Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Hanging Around Pearse Road Beach in Blairgowrie

pearse-beach-bairgowrie-sorrento-sunset-9871

A couple of weekends ago I spent the weekend in Sorrento and Blairgowrie taking photos around the beaches. It was great weather for the weekend and we managed to get to a few beaches. One we seemed to spend a lot of time at was Pearse Road Beach. It has some strange shelf type things in the water and we thought they would be great for some long exposures.

When we got there we realized the tide was coming in and we couldn’t do a lot. We ended up heading up the cliff and doing some shots looking down at the water and the rocks below  We also hung around for the sunset.

The next afternoon we looked at the tide charts and headed back there, but got there before the tide came in, so low tide. We still missed low tide, but got to see the shelf things, or rocks again.  We also did more photos from the cliff.  We didn’t do sunset here this time. You will have to wait for another post to see those.

I am going to put all the photos into a gallery for you now. I have written under some Friday Evening for the ones taken then, and then Saturday Afternoon for the return trip.

I’m away, I think I told you already, hopefully getting some great photos.  I hope you have some great plans for the weekend as well.

56 Comments
  1. Great photos. Your are making my Australia bucket list more and more urgent.

    June 27, 2015
    • Thank you, we might have to get you planning that trip soon. I’m sure you will love it here.

      June 27, 2015
  2. poppytump #

    Some lovely colourful sunsets Leanne ! Nice contrasts between jagged rocks and those silky waters 🙂

    June 27, 2015
    • Thanks Poppytump, I love that part of the coast because of those rocks and the water there. 😀

      June 27, 2015
  3. Love those rocky outcrops snd shelves !

    June 27, 2015
  4. Gorgeous photos. 🙂 Stunning!!

    June 27, 2015
  5. wooo!! stunning shots and love the photos taking from the top of the hills and the motions of the water and tides.
    Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful Saturday, Leanne.

    June 27, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, I like those ones as well. It is great seeing it all from that height and the power of the ocean.
      You’re welcome, glad you enjoyed them. My day is almost over now, very tired, did a lot of walking today.

      June 27, 2015
  6. beautiful images, it looks like a very enjoyable excursion!

    June 27, 2015
    • It was, a bit exhausting, but then good trips are always exhausting, thanks.

      June 27, 2015
  7. Lee #

    Wow! Beautiful photos!

    June 27, 2015
  8. Great selection of shots.

    June 27, 2015
  9. Beautiful images…sweet sunsets…and I really like those “shelf things,” as you call them. 🙂

    June 27, 2015
    • Thank you Seekraz, they were really amazing, and all along there. 🙂

      June 27, 2015
  10. A nice place to hang around at, Leanne! I love the rocky beach and the sunsets. Sometimes I wish we had some big rocks on the beach too, they add so much drama to photos…but no, only water and sugar sand 🙂

    June 27, 2015
    • It is a great place Tiny, I’m going to have to try and get back there at some other times. I really want to get there before low tide, well before. Yes, rocks make photographing beaches so much better, I wouldn’t like no rocks. Thanks Tiny. 🙂

      June 27, 2015
  11. How lucky you are to be surrounded by such beautiful gifts from nature.

    June 27, 2015
    • I am,I think, very lucky indeed, and very lucky that I can travel to these amazing places as well. Thank you.

      June 27, 2015
  12. Really beautiful photos. I love the soft look of the water. That’s definitely a technique I need to try soon 🙂

    June 27, 2015
    • Thank you Paige, that soft water look is pretty amazing. Sometimes it is about slowing your shutter speed down, but I did use a ND filter, just a .9 one from Formatt Hitech. 🙂

      June 27, 2015
  13. As usual, wonderful shots.

    June 27, 2015
  14. A magical coastline and some stunning shots Leanne – makes me think of parts of the north coast of Cornwall actually where the surfers go.

    June 27, 2015
    • Thank you Jane, we do have an amazing coastline, I love taking photos of it. Oh, I love the photos I’ve seen of Cornwall, though no one surfs there.

      June 27, 2015
      • Actually they do in parts of north west Cornwall Leanne, if you google Constantine Bay, it’s quite an attraction for surfers and the coastline is wonderful, makes me quite nostalgic thinking of it – used to holiday there as a kid!!

        June 27, 2015
      • I’ve been taking photos around Bell’s Beach this weekend, which is famous for surfing I think. Wonderful Jane, lovely when you see photos that make you nostalgic.

        June 28, 2015
  15. Beautiful pictures, Leanne!

    June 27, 2015
    • Thank you Zelmare, when are you off to Canada?

      June 27, 2015
      • Oh, I’m back already! busy writing a post about it. 🙂

        June 29, 2015
      • Wow, that went by so quickly, I will have to go and read it. 🙂

        June 30, 2015
  16. Beautiful photoset Leanne – Friday evenings sky is gorgeous. It is a shame that I live far away from the sea (and Australia for that matter) 😉

    June 27, 2015
    • I don’t often get a sunset like that, so I was very pleased that I got this one. Yes, it is a shame, Australia is a great place to photograph, though you live and get to photograph a pretty amazing place yourself James. Thanks 🙂

      June 27, 2015
  17. leecleland #

    Great series of shots Leanne of a wonderful place. Who can beat rocks, waves and sunset 🙂

    June 27, 2015
    • Thank you Lee, exactly who can, 😉

      June 27, 2015
  18. Gorgeous scenes Leanne – love your shots of water.

    June 28, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, I think I’m starting to understand what sort of images I like from the ocean.

      June 28, 2015
      • It shows in your beautiful work ~

        June 28, 2015
      • You’re so nice, thank you.

        June 28, 2015
  19. Love the “shelf things!” Long exposure shots are very cool of the ocean… I’ve really got to start saving up for my ND Filter! Beautiful shots!

    June 28, 2015
    • Thanks Kirsten, they are fun, and you can get some great images. Yes, and saving up for your trip here.

      June 28, 2015
      • I need to start socking away the money now! I might also do one of those “gofundme” things that people do to raise money for their weddings and trips. I feel kind of funny about that, though. We’ll see…

        June 28, 2015
      • Yep, I’ve never thought of doing that for a trip, could be a great idea, I might have to watch and see how it goes.

        June 28, 2015
  20. Utterly breathtaking as usual!! That colour!

    July 1, 2015
  21. What a beautiful place. I really like that shelf it add so much to the picture on slow shutter.. and that sunset 🙂

    July 2, 2015
    • Thanks Kaz, we might have to take a trip on the ferry so you can see it.

      July 2, 2015
  22. Beautiful gallery, Leanne

    July 2, 2015
  23. Such beautiful photography!

    July 3, 2015

Comments are closed.

