Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Macro Clifftop

macro-anglesea-greatoceanroad-victoria-australia-3266

One of the things that I said when I did my first post on the area called Red Rocks was that I didn’t have my macro lens with me. I knew before I went back that I had to take it with me the next time. So we walked to the cliffs first and did all the photos that I showed you yesterday. We knew it was downhill all the way to them, and the plan was to go to the bottom take our photos and then on the way back to the car use the macro lens.

The clifftops have been re-vegetated and all the plants there are Australian natives that were chosen, I’m sure, because they are native to the area, but also because they will survive in the conditions of where they are. The clifftops are subject to a lot of wind, and then there is the salt spray from the ocean below. It is very hard to get things to grow in those conditions so you need particular plants, ones that have been growing there for millions of years.

In Australia this time of the year is when you start to see many of the native flora flowering and if you want to see it you have to be prepared to get out in the bad and cold weather. It is something I need to do in the area I live as many plants are starting to flower right now.

I think we have some really unique flora here and I think I need to start paying attention. I don’t know what anything is and that is something that I need to get better at. I am going to start learning what our flora is. I am just going to put them into a gallery for you now, don’t forget you can click on individual images to see a larger image. I hope you are having a great weekend. Β Take care.

69 Comments
  1. Stunning! My next lens will be macro. Love the first image, the purple ones, and the ones that are red and hanging upside down!

    July 26, 2015
    • Thank you Carol, I love my macro, have to get out and use it more.

      July 26, 2015
  2. I am glad you went out in the cold Leanne. These shots are beautiful.

    July 26, 2015
    • Of course how winters are nothing like yours, so we just have to rug up a bit from the cold, though the wind here can be straight from the Antarctic so freezing. Thank you Colline.

      July 26, 2015
  3. Such impressive flora! So many unique beauties. Hope you’re having a great week-end also.

    July 26, 2015
    • I am having a good weekend Olga, thank you. We do have some great flora here. Thank you.

      July 26, 2015
  4. Very cool Leanne.

    July 26, 2015
  5. Very nice native life.

    July 26, 2015
  6. Wonderful images, Leanne! I always love to see your work πŸ™‚

    July 26, 2015
    • Oh thank you, what a lovely thing to say Mary. πŸ™‚

      July 26, 2015
  7. Superb shots indeed! πŸ™‚

    July 26, 2015
  8. What beautiful photos!

    July 26, 2015
  9. Such amazing intricate detail in your photographs. Thank you again for sharing your wonderful work with all of us.

    July 26, 2015
    • No problem at all Jarrod, and thank you for what you said about them.

      July 26, 2015
  10. Incredible …. !!! Stunning !!!

    July 26, 2015
  11. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Weekend Wanderings: Macro Clifftop by Leanne Cole on July 26, 2015

    July 26, 2015
  12. Great macros Leanne ..

    July 26, 2015
  13. Stunning photos Leanne. I have started to learn about our native fauna and flora. I feel so stupid when I get asked about them and then don’t know what I am actually taking photos of.

    July 26, 2015
    • I know what you mean, I feel the same Raewyn, and with the birds. It is also hard to find out what they are as well. I will have to start looking. YOu would have some unique flora there too I would imagine. Thanks.

      July 26, 2015
  14. Gorgeous, gorgeous macro shots, Leanne! I especially love the gum flower ones–but all of them are really lovely. I’m learning you have to train your eye to take good macro shots; it’s not just about enlarging something. I’ve also learned a lot about the things I take macro shots of, which surprised me. I sometimes see things in the after photo I had not seen when taking the photo. Fascinating. x

    July 26, 2015
    • Thank you Ardysez, I know what you mean, I have to say I think macro photography has been the hardest to learn so far, and I’m still learning. I have that happen too, you get home and discover there was a bug or something else there, just wonderful when that happens.

      July 26, 2015
  15. It was a good plan.

    July 26, 2015
    • Oh yes, I think so too, makes it easier going up hill then.

      July 26, 2015
  16. Interesting looking Beauty .. you have down under

    July 26, 2015
    • Thank you, we are lucky to have some great unique flora here.

      July 26, 2015
  17. Stunning macros Leanne – what a wonderful tour. I love macro, I think it’s my favourite technique.

    July 26, 2015
    • It is becoming one of my favourites too, so nice to see the world close up. Thanks Desley.

      July 26, 2015
  18. Gorgeous! I love those flowers.

    July 26, 2015
  19. Very interesting flowers! I like the flower in image 3196, it looks like some kind of colorful pepper. Also, the flowers in #3223, are those from a gum tree? I think I recognize them from an illustration in a children’s book haha.

    July 26, 2015
    • I think others like that flower too, it is hard to photograph, unfortunately. Yes, they are from a gum tree or eucalyptus tree. Yes they would be in the gumnuts or something like that. Thank you Cynthia.

      July 26, 2015
  20. a fantasia!! Beautiful shots!

    July 26, 2015
  21. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature #

    Wow, beautiful images!!! Thanks for coming to my site and liking Close up. I will be back here. Wonderful photographs!

    July 26, 2015
    • You’re welcome and thank you for stopping by mine.

      July 26, 2015
  22. Stunning Leanne, makes me think I might need a macro…. great work πŸ™‚

    July 26, 2015
    • I love the macro, gives the landscape a different look. Also great excuse to use when walking up hill and you aren’t very fit. Thank you. πŸ™‚

      July 26, 2015
  23. I agree! fantastic photos, are u using tubing to get closer with your macro lens? Seems like you got a lot of small berries and such up really close πŸ˜€ Is it a nikon macro lens u are using?

    July 26, 2015
    • No, I just use the macro, I have some extension tubes but haven’t really used them with my macro. Thank you and yes it is a Nikon Macro. πŸ™‚

      July 26, 2015
  24. I am very lucky to have a horticulture friend. Whenever I come across something new, I send him a picture and he emails me back the name and a bit about it. Great images.

    July 26, 2015
    • Can your friend be mine, haha. I have someone like that for the birds, but not the plants, though I may have just found someone. Thank you.

      July 26, 2015
  25. I just noticed today that the wattle has started flowering. That’s a sure sign that winter is nearly over.

    July 26, 2015
    • Yes, it’s been flowering for a just over or week here, I need to get down to the local park and take some photos. Yeah, I guess it does mean that, though we are having another cold spell, so not yet. Thanks Carol

      July 26, 2015
  26. I love your macro photos and the different details they show. Do you use a tripod or are the shots hand held?

    July 26, 2015
    • Thank you Jillian, I tend to hand hold, though I would get better results if I used my tripod, might have to do that.

      July 26, 2015
  27. Beautiful shots. I love macros. Thanks for sharing them.

    July 27, 2015
    • Thank you, I love macro too. You’re welcome.

      July 27, 2015
  28. gorgeous images Leanne —- i SSOOO want a macro lens!!

    July 27, 2015
    • I think a macro would be perfect for you Dawn, especially with your ceramic work. Thanks.

      July 27, 2015
  29. Great photos. I have to use my new macro more – soon. But time….has been too sparse for me lately……….

    July 27, 2015
    • Sounds like it Truels, I use it a lot, it is great fun. Thanks.

      July 27, 2015
  30. A superb feast for the eye, Leanne

    July 27, 2015
  31. Nice to see the Red Rocks macros – great collection, Leanne!

    July 27, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, be nice to try again on day with no wind.

      July 27, 2015
      • It always is windy when I get my macro out i noticed!

        July 27, 2015
      • So have I, it better calm down when I go to Banyule Flats next.

        July 27, 2015
  32. Fascinating photographs. I see you have pests out there as well as interesting plants. πŸ™‚ One of the photographs looked a bit like and ‘oak apple’ that you get on oak trees when a particular sort of wasp has laid it eggs in the tree. I wonder if your photo was the same sort of thing or something else.

    July 28, 2015
    • Thank you, I don’t really know, to tell the truth, it is possible we do have a lot of unwanted pests that have somehow come here from other countries.

      July 28, 2015

Comments are closed.

