Skip to content

Quiet Thursday’s: Taking it Easy

You all know that I am working hard at the moment, but that doesn’t mean I’m not also trying to take it easy and make sure I have some time for myself as well. I had a lot of time last week to relax and just take photos. This week has been about getting things ready and moving forward with some projects.  Things are happening which is good.

I haven’t put a lot of photos up on Social Media this last week, but will show you what I have done.  I did take some photos with my phone that I processed and will show as well.

seaford-pier-underneath-rock-melbourne

This was taken on Saturday at Seaford Pier. I was using my really wide angle lens and shot the rock in front, though the rock was only about 15cm high. I like the way it looks a lot bigger.

11722175_1061414113869634_8000370418756230293_o

From the trip to the Twelve Apostles this is the only one I’ve really processed so far. I did put this up in a group that I am in. The apostles are quite amazing. There is a sign that says there are still 12, but you can’t see them all as some are in bays and hidden. I don’t think it really matters, they are still amazing. Ones that have been there for a long time are falling down, and new ones are forming. The platform we were on will be one in the future.

The Instagram photos. I do like seeing what you can do with Instagram, but I don’t think I will put any images that I think are really good on it. I still don’t like their terms and conditions, but these images are nice, but they aren’t great. There is one from the Twelve Apostles and the third one was taken at Princes Pier.  The second one was near Loch Ard Gorge and the two parts in the middle used to be an arch, but recently the arch broke and now they stand alone. Apparently they have been named Tom and Eva, after the two survivors of the Loch Ard shipwreck.

These are all photos taken with my phone. The first image of the Twelve Apostles I processed using Snapseed on my phone. The other three were taken with the phone, but then moved onto my computer and processed quickly with Photoshop.  The second image is Razorback which is close to Loch Ard Gorge as well, actually very close.  The third one I had never been to before, The Arch, and is on the other side of Port Campbell. We found it when we were driving looking for London Bridge, the last image. I like the way the arch seems to have its own waterfall.  The last is London Bridge and it used to be connected to the mainland. I walked on it as a teenager.  Apparently two people were stranded on it when it collapsed and had to be airlifted off it.

Social Media is a great thing, and a fun way to show where we have been. I really like doing that. Karen and I had a lot fun putting up photos, though the most pathetic thing you would’ve seen was us trying to do a selfie, so funny, we just couldn’t do it.

46 Comments
  1. Beautiful work.

    July 23, 2015
  2. Reblogged this on O LADO ESCURO DA LUA.

    July 23, 2015
  3. Nice work, let alone with a phone.

    July 23, 2015
    • The phone does a nice job when the conditions are good.

      July 23, 2015
      • And it’s in the right hands

        July 23, 2015
      • I don’t know about that, I suppose it is all about composition with the phone, so thank you.

        July 23, 2015
  4. sensational colours, contrasts, design – wonderful photographs!

    July 23, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, of course the place has to take most of the credit I think.

      July 23, 2015
  5. Pathetic yes we were.. It took a young lady who felt sorry for us to ask us if she could take our picture for us…. I am sure she was disgusted with our futile attempt. So funny! I will always remember that 🙂 Can you believe its been a week. We would have been at the 12 apostles this time last week. How fast has that gone!

    July 23, 2015
    • Very very pathetic. I can’t believe it was a week as well, it still seems like it was only a couple of days ago. It does go fast. It was great though, I think I want to go back already. 🙂

      July 23, 2015
      • Me too. I am starting another Melbourne and surrounds list of places to go 😉 haha!!

        July 23, 2015
      • Well if you need any tips, I’m sure I can help. 🙂

        July 23, 2015
  6. Am curious which of Instagram’s terms and conditions you don’t like? Love the photo of Seaford Pier. It is important to build in some personal time to just let your mind wander, then settle, and then go drifting off again. Taking photos in my own surroundings, when I am wandering, is very rejuvenating. Best to you, Leanne.

    July 23, 2015
    • Instagram have this thing that if you put up photos they can have free use of them, so they can sell them and make money from them. Facebook have the same thing.
      Thank you, it is a lovely pier. I agree, you do need time to yourself to rethink and just regenerate at times. I like that, I need to get back to doing some of that, my local area. Best to you too Ardysez.

      July 23, 2015
  7. So nice. Just calming and beautiful.

    July 23, 2015
    • Thank you Nita, I like the idea of them being calming.

      July 23, 2015
  8. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The Twelve Apostles looks so odd standing there. You an see the layers from eons ago and they match the layers on the shoreline.

    July 23, 2015
    • That is them, shows how fragile our coastline is and how it is changing all the time. People come from all over the world to see them, quite amazing.

      July 23, 2015
  9. Very nice photos.

    July 23, 2015
  10. Super as usual 🙂

    July 23, 2015
  11. Loving that phone Leanne! 😄

    July 23, 2015
    • Yeah, it can take a pretty good photo.

      July 23, 2015
  12. So very beautiful , stunning and makes me breathless …I love your art , your work ! Hugs , megxxx

    July 24, 2015
    • Thank you, what a lovely thing to say, though, I think with an area as beautiful as that anyone could get wonderful images. 🙂

      July 24, 2015
  13. Great images and thanks for the informative descriptions.

    July 24, 2015
  14. The Twelve Apostles is soooo on my hit list of places I want to go and take pictures of!! Ever since I saw my first image of the cliffs and sea stacks on Webshots I have wanted to go there!! Thanks for sharing the view AND making me jealous!! 🙂

    July 24, 2015
    • I don’t think they ever disappoint, they are quite amazing and in any weather, it is hard to take your eyes off them. You’re welcome, there will be more photos, I just haven’t got the yet. You might just have to come and see the for yourself Judy. Thank you. 🙂

      July 24, 2015
  15. I just love your bridges. I love using Snapseed to process on my phone and iPad. A phone camera is good as a backup.

    July 24, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, snapseed isn’t bad for the phone, I’m glad I got it. It is, and I think the phone can be a lot of fun, I like playing with it.

      July 24, 2015
  16. Great photos, love the formed rocks/pillars being seen in a line 🙂

    July 24, 2015
    • Thank you, they are quite amazing.

      July 24, 2015
  17. Breathtakingly ravishing!

    July 24, 2015
  18. I’m so glad that you’re working hard .. that is fantastic, but also that you take your quality time. You have some amazing coast line … to work with. And girl, you know how to work it … my pick here is the image with all the poles.

    July 25, 2015
    • Yes, very hard at the moment. Hopefully it will all be worth it. I am very lucky when it comes to the coast line, I can see it anytime I want. Thank you Viveka.

      July 25, 2015
      • Leanne, I’m sure that it will be worth it …. you’re such a brilliant artist.

        July 25, 2015
      • YOu are too nice Viveka.

        July 25, 2015
  19. Stunning images! And they look fantastic from your phone. I also like to use snapseed, I think you can get some really good Effects from it. Looks like an amazing place to visit! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    July 25, 2015
    • Thank you Sabrina, I was pretty pleased with what my phone too, I think in daylight it does good photos. It is quite amazing, I will have to go back. 🙂

      July 25, 2015
  20. QUIET WEEKEND TAKING IT EASY WONDERFUL PRESENTATION FOR YOU LEANNE COLE

    July 27, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Quiet Thursday’s: Taking it Easy | Donna's Blog

Comments are closed.

