Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Loch Ard Gorge

The trip to Apollo Bay is over now and time to get back to reality. I had an absolutely fantastic time with Karen from daysandmonths and I I hope it won’t be the last time we get together. We are still spending today together before she heads home.

loch-arh-gorge-pano-125751

The other day we did travel around the Great Ocean Road and one of the places we ended up at was Loch Ard Gorge. There is a story that goes with it and I’m going to let Wikipedia explain it:

The Loch Ard departed England on 1 March 1878, bound for Melbourne, commanded by Captain Gibb and with a crew of 17 men. It was carrying 37 passengers and assorted cargo. On 1 June, the ship was approaching Melbourne and expecting to sight land when it encountered heavy fog. Unable to see the Cape Otway lighthouse, the captain was unaware how close he was running to the coast. The fog lifted around 4am, revealing breakers and cliff faces. Captain Gibb quickly ordered sail to be set to come about and get clear of the coast, but they were unable to do so in time, and ran aground on a reef. The masts and rigging came crashing down, killing some people on deck and preventing the lifeboats from being launched effectively. The ship sank within 10 or 15 minutes of striking the reef.

The only two survivors of the wreck were Eva Carmichael, who survived by clinging to a spar for five hours, and Thomas (Tom) R. Pearce, an apprentice who clung to the overturned hull of a lifeboat. Tom Pearce came ashore first, then heard Eva’s shouts and went back into the ocean to rescue her. They came ashore at what is now known as Loch Ard Gorge and sheltered there before seeking assistance.

We knew the story when we went and when we went down to the bottom of Loch Ard Gorge, we did get a funny sense of eeriness, like a feeling of isolation. It was weird. We knew the steps were there, but you couldn’t help feeling how scared Tom and Eva must have been there. There is no way out except to scale the high cliffs. I think we were lucky that we were the only ones there at the time.

I am going to leave you with a gallery now. I tried to pick images that would help give you that sense of isolation and I hope you can feel it too. I’m slowly trying to catch up with everything and all your comments.  It is the start of the weekend here and I hope you have some great plans.

69 Comments
  1. Lee #

    Very beautiful.

    July 18, 2015
  2. What a superb place to photograph Leanne, your pics (as always) really bring it to life. Makes me want to go there 🙂

    July 18, 2015
    • Thank you James, it was a pretty amazing place, I loved the colour of water, perhaps you should come and visit. I will take you there. 😀

      July 18, 2015
      • I would love to go Leanne – and after we could visit Haworth moor…..(why aren’t I rich….sigh…)

        July 18, 2015
      • I know, why doesn’t someone pay me to photograph the world. LOL

        July 18, 2015
  3. Those rock formations are magnificent

    July 18, 2015
    • They are Nora and very brittle and always changing.

      July 18, 2015
  4. Wow, Leanne! Have a great weekend!

    July 18, 2015
    • Thank you Fabio, you have a good one too.

      July 18, 2015
  5. Beautiful images and what an interesting story! Hard to believe it’s winter there. The waves and sand look so inviting, I’d jump right in!

    July 18, 2015
    • Thank you Cynthia, oh yes definitely winter, we had rain on and off and we had to make a hasty exit from the gorge as it started raining. Nice at this time of the year, not so many people.

      July 18, 2015
  6. What a shipwreck survival story, and what a beautiful location!

    July 18, 2015
    • It is quite a story, and yes beautiful, though not sure the survivors would have thought so.

      July 18, 2015
  7. What an astonishingly stunning place. Wonderful photos.

    July 18, 2015
  8. Such a tragedy, sailed so far then crashed so close to harbour. A beautiful place though.

    July 18, 2015
    • Unfortunately a common occurrence, over 600, it is very treacherous water. Yes, a very beautiful place, and one that people from all over the world visit.

      July 18, 2015
  9. Some of these shots appear 3d!

    July 18, 2015
    • That’s fantastic, thanks Gypsy.

      July 18, 2015
  10. So beautiful! Wonderful pictures ☺

    July 18, 2015
  11. DianaX #

    What a beautiful place!

    July 18, 2015
    • It is really Diana, and there are lots of other places along there just as beautiful.

      July 18, 2015
  12. Such a stunning place. Glad you had a good time with Karen!

    July 18, 2015
    • We did, had a great time, and I think it is amazing too, would like to go back sometime. Thanks Chris, hope you are having a good time as well.

      July 18, 2015
  13. Such an amazing place and aptly named after history.
    Gorgeous and descriptive photos Leanne. Wonderful as always!

    July 18, 2015
    • Yes, very aptly named Robyn. Thank you.

      July 18, 2015
  14. Nice shots. That last photo gives an optical illusion – just to add to the eeriness of the area.

    July 18, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, oh I know what you mean, quite strange.

      July 18, 2015
  15. One of my favorite places in the world! I was there on my 17th birthday way back in 1969. I felt I could have remained there forever.

    July 18, 2015
    • I was there around that age too, but a few years later. It is something you don’t forget. It is beautiful, I hope you have got to go back since then. Thank you.

      July 18, 2015
  16. There is nothing like looking at the strata of sedimentary rock to give a sense of how long things have been around before we ever got there.

    July 18, 2015
    • Yes, I know what you mean, I was looking at some other photos and thinking the same thing, it is quite amazing.

      July 18, 2015
  17. Wow love the remotness of it ,great shots

    July 18, 2015
    • That is exactly how it was, though the fact that we were there by ourselves, surprisingly, might have added to that. Thank you.

      July 18, 2015
  18. Andy #

    Lovely photos. I was there two years ago. I’ve some pictures on my blog somewhere. The entire coast of the Great Ocean Road is photogenic. Loch Ard particularly so. Beautiful.

    July 18, 2015
    • Thank you Andy, Oh yes, it is full of great places to take photos all around there and along the coast.

      July 18, 2015
  19. great pics.. that colour combination of cobalt teal greenblue with the buff naples is exquisite!

    July 18, 2015
    • I think so too Debi, helps make it a beautiful image. Thank you.

      July 18, 2015
  20. what a wild and beautiful place and I love that bottom panorama!!

    July 18, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele, It is certainly all that, especially on windy stormy days.

      July 18, 2015
  21. Lee #

    What a fantastic place!

    July 18, 2015
  22. Heartafire #

    lovely and vibrant photography as always!

    July 18, 2015
  23. Oh my gosh, I love those rock formations. Is that someplace we could go? I think I might have to stay 2 months in Australia! lol

    July 18, 2015
    • They are quite amazing, yes, it is a possibility, we might have to see what we can do.

      July 18, 2015
  24. Georgeous. The story enhances…

    July 18, 2015
  25. Great shots of the Gorge Leanne. This brings back memories of my childhood growing up in Warrnambool and the many weekend trips down the GOR to Moonlight Head. In those days there was no national park and no tourist facilities or safety features , one scrambled down the cliff side to the Loch Ard Gorge beach and cave, there were 12 Apostles and London Bridge was a bridge. Somewhere I have very, very old slides of the area.

    July 18, 2015
    • I remember similar conditions when I was there as a teenager. I walked over London Bridge as well. I also spent a holiday in Warrnambool when I was a child, have been meaning to get back, but it hasn’t quite happened yet. Thanks Denis, I hope they brought back happy memories.

      July 18, 2015
  26. I love visiting that part of the coast. It’s such dramatic scenery with dramatic stories from the past.

    July 18, 2015
    • It certainly is, and very tragic in many ways too. Thanks Carol.

      July 18, 2015
  27. Beautiful photographs. Love your work.

    July 18, 2015
  28. Well the place looks like a little bit isolated but not hostile, anyway the cave is fascinating. The water is wonderful and that little beach well exposed by your photos give a pleasant sensation of relax, of wellness. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and your feelings, I really appreciate your way to explain your images and give voice and life to them.

    July 19, 2015
    • It isn’t really hostile, but the only way out is up the cliffs, and then you have to hope the tide doesn’t come into far. That would be scary. I felt a bit claustrophobic in there, the tall walls, that small entrance at the end. Thank you Roby.

      July 19, 2015
  29. a nice scenery.
    thanks, for sharing the dramatic story with us, too. It sets the bay in a different picture.

    July 19, 2015
    • Thank you Solaner, You’re welcome, it seemed like an important thing to do, as we read the story just before we went down.

      July 19, 2015
  30. Wow, that’s fantastic. We’re going up to see the Columbia River Gorge tomorrow.

    July 20, 2015
    • Thank you, I hope you get some great shots too Nicci.

      July 20, 2015
  31. You are awesome!

    July 24, 2015

Comments are closed.

