Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Malmsbury and Getting There

malmsbury-viaduct-reservoir-ducks-morning-1392

Malmsbury is a little town on the Calder Highway which you go through on the way to Bendigo. Since the Calder Freeway was built the town is bypassed, I don’t know how that has affected the town, but it is still a lovely part of Victoria. There are lots of things to do there, especially if you like photography.

On the way there we couldn’t help stopping to take some photos of what was left of the fog. Winter here really is a great time to take photos. They weren’t of anything special, just things that we liked.

Malmsbury is a small town and one of the biggest things to photograph is the Rail Viaduct. It was built around 1860 and still takes trains, an import part of the route that connects Bendigo to Melbourne. It has quite a few trains on it, but I have to confess, I just kept missing them.

malmsbury-viaduct-reservoir-ducks-morning-1356

We had a gorgeous winters day for our outing, the sun was shining, a slight chill in the air and we had a very blue sky. We walked around the local park and took photos of the ducks and geese. Then to the viaduct, and then a quick drive around to the reservoir.

I have included a map for you so you can see where Malmsbury is.

I am going to put some photos in a gallery now. It was a great day and nothing like the weekend we are having at the moment. It is cold and wet here and the best place to be is inside. Glad I went out the other day when the weather was nice. I hope you are having better luck with the weather where you are. Β I’m going to rug up and stay warm, work on the magazine.

55 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on O LADO ESCURO DA LUA.

    July 12, 2015
  2. Looks like you had a great time πŸ™‚ love the photos

    July 12, 2015
    • We did, we had fun, thank you. πŸ™‚

      July 12, 2015
  3. Love the rail viaduct and the birds.

    July 12, 2015
  4. What a wonderful outing. Thank you for sharing your photos with us. I appreicate the commentary that fills out the story. Enjoy the weekend. In love and light Cheryle

    July 12, 2015
    • It was a great outing, and you’re welcome. That’s good, sometimes I worry that I go on too much. Thank you and you enjoy yours Cheryle.

      July 12, 2015
  5. I love the dried grasses against the fence! Hope you are keeping warm. Today was a very hot summer’s day in New Jersey.

    July 12, 2015
    • I’ve never taken much notice before, but they can be quite interesting. I managed to yesterday, I didn’t go anywhere, but I am afraid I will have to venture out today. Looks like we are having totally opposite weather Cynthia, keep cool and keep up the fluids.

      July 12, 2015
      • I agree, they can be very interesting. I’ve been into dried plants lately. Enjoy what you can out of your winter weather!

        July 12, 2015
      • Dried plants can be so interesting as well Cynthia, thank you, I will, it is the best time to take photos around here.

        July 12, 2015
  6. Beautiful photos. I just love that bridge with the reflections. One thing about winter here – the frost and cold temperatures are great for calm waters and awesome affects. Keep warm.

    July 12, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, I think the same happens here too, it keeps the wind away, I must start getting braver and heading out when it is cold. Thank you, you keep warm too.

      July 12, 2015
  7. It’s hard to beat a good viaduct. I’m sorry you missed the trains.

    July 12, 2015
    • You can’t really, I did manage to get a train on another one, the other day, so not all was lost.

      July 12, 2015
  8. Love that bridge and the reflection!

    July 12, 2015
    • We will have to take you to that on another trip. Thanks Chris.

      July 12, 2015
      • I love Malmsbury – used to stop there on my way to Bendigo when I worked that way.,,, before photography … Some nice antiques and gallery!

        July 12, 2015
      • It is a gorgeous town, need to go there and just spend the day wandering I think, with the camera of course.

        July 12, 2015
  9. Yes Leanne, Malmsbury is a lovely town, but the reservoir has always been so cold when I have visited! Great spot for photography as you said.

    July 12, 2015
    • It was lovely the day we went Sharon, but I can imagine days like this weekend where it would be cold. I would have liked more water in it, seems to be a common problem with many of them, not much water.

      July 12, 2015
      • Yes we have not had much water this year, the last couple of days have been a welcome relief.

        July 12, 2015
      • Yes, a welcome relief if you are indoors. Haha, it is so cold.

        July 12, 2015
  10. Was in Malmsbury, England last year. Sweet town.

    July 12, 2015
    • Haha, there are so many towns here that were named after English towns, is yours similar to ours?

      July 12, 2015
  11. The railway bridge looks great and is obviously well built, 100+ years on.

    July 12, 2015
    • It is very solid John, I’m sure it will be there for a long time.

      July 12, 2015
  12. Amanda Hodgins #

    Lovely photos Leanne. Thank you for sharing them. I will have to travel up to Malmbury one weekend and take some shots. I have heard there is an amazing bakery there too. Hope you are staying warm. It sure is cold in Melbourne today.

    July 12, 2015
    • Thank you Amanda, yes, it is great place and it does have a good bakery, but expensive, so I’m told. I am so far, but with a broken washing machine I’m going to have to get out and do some washing. 😦

      July 12, 2015
  13. Great shots Leanne especially the viaduct ones.. We always drop in on the Merchant of Malmsbury (first on the left coming in from Melbourne ) for coffee and great home made scones on our many trips to Bendigo. On the right day one can shoot wonderful cloudscapes on back roads towards Daylesford

    July 12, 2015
    • I have to admit I haven’t really stopped there for coffee, but thanks for the tip, I might have to now, especially the next time I am in the area. I love that whole area, you can get some great shots. Thanks Denis.

      July 12, 2015
  14. Great images, as always! Particularly love the Mallard couple and the other birds.

    July 12, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, I had no idea what they were really, I am still learning the names of the birds.

      July 12, 2015
  15. love the viaduct, especially with the reflections!! Lovely gallery Leanne!- a funny looking goose- almost like a Dodo bird! lol

    July 12, 2015
    • It is quite amazing, and we were lucky with the reflection. Thank you Cybele, I know a funny looking one, cute too. πŸ˜‰

      July 12, 2015
  16. Wonderful images Leanne .. I hope you don’t get this twice. Looking forward to seeing you πŸ˜€

    July 12, 2015
    • Why would I get it twice Julie, lol Thank you, see you tomorrow. πŸ˜€

      July 12, 2015
  17. Sonel #

    Excellent shots of this beautiful place Leanne. I love the Pelicans and Ducks and the viaduct with the reflection in the water is my favorite. It made me think of a game I love to play called ‘CivCity Rome’. LOL! In the game I must build viaducts like this as well so the people can have water. πŸ˜€ But it doesn’t look as gorgeous as yours. What a lovely outing you had. Stay warm and thanks for sharing. πŸ˜€ β™₯

    July 12, 2015
    • Thank you Sonel. It is a gorgeous viaduct and a great example and lovely to see that it is still being used. We did have a great outing, the weather was perfect for it. You’re welcome Sonel. πŸ˜€

      July 12, 2015
  18. The picture of the line of trees and a dense group of trees looks like tall creatures following a short animal. I love it.

    July 12, 2015
    • I love it, thank you for sharing that. πŸ™‚

      July 12, 2015
  19. So far, the weather forecasts haven’t come to fruition here. The wind is cold but it was a gorgeous sunny day. Maybe the wintery blast will come tomorrow just in time for the start of the new school term!

    July 12, 2015
  20. The viaduct is beautiful, love the reflection. Getting out to shoot in the winter can be a challenge. It is one of the reasons I try to post a new town every week, it forces me to get out even when I’d rather stay in next to the woodstove!

    July 12, 2015
    • Thank you, it is a great thing to do, my weekend wandering posts are great for that reason too, makes me get new photos for them. It is good to have something that makes you get out, though it really isn’t that bad usually here, sometimes, but we also get some gorgeous weather too.

      July 12, 2015
  21. Lovely shot with the reflection of the viaduct. I always find engineering structures fascinating subjects for photography.

    July 13, 2015
    • Thank you Graham, they are fascinating, especially if they are in a nice area.

      July 13, 2015
  22. Lovely photos. I lived in Malmsbury, UK for a while. It is very different but equally beautiful.

    July 13, 2015
    • I only just heard there was one in the UK, though I”m not surprised many of our towns are named after towns or cities there. Glad the UK one is also beautiful.

      July 13, 2015
  23. BJ #

    Being from NY, I can hardly imagine winter with no snow on the ground.
    Now in Istanbul, I can’t wait to find out.
    These look beautiful.

    July 14, 2015
    • It is cold wet, but you it doesn’t look like winter, except everything is green. LOL. At least snow says winter.
      It will be interesting to see how you find it.
      Thanks BJ

      July 14, 2015

Comments are closed.

