Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Looking at Waterfalls Around the Back of Lorne

lorne-waterfalls-macro-mushrooms-rainforest-2073

A couple of weeks ago I had a chance to take some photos of some waterfalls around Lorne. I was with Chris from sv-takeiteasy and she was keen to do some. I wish I could say it was easy, but it was hard work. You know when you are walking downhill that eventually you will have to walk back up.

The first waterfall we went to was Cora Lynn Falls, and I have to say, it was very hard. We walked down for two kilometres, took photos of the waterfall, the first waterfall photos, then we had to walk all the way back up. It was wet and muddy, but to break the trip up we took lots of macro shots on the way back.

We went into Lorne and had lunch at a burger place called the Bottle of Milk. We looked at the pamphlet on the waterfalls and agreed on another one, an easy one to get to.

Of we went to Henderson Falls. It said easy, but the uphill was driving us mad, thankfully it also meant that it would be downhill on the way back.  The waterfall was worth it, and we enjoyed being there.

We walked almost eight kilometres that day and I slept very well that night. There are so many waterfalls around that area and I’m sure I will explore a lot more. I’m going to leave you now with a gallery of some of the images I took. I hope you have a great weekend planned. I think I might stay in, it is going to be very cold here.

76 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    These mushrooms, foliage and moss photos are enchanting. ❤

    July 11, 2015
    • thanks Jackie, going back to some rainforests this coming week, will have to see what I can get there. 🙂

      July 11, 2015
  2. Wonderful series, love the mushrooms and well all of it.

    July 11, 2015
  3. Great shots Leanne! Especially the one with the waterfall and the clear water movement.
    Thanks for sharing!

    July 11, 2015
    • I think I like getting water movement, seeing how it moves. Thanks Pieter.

      July 11, 2015
  4. Gorgeous gorgeous Gorgeous 🙂

    July 11, 2015
  5. Sue #

    Some great images, Leanne, and it sounds like you had a very energetic time!

    July 11, 2015
    • Oh it was, I was exhausted at the end of the day. thanks.

      July 11, 2015
  6. The waterfalls are very nice, but . . . wish I could photograph me some fungi. Very nice shots.

    July 11, 2015
    • I am just discovering them, apparently after rain in places where vegetation is rotting, so I’ve been told. Thanks.

      July 11, 2015
  7. Stunning photos Leanne. Keep warm. It has been snowing around us and I heard that you will be getting a cold blast too. Have a great weekend

    July 11, 2015
    • Thanks Raewyn. Oh yes, we are expecting a wet and wild weekend, no snow, of course, it never snows here, but very cold. The sun is shining right now, but expect it won’t last. Take care, and keep warm. A good weekend to stay home and work on the computer.

      July 11, 2015
  8. Great and varied images Leanne! It’s always interesting to see your photos and how you have framed them after a trip together.

    July 11, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, I think the same, it is interesting to see which ones you got, which ones I didn’t, and how took them.

      July 11, 2015
  9. Sensational al shot falls and macros would love to go to those places eventuality:)

    July 11, 2015
    • We might have to see if we can arrange it, but I’m not doing the 2k trek again until I am fitter, LOL. Thanks Chris.

      July 11, 2015
  10. You make it look magical.

    July 11, 2015
  11. Leanne!! It has been a while since I have been over here … I am still smack dab in the middle of much busy-ness. Yet I am SO glad I stopped by today because your waterfalls and your macros are stunning!!! YOU have inspired me to start looking for waterfalls in our local creeks. The sad news is our water levels have been dropping rapidly so to find water like I did last year (and loosing all those pictures) is going to be more challenging this year. I drooled over your waterfall images!
    I LOVE your mushroom photos!!! I too took many photos of mushrooms the other day, as I found myself in this huge colony. Again you have inspired me to go through those images and edit those I want to show on Petals.
    Your macro flowers shots ..WOW! And the one of the bee, my mouth dropped open. Your aperature had to be wide open for you to get an image like that! Pure magic you captured!!
    Please be grateful for your life that you are able to put as much time into your photography as you do. I hope to have time as you do some day. Again you motivate me to keep dreaming!!! Thank you!!! (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

    July 11, 2015
    • Oh I understand the busy-ness, I’m feeling much the same. I’m looking at blogs but not commenting a lot, not enough time in the day really. Thank you Amy, it was a lovely place to go and take photos. You are in summer, so maybe that is also a factor, here winter and spring are the best times to photograph them, but then again we don’t have the winters that you do. I am sure you will get more waterfalls Amy.
      I think I quite like doing the mushrooms, I just wish they weren’t so close to the ground, LOL. You inspire me too Amy, you are getting some fantastic macros, I keep thinking I should go and do some more.
      You are such a lovely person Amy, thank you so much, and know that I am very grateful for the opportunities that I’ve been given. You take care and get out there with your camera. We will inspire one another.

      July 11, 2015
      • You’ve put my Heart up in my throat with your words, Leanne. Thank you SO much for your encouragement. When I do my mushroom post, I am giving you credit for the inspiration adding a link on my post to your blog. You really are the reason I did that shoot. And when you see what I captured your mouth will drop open. I know mine did. 🙂
        Our waters are SO muddy from the torrential rains we have been getting, yet everything is still so low. So, I must wait until the waters clear to shoot waterfalls. That will give me time to hunt around to see what creeks I can find. I know of some fantastic waterfalls I could spend all day at, but I have several rather ill cats right now and I do not have the luxury to leave that long of a period of time. These precious ones won’t be here forever, and when they pass, yes it will be tough, but it will afford me with more time to give to my photography. A park that I am just frothing at the mouth to go to again is Letchworth State Park about 1.5 hours drive from where I live. It has three waterfalls and so much water in between. I could spend a week there and still not get all of it. For now, I hunt local creeks within 15 minutes driving time of me for waterfalls.
        Maybe I could return to Niagara Falls? I will see. It all depends a lot regarding what is going on here with my cats. Thank you again for giving me such a boost, Leanne. I have learned so much from you!!! ❤

        July 11, 2015
      • I looking forward to seeing them Amy, I’m sure you did an amazing job.
        It is so weird when you get heaps of rain, but there isn’t enough for waterfalls. It happens here too, seems to depend on how dry the ground was before the rain and how quickly it sinks in. We are getting lots of rain here today. You better look after your cats, mine is sleeping beside my feet right next to the heater, snoring away. I like the sound of that park and I hope you get to photograph the waterfalls there soon.
        I was thinking of your Niagara Falls photos from before and was wondering if you were going to go back, I hope you get a chance to. You’re welcome, good to inspire each other, take care and take care of your cats.

        July 11, 2015
  12. Oh, yes–the mushrooms!! Beautiful, Leanne.

    July 11, 2015
  13. I’m always amazed at the sensual beauty of your photography. Takes me on a wonderful, virtual journey. Have a great week-end also.

    July 11, 2015
    • Thank you Olga, a lovely compliment. I like your description, you have a great week too.

      July 11, 2015
  14. So gorgeous & some of this are so vibrant & colorful! Beautiful work as always.

    July 11, 2015
    • Thank you, that’s fantastic to hear.

      July 11, 2015
  15. what a strange looking bug out for a stroll!! Gorgeous waterfalls and magical fungi etc!!

    July 11, 2015
    • I know, though on closer inspection I think it is just the shell. Thank you Cybele.

      July 11, 2015
  16. Stunning Leanne.

    July 11, 2015
  17. Lee #

    Nice work of some fantastic scenery!

    July 11, 2015
  18. Reblogged this on thewritealice and commented:
    Breathtaking #PHOTOS #nature #waterfalls @olavay

    July 11, 2015
  19. WOW I didn’t realise it was so much like an enchanted forest out there in Lorne! I need to get out there during the winter time

    July 11, 2015
    • It is Athena, lots of rainforest there. Yes just be careful, it gets wet and slippery. thanks.

      July 11, 2015
      • I will take my boyfriend there later on in the year for that epic drive on the Ocean Road 🙂

        July 12, 2015
      • Yes, you will, I’m doing the great ocean road, well part of it this coming week, should be amazing. 🙂

        July 12, 2015
      • Great hope to see more pics

        July 12, 2015
      • I am sure you will, I will be posting some on Instagram and Facebook, not sure how long before I post some here though.

        July 12, 2015
  20. Amazing!! 🙂 love the photos

    July 11, 2015
    • Thank you, that’s great. 🙂

      July 11, 2015
  21. I’ve made many treks looking for waterfalls. I’ve always loved the long exposure for a soft silky feel to the water. Lovely set of images. Also, great captures of the mushrooms and fungi!

    July 11, 2015
    • It is always worth it when you get home, but oh, the trek can be hard, maybe if I got fitter it wouldn’t be so bad. Thank you.

      July 11, 2015
  22. jonahazare #

    Nice photos! I really like them! 🙂

    July 11, 2015
  23. Reblogged this on Kopi-paste.nih.

    July 11, 2015
  24. Great job

    July 11, 2015
  25. Kestrel #

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I was quite pleased to come and find yours and love the vegetation photos you’ve done. I haven’t ventured into anything similar myself, because I’m still learning how to take a decent picture – but I love the *earthiness* of things like moss and mushrooms and hope I can manage to work out how to do it. Lovely work!

    July 11, 2015
    • You’re welcome Kestrel, and thanks for taking a look here. You will get into it, I’m sure, places like this are a photographers haven. I did use a macro lens for the mushrooms, but macro settings on cameras can be great too, see if yours has one and see how you go. Good luck with it all.

      July 12, 2015
  26. Gorgeous set of images Leanne…..I like the way you’ve combined details from around the waterfall with the wider shots of the waterfall itself 😊

    July 12, 2015
    • It is something I’ve started doing a lot, using the wide angle for the waterfall and then putting the macro on when walking to and from, get more variety then. Thanks Mark.

      July 12, 2015
  27. wow these are so beautiful Leanne, what a nice place to visit. 🙂

    July 12, 2015
    • thank you Heather, it is a gorgeous area. 🙂

      July 12, 2015
  28. Yet another pretty place to visit Leanne. Your images encourage me to try more macro photography.

    July 12, 2015
    • Have you been there Carol? There are so many waterfalls there behind Lorne. Macro is great, and gives you a great excuse for stopping when going uphill. Thanks.

      July 12, 2015
      • No, I haven’t been there but I will add it to our list. I hadn’t thought about the walking uphill thing, that is a great excuse. I will remember to use that whenever we are walking.

        July 12, 2015
      • It is a great place. It is great, people don’t realize just how unfit you are, lol.

        July 12, 2015
  29. Exquisite waterfalls with a side order of charming fungi!

    July 12, 2015
    • Thank you Marilyn, I love how you have put it, brilliant.

      July 12, 2015
  30. These are so delicate and lovely. You inspire me! ~ Sheila

    July 12, 2015
  31. -Super Good Photo’s-

    July 12, 2015
  32. Wow Leanne, the long walk was definitely worth it – you have some amazing shots! Thanks for sharing them and for the tip to take macro while you catch your breath 😊

    July 12, 2015
    • I am glad you think so too, of course I didn’t think so at the time. You’re welcome, good to see you like them, oh yes the macro on the uphill, really good, love it. Thank you.

      July 12, 2015
  33. Beautiful rich scenes of nature Leanne ~ have a beautiful week ahead.

    July 13, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, I’m going to a beautiful place, but the weather is meant to be fairly horrible, hopefully it will clear quickly.

      July 13, 2015
  34. amy #

    Oh, the mushrooms!! Stunning work!

    July 14, 2015

Comments are closed.

