Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Night Skies Along the Coast

pearse-beach-bairgowrie-milky-way-0612

This last week there have been lots and lots of reports of the Aurora Australis, our version of the northern lights. Ours are red and greenl, though I wouldn’t know. I’ve never seen it regardless of two trips to the coast, it was too overcast. There was always clouds around the horizon.

First I wanted to show you some photos that were taken during my Astrophotography class. We went to Sorrento to do them. We have some cloud, but overall it wasn’t too bad. We certainly got to see the milky way. Here are the photos from that evening.

My first attempt at trying to get the Aurora was in Sorrento. We couldn’t see it but I still took some photos. I love how you can see everything and the photos look like they were taken during the day, but it was dark. You can see the stars in the sky.

I’m down at Jan Juc at the moment and the other night we went out to see if we could see theΒ aurora, and still nothing, too many clouds. We even got up early the next morning, and nothing, again clouds. What is it with the clouds? We did go and take some photos, first at a beach here at Jan Juc, then Bells Beach and a bit further along to Southside Beach. Again, some great photos, I think, of the milky way.

It hasn’t been a total waste of a weekend, and I’ve certainly enjoyed it. Got lots of photos today and lots of exercise, we walked about eight kilometres, I blame Chris, from sv-takeiteasy, it was all her idea and now I’m really tired. I hope you have had a productive weekend.

65 Comments
  1. Great set.

    June 28, 2015
  2. Reblogged this on ademijuc's Blog.

    June 28, 2015
  3. Really beautiful! So large views, love them!

    June 28, 2015
  4. Most Beautiful ❀

    June 28, 2015
  5. I would love to do an Astro photograph class! Know of any in Perth? Was that Sorrento in Perth? X

    June 28, 2015
    • Sorry I don’t, and it was Sorrento in Victora. I am planning on writing a guide on how to do it and process the photos, so maybe stay tuned.

      June 28, 2015
      • Thanks for getting back. I will hunt one down back in Perth when I am home from my travels. But yes, I would be keen to learn more. I will stay tuned! πŸ™‚

        June 28, 2015
      • You’re welcome, I better work on the tutorial. πŸ™‚

        June 28, 2015
      • Get cranking Leanne! πŸ˜‰ I have my first ebook almost ready to go so I am excited! πŸ™‚ Its a great move forward in your writing I think. Good luck!

        June 28, 2015
      • Congratulations that’s fantastic, I have a book coming out later in the year but it won’t be an ebook, not at this stage. It is, I’m writing more and more for other things, and I think my writing is improving a lot. Thank you and good luck to you for your book as well. πŸ™‚

        June 28, 2015
  6. These are beautiful Leanne … I think I’ve come to the view that some cloud with the Milky Way actually enhances the image, especially near the dawn end. I’m also the same as you – still waiting to see the AA. Up now at 4am hoping, but the App says low probability, so it will be another sunrise in a few hours. Wes

    June 28, 2015
    • Thank you Wes. It can certainly give it something, that’s for sure. I like it too, just not good when it covers it up completely. It has been so disappointing, it is the first time I have really tried to get out and see it, but missed the first good night. I really want to start following it so I can do it again. What is your app Wes? I hope the sunrise is stunning for you, it overcast here so nothing to see but grey.

      June 28, 2015
      • It’s really a website … aurora-service.net
        You can set it up for alerts and see the strength of any occurrence before heading out.
        Living on the coast now, the horizon is good everywhere so I’m hoping for something soon. Dawn this morning at Huskisson was pretty nice – clear horizon with clouds above and good colour. When I’ve done some work on it I’ll post something.

        June 28, 2015
      • Yes, I’ve seen that one, but I can’t work out the Universal time and how it works for here.
        I saw that they charge you for alerts, so might have to think about that.
        That’s great, glad you got a good morning, I will look out for the photos. I didn’t go out, wasn’t much point. It has been a bit of disappointing weekend, in respect to the weather.

        June 28, 2015
      • This is one my son Craig uses – a Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/auroraserviceAUS
        Also found this one …http://www.softservenews.com/southern_lights.html

        June 28, 2015
      • Cool, I will check them out Wes, thanks for letting me know. I know the best place to see it is Tassie, but I’m in the best place, I hope.

        June 28, 2015
  7. Nice silky photos!

    June 28, 2015
  8. OMG those photos are incredible!!!! It reminds me of watching cosmos.

    June 28, 2015
    • Oh yes, I love see the photos, you see so much more than you would normally. Thanks.

      June 28, 2015
  9. AMAZING!! Love Milky Way shots!! πŸ™‚

    June 28, 2015
    • Thank you Pieter, I love them too, you see so much more in photos. πŸ™‚

      June 28, 2015
  10. What a great post, Leanne. The images look great, especially when you see them all together like this. I was thinking of doing a similar post…You beat me to it! I am still amazed at how much light the camera sensor picks up, even when we are fumbling in the dark!

    June 28, 2015
    • Thank you Chris,I quite liked the way they looked in the post too, you could do it as well. Same,I love experimenting and seeing what I can do.

      June 28, 2015
  11. Sensational!!

    June 28, 2015
  12. Great pics, Leanne! It’s making me more and more excited to come over there! I’m glad you and Chris are having fun this weekend. I better start exercising more if you walk 8 km on your photography jaunts….Geez!

    June 28, 2015
    • That’s good, I will have to keep showing lots of great places you can take photos around here. Haha, I’m not fit, that was the problem, it was very hard work and today my legs are very sore. Thanks Kirsten, chat to you tomorrow. πŸ™‚

      June 28, 2015
      • The things we do for photography! I am amazed at the things that I do that are completely out of my comfort zone for photography πŸ™‚ I’m just afraid that I will never want to leave Australia – based on your photos! LOL Talk to you tomorrow…

        June 28, 2015
      • I know, just about killing ourselves, lol. It is great isn’t it. You might want to stay, but our government has a grime view of people who outstay their welcome, I don’t know how long I will be able to hide you for. LOL

        June 28, 2015
  13. fantastic post Leanne and the images are sensational! awesome πŸ™‚

    June 28, 2015
    • Thank you Deb the milky way can be a lot of fun. πŸ™‚

      June 28, 2015
      • you make it look fun, beautiful and easy but I’m sure it is NOT easy and takes a lot of practice and study to get it right !

        June 28, 2015
      • Shh, I’m going to let you in on a secret Deb, it is very easy, surprisingly so. Practice is good, but not too bad.

        June 28, 2015
  14. Your Milky Way images are gorgeous. I feel your pain. We’ve had heavy cloud cover on the coast and inland for days. I was hoping to shoot the Venus Jupiter Conjunction tonight, but it’s not going to happen. 😦

    June 28, 2015
    • Thank you. I know, how annoying is it, not much you can do about it, but it is still annoying. 😦

      June 28, 2015
  15. Nice photos. I have seen a Aurora – just a small one in Queenstown years ago. It wasn’t very colourful but still amazing to watch. Just didn’t have a camera on me at that time.

    June 28, 2015
    • Thanks Raewyn, that’s amazing that you have seen, I wish, must be disappointing that you didn’t get to take photos. I will get to see it, I will just have to keep trying.

      June 28, 2015
  16. Stunning images.

    June 28, 2015
  17. Fantastic sky effects Leanne

    June 28, 2015
  18. These are wonderful! What a wonderful class to take!

    June 28, 2015
    • Thank you Debby, I really enjoyed teaching it, it was great.

      June 28, 2015
  19. Wonderful, thank you for sharing!!!

    June 28, 2015
    • Thank you Serena and you’re welcome.

      June 28, 2015
  20. These are beautiful!! I’ve never seen anything like this in person. Too much light pollution. It seems a little overwhelming to see so many stars. Good luck seeing the AA!

    June 28, 2015
    • We don’t see that many stars here either Cynthia, we see a lot, but the camera picks up a lot more, it is quite amazing. Thanks, though I think we missed it this time, will have to drop everything the next time I hear it is there.

      June 29, 2015
      • Definitely amazing shots, thanks for sharing! Good luck with seeing the Aurora in the future. I hope to one day see the Northern Lights (not from New Jersey of course lol).

        June 29, 2015
      • Thanks, I’m hoping that I get more warning next time, I need to make sure I do my own research for next time.

        June 29, 2015
  21. startling and intersting

    June 29, 2015
  22. Magical!

    June 29, 2015
  23. Stunning beauty in these night sky images!

    June 29, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, the night sky is magical.

      June 29, 2015
  24. Wonderful images. I’ve just started doing some night photography. I look forward to reading your how-to post.

    June 30, 2015
    • Thank you, night photography is a lot of fun.

      June 30, 2015
  25. I feel like I’m flying with Peter Pan when I look at these!! Second star to the right!! Let’s go!

    July 1, 2015

Comments are closed.

