Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Red Rocks Near Anglesea

sc-red-cliffs-anglesea-flowers-0017

Last weekend I spent the weekend in Jan Juc with Chris from sv-takeiteasy. We went to a few places and she told me about the red rocks near Anglesea. I’ve seen them many times from a distance as they stand out a lot when you are driving there from Aireys Inlet, but I’ve never known how to get there. I was telling Chris about it, she just said, oh red rocks, I know where they are. So off we went.

We had a lot of fun walking along there. Some spots I’m not sure we should have been, but I will say no more. Neither of us brought the right lenses. I should have had my macro with me, and she should have had her big lens for the birds. I suspect we will go back, but this time with the right ones.

I took all of these shots with my 24-70mm lens and it did an okay job. It is a nice lens and my favourite really, but like all lenses it has its limitations.

I’m back in Jan Juc this weekend, but I don’t know if we will go back here. There are so many places to explore here. I am just putting the images into a gallery for you now. I hope you have a great weekend planned too.

52 Comments
  1. Really nice to see Red Rocks through your lens Leanne! It is such a wild and impressive place with onteresting rock formations and the colour… Next time we’ll have to see it at sunrise!

    July 4, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, I imagine very similar shots to the ones you got. I agree it is a very wild place, love the colours and the plants. Yes, I would love that, that would be amazing.

      July 4, 2015
  2. I love 29 and 30 Leanne.. they look like sea anemones! πŸ™‚

    July 4, 2015
    • Oh yes, they do, the eucalyptus blossoms, thanks Susan. πŸ˜€

      July 4, 2015
  3. TPJ #

    Looks to be a wonderful spot.

    July 4, 2015
    • It is, definitely a place that deserves exploring. Thank you.

      July 4, 2015
  4. Morning Leanne .. Super photos. Love the close ups

    July 4, 2015
    • Morning, thank you, I like those too, so cool, went again yesterday with the macro.

      July 4, 2015
  5. lensaddiction #

    Love the shot of the tangle of tree roots and branches, very spooky and atmospheric

    July 4, 2015
    • Thanks Stacey, I love how gnarly they are, it is a very hard place for things to grow.

      July 4, 2015
  6. I adore that very last photo. Love the somewhat dark and grittiness of it. I’m currently stuck in a rut as far as photography at the moment. I know I want to photograph, I just don’t know where to go. I’m two hours from the Pacific Ocean, I’m always taking photos of Mount Rainier, but they are always from the same vantage point, and the heat is fairly awful, which makes me not want to spend a lot of time outside. Mount St. Helens is two-three hours away, Rainier isn’t as far, but it does cost to get in and that sort of thing.

    It’s a photographer’s block if you will. I’ve been trying to google to find new places to go, I’m just drawing a blank right now. You have some really fantastic areas!

    July 4, 2015
    • I loved that tree, so cool, wasn’t sure how it would go in a photo, but happy that I tried it.
      I’m about an hour and half from the ocean, depends where I go, but I have to travel to take photos too. The best thing is finding people you can go and take photos with, I think. They help come up with ideas, and that sort of thing. I also find having someone to go with means I go and I don’t find excuses to go out on my own. I might do a blog post about that.
      I like that, photographers blog. I challenge you to take photos within 2 miles of where you live and send me a link to the post to make sure I really see them.

      July 4, 2015
      • Yeah. I just have two dogs and a 14 month old so I don’t get out as much as I would like to. That 2 mile rule is very doable though, so I will definitely attempt that, perhaps tonight for a sunset!

        July 4, 2015
      • That’s good Molly I look forward to seeing what you get. NO photography here today, too cold and wet.

        July 4, 2015
  7. Pat #

    Beautiful set.

    July 4, 2015
  8. Lee #

    Fantastic photos as usual, but those flowers are superb!!!

    July 4, 2015
    • Thank you Lee, the birds are usually in them as well, they love those flowers.

      July 4, 2015
  9. Just beautiful! Great shots.

    July 4, 2015
  10. The photos of the trees are very special. Bravo, Leanne!

    July 4, 2015
    • Thank you Fabio, they were incredible trees.

      July 4, 2015
  11. I remember seeing you work on some of these images the other day! They turned out fantastic, Leanne. I can’t wait to see it in person πŸ˜€

    July 4, 2015
    • I forgot about that, it was fun talking to you and just playing with photos, we should do that more. Thank you, I was pretty happy with these. We can’t wait to show you.

      July 4, 2015
      • It was fun!! I liked watching you experimenting as you went :-). And we should do that more. Don’t forget I’m here if you want some help with the magazine process πŸ™‚

        July 5, 2015
      • That’s good, that is how I do a lot of my images, I just play. Thank you, I might have to talk to you about that. πŸ™‚

        July 5, 2015
      • Me too and lots of time I forget how I did it, though :-(. Playing is fun!

        July 5, 2015
      • Haha, that can happen, it is, the best way to learn really πŸ˜€

        July 5, 2015
      • Yes, it is!!

        July 5, 2015
      • πŸ˜€

        July 5, 2015
  12. Beautiful Leanne. Awesome shots!

    July 4, 2015
  13. Wonderful landscape images as always Leanne but I do love those knotty trees, very mysterious!

    July 4, 2015
    • Thank you Jane, I loved those trees too,must see if I can do more some time.

      July 4, 2015
      • You should they’re very atmospheric ! (PS Hope you found my e-mail) πŸ™‚

        July 4, 2015
      • Thanks Jane, and yes I did, I’m away and I really hate typing on this laptop so will respond when I get home.

        July 4, 2015
      • I quite understand Leanne – I hate typing on mine too – I write all kinds of total nonsense πŸ˜€

        July 4, 2015
      • Same Jane and I can’t turn off the touch pad and then delete everything by accident. πŸ˜€

        July 5, 2015
      • Oopla! you do that too then lol πŸ˜€

        July 5, 2015
      • I do, I do, too often really, don’t realize I’m touch the key pad when I’m typing, πŸ˜€

        July 5, 2015
  14. Very Beautiful……….. πŸ™‚

    July 4, 2015
  15. Beautiful πŸ™‚

    July 4, 2015
  16. Some lovely shots there, despite you taking the “wrong” lens. I like the flowers, the 24-70mm did good there. And the rock-and-sea photos are good, especially the first one! If you go down there again, definitely visit the rocks with your macro, I bet you’ll come away with some superb plants.

    July 4, 2015
    • Thank you, and I did get down there again a couple of days ago, but it was very windy, but might be there again tomorrow hopefully.

      July 4, 2015
  17. I really love the last photo. So moody.

    July 4, 2015
  18. Some great shots Leanne. Very atmospheric and an amazing place. Definitely worth another visit or two and different times.

    July 5, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, the fog really have the landscape a different look. I think so too, though not sure what we will get next time.

      July 5, 2015
  19. those flowers are wonderful!

    July 5, 2015
    • They are very Australian Cybele, thanks.

      July 5, 2015

Comments are closed.

