Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Foggy Mornings in Victoria

bonnie-doon-fog-winter-1033

The other morning a friend and I decided to see if we could get to Bonnie Doon and maybe Mansfield. We didn’t really do enough research about going there, especially with how long it would take us to drive there. We did feel like we spent the whole day in the car.

The best part really was as we left the house we could see that it was a little bit foggy and as we got out of the city it was even foggier. Though first of all we saw a bit of a sunrise and then realized we just had to stop on the side of the road to take photos of it.

bonnie-doon-fog-winter-1024

We saw lots more fog, but we didn’t want to stop too much as we wanted to get the fog through the Black Spur which is a rainforest area just after Healesville.

We didn’t stop anywhere else and then we got to the Black Spur and there was no fog. However, as we continued to drive through it we saw more and more fog, though not enough to really capture it in a photo. Then just as we were about to give up we got just what we were hoping for.

bonnie-doon-fog-winter-1025

The fog with the sun trying to break through it. It was fantastic. We stopped and took quite a few photos here. I love how warm it looks.

As we continued our drive and left the rainforest the fog got a lot thicker. Nearly the whole trip to Bonnie Doon was in thick fog. It was amazing what we could see, or couldn’t. Finally we decided we had to stop and take some photos with this thick fog.

bonnie-doon-fog-winter-1029

This really was how it was. The fog was that thick. I love images like this, so haunting. I do wish we had taken a lot more, and that is the problem when you are going somewhere new, you don’t know what is ahead.

We did see one place on the way to Mansfield and on the way back decided we would have to stop there and take more photos. Actually I just wanted to do a tree, but once we got there we realised there was a lot more to see, so we spent some time there.

bonnie-doon-fog-winter-1032

I loved the gnarly dead tree, and the fog behind it just set the scene perfectly, don’t you think?

We were then on way back to Bonnie Doon and we decided to find a place to take some photos around the top of Lake Eildon.

bonnie-doon-fog-winter-1038

The water has recently receded and the sides were muddy. The fog was starting to clear and you could really only see it on the top of the near by hills. I still like the atmosphere that was created. I don’t know if these are live or dead trees. They could have just lost their leaves. Still, they looked great in the almost still water.

It was a great day for photography, but I think both of use decided, in the end, that we spent way too much time sitting in the car getting there. We think we will go again, but maybe next time rent a room somewhere so we can have more time to explore and take photos.

I have some more photos for you now. I love the atmosphere in these. I do hope you have some great plans for photos this weekend, or have been out already. I’ve been enjoying all the photography. Take care, and enjoy your weekend.

110 Comments
  1. Love these photos. Foggy scenes are among my favorites.

    July 5, 2015
    • Same, I love them, we just don’t see fog very much here which is sad. Thank you.

      July 5, 2015
  2. The fog creates an other worldly, ethereal effect, beautiful.

    July 5, 2015
    • Thank you John and I agree, it does, I love seeing it like this.

      July 5, 2015
  3. Stunning! I love fog too. Such good atmosphere.

    July 5, 2015
  4. Beautiful.

    July 5, 2015
  5. Reblogged this on Concierge Librarian.

    July 5, 2015
  6. Each one takes me to a special place that fog does so well. Well done.

    July 5, 2015
    • That’s fantastic Sally, thank you. πŸ™‚

      July 5, 2015
  7. M E Cheshier #

    Beautiful!

    July 5, 2015
    • Thank you.

      July 5, 2015
      • M E Cheshier #

        You are very welcome! πŸ™‚

        July 9, 2015
  8. Leanne, these are superb! Fog, water and forest – a great combination – and the lighting is perfect! Just wonderful..

    July 5, 2015
    • Thank you James, I didn’t used to photograph fog like this because someone told me that you need sun as well, and since that hardly happens I didn’t bother, so glad I didn’t listen and just did my own thing.

      July 5, 2015
      • That is exactly what it is all about – breaking rules 😊

        July 5, 2015
      • Absolutely.

        July 5, 2015
  9. Nice photographs

    July 5, 2015
  10. Great photographs. Lovely light.

    July 5, 2015
  11. So beautiful!

    July 5, 2015
  12. Beautiful! I love photos taken in fog!

    July 5, 2015
    • There is something wonderful about what fog does to a landscape. Thank you.

      July 5, 2015
  13. Beautiful! Simply beautiful!

    July 5, 2015
  14. The Victorian countryside is beautiful. My sister has a vineyard and winery at Lancefield, a very beautiful area. Your photos make me want to visit.

    July 5, 2015
    • I love Lancefield that is a great area to take photos of as well, I think you should go and visit your sister, great time of the year to be there. Thank you.

      July 5, 2015
  15. A beautiful set if pictures. You made the most of your opportunity.

    July 5, 2015
  16. The fog and the location names (Bonnie Doon and Lake Eildon) make these pictures magical.

    July 5, 2015
    • Thank you, there are some names for towns here, you have to love a town called Bonnie Doon.

      July 5, 2015
  17. Love, love foggy images. They are so mysterious and haunting. Yours are fabulous. We haven’t had much in the way of fog here this winter.

    July 5, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, I love them too and we haven’t had much either, so it was fantastic to see it this morning.

      July 5, 2015
  18. Really like these great photos πŸ™‚

    July 5, 2015
  19. Beautiful pics sweetie! I love foggy days! Makes things look mysterious! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    July 5, 2015
    • Thank you Lisa, yes fog does have that effect, fantastic.

      July 5, 2015
  20. leecleland #

    The fog adds the magic, wonderful images, Leanne. As you discovered, you really do have to spend longer in one place to suss out the best places and have time when you find them to take the photos.

    July 5, 2015
    • I think so too Lee, it is so atmospheric. You do, we will have to go back. Thank you Lee.

      July 5, 2015
  21. brilliant photographs, with the filtering shimmering light and blurring of edges. delightful.

    July 5, 2015
    • Thank you Deb, I love these photos and I’m you and others do as well.

      July 5, 2015
  22. Leanne, I love your work πŸ™‚ You are an inspiration to work a little harder. Nice post.

    July 5, 2015
    • Thank you, always nice to be considered inspirational, that is wonderful.

      July 5, 2015
  23. Reblogged this on Crash Course.

    July 5, 2015
  24. Another great article this time on the wonders and mysteries that fog can create, when the sun is trying to break through. Send us some of these foggy days to Canada, where we are suffering under a persistent heat wave that only fog can cure.

    July 5, 2015
    • Thank you Peter. That is usually our summers too, I’m afraid we see fog so rarely these days that I might have to hang on to it, if that’s okay Peter?

      July 5, 2015
  25. These are breathtaking!!!

    July 5, 2015
  26. so mysterious! Beautiful images.

    July 5, 2015
  27. Incredible shots.

    July 5, 2015
  28. I love the foggy photos. Fog is so atmospheric, like walking into a scary filmset. Glad your day was such a success.

    July 5, 2015
    • I think so too, it just makes everything look different and more intense.Thank you, it was a great day.

      July 5, 2015
  29. somdattadeb #

    serene beauty

    July 5, 2015
  30. How fog adds mystery – just love the trees and reflections – good ides to make a two day stop – this is what we do in the caravan

    July 5, 2015
    • Doesn’t it Diana, quite amazing, I think so too, now just to find the time to do it, though we don’t have a caravan to do, but we’ll work out something. Thanks Diana.

      July 5, 2015
  31. Exceptional landscapes, Leanne. Your vegetation resolved perfectly in every shot. You clearly had fun.

    My wife and I recently made a pact to start road tripping the province of Ontario. Yesterday, we visited Paris and London; mostly by the back roads. As there was lots of smog, and enough RH to make the sky too murky for my liking, I couldn’t do too much landscape work. I noted place that I’ll likely return to on a day when there is higher pressure to scrub out the air and bring more blue skies back.

    July 5, 2015
    • Thank you, I did have fun, once we got past the it is foggy what do we do now. I want more foggy days now.

      It is a great thing to do and something I try to do a lot, really worthwhile. You just never know what you will find. I was look on days where the weather isn’t great as scouting days, gives you ideas for what you can do when the weather is good. Sounds like you did the same.

      July 6, 2015
  32. These look great.

    July 5, 2015
  33. Foggy photos are fantastic!! There is some haunting and mysterious about fog. I love how it hides and reveals on a whim! I think my favorite photo is of the gnarly tree, but I really like the ones with the trees and water!

    July 5, 2015
    • I think so too Kirsten, it is cold to do them, and you need shoes that will stop your feet from getting wet, but the images are so worth it. I loved the gnarly tree, I wished I had done it an hour early when I first saw it and the fog was thicker. I want to go back to the lake and get more of those, they were great. Thanks Kirsten.

      July 6, 2015
      • You should go back – when I’m there of of course! lol Then I can check out the gnarly tree too πŸ™‚

        July 6, 2015
      • Of course, I wouldn’t think of going back without you. There are lots of gnarly trees here, there is one close by and I keep meaning to go and take photos, I must do that. πŸ™‚

        July 6, 2015
      • Yes, you must!! πŸ™‚

        July 6, 2015
      • I better do it then. πŸ˜‰

        July 6, 2015
      • Lol! I just read your DPS article, “it’s your image do what you like to it.” I soooo needed to hear what you said in there! Second guessing myself is getting exhausting. I need to learn to own my artistic voice and not worry what other people’s voices are saying! (Except yours, of course ☺️). My journey seems to be taking me away from “traditional” photography and I can’t seem to stop it! Lol great article.

        July 6, 2015
      • I’m so glad Kirsten, I really do believe it, it is good to do what you want to do. Sounds like it is a direction you want to go in and there is nothing wrong with that. Go for it.

        July 6, 2015
  34. Nice. Foggy scenes are always so atmospheric.

    July 5, 2015
    • Thank you Graham, they are, a great treat.

      July 6, 2015
  35. I love photographing fog; the atmosphere it creates and the way ‘subjects’ are isolated is just fantastic. A productive day – but one day is never enough!

    July 6, 2015
    • I do too, we just don’t see it much. I love how it saturates the colours, and you get that wet look. It was a productive day, the trick is going to be finding the fog again. Thanks Noeline.

      July 6, 2015
  36. There is a beautiful richness to foggy scenes that sun light dissolves. Love this wonderful series.

    July 6, 2015
    • I agree Mary, it is a saturation, I love it. Thank you.

      July 6, 2015
  37. Love the mono/sepia shot with the three trees……a simple composition, but very atmospheric

    July 6, 2015
    • Thanks Mark, I think I could handle doing more like that.

      July 6, 2015
  38. These are just breathtakingly beautiful images Leanne; simply the best.

    July 6, 2015
  39. Some wonderful shots Leanne. I really love what the fog can do to create some great effects. You’ve captured that beautifully!

    July 6, 2015
    • It is amazing what thick fog does to a scene. Thank you John.

      July 6, 2015
  40. The light, the mist, the reflections. Lovely!

    July 6, 2015
  41. Breathtaking, foggy scenes, Leanne! Very beautiful light.

    July 6, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, have to love a foggy countryside, would love to get a thick fog like this in the city.

      July 6, 2015
  42. You’ve captured such a mood with these photos Leanne, I love the fog.. I hope we get a little bit of that as well πŸ™‚

    July 6, 2015
    • Thank you Kaz, I hope we do too, I think it often get foggy at Apollo Bay, so there could be a good chance. πŸ™‚

      July 6, 2015
  43. Tri Wahyu #

    I ever experienced this kind fog when I visited Mt Buller. My cam recorder was fogging at that time so I cannot use it.

    Is there any tips to avoid foggy on your lens?

    July 6, 2015
    • It is quite amazing, it doesn’t happen a lot anymore.
      I don’t really know, I guess like in humidity, need to give it time to acclimatize.

      July 6, 2015
  44. To quote Darryl Kerrigan: “How’s the serenity? So much serenity”

    July 6, 2015
    • I like that, thank you for sharing is Suzie.

      July 6, 2015
      • Only an Aussie would ‘get’ the reference.

        July 7, 2015
      • Oh yes, I knew straight away what you were talking about.
        Maybe I should get it framed and put it straight in the pool room.

        July 7, 2015
      • LOL!!!!

        July 7, 2015
      • πŸ˜‰

        July 7, 2015
  45. Beautiful πŸŽ€

    July 6, 2015
  46. Beautiful photos! I love foggy scenes, they just have a magical feel to them, but they’re something I’ve never been able to photograph very well.

    July 6, 2015
    • It has been wonderful to see peoples reaction to them, I love them too. I think the difference with these was more to do with how thick the fog was. It was very thick. Thank you Emma.

      July 7, 2015
  47. Anne Sandler #

    So many of the shoots I go on are full day trips. We always leave early so we can stop on the way to shoot various things we come upon, and still meet the group on time. One time we stopped for fog. Your images are beautiful.

    July 7, 2015
    • I do that a lot too Anne, sometimes you just have to. I am doing one of those sorts of trips on Friday, we have a destination, but we know we will want to stop a lot on the way. It is always good to stop for fog. Thanks Anne.

      July 7, 2015
  48. Amazing shots!

    July 7, 2015
  49. LB #

    Gosh it’s been awhile since I’ve been able to visit but I knew that I’d find beauty once I finally got here. That image of the fog (third one) just stopped me in my tracks. Stunning!

    July 17, 2015
    • Thank you Laurie, we’ve had a couple of great foggy mornings which have been fantastic. I understand how busy it can get.

      July 17, 2015

Comments are closed.

