Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: The Countdown Starts

Another busy week ahead, but everything is definitely going in the right direction and moving on. It is quite an exciting time really. With the book moving along, the magazine getting put together and then there is my trip to the US coming up quickly. It is also a scary time, I really am embarking on things that are completely new to me.

Dynamic Range Magazine

It is all coming together and now it is time to start assembling it. The articles are all in and most have been edited just waiting on a couple, but all good really. It is getting really exciting but also really scary. I’ve never done this before and I really scbmx20111105-0195want it to look good. It will be good if people really like it as well, that’s the scary part.

My Book

We have made the decision to put it back a little, because while I have photos for nearly all the seasons, I need some more for the summer period. I am a bit relieved that I have that now. I love the idea of the seasons, but I knew I didn’t have many photos with summer, so I will have go looking for them.

Another thing with the book is that all the natives are flowering down in Banyule Flats. I am going to have to spend some time down there and get som20110103-0925edsce images. I think that will be really good too. The wattle is coming out everywhere and I’m told there are 11 different species down there, so I will have to see how many I can find. There are some other things to find down there too.

Going to the US

Are you ready for it?

Really, are you?scbmx20111105-0303

I fly out in 5 weeks from today. I can’t believe it is almost here, and now I have to start getting things finalized and worked out. My friend has lent me her suitcase that she uses when she travels, though I told her I would probably pack the night before I go. Okay maybe the day before.

Travel Insurance, I remembered that I needed to get some, so have a quote I am happy with. Though I was a bit worried about my photography gear and how much it was going to cost me to insure it, but it seems the insurance I already have for it will be fine. Seems it will cover my gear all around the world, so score one for me. Now I can save just over two hundred dollars, that is fantastic.

Getting sponsors for the trip has been interesting. I managed to get some, Tamron, Lowepro and Merrell. I haven’t sccrits-3906been able to get any others, not sure why, though I am starting to suspect that I am the wrong sex for it. Perhaps if I were a man I might get more attention.  I’ve seen men who have less exposure than me get sponsorship. Hopefully the magazine is going to help women everywhere.

A few people have said they want to meet me when I come and so I have been thinking about having a get together, well two really, one in San Francisco and one in New York. So if you are interested, please let me know.

Photos

I try and show old photos, but I feel like I’ve shown everything. Then I came across some BMX photos I took a few years ago and thought why not show them. Then I saw some of the cycling ones, ones from the Bay Crits and thought why not.  So here is a selection of some of my cycling photos. It is nice to look back.

44 Comments
  1. oh boy.. love the picture of the female bmx’er with the blur.. such a great shot. Speed is no problem for you Leanne I can tell!!

    even though it’s still a few weeks from now, I wish you as wonderful, safe and inspiring trip to the US! Have a great time and keep us posted 🙂

    cheers
    Pieter

    July 28, 2015
    • Thank you Pieter, I used to be very good at it, don’t do it enough now.
      Thank you, I’m sure the trip will be great and you will hear all about it. 😀

      July 28, 2015
  2. I love these cycling photos Leanne, there’s so much energy in them, they’re great! Good luck for your U.S trip, sounds like you’ll have an amazing time! 🙂

    July 28, 2015
    • Thank you Sabrina, been a while since I did them. I think I will too, should be fantastic.

      July 28, 2015
  3. Looking forward to seeing both cities through your lens, Leanne! Have a WONDERFUL time in the U.S.! 🙂

    July 28, 2015
    • thank you Fabio, it should be amazing. 🙂

      July 28, 2015
  4. I can’t get over how fast this year has gone by. We are starting to see some blossoms now. Plus we are starting to have some warmer days so it will be busy times for my camera too. I should have my new camera in time for all the spring blossoms.

    July 28, 2015
    • I know, so quickly, we are starting to see them here and there as well. We are still getting lots of cold. I hope you do get that new camera soon, will be great to see what you do with it.

      July 28, 2015
  5. Sounds like you’re completing a lot of great things. Wish I could meet up – just a little to far away for me. Getting time away from work is a little difficult too.

    July 28, 2015
    • Yes, so much happening Nora, I have to keep working out what’s next. It is a shame we won’t be able to meet, but hopefully there will be other opportunities. Thank you Nora.

      July 28, 2015
  6. How exciting that your trip is only five weeks away! I wish you’d make a stop in Florida too 🙂 I’m quite disappointed you only got a few sponsorships and think you might be pointing in the right direction as to the reason, at least partly. The magazine is a great thing coming up!

    July 28, 2015
    • I know, it is happening so fast. It just isn’t possible this time, people have been wanting me to stop all over the place, but maybe there will be another trip, you never know. Yes, it was disappointing, and I think it is that as well, seems to be a real boys club. I think it will be too, let’s see if we can change the world, well the photography industry at least. Thanks Tiny.

      July 28, 2015
  7. Lovely to look back and exciting to look to the future. So much happening and it’s all coming together beautifully. This is your time to shine! Very happy for you. I Hope your taking a gazillion SD cards with you and also uploading to dropbox or the like just in case. Can’t wait for all those pics. No pressure! xx

    July 28, 2015
    • It is Karen, it is coming together, I don’t know about beautifully, but getting there. thank you, I think so too. I haven’t worked out what to do about those yet, might have to get them when I get there, they will be cheaper and I hadn’t thought of dropbox, but that could be a good option. I had planned on taking a 2TB drive with me, well if I can find it. Haha, no pressure at all.

      July 28, 2015
      • Your right they probably will be cheaper there and great to have the hard drive to back up, back up and back up 🙂

        July 28, 2015
      • Oh yes, backing up will be the way to go, I hope. My photos are just so big.

        July 28, 2015
  8. Worth a second look.

    July 28, 2015
  9. So nice to hear things are moving along. The trip in particular sounds exciting and I hope you remember to enjoy it. I’m sure you will, after all of this planning. Well done on getting some sponsorship 😀 I love the shots of the bicycles in the air – I’m sure the cyclists were moving very, very fast 🙂

    July 28, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel, they certainly are, we are in the final run now. Oh I will enjoy it, that is what it will be about, having fun. I’m not making any plans, I just want to experience it.It was nice to get some and have some people believe in me. They were taking so long again, it was all I did back then, and yes they do go very fast, some of them can do up to 60 kph. 🙂

      July 28, 2015
  10. Lee #

    Great photos as usual. Keep it up!

    July 28, 2015
  11. The panning and in the air images are superb! Great action shots.

    I’m just south of San Francisco and would love it if you hosted a Photo-walk. What are the dates you’ll be in the city? (San Francisco) I hope I’m in town!

    July 28, 2015
    • Thank you Deborah, I had a lot of practice then.
      That would be great if you want to catch up. We should email one another about this, I’m staying south of San Francisco.

      July 28, 2015
  12. Love the cycling images! Great movement – I recently tried to photograph some cyclists and struggled with the panning technique!

    July 28, 2015
    • Thank you, it does take a lot of practice, you should’ve seen my first attempts, they weren’t very good either. Crap really. Then again I was photographing it every weekend, so I got better.

      July 28, 2015
      • Any tips?

        July 28, 2015
      • The key is to keep practicing and make sure your shutter speed isn’t too low to start with.

        July 29, 2015
  13. Gosh I can’t believe it is 5 weeks. Wow! How exciting Leanne. Great news on the book .. And the mag too. Fabulous. As always, great pics. 😊

    July 28, 2015
    • I know, it has crept up fast. thank you, the magazine is looking good, have started working on the layout and wow, it is going to look great. Thanks Julie.

      July 28, 2015
  14. How exciting about your trip, now just around the corner. Can’t wait for our get-together in SF :-)))

    July 29, 2015
    • It really is Dan, so close now I’m starting to think about what to pack. I’m really looking forward to it as well. 🙂

      July 29, 2015
  15. I love the bmx shot! how exciting that you’ll on the finishing lines for a magazine and book! great achievement!

    July 29, 2015
    • Thank you, it is exciting, it is all coming together.

      July 29, 2015
  16. So many exciting projects, Leanne! I’m excited FOR you 🙂 As for the sponsorships, shame on the industry if it has anything at all to do with you being female 😦 It is their loss not to have you!

    Fantastic BMX pics. It’s fun to see these photos that are so different from what you shoot now. It speaks to the journey we each take in finding our photographic voice.

    5 weeks and counting! Are there any specific NYC days that work better than others for meetups, Leanne? Trying to figure out what I may be able to swing 🙂

    July 29, 2015
    • Yes, I think I must be crazy Stacy, it is nuts, but exciting. It is a shame, I hope so too, but I am starting to think that is what it is exactly. Thank you. 🙂

      It has been a journey, though I have to thank cycling for getting me to fall in love with photography again.

      Oh yes, the countdown is on, I guess I will be in NY in 7 weeks, how does that sound. Not that I am aware of, so will have to find out. Why don’t you let me know what you can swing and then we can work around that. 🙂 🙂

      July 29, 2015
  17. Hi, Leanne: Great bike images. You make it look easy, but I know that is not. I will be in NYC that same week (September 14-18) so if you decide to organize a group, let me know. My focus on this trip will be mostly Brooklyn and lower Manhattan, but I am pretty flexible.

    July 30, 2015
    • It does take a lot of practice to get good at it, my first ones when I started, I thought were good, but they are embarrassing really. That would be great Robin, maybe we could spend the 17th or 18th together, perhaps we can check with Stacy and see if she is free at that time. I will email you, or you email me. thanks Robin.

      July 30, 2015
  18. Looking forward to to your magazine women in our field need a voice. I will be near NYC and out west during the next few weeks- pm me and perhaps our schedules can accommodate a meet up.

    July 31, 2015
    • thank you, they do, it is going to be interesting to see what the reaction to it is. Yes, perhaps, do you want to email me and see they do.

      July 31, 2015

Comments are closed.

