Skip to content

Quiet Thursday: Social Media Images

On Tuesday I mentioned what a busy week it is has been and it would seem that it isn’t slowing down. I’m away again this weekend and I have to get posts ready before I go. I also have articles to write and articles to read, as ones for the magazine start to come in. They are looking good.

I should have mentioned the other day that Merrell did agree to sponsor me for my trip to the US and a new pair of hiking shoes have arrived. I wore them to Bonnie Doon the other day and they were great. I love that they are waterproof and because it was so wet and foggy I really didn’t have worry about my feet getting wet in the long grass. It amazes me how my feet stay dry.

I have tried some other companies, Sandisk never got back to me. Three Legged Things, tripod company said no to me. I suspect I’m the wrong gender for them as all their tripods are named after men. They tried to tell me it wasn’t true, but they aren’t doing much to show that they support women’s photography. I also never heard back from Nikon, I’ve sent two emails now and got no response from either.

There is another company here too, CR Kennedy, they are distributors and I’ve dealt with them before. The first guy I dealt with there was fantastic, but the guy I have to deal with now is horrible. He is so dismissive of me. I really dislike it. He accused me of being unAustralian once, because I didn’t want to pay over inflated prices for what I was buying. That if I’m Australian I should support the local industry and pay double for everything, be happy about it. Silly really. Then when I asked if they would help me out on my trip he said they only support Print Media, like magazines. I asked why don’t they support blogs and he said they do, but he just said they didn’t. It was very confrontational and I really hate dealing with him. I don’t think I will deal with CR Kennedy again. I never know how I will be treated, oh I do know, like I’m a pain in the butt and not worth the effort. Thankfully other companies are much better to deal with, though I’m sure it is just this guy and not the company.

I just have Instagram photos and a couple from Facebook for you today all taken with my phone, I hope that is okay. I’ve been away a bit and here are some photos from some of my trips. I’ve been to the coast again, but some of these photos are from trips into the country, one of which, as I said, was to Bonnie Doon where it was a very foggy day. We took advantage of the fog and you will see some in the photos.

I will be spending today trying to get more blog posts done. I hope you are planning some great photography trips.

41 Comments
  1. We have the same problems with over inflated prices here in New Zealand. Even if you try to buy of Amazon there are certain items they will not send this way. So we are stuck with the ridiculous prices. Nice shots.

    July 2, 2015
    • Oh yes, I bet you do too, it is shocking and Amazon do the same thing to us. It is like we are being screwed over by the whole world. It is disgusting. Thank you.

      July 2, 2015
  2. Wow, that guy sounds really rude. Representing a company the way he does, you would think he would be a little less dismissive.

    July 2, 2015
    • That’s what I thought Molly, you could tell from the emails he really didn’t want to deal with me. I know, I have wondered whether I should tell the company how I found him.

      July 2, 2015
  3. Leanne, I appreciate your sharing the ups and downs of seeking sponsors. I’m sure it’s hard not to take it personally sometimes, but just remember that you are accomplishing a lot!

    July 2, 2015
    • Glad you don’t mind me venting Pam, it is frustrating. Some companies are fantastic to deal with and others, well, well, well, in the end we are still customers. Thank you, I will try and remember that.

      July 2, 2015
  4. your images, as always, are inspiring!!! I look forward to seeing your art each time 🙂 so I find it difficult, to fathom why someone would be dismissive of you. I know, it happens. Secondly, I look forward to when we Aussies, fed up paying 2x 3x more than anywhere else, can finally have what they have, at the same cost.

    July 2, 2015
    • Thank you Deb, that is a lovely thing to say. I know, I can understand them not wanting to help, but to be so dismissive is just rude. I am too, unfortunately our silly pollies seem intent on keeping the prices where they are and stopping us from shopping overseas.

      July 2, 2015
  5. I love my Merrell hiking shoes and am happy to hear they have been nice for you to work with. Enjoy your trip!

    July 2, 2015
    • They have been fantastic, so happy with them, I love the shoes, so it is nice to have support from them as well. thank you.

      July 2, 2015
  6. Astonishing lack of simple good manners around these days Leanne! Whether a company can help or not they can still say so politely. Your experience will just have lost them a load of custom and they should know about it! Love the foggy photos btw!

    July 2, 2015
    • I know what you mean Jane, there is really. I couldn’t agree more, I agree, especially companies and the way they treat women, it is such a shame. Apparently being a woman and a blogger just get you nothing. Thank you Jane.

      July 2, 2015
      • I wonder if that would be the same everywhere or if it’s worse in Australia? Think the UK is much better but you encounter a lot of sexism here in rural France too, I get very uppity about it!! 😀

        July 2, 2015
      • I am starting to see that there is a lot of sexism in photography, that’s for sure, apparently we women just photography portraits and weddings, and can’t really devote a lot of time to photography because we have families and homes. Such old ideas. I also get very uppity about it as well. It drives me crazy that 50 years after women’s lib we are still fighting to be recognised and to get a fair go.

        July 2, 2015
      • I’m right with you there Leanne, in fact it seems to me everything is going backwards now, young women seem to be judged almost entirely on appearance, perhaps it was always that way but it’s a bit depressing! We should start a women’s photography movement!!

        July 2, 2015
      • Oh yes, I’ve seen that as well, you have to wonder if we are going backwards or if it has always been that way and we haven’t noticed. It’s very depressing, I’m starting a women’s magazine Jane, it is going to be a magazine for showcasing women’s photography and the first issue will be out end of this month. Going to show that women photograph all the same things that men do.

        July 2, 2015
      • Excellent news Leanne!! Will it be just in Australia or can we start one in France too??!!

        July 2, 2015
      • No, we are hoping it will be international, are you any good at writing, maybe you can do something on how you go about doing your still lifes.

        July 2, 2015
      • I would be truly delighted Leanne, yes I love writing actually, I’m about to start another blog on ‘Old France’ which will require an amount of editorial although the emphasis is photography of course. Let me know if you would like me to participate, I think it’s an excellent venture – we women photographers definitely need promoting!

        July 2, 2015
      • I think at this stage we are fine for the first one, but the second issue will be out end of October, so maybe see how you go. I am going to be doing some guidelines for writing soon. My daughter edits them, it is what she wants to be.
        I agree, we are dismissed so often and you look at the photography industry and it is a big boys club. I’m hoping with the popularity of my blog that we can make women’s photography shine.

        July 2, 2015
      • Sounds excellent! I’m sure determination is half the battle as with most things! I’ll ‘watch this space’ as they say!

        July 2, 2015
      • I hope so Jane, so many people who follow my blog seem really keen on the idea and I hope that word will spread. That would be fantastic. Maybe email me if you are really interested. leanne@leannecole.com.au

        July 2, 2015
      • I’m sure it will – that at least is the good side of the world wide web! ( Re e-mail – I certainly will do Leanne! 😉 )

        July 2, 2015
      • It is, and a great side, cool, I look forward to hearing from you Jane. 🙂

        July 2, 2015
      • PS Thanks for the follow! 😉

        July 2, 2015
      • I feel very bad as I thought I was already following it, but then realised I wasn’t seeing you so I had a look, and you’re very welcome, 😀

        July 2, 2015
      • You must be overwhelmed with blog activity and it’s easy to overlook things I realised I wasn’t following smackedpentax although I thought I was! 😉

        July 2, 2015
      • It can be like that, and hard to keep up with everything, though I try. I know what you mean, you think you are then feel embarrassed when you aren’t. 🙂

        July 2, 2015
      • 😉 I think you manage amazingly with all your commitments! ‘Chapeau’ (hat’s off) as they say here in France 🙂

        July 2, 2015
      • Haha thanks Jane, sometimes I feel like a dog chasing my own tail, but I get there in the end. 🙂

        July 2, 2015
      • 😉

        July 2, 2015
  7. Take a deep breath Leanne, relax and just let go of all the hassles. The trip will be wonderful and I like all your followers are looking forward to what you see and capture. WP shoes are the best investment for travel photography (and a beanie and cut-off gloves !!) … Remember also that every company no matter how great has a turkey lurking somewhere … You obviously unearthed one. Enjoy every moment of the journey. Wes

    July 2, 2015
    • I’m breathing in Wes, though I’m not too angry, actually not at all, just continue to wonder how some companies can see the value in what I do, while others don’t at all. I agree, the WP shoes are fantastic, set for everything now. Yes, true, they do. Thank you, I am sure you will hear all about the trip when I go, I’m really looking forward to it.

      July 2, 2015
  8. I don’t know if I would have the stamina to deal with all these companies…well, actually the people who represent the companies. Leanne Cole Un-Australian? I don’t think so!

    July 2, 2015
    • It can be annoying Robert, the time, though I guess it is something that needs to be considered and it is always interesting to find out who will and who won’t respond, and then who will or won’t help you out. Thank you Robert, I don’t think I am either.

      July 3, 2015
  9. Leanne .. These are wonderful! Isn’t it a shame that one person can change the way we feel about things. The company may be great, but he is marring their image. Shame ..

    July 3, 2015
    • Thank you Julie. I know, I also have a long memory, so I don’t know that I will deal with them again. It is such a shame.

      July 3, 2015
  10. Whenever I travel to a beautiful place I assume there can’t be anything more beautiful than this, but then people like you appear with mesmerizing pictures. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    July 3, 2015
    • Thank you, what a lovely thing to say and thank you. 🙂

      July 3, 2015
  11. yes, it can be really difficult industry support for projects – especially as a woman!! I haven’t had much success with that kind of thing either ….

    July 4, 2015
    • I am starting to wonder if gender plays a whole lot with it as well. I wonder if I was a man if I would get as many knock backs. I really hope this magazine helps to show that women are a force to be reckoned with.

      July 4, 2015

Comments are closed.

