Skip to content

Quiet Thursday: Taking it Easy

The weather looked like it could be a total washout this week for my trip to Apollo Bay with Karen from daysandmonths, but we have been very lucky. It has been overcast and there has been rain, but there has been some lovely light too. I hope Karen is enjoying herself and getting some great photos. I know I am, on both counts, and have loved being here with her.

It isn’t the only place I’ve been this week and I have some photos for you now of one or two other places.  I told you I was going into the country areas on Friday with Chris and Chris, and it was another one of those days, first we saw fog, then it rained, then from no where the sun came out. It was great.  No idea where we ended up, but they were nice.  Hopefully we can find them again.

These two images were taken on that day and I have processed them.

I did a couple of photos last night from yesterday.

The first image was taken at Cape Otway. It was a dark sky, and made some moody shots. The second image was taken at night near where we are staying. We had hoped to do the milky way and a clear night sky earlier. Of course by the time we got out there the sky was covered in clouds.  Still, I enjoyed taking some photos of the beach at night.

Next I just have some Instagram photos for you. I keep trying to remember to put some up, but not too many.  I don’t want to drive people nuts with too many photos.  They are from the two trips above and from a trip into the city the other day with Julie from FROG POND FARM. So I will leave it there, need to get ready to show Karen some more of the Great Ocean Road, seems she can’t wait to see the 12 Apostles,I hope she want be disappointed.

33 Comments
  1. Barry Lively #

    Very good shot, Leanne.

    July 16, 2015
  2. Love those dark moody shots! Especially the last one.

    July 16, 2015
    • So do I they really helped make them look better. Thanks.

      July 16, 2015
  3. I love the darker mood of those top photos especially.

    July 16, 2015
    • I like that too, the crappy weather really suited me. Thank you.

      July 16, 2015
  4. Love!

    July 16, 2015
  5. I rather admire that first shot in the gallery, Leanne…with the sun and low clouds and fence/gates….very nice. I’d love to have been there for that one.

    July 16, 2015
    • It was pretty good, though wasn’t quite sure how to handle it, guess I will have to keep practicing, thanks Scott.

      July 16, 2015
  6. I love your moody shots! Stunning!

    July 16, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, I think I quite like them too.

      July 16, 2015
  7. Sue #

    I love the textures in the Victoria Rail Bridge reservoir. Leanne

    July 16, 2015
  8. Your picture with the grean ocean road sign brought back lots of memories. Thank you 🙂

    July 16, 2015
    • That’s great, I think it is one of the first times I’ve photographed it. Thanks. 🙂

      July 16, 2015
  9. Love these Leanne. Very nice. I especially like the somber tones with just the right amount of light and pizzazz!

    Didn’t know that you and Julie were friends. She’s one of my favorite blogging buddies. Such a sweetheart! Tell her I said hello. 🙂

    July 17, 2015
    • thank you Julie, oh yes, we’ve met a couple of times now, such a great lady, lots of fun. I think she’s gone home now, but I will let her know. 🙂

      July 17, 2015
  10. Sounds like you are having fun…and great photos too…wonderful!

    July 17, 2015
    • Thanks Robert, I have been, now I have a lot of catching up to do.

      July 17, 2015
  11. Sounds so enjoyable thus far! Bless the two of you.

    July 17, 2015
  12. Very moody and dramatic photos Leanne. Hope you have a nice weekend

    July 17, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, you have a good one too.

      July 17, 2015
  13. Hey Leanne .. wonderful images. A great morning with you in that wonderful city 😀

    July 17, 2015
    • It was a lot of fun, I really enjoyed catching up with you the other day. Thanks for making time to see me. 😀

      July 17, 2015
  14. Nice mix as always. Enjoy the West Coast!

    July 17, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, we had a great time.

      July 17, 2015
  15. Well done Leanne, I love the house shot. The others are great shots too but I would suggest to calculate a better way the exposure when you take night skies shots to avoid little star trails when not wanted, the beach shot is awesome but those little star trails look like a blurry scene.

    July 19, 2015
    • Thanks Roby, you know what, when I was doing the night scene, I didn’t think I was going to get any stars, it didn’t matter if they were going to be blurry or not, I had to calculate what was going to be better, a lower ISO and longer exposure, or high ISO sharp stars, for the few that are actually there. I went for less grain.

      July 19, 2015
      • I apologize for doing a misconception about your intentions behind the shot! Now I understand you did it the right way, indeed as I said before the image is awesome 🙂

        July 19, 2015
      • It is not that I did it the right way, it was just a decision I made you probably wouldn’t have made the same decision, so no need to apologize at all. I love the rock formation in the foreground and that was my focus really. 🙂

        July 19, 2015

Comments are closed.

