Skip to content

UfD: Photographing With Company

lake-albacutya-sand-dunes-8

There seems to be this idea that if you are a serious photographer that you should go out on your own to take photos. I have never believed this or thought I was any less of a photographer because I don’t like going out by myself. It’s not that I don’t, I just prefer to have company when I do. Maybe I think I’m a boring person and talking to myself all day wouldn’t be that great.

I do understand why some people prefer to go alone and I know that who  you go with is very important.  I thought I could go through why I like company, beyond just having someone to talk to. Perhaps I will do it in a list.LeanneCole-melbourne-williamstown-20140531-9916

1- Gives you Inspiration

I find when you go with someone else that we almost feed off each other, making suggestions to one another. I know that I have many photos that I would never have taken if I hadn’t been with another photographer.

2 – Gets Me Out of the House

I have a terrible habit of talking myself out of going to places when I am on my own. Before I am supposed to go somewhere the excuses start about why I shouldn’t go, and usually I just don’t. If I’ve made a date with someone to go abbotsford-convent-gardens-flowers-macro072then I do. I don’t like disappointing people so I just pack my gear and get ready to go. For me this is a massive advantage.

3 – It is Safer

We go to some places that if I hurt myself I may never be found. Yes, I’m being a little over dramatic, but I could be there for a long time. Knowing that someone else is there means that if one of us hurts ourselves then the other can go and get help. Phone reception is often non-existent in many country areas and if you get into trouble you can’t phone for help.

4 – Someone to Scout for Locations

It isn’t safe to drive and look for places to take photos so having a passenger makes it much easier, and safer. LeanneCole-maldon-20130102-6203-3hpm

5 – More Fun

I just think it is so much more fun when you have someone to laugh with. I enjoy laughing and it is good to have someone to have one with. It is so boring when you are on your own and having someone with you means that you can entertain one another.

Picking the Right People to Go With

This is also very important. I don’t like going with my husband or daughters because they aren’t interested in eildon-lake-water-country-farms-8photography and they just want to leave. I feel rushed to get my photos. The best thing is to find some people that you enjoy going out with and want to spend time with.

It is best if they enjoy the same sort of photography as well so you will want to take photos together. There is nothing worse than going out with someone to take photos and you don’t want to photograph the same things. If you are both there to capture the same thing then you will have a lot more fun.

It is also nice to have someone to have a coffee with and just relax. I like being with others when I go to eat at restaurants, it is much nicer.

I have been very lucky and I have a number of people to go out and take photos with. I have built up quite a few LeanneCole-werribee-20140415--5288friendships through teaching and through this blog. It has been fantastic meeting people through WordPress and then having the opportunity to go out and take photos with them.

It doesn’t really matter whether you prefer to go on your own or with other people, the most important thing is getting out to take photos.

All the photos in the post today are from excursions where I went with other people.  Speaking of company I’m hoping to be out with Chris and Chris today exploring more of the Victorian countryside.

77 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    UfD: Photographing With Company by Leanne Cole

    July 10, 2015
  2. I agree with you 100%. Some of my best photography moments were with my late husband, who coached and mentored me. I now go alone (I don’t know anyone who enjoys it as much as I do), but I feel his spirit is with me.

    July 10, 2015
    • I hope you find someone to go out with Miss Parker, if you lived around here I would go out with you. I’m glad your late husband’s spirit goes with you.

      July 10, 2015
  3. Sometimes I just want to do a shoot by myself for many reasons but as you’ve stated here there is a lot to be said for going with company – providing it’s the right company 😉

    July 10, 2015
    • I get so bored when I go by myself,LOL how sad am I. I find if I have company I stay longer and do more. However, as you said, it absolutely has to be the right company, you really have to get along. I was going out with someone a while back and I always felt like what I wanted to do was ignore, and I was put down a lot, so in the end decided that I wouldn’t go out with that person again, and I haven’t. Thanks. 🙂

      July 10, 2015
  4. Morning – sailing Chris here! Totally agree with the virtues of photography in company. I do find that once I have made a date, I go, even if I have to get up at some ungodly hour, or go out in the freezing weather. On your own, it’s easy to bail out like last night when I was all good intentioned to take some shots of bridges in town after work… too tired… couldn’t be bothered, nobody to keep me ‘accountable’! It is a lot more fun with a photography friend, and you get ideas, you notice different things, you try out angles or locations you wouldn’t otherwise attempt. And it’s great to be share the excitement during and after. My preference is to keep it small though – I think one or two others is good, a larger group – not so sure! I am a bit anti-social like that! 🙂

    July 10, 2015
    • Who on earth would make you get up this early? LOL YOu sound just like me, that is exactly how I am, if there is the tiniest excuse I don’t go, but if I am going with someone, then I go. I agree with all you said about the ideas and what you notice. Thanks Chris, we have to take Dave to the station on the way, I hope that’s okay, see you in just over an hour. 🙂

      July 10, 2015
  5. I would definetely strap my hiking boots to hang with you on your photographic tours 🙂

    July 10, 2015
    • Thank you, what a nice thing to say. 🙂

      July 10, 2015
  6. Oh, how true this post is, Leanne. I tend to go out a lot by myself only because most of my friends aren’t all that interested in photography. When my Aunt was visiting, she went with me and we had a blast. She drove so that I could scout out locations. Needless to say, there were a lot of u-turns that day! lol It was such fun and she still keeps talking about it. She can’t wait to come back down here to do it again. My dad is so much fun to go with because he is an amazing photographer so he teaches as we shoot. We have very different “eyes,” but it is still great fun!

    July 10, 2015
    • I love your Aunt, I want to go out with her too. I hope you get to go out with her again Kirsten. I’m sure you will have a blast with us. 😉

      July 10, 2015
      • We would all have a blast if you came and hung out with my Aunt! I know I will have fun with you all…as long as Chris doesn’t make us go on a marathon hike!! Lol

        July 11, 2015
      • I reckon too, we would laugh so much I think. I know you will, I can’t wait. Oh yes, we might have to stop her, LOL.

        July 11, 2015
      • I’m working on a project to hopefully help me raise the money for my trip! I’m slowly getting it all together. :-). I know we will have a blast!

        July 13, 2015
      • YOu will have to tell me more, sounds interesting. That’s great to hear, love having people to go and take photos with. 🙂

        July 13, 2015
  7. lensaddiction #

    It is interesting how different we all are. While I have been out on group outings and with another photog friend on many occasions and enjoyed the experiences I had at the time, personally my preference is to go out by myself.

    I enjoy being out by myself and have no difficulty with motivation to get up and go (except on cold winter mornings I confess!) and I look forward to it. There is nothing so pleasant to sit on a warm evening, watching the sun go down, listening to the birds do their evening chorus and just enjoy natures display, be it spectacular or not. To be there in the moment.

    I can’t do that when I’m with somebody, even a likeminded person as they are on the edge of my awareness, making me think about how long Im taking and do I have time to walk around here and see what is there. I never get bored when I go out by myself, tho I sometimes get tired of driving if I have gone a long way and the driving is a bit uninspiring – but I can’t sing horrendously badly at the top of my lungs to my favourite songs if there is someone else in the car either LOL

    Taking the time to sit and be and absorb the place I am in to prepare to get the best image is a skill I am still learning to teach myself – I tend to get a bit too excited about the possibilities and try and do everything and if that was the kind of day I wanted then going out with other people would suit that. But if it wasn’t then going out by myself is far far more preferable.

    Of course if I found someone whose philosophy and approach was the same as mine that might be nice, as you say, its about picking the right people 🙂

    (note the mag article I sent you covers this off in a more depth and detail)

    July 10, 2015
    • Oh don’t get me wrong Stacey, I don’t go out in groups, that is too much, I like going out with one or two people, that’s about it.
      Oh if I want to sing in the car I just do, lol.
      I guess it is different for everyone, I like it, company that is, that is what I enjoy.
      I have found some women who enjoy taking photos the same as me, so it is perfect.
      Thanks Stacey.

      July 10, 2015
  8. So true, a great article, I’m a bit of a loner, but would often love to go with another photographer, for all the reasons you mentioned. As yet I don’t know another single photographer in Adelaide, my fault for not getting out there. I had the best day ever with you andChristine, a day I will never forget, so maybe it’s time for me to get off my backside, and meet some others….. Thanks for sharing

    July 10, 2015
    • I hope you can find someone Wendy, I think it is great fun and I had the best time with you that day as well. Maybe it is.

      July 10, 2015
  9. I enjoy having my wife with me when I am out shooting. But, really, I prefer being on my own. I always feel hurried when I am with someone else. I feel like I can’t take the time to study and think through the scene and the image I want.

    July 10, 2015
    • That’s great, yes, I know many people like going out on their own, not me. LOL. I never feel hurried, I know I have to wait when they are taking photos and they have to wait for me. It is best that way. I think if you find the right person to go out with you can do that exactly. I know I have that with the people I go out with. Thanks for sharing your experiences.

      July 10, 2015
  10. Anne Sandler #

    I mostly go out with other photographers. I learn and I help. Going out with someone who’s abilities are above yours helps you to learn. Going out with a beginner gives you a chance to help. I know I feel great when I can share some of the knowledge I’ve picked up. And, of course, there’s the comradeship. I now have photo buddies who are seniors and go at the same slow pace. I do go out by myself but it doesn’t compare to taking a day photo trip with fellow photographers.

    July 10, 2015
    • I like that Anne, it is a great idea. I like that too, being able to go out with people and plan things and work out where you will go and I know I’ve gone to many places I wouldn’t have otherwise. I’m very with you, I hope we get to go together one day Anne.

      July 10, 2015
  11. beautiful variety! I love the sepia sky!!

    July 10, 2015
  12. Morning!! 😀 Such a wonderful post Leanne… company is my preference too. good to enjoy other like minded company.
    Love the photos!! Hope you enjoy your day out. I’m out with company tody too, but not photographic… We will laugh though 😉

    July 10, 2015
    • Evening now Robyn, sorry, been out taking photos all day. Thank you, so glad you like company to, I can’t wait to go out with you sometime.
      Thank you, I did enjoy the day, saw lots of new stuff. Laughing is always really good.

      July 10, 2015
  13. Yes on #2 and #3 for sure and the last bit (about who) cannot be over stated. I go out a lot on my own because I have to filter all potential Urbex photographers though my moral sieve – plus i tend to talk to my camera/gear when shooting – so partners have to not be bothered by that…

    July 10, 2015
    • Oh yes, you really have to have the right person to go out with. I understand why you would do the Urbex stuff on your own Robert. Haha, I talk to my camera too sometimes. Thanks Robert.

      July 10, 2015
  14. I prefer to go out with a friend than alone.. I enjoy the day more. I also find we get very different photos as we see the world differently.

    July 10, 2015
    • I enjoy it far more too Livonne. That is so true, you do all get different photos, can be quite amazing. Thanks Livonne.

      July 10, 2015
  15. TPJ #

    My wife said, look right. I was busy focusing. Look ‘right’ I heard and glanced. Then…YOUR OTHER RIGHT…. a beautiful White Tailed Deer was standing a few feet on my right watching me. She is also a photographer. I like to go out with a like minded person.

    July 10, 2015
    • Great story, so you would have missed it if you had been on your own, perhaps. I like going out with like minded people as well. Thanks for sharing your story.

      July 10, 2015
  16. If I were close to you I would wander around with you and learn as much as I could! Your photos are stunning and I’m inspired! I’m going to be on my own in a different city as I’m traveling with my daughter who will be in a conference for 3 days. I’m looking forward to stretching my photography legs but I know it would be even more fun if I had a buddy but I’m going to make the best of it.

    July 10, 2015
    • Thank you and I’m sure you will have a great time, I know what you mean, so which city are you going to Teresa?

      July 10, 2015
      • We are going to Concord, North Carolina (a suburb of Charlotte, NC). From what I can tell, there is a lot of history and beautiful architecture in this area. Can’t wait to see what I can find!

        July 11, 2015
      • That sounds perfect, history and beautiful architecture, can’t go wrong really.I am looking forward to it as well, let me know when you post some photos.

        July 11, 2015
      • Thanks, I will. I would love to get feedback from you!

        July 11, 2015
      • 😀

        July 11, 2015
  17. So ture, Leanne, so true!

    July 10, 2015
  18. I love your photos! ❤

    July 10, 2015
    • Thank you, that’s wonderful.

      July 10, 2015
  19. awesome! 🙂

    July 10, 2015
  20. -N- #

    Leanne – I agree with you on all these point, especially safety issues, and especially if you are a woman. Even if you go with someone, you can still get hurt or injured and not be found. My father-in-law went out with a friend to do a photo shoot in a remote area. He fell and broke an ankle rather badly. Eventually his friend found him after searching. This was before cell phones. The next time they went out, they brought walkie-talkies with them. -N

    July 10, 2015
    • Oh no, how horrible for your father. I don’t like it when I’m with someone and they just wander off and don’t tell me where they are going. It doesn’t take much to say hey I’m going over there. Safety always has to come first. Thanks for sharing your story, a good lesson there.

      July 11, 2015
      • -N- #

        Well, I agree completely. I have one photo buddy who always wanders off, even in the middle of the city! We always look for him, but since we have cell phones and connections, it usually works out that he is not tooooooo far away! Really important to keep him on a leash if he is the driver too.

        July 11, 2015
      • I have to say I think having a friend who would wander off like that all the time would drive me mad, LOL a leash sounds like a good idea. Thank goodness for mobile phones.

        July 11, 2015
  21. Agreed. Years ago I read about a studio photographer who talked about using his assistants as coaches, making him aware of opportunities he may be missing. While shooting in a costal marsh yesterday, my friends young son tagged along and helped me identify a great shot. Finally, as a Boy Scout leader, we follow the Buddy System outdoors. P.S. Flower in the metal vase is my fav in this post, effective use of vignette to optimize the composition.

    July 10, 2015
    • Thank you for sharing that, and I have to agree with you, it is a great thing to do. I know I might have missed heaps if I hadn’t been with someone else. Thanks again.

      July 11, 2015
  22. Great topic Leanne! Oddly my preference is to go out solo. Whenever I am with others I feel a tad rushed and never get what I want. I would love to find the right person to shoot with (the husband does not work as well for myself) – but I feel that is difficult to find – as I am a solo’ist. It would be fun to pair up with someone – to explore – shoot – who I would feel comfortable with. Perhaps one day.

    July 11, 2015
    • Thanks Debby, it seemed like a good one to do. I think if you feel rushed then you are with the wrong people. I have a friend who takes longer than me, and I just wait for her, or sometimes I end up taking photos I might not have done otherwise because of it. That has happened as well. It has to be a good partnership for both. I hope you find someone Debby, someone to laugh at you when you realize you are sinking in the mud you stupidly walked on, LOL, which is what happened to me yesterday.

      July 11, 2015
      • Yes Leanne I think it is all about finding the right person. I especially feel rushed when with the husband – even though he is not rushing me – I usually lag behind and say “wait”! LOL Mud sinking – sounds like a fun adventure!

        July 12, 2015
      • I think so too, and I know that feeling you are talking about, I get the same thing when I’m with my husband or daughters, they aren’t rushing me, but I feel like I should be quick. I am lucky to have found a few people now who I’m willing to wait for or are willing to wait for me, which is great. Mud sinking was so funny? I was the only one to venture out onto it I think, mostly it was okay, but a few places I had to walk quickly. LOL Thanks Debby.

        July 12, 2015
  23. “I don’t like going with my husband or daughters because they aren’t interested in photography and they just want to leave. I feel rushed to get my photos.” I hear you!

    July 11, 2015
    • Glad to know I’m not the only one, thanks Graham.

      July 11, 2015
  24. I like both. I love being on my own at Pakowhai Park, if I am on the lookout for bird life. I find the chatter from others to be distracting. But I have also enjoyed my social snappers group more than I thought I would. It is so much fun. I have noticed that the other women are becoming more adventurous in their photos too. Plus we all do acrylic painting together as well. And our painting has improved with the photography. Nice photos.

    July 11, 2015
    • I can understand that for the birds, that makes sense. I love road trips and seeing what we can find, they are becoming my favourite trips right now. I am glad you are enjoying the social snappers, I think I’m about to stop doing them, can generate the interest here and I’m starting to thinking that maybe my interests are lying elsewhere at the moment. Sounds like it has and is a great thing for you. I’m really pleased for you Raewyn.

      July 11, 2015
  25. The ONLY problem with going shooting with anyone else is timing. If you move at a different pace, or get tired faster (or slower), or just want to move on to another place and your partner in crime doesn’t, something’s gotta give. Sometimes I like the company. Sometimes I prefer the freedom of being on my own.

    July 11, 2015
    • I have people that I go out with and we work very well together, so it hasn’t been a problem, we all know that we are different and sometimes have to take the time to be patient. Thanks for sharing your experiences Marilyn.

      July 11, 2015
  26. Wonderful images … looking forward to seeing you soon 😀

    July 11, 2015
    • Thanks Julie, and I’m looking forward to it as well. 😀

      July 11, 2015
  27. Hello Leanne, thank you for taking the time to visit my site. Looking at your site it’s interesting that we touched on the same topics such as the value of friends when dining or even just having a coffee! (July 9th. etc) I also touched on the safety in this modern age of going with friends. I liked the way you seem to get inspiration from each other for example when you didn’t like the muddy uphill climb but you used it to take the macros. I will have to read more of your work and I like your photos too !! Keep up the good work. Kindest Regards Paul C.

    July 11, 2015
    • Hello Paul, you’re welcome and thanks for coming by mine as well. All very important things to consider when you are taking photos. I think getting inspiration from your friends is great, especially afterwards when they look at photos and you think wow, why didn’t I see that. Take care yourself.

      July 11, 2015
  28. Love the photo of the beautiful roses in the pewter jug.

    July 11, 2015
  29. I’d love to have someone to go out with!

    July 11, 2015
    • It is good, I up you can find someone Gypsy.

      July 11, 2015
  30. Lee #

    I very seldom ever shoot alone. Dan and I are usually always together on birding adventures. He like photography and I like the birds and other critters. I help find them and then he comes and gets the really good shots. 🙂

    July 12, 2015
    • Sounds like the perfect partnership Lee, it is great when you go with someone that you know you are suited with and will have a good time.Thanks for sharing that.

      July 12, 2015
      • Lee #

        We’ve been together for 52 years this month. 🙂

        July 12, 2015
      • Congratulations Lee, what a massive effort. 😀

        July 12, 2015
  31. I almost always photograph with a friend. as our subjects tend to be primarily wildlife, we will often catch what the other has missed, and vice versa.

    July 12, 2015
    • Sounds like another great partnership, it is good when that happens, when you help the other out. Thank you for sharing that.

      July 12, 2015
  32. As soon as my ankle is better I will be getting in touch with you as I would love to come photographing with you.

    July 13, 2015

Comments are closed.

