Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Red Rocks Around Anglesea

redrocks-anglesea-greatoceanroad-victoria-australia-3611

A few weeks ago I was given another opportunity to go to Red Rocks near Anglesea. Chris from sv-takeiteasy took me to some great places to see the cliffs and red rocks. She knows the area quite well, which was great as I know I would never have been able to find it on my own. The rocks really are red and they look great against the ocean with the white spray from the waves.

redrocks-anglesea-greatoceanroad-victoria-australia-2731

Apparently they have a lot of iron ore in them to have that colour. Geology isn’t my thing, but I believe it. It is almost like they have the sunset trapped inside.

We were there in the afternoon in the photo above, but we decided that it might be good to see it in the morning, so the next time we went we headed early in the morning.

redrocks-anglesea-greatoceanroad-victoria-australia-3391

We had hoped that the sun would be on the cliffs, but we think we probably need to get there even earlier, sunrise maybe, you can be sure we will get there that early one day.

redrocks-anglesea-greatoceanroad-victoria-australia-3406

I put on a filter for the morning session to get more movement in the water. I like the effect. I do have a new Formatt Hitech ND filter that I will  have to play around with at some stage. I am hoping it will really give me good effects like this, but easier.

redrocks-anglesea-greatoceanroad-victoria-australia-3699

The views on top of one cliff to another were quite amazing. I like the wide angle view with the background, it is definitely something I want to explore a lot more.

redrocks-anglesea-greatoceanroad-victoria-australia-3732

The top of the cliffs are very windy and with so much salt spray it is hard for things to grow. When they do grow they can do so in very weird ways and shapes. I liked seeing them and photographing them. The only thing that I was disappointed about was that I didn’t have my really wide angle with me. I will make sure I have it with me next time.

I am going to put the above images and more into a gallery for you. Don’t forget you can click on the images and see them individually.  Open house in Melbourne today so I am hoping to see inside some buildings that you can’t see otherwise.  Should be fun. I hope you have some great plans for the weekend.

80 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    You really make me want to travel to Australia. These are gorgeous!

    July 25, 2015
    • Thank you Jackie, it is a very unusual place.

      July 25, 2015
  2. Lovely pics, Leanne. They were a welcome reminder of time I spent in Anglesea as a young lifesaver and surfer, now very distant as I look out onto pouring summer rain from my studio in Shoreditch.

    July 25, 2015
    • Thank you Grant, such a great area, I didn’t grow up anywhere near it, but I am loving getting to know it. I bet you are glad you aren’t here right now, we are about to have another artic cold blast, I’m not looking forward to it.

      July 25, 2015
  3. Beautiful rocks, millions of years in the making. The stories they might tell could they speak…

    July 25, 2015
    • Yes, and millions of years of wearing down, amazing. Thank you.

      July 25, 2015
  4. Marvel of nature. I like how you captured the different terrain at a single location.

    July 25, 2015
    • Thank you, I’m trying to do that a lot more.

      July 25, 2015
  5. So beautiful dear Leanne, I wanted to be in these photographs 🙂 Thank you, love, nia

    July 25, 2015
    • It is a lovely spot and very quiet which is really nice. Thank you.

      July 25, 2015
  6. Love the blur effect with the waves and water, Leanne. I’m going to try it one day.

    July 25, 2015
    • I love that too, only started doing it myself recently, I think it is my favourite way of photographing the sea, thank you.

      July 25, 2015
  7. Great shots! I love those twisty branches and roots.

    July 25, 2015
    • Thank you Cynthia, I love how they grow in places like this, so much determination to survive.

      July 25, 2015
  8. Great compo and light!

    July 25, 2015
  9. Leanne, each and every photo is just stunning! What a fabulous outing with wonderful results.

    July 25, 2015
    • Thank you Stacy, it was hard to work out which images to leave out, it was such a great place to take photos.

      July 25, 2015
  10. Reblogged this on mike.

    July 25, 2015
  11. I just love the effects from the filter. Your waves are so amazing. What a great place too.

    July 25, 2015
    • Thanks Raewyn, I like that effect too, have to work on it more I think.

      July 25, 2015
      • I am getting a new camera as I find the one I have is a little limited to what I need – plus a ND filter so I am looking forward to trying it out.

        July 25, 2015
      • Sounds like some fun times ahead Raewyn, what camera are you going to get?

        July 25, 2015
      • A Nikon 3300. A good medium range camera with 24 MPs. Just looking at a range of lenses too.

        July 25, 2015
      • Nikon is good, you knew I would say that, and I think that is a great camera as well. YOu will love it.

        July 25, 2015
      • I am paying it off so just can’t wait until I can use it.

        July 25, 2015
      • You won’t know yourself. I hope you can get it soon.

        July 25, 2015
      • I am waiting for a nice tax return which would help pay it off. I am so looking forward to it.

        July 25, 2015
      • I know the feeling well I hope you get it soon.

        July 25, 2015
  12. Absolutely stunning photos Leanne. My favourite would have to be the one of the waves and the rocks – the first one you showed us.

    July 25, 2015
  13. Leanne, a good while since I visit …. what an amazing gallery .. you have truly capture the power of the ocean in your images … my pick have to be where the wave hit the rock so powerful. What an fantastic place to be working with.Stunningly beautiful. I wish you a great weekend.

    July 25, 2015
    • It has been a while, not that it matters, you are here now. It was a great place Viveka, so amazing, the rocks were such an amazing colour and then against the water, what else could you ask for. Thank you.

      July 25, 2015
      • I’m planning to visit Australia …. in November next year … hopefully I will be able to see some Melbourne coastline then. Stunningly beautiful .. and shifting, very dramatic coastline.

        July 25, 2015
      • If you come to Melbourne you have to go and see the coast as well, it is a very rugged but beautiful coastline.

        July 25, 2015
      • I love rugged coast lines … we have rocks along our west coast … but they are so smooth. Can’t wait to make my trip come true.

        July 25, 2015
      • Then you will love ours, they are not smooth at all. Sounds good.

        July 25, 2015
  14. Wow awesome shots of the red rocks 🙂 looks really wild, good luck with open house hope you get into some good places

    July 25, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, it is rather wild and very raw. Well you know how I went with that. 🙂

      July 25, 2015
  15. Beautiful nature and great photos.

    July 25, 2015
  16. Wonderful! I especially like the ones with the trees and roots. So many lines and shapes in that wood.

    July 25, 2015
    • Oh yes, the trees on the clifftop are so weird and different, thank you Schwister.

      July 25, 2015
  17. Awesome photos Leanne, I love to see the action of the waves against the rocks. I hope you get there early one morning – I can imagine the effect of the rising sun on those rocks would take your breath away.

    July 25, 2015
    • Thank you Barb, I hope so too, it should be amazing with the morning sun, I really hope to capture it soon.

      July 25, 2015
  18. Your photos are always superb, in my opinion. You are a talented person.

    July 25, 2015
    • Thank you, that is so nice of you to say.

      July 25, 2015
  19. Great photos 😀 Wave crashing on rock was one of my fav´s, and the first overview shot! But of course I also really like the ones with roots 😀

    July 25, 2015
    • Thank you Mohnfoto, I think waves crashing on rocks is very popular. 🙂

      July 25, 2015
  20. My favourite elements ….water and rocks….. beautiful images some great textures …… you continue to be an inspiration : )) thankyou Trees

    July 25, 2015
    • Thank you Trees, very popular themes. what a lovely thing to say Trees, thank you.

      July 25, 2015
  21. Wow Leanne .. What a fantastic collection of photos! 😀

    July 25, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, it is a special part of the coast I think.

      July 25, 2015
  22. Some lovely images there Leanne.

    July 25, 2015
  23. Fantastic landscapes, I’m a long way from Australia though!

    July 25, 2015
    • We are a long way from everywhere, I think LOL. Thank you.

      July 26, 2015
  24. Stunning. Absolutely stunning. I marvel at your work, and look forward to each new post.

    July 25, 2015
    • Thank you, that is wonderful, what a lovely thing to say.

      July 26, 2015
  25. Although everything you do is outstanding, I have to put a quick vote in for the tree rooted in the dune. Talk about clinging to life!

    July 26, 2015
    • Thank you Marilyn, the sad thing is that it will lose that battle eventually, it is very windy and rough up there.

      July 26, 2015
      • It does look rather precarious.

        July 26, 2015
      • You just have to be careful not to get too close to the cliff edges unless you know how solid they are.

        July 26, 2015
  26. I really like the effect you got with the filter you chose. I love photography, but don’t have the funds I’d like to really dive right in. But I do have a digital camera and nee to start posting with the stories I write. I’m still learning a lot of different things. Have a great day and thanks for your posts.

    July 26, 2015
    • Thank you, I love that effect too. I do things slowly. I don’t really make much money from my photography so I have to do things slowly. I save up for things and get them. So my kit has taken me many years to acquire. One thing at time. We are all still learning, it is a process I think, sounds like you know what you need to do, which is always a good start. Thank you, and you have a great day too.

      July 26, 2015
      • I noticed you had some reasonable classes a person could take on photography. I am interested and have 1 question. Are the lessons in text or video? Thanks , have a great da

        July 26, 2015
      • What do you mean with the classes, I teach in person or via skype.

        July 26, 2015
      • Ok, That’s what I was asking. How you teach. Now I know. Thank you.

        July 27, 2015
      • Yeah, I am going to try writing some tutorials at some point that will be available for sale, but not sure when.

        July 27, 2015
      • I will be keeping my eyes open.

        July 27, 2015
      • Okay, I will announce when I do. Have to work on some.

        July 27, 2015
  27. What a great gallery! Love your shots if the gnarly roots and twisted branches – I didn’t take any when we were there! Your feature image is stunning too. It’s great to see how you compose your shots also… It’s always interesting to see hiw two people interpret a place and see different things. Let’s do this again soon!

    July 27, 2015
    • Thanks Chris, I love all those gnarly roots and branches and couldn’t stop photographing them. It is interesting how we see different things. Most definitely.

      July 27, 2015
  28. lmarea3070 #

    I long for living at the beach…roadtrip!

    August 3, 2015
    • It is great, I wish I did too, but I’m lucky it isn’t too far away, road trips are great.

      August 3, 2015
  29. Reblogged this on A Flash Packers Guide and commented:
    Stunning pictures from Leannecolephotography.com really capturing the anger and ferocity of the sea. 🙂

    August 4, 2015

Comments are closed.

