sales people tho if your mon is not a dell then they wouldn’t care about compatibility with a dell device, not their problem!

        June 24, 2015
      • No, my monitor is a Dell, that’s why we bought a Dell, because all my computers have been Dell. So you would think they would know.

        June 24, 2015
      • lensaddiction #

        Sadly yes you would think so!

        June 24, 2015
      • I know, I think it’s all good now, time will tell.

        June 24, 2015
  4. Stunning photos, Leanne! I think you live in the paradise! πŸ™‚

    June 23, 2015
    • I wish this was my garden, how cool would that be. Thanks Pike.

      June 23, 2015
  5. Where are you heading in the US, the big sights? have you travelled much outside Australia?

    June 23, 2015
    • I’m off to around San Francisco for two weeks and then around 10 days in New York. Not much, we lived in Denmark for 7 months once, about 20 years ago.

      June 23, 2015
  6. You have made great strides over the past couple years and I congratulate you on keeping your forward movement Leanne. Keep writing to manufacturers sometimes it is just the luck of the draw if someone feels like responding or not. Hope the computer situation gets sorted out soon.

    June 23, 2015
    • Thank you PC, I think you could be right, and I suppose they are looking for particular fits as well. I did hear back from Merrell and looks like we are going to be working together which will be nice. I hope so too, it is a bit of a pain, but could end up being better than ever, I hope.

      June 23, 2015
  7. Stunning!!!

    June 23, 2015
  8. Well, I just saw the full effect. the rest of the photos. and i thought, “wow that is amazing”

    June 23, 2015
  9. lensaddiction #

    You could try 3 Legged Thing for the tripods, they are a UK brand I think who are a bit more experimental and might be up for it.

    Ive read all the Phryne Fisher books and really like them. She also does another series about a mystery solving baker called Corinne which are good too

    ive seen some of the tv series but need to hire the DVD and watch them properly – i didnt like one big plot bunny they introduced but it may have played out better. The chemistry between her and Jack was delightful

    June 23, 2015
    • Thanks for the tip Stacey, I will contact them. I had a quick look and their tripods look great. They do look a bit quirky.

      I haven’t read any of the books, only seen the tv series. I haven’t seen any other series, might have to look them up. I wonder if I can get it for the kindle, could be good reading material while I’m away.

      I watched the first two on netflix. Watching the third now on Friday nights. I didn’t like it when I first watched it, but I persevered and it did grow on me. I like the chemistry too, and I like that nothing has happened between them.

      June 23, 2015
      • lensaddiction #

        Yes the book are available in kindle format

        June 23, 2015
      • Cool, I will have to look for them.

        June 23, 2015
      • I own a 3LT tripod called Brian for nearly a year now. It’s really a great companion. My old Vanguard wasn’t ablt to carry my camera anymore without tilting its head unintentionally. 😦

        June 23, 2015
      • I’ve never heard of them before, they look amazing and I love the names for them. My current tripod is too heavy to travel with, so finding one that is easier to travel with would be great. I’ve sent them an email, so will see if I get a response.

        June 23, 2015
      • good luck, Leanne!

        June 23, 2015
      • Thank you, guess I will hear soon or not at all.

        June 23, 2015
  10. Yes, the gardens are very inviting and wondrous.

    June 23, 2015
    • They are Olga, they are great.

      June 23, 2015
  11. such tranquillity!! perfect for pre trip anxieties!!

    June 23, 2015
    • Oh yes, a good place for that, I love walking around it Cybele, might have to visit there before my big trip.

      June 23, 2015
  12. When do you fly out.. is it in September? I love Ripponlea it looks like a French villa and gardens. those red chairs in all that greenery is divine πŸ™‚

    June 23, 2015
    • I am flying out on the 1st of September, my mums birthday. Ripponlea is like that exactly, beautiful. Thanks Kaz.

      June 23, 2015
      • How funny my Mums as well!

        June 23, 2015
      • Does this make us almost sisters. LOL πŸ˜‰

        June 23, 2015
      • Haha yep. Your birthday wouldn’t be in April would it?

        June 23, 2015
      • Damn, I must have been the premmy one, January.

        June 23, 2015
      • haha not twins then πŸ™‚

        June 23, 2015
      • No, but we could be sisters lol

        June 23, 2015
  13. 70 days?? Wow, time IS flying by πŸ™‚ I just got back from four days in NYC and spent each day from morning to midnight walking everywhere with my camera. I absolutely fell in love and I know you will too, Leanne! So much energy, so many wonderful places to photograph. I didn’t want to come home. I still haven’t had the chance to process my pictures except one of the city I posted on Friday taken from the top of the GE building. Unbelievable view from up there!!

    Keeping my fingers crossed you’re able to find more sponsors. And good luck with your computer. Always difficult when they act up on us!

    June 23, 2015
    • Oh yes, I know, so close. Too close, haha, every time I think about it I have a little panick attack. I think, actually I know, I will have the same reaction. I can’t wait, and am looking forward to lots and lots of photos. Going to be crazy. What is the GE building?

      Same Stacy, would be great to be doing reviews for products while I’m travelling. So I will try some more. It is, and even worse when they are new.
      Thank you.

      June 23, 2015
      • Leanne, the GE Building is home to NBC studios where many iconic American TV shows are recorded or broadcasted live. It is located in Rockefeller Center, home of the famous winter skating rink and Christmas tree. At the top of the GE building is an observation deck with stunning views of Manhattan and Central Park. It’s called Top of the Rock. You can’t bring tripods up there, but there are ledges on which you can rest a camera. It costs $24 USD to take the elevator to the deck. I recently posted a shot from there: http://visualventuring.com/2015/06/19/top-of-the-rock/

        June 24, 2015
      • Oh, okay, I’ve heard of a few of those, certainly the Rockefeller Center. I love the view you got, really cool. I definitely want to see NY from a good height, seems almost iconic to do that.

        June 24, 2015
      • It’s either here, the top of the Empire State Building, or the newly opened One World Observatory (the 100th floor of Freedom Plaza/One World Trade Center), though here you have to shoot through glass: https://oneworldobservatory.com/experience/

        June 24, 2015
      • I really want to do the Empire State Building, very iconic, I like that, but I want to do it at night, if I can.
        I really hope you can come while I’m there Stacy.

        June 24, 2015
      • Night is a must πŸ™‚ No tripods are allowed there either and there is fencing that you have to shoot through. I was able to prop my little Fuji on a ledge and get a view through it though. With a full-frame DSLR, it may be more difficult. That’s the beauty of Top of the Rock. No fencing. Plus you get to capture the ESB in your shots πŸ™‚ Nevertheless, when in NYC you have to go to the top of it because, as you say, it’s iconic! What exactly are the dates you’ll be there? When I visited a few weeks ago, I tagged along on my husband’s business trip and while he worked, I roamed the city. I even had an opportunity to spend the day with two bloggers from Monochromia and it was a blast! I’m keeping my fingers crossed it works out when you’re there too, Leanne!

        June 25, 2015
      • I’ve heard that many places in New York are no tripod zones, makes it hard. Oh well, will have to see what I can get. I am going to be in New York from the 15th of September to the 25th. So a few days to play around. Must contact Robin and let him know as well. I hope it does work too Stacy, it would be lovely to catch up with some people and meet them. I know I will be meeting a couple, so that will be good. πŸ™‚

        June 25, 2015
      • On my calendar, Leanne πŸ™‚

        June 25, 2015
      • Fantastic. πŸ™‚

        June 26, 2015
  14. Forgot to comment on your wonderful images, Leanne. You’re right, the gardens are beautiful!

    June 23, 2015
    • That’s okay Stacy, thank you.

      June 23, 2015
  15. Leanne, I’m looking forward to seeing your upcoming trip to the US. San Fran is one of my favorite cities on the planet… and I didn’t even know Laura when I went there πŸ™‚ I’m sure you’ll have a blast on this big trip.

    With all the action you get through this blog, I think you’ve placed yourself perfectly for getting more gear to review. You’ve got a lot of readers, and I know they’d be interested in hearing what you’ve got to say about different photography products. Perhaps you’re selling yourself too short in your ask letters? Maybe you don’t have quite enough, or the type of reviews these companies are looking for? Who knows, could be one of a lot of different factors. Maybe the DPS editors can give you some tips on securing gear.

    I’d be interested!

    June 23, 2015
    • Thanks Shane, I’m really looking forward to seeing it as well, and seeing some of the areas around there as well. Should be great.

      I hope so, it would be good, I’ve been given some stuff which is great. Maybe I am, I don’t know. that’s not a bad idea asking dps, they might know too. They get stuff all the time to review, but I can never get it because I am here.I might let them know I’m coming and see if they can help me organize some stuff. Thanks for the suggestion.

      June 23, 2015
  16. Beautiful garden down there at Ripponlea. I hope to check it out myself at some point when the weather is a bit warmer. Good luck with the emails and organising your trip to the States. Certainly not long to go now, you must be very excited. I suppose if you have a reason for others to sponsor you – say doing something in exchange – might help?

    Sometimes being lazy or taking it slow is good. No rush, less stress πŸ˜€

    June 23, 2015
    • It is, I’m sure you’ve been down there. thanks, there is a bit to organize, but I’m sure it will all come together. No not long. Yes, I am trying that as well. Which would be great, I don’t mind that.
      Sometimes, you do just have to chill. πŸ˜€

      June 23, 2015
  17. Those tree photos are stunning. Best of luck with seeking sponsorship. I’m looking forward to your US trip to see what inspires you.

    June 23, 2015
    • Thanks Laura, the gardens are gorgeous. It should be interesting, I’ve tried for sponsorship before, but this is the first time for something like this. Time will tell.

      June 23, 2015
  18. Stunning gardens. Love your photos

    June 23, 2015
    • thank you Raewyn, you must have some great gardens there to photograph as well.

      June 23, 2015
  19. Hey Leanne .. Not long to go! Exciting . Good luck with the computer πŸ˜ƒ

    June 23, 2015
    • No not long at all, it is coming up fast. Thanks, hopefully it will be all fixed tomorrow.

      June 23, 2015
  20. WOW!

    June 24, 2015
  21. Gorgeous Gardens! I love the bike in the picture on the bottom. It seems somehow romantic.

    June 24, 2015
    • They are Kirsten, we could visit them. Yes, romantic the perfect description. Thank you.

      June 24, 2015

Comments are closed.

