Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Cape Otway Lighthouse

cape-otway-great-ocean-road-4561

It is hard to visit Apollo Bay and not take a trip to Cape Otway Lighthouse. At first Karen and I were disappointed with the weather as it was raining on and off, but once we got there we realized the white buildings were going to be set off really well against the dark brooding sky.

cape-otway-great-ocean-road-4429

The lighthouse is the hero there, but unlike other lighthouses I really didn’t want to take photos of it up close. I like the surroundings it was set in and with the wet weather it really set it off.

cape-otway-great-ocean-road-4516

If you have paid all the money to go inΒ you should go up the lighthouse. It is quite amazing what you can see from it. There is the long path to it and one of the volunteers as they finish their shift in the top.

cape-otway-great-ocean-road-4499

They turned on the light for us, though it is no long used, there is a newer smaller light in front of the old lighthouse now.

cape-otway-great-ocean-road-4372

It was quite amazing watching the storm out at sea, you almost couldn’t tell where the horizon was. I love the way the sky morphes into the sea almost. This had just past, but it wasn’t long before more passed over us.

The weather wasn’t great, I think I said that already, but we were thankful that while it did rain, it wasn’t a consistent rain. We knew if we headed indoors when it was raining it wouldn’t be long before we could head out again. I have to say, and I know Β you will agree, that the stormy weather really added a lot more drama to the images.

It feels like the weekend is over, but I know it isn’t. The last few days with Karen have been wonderful and now I feel like I could sleep for quite a while. I plan on taking things a little easy today and catch up on few things. Β I hope you are having a great time where you are, maybe taking some photos.

Here is a gallery with the above images and some others that I took at Cape Otway Lighthouse. Don’t forget you can click on the individual images to see a bigger version.

74 Comments
  1. Very familiar to me. I was there in 1987 taking photos with a large format camera. You had much more dramatic weather.

    July 19, 2015
    • That would have been a big camera to carry around Murray. We were disappointed with the weather when we got up, but I think it worked in our favour in the end. Thanks Murray.

      July 19, 2015
  2. I have always had a thing for lighthouses, so this is a real treat for the eyes. The second photo shows such an inviting pathway. And yes, I like the way sky morphs into sea too. There is a Mandarin song that sings “Why does is the sky blue? Why is the sea blue too? It is because they have fallen in love.”

    Why do you not want to take close-ups of the lighthouse???

    July 19, 2015
    • I don’t think you are alone there, many people feel the same about lighthouses, there is something about them. The path to the lighthouse is great. I like that, about the sky and sea, very nice.
      I think it is just this one, I’ve taken close ups of other light houses, but I really like the way this one sits in its place and what is around it. I like to get the position of it, if that makes sense.
      Thank you.

      July 19, 2015
      • Yes it does. A lighthouse is meant to serve its vicinity and would make more sense in its context.

        July 19, 2015
      • I agree. πŸ™‚

        July 19, 2015
  3. The stormy weather is perfect for the lighthouse. It reminds me of Poldark. Great shots. It has been wet and stormy here too. But I still manage to get out for some photos too. Enjoy your Sunday

    July 19, 2015
    • I love Poldark, did you see the latest series? We have been having some very cold weather, and rain too, so it was perfect I thought for the lighthouse. That is good that you managed to get out, sometimes, you just have to do that. Thank you and you have a great Sunday too.

      July 19, 2015
  4. Amazing πŸ™‚

    July 19, 2015
  5. Great set!

    July 19, 2015
  6. Great pics .. You wouldn’t know it was raining. Which it did most of my trip πŸ˜„

    July 19, 2015
    • Thanks Julie, it didn’t rain the whole time, but we did have to run for cover a couple of times, lol, what a shame the weather was so bad for you, and Karen really. Just have to make it work, somehow.

      July 19, 2015
  7. the sky is amazing and really does set off the lighthouse very nicely.

    July 19, 2015
    • I thought so too Lois, I think it was lucky we got that, well after I saw the photos I did. Thank you.

      July 19, 2015
  8. Beautiful. I think stormy weather makes for some great photos!

    July 19, 2015
    • I think so too, really moody. Thanks Chris, though I hope you are getting some lovely weather.

      July 19, 2015
  9. Oh I absolutely agree Leanne. I love the stormy skies, just beautiful.

    July 19, 2015
    • That’s great Desley, thank you, I love those too.

      July 19, 2015
  10. For the moment I’m having to settle for living vicariously through your adventures Leanne!

    July 19, 2015
    • Oh I hope you get to get out and some of your own too, glad you are enjoying mine though, thank you.

      July 19, 2015
  11. Lee #

    Always wanted to visit a lighthouse like that. Photos are super, as usual.

    July 19, 2015
    • We have quite a few beautiful lighthouses down here Lee, you might have to see if you can visit. Thank you.

      July 19, 2015
  12. Wonderful captures, sometimes the best photographs are made on moody stormy days.

    July 19, 2015
    • Oh yes, I think so too, thank you.

      July 19, 2015
  13. That is a superb photoset Leanne and what an amazing place to visit. Looks like the weather was just right for the subject.

    July 19, 2015
    • It is quite amazing, very similar in areas to where you are, I will have to go back and get more photos for you. The weather, as we look back really was perfect for it, especially the lighthouse. Thank you James.

      July 19, 2015
  14. Nothing like bad weather for a good moody Shot, its just bloody hRd to work in at times

    July 19, 2015
    • I know, it can be brilliant, it is that too, very hard to take photos of the redwood with all the rain. Thanks Chris.

      July 19, 2015
  15. Weather definitely worked the favour!

    July 19, 2015
    • Oh it certainly did, thank you.

      July 19, 2015
  16. Karen #

    Great images Leanne, love the lighthouse shots, very moody with good contrast.

    July 19, 2015
    • Thank you Karen, those skies were a blessing in the end.

      July 19, 2015
  17. Lighthouses are a favorite thing of mine.

    July 19, 2015
    • I like them too, I think I need to visit everyone in my state.

      July 19, 2015
  18. Similar weather to when I was there. Some of my favourite photos were taken at the lighthouse. Love your perspective on the keeper’s cottage with the flowers in the foreground. πŸ™‚

    July 19, 2015
    • The bad weather was so good, so you got some great photos too Sue, that’s fantastic. Thank you, I couldn’t believe they were flowering already, they were everywhere. πŸ™‚

      July 19, 2015
  19. Beautiful! There is something very comforting about a lighthouse, especially one with a storm on the horizon or overhead. Nice to have the feeling that something is there standing and lighting the way, no matter what the weather.

    July 19, 2015
    • I think so, perhaps it is because it is about warnings, and is meant to save you. I like how you put that Mary, thank you.

      July 19, 2015
  20. I love the dark skies, and the contrasts of white and dark, plus the ocean one is gorgeous. I can’t wait to see the ocean shots I took today in Oregon, though we had clear skies, not so dramatic! But seeing yours makes me want to look at them. I will in the morning, though. It’s getting late here.

    Great job.

    July 19, 2015
    • We were lucky with those skies, though not sure we really thought so at the time. Thank you Nicci. I can’t wait to see them as well, ocean photos can be great. good luck with them.

      July 19, 2015
      • I know, ha ha! I would have bummed with those skies! And yet look how they turned out. I’m processing my ocean shots now and a blue sky is also hard to make interesting. Fortunately I had the eye to take a shot of some pools that formed in the sand, because the straight ocean, sky, beach shots are boring. I’ll have the photos up soon.

        July 20, 2015
      • I love stormy skies, they always give you something different. Blue skies can be good. That sounds great, I saw them and think you got some great shots.

        July 20, 2015
  21. It sounds like you all are having a great time! I love Lighthouses. I like how you got the surrounding area as well! Hope you were able to take it easy πŸ™‚

    July 19, 2015
    • We did, we had so much fun. If you love lighthouses we will have to find some for you to photograph, I don’t think it will be hard. Thank you Kirsten, we were able to, and definitely taking it easy now. πŸ™‚

      July 19, 2015
  22. the lighthouse looks very nice.
    I guess, the dramatic sea fits perfectly to the white lighthouse and it purpose.

    July 19, 2015
    • It really did, it really made the lighthouse stand out so much more. Thanks.

      July 19, 2015
  23. Tracey Dean #

    Thank you for liking my blog post. I’m following you to say thank you πŸ™‚ I’ll look forward to seeing your photos.

    July 19, 2015
    • You’re welcome Tracey, and thank you for taking a look at mine.

      July 19, 2015
  24. The stormy skies really do make for a dramatic set of images. After all, isn’t that when they shine, so to speak?

    July 19, 2015
    • I thought so too, almost relieved the weather was that bad. I think so too, thank you.

      July 19, 2015
  25. Great shots! Yes stormy skies really can be quite amazing to photograph. And fun in trying to get bewteen the raindrops!

    July 20, 2015
    • I couldn’t agree more Debby, I think they are my favourite. Oh yes, the rain, not always easy. Thanks.

      July 20, 2015
  26. The stormy shots were beautiful Leanne!

    July 20, 2015
  27. I enjoyed your series.. All are great, but I do like your lighthouse photo.

    July 20, 2015
    • Thank you, I think lighthouses are always popular.

      July 20, 2015
  28. Neat.

    July 20, 2015
  29. Love all of these, as usual! You never disappoint! I’m a sucker for photos of lighthouses! ~ Sheila

    July 20, 2015
    • Thank you Sheila, that is great to know.

      July 20, 2015
  30. These series are so beautiful – the whiteness of the lighthouse is piercing.

    July 21, 2015
    • Thank you, I loved how the white came out against that dark sky.

      July 21, 2015
      • It looks stunning – the dark is so rich and velvety and the white so piercingly bright.

        July 21, 2015
      • I love seeing how people describe things, I love what you have said there, thank you.

        July 21, 2015
      • Have a lovely week!

        July 21, 2015
      • Thank you, and you have a lovely week too. πŸ™‚

        July 21, 2015
      • πŸ™‚

        July 21, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sunday Stills the next challenge: Red | daysandmonths

Comments are closed.

