Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Racing Ahead

Last week I had my week away in Apollo Bay, and while it was fantastic it almost means that this week I have to hit the ground running. There is so much to do and not enough hours. I know once the magazine is out things will calm down again, but there is a lot to get done before then.

Magazine

Let’s start with that. All the articles are in, well except mine, and they have been, for the most part, edited. The next step is going to be putting it all together and getting it ready to sell to those that want to buy it. scbarwonheads-4hpm0104-2

Maxwell’s have been fantastic and are giving us something for a give away with the first one. I’m not going to say what, you will have to wait for the magazine to come out.

Book

My book on Banyule Flats is starting to get to the final stage. I am in the process of picking all the images for the book. I am doing a wide selection, then it can be narrowed down. I still have to try and get a few images, but only a few. The next thing will be to see if I have enough photos to cover all the seasons, or whether we have to wait for the summer for me to scpointlonsdale-4hpm9788-cep1get more.  Will find out soon.

Future Books

I am trying to work out if I should do more books. I like working on them, so I am wondering if, once this one is done, I should try doing some more. It is an interesting process. I was catching up with a friend today and she thinks I should try one of those crowd funding schemes to raise money for another one. It is an good thought and I might have to give it a go.

Monochrome Madness

I am looking for fillers, so don’t forget to get your images in, you need to do it straight away.scbarwonheads-4hpm0209-2

Learning from Me

Teaching people photography is a great thing to do, but seems not something a lot of people want from me. People seem to prefer getting other people instead, I will keep offering classes, but I don’t know for how long. I get great testimonials from the people I do teach, I’m told I am good, but then no one else signs up. It is so hard working out scpointlonsdale-9940what is going to work and what isn’t. Trying to be a full time photographer who doesn’t want to do portraits or weddings is proving to be much harder than I thought.

Photos

Today’s photos are from another trip I took with some friends back in early 2013. We went to Barwon Heads in the evening  and then Point Lonsdale early the next morning, I thought I would show the photos again.  I have been back a few times since then, and no doubt will go back quite a few more times in the near future.

41 Comments
  1. Cool stuff 😀 Really love the featured image, & the close-up of the pillars

    July 21, 2015
    • thank you, that’s wonderful. 😀

      July 21, 2015
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Do you have books on Amazon?

    July 21, 2015
    • No, but I hope to in the future Jackie.

      July 21, 2015
  3. Your work is beautiful. Something to learn from.

    July 21, 2015
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you.

      July 21, 2015
  4. Wonderful and great series my fav is no.17, I love the vision through the railing on the lighthouse.

    July 21, 2015
    • Thank you Robert, I quite like that composition too.

      July 21, 2015
  5. A gorgeous set of seascapes and the lighthouse!! I am very partial to taking images of lighthouses too here in Florida…well or anywhere if lucky enough to travel. The aging beacons carry so much romance, danger and history! I just love the colors in the evening scenes and rushing water.

    July 21, 2015
    • Thank you Judy, I think I am quite partial to them as well, haven’t found a lighthouse I didn’t like yet.

      July 21, 2015
  6. I like the interesting mood you created.

    July 21, 2015
  7. Beautiful images as always, Leanne. I love the glow you have achieved in so many of them – especially the lighthouse images.

    July 21, 2015
    • Thank you, I think I was trying some new things back then with color efex.

      July 21, 2015
  8. Love your work, Leanne, so uplifting. I wish you much success, you give so much here! I’d hate to see you stop teaching others…
    Much of what you shoot can be writer’s prompts, so anytime you’d like to collaborate, like a contest or such, let me know – Sunscribe.net

    July 21, 2015
    • Thank you Roxie, that is lovely of you to say.
      I hadn’t ever thought of doing anything like that, how what that work?

      July 21, 2015
      • We could do a couple different things, perhaps we email? I am at sunscribepublishers(at)gmail(dot)com

        July 21, 2015
  9. The quality of the light on the water is just beautiful!! Love these images!! One day I’ll work out how to make the water look smooth!! : )) trees

    July 21, 2015
    • It is all about timing Trees and sometimes using filters, you want slow shutter speeds. Thank you.

      July 21, 2015
  10. Beautiful images thank you. What are you looking for re Monochrome Madness?

    July 21, 2015
    • Thank you, oh anything as long as it is monochrome, have you seen the previous weeks?
      People send what they like, it is all about doing monochrome. Though there will be a theme one in two weeks and the next theme is Bridges.

      July 21, 2015
  11. Beautiful photos of the water, Leanne. Lovely sunset too, very soft, glowy looking. Very nice to hear that the magazine and book are moving along. Final stretch, how exciting and I”m sure you’re enjoying the ride. Good luck with teaching photography. It sounds very challenging indeed to get people to learn from you, I hope it works out. Maybe these days people who are interested in photography think they can learn it all from the Internet…then again, there’s nothing like hands-on learning from someone who knows what they are doing.

    July 21, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, they certainly are, it is getting time to get real. I don’t know about enjoying it, but it will be good to get them out. Thank you. It is challenging, hopefully it will pick up. I don’t know, or maybe it is because I am a woman, people don’t think I can teach them, I don’t know what it is.

      July 21, 2015
      • It would be such a shame for people to think because you are a woman and can’t teach photography. It does not make sense at all. Your blog has certainly opened up my eyes to photography since I discovered it a couple of years back 🙂

        Looking forward to seeing the magazine and book out soon. Together with this blog, it must be a lot of work. Good luck.

        July 21, 2015
      • I hope so too, but I suspect I am right, I keep seeing it in lots of other things. That is such a lovely thing to say, thank you.
        Hopefully the magazine will be out very soon, but the book won’t be ready until at least November. Thanks again.

        July 21, 2015
  12. Have you considered doing instructional books? That could incorporate your ability to teach people, similar to the tutorials you have posted. There’s a lot people could learn from you!

    July 21, 2015
    • I have been thinking about doing some tutorials and things so people can buy them for a small fee, but I have to find the time to write them first Cynthia. Thank you, that would be nice if others felt the same.

      July 21, 2015
  13. Nice photos as always Leanne, glad to read that the book and magazine is almost ready. About the teaching stuff, i think the main problem is that there are so many video tutorials and books available on youtube and on various websites for free. Peoople rather just watch them or download them. Another question is what the quality is like, and how personal is it. As others suggested it may be a good idea to do a book or some videos and make them avalailable to download for a small fee. Maybe approach schools who teach art? Sorry for the long comment, all these ideas just came out lol

    July 21, 2015
    • Getting there Andrea, I hope. I think you could be right about the teaching, everyone does want everything for free unfortunately. No problem at all, you had some good suggestions, I hoping the magazine and book will be great and that it will be a direction that I should head in. Thank you.

      July 21, 2015
  14. Gorgeous photos Leanne. The masses don’t know what they are missing – time spent with you a camera in hand is worth so much!! Again .. lucky me 😀

    July 21, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, what a lovely thing to say, I loved our day together. 😀

      July 21, 2015
  15. Stunning photos. Good luck with your book.

    July 22, 2015
    • thank you Raewyn, it is all happening now.

      July 22, 2015
  16. Some days the calendar moves too quickly. Too bad it doesn’t come with a “slow down” button. 🙂

    You must be getting excited as your NYC trip gets closer.

    July 23, 2015
    • It does David, too fast, it is doing that right now. How amazing would a slow button be? I would love it. 🙂
      Too much to do really, but when I think about it I am amazed at how quickly it is almost here. 🙂

      July 23, 2015
      • One of my friends just got back from NYC, they loved every minute of it. The food, you’ll love it all. My friend went down to the World Trade Center and decided free was the better option – the fountains and memorial plaques out front. You can walk around forever how long you want. I think you’re really going to enjoy your trip.

        July 24, 2015
      • I think I am going to be in for a treat too David, I expect by the time I catch the plane home I will be totally exhausted, but it will be all good. I like free options, or cheap options. I just want to experience it really, walk and take photos. I don’t really want to do all the entry into places. I think I might really enjoy it too, thank you, glad your friends had a great time too.

        July 24, 2015
  17. great atmosphere in these shots Leanne! I can smell the sea! ( I’m running a bit behind)

    July 24, 2015
    • thank you Cybele, I think I want to go back, I loved seeing it all again. You must be busy getting ready.

      July 24, 2015

Comments are closed.

