Skip to content

Quiet Thursday’s: Getting on With Things

lake-cairn-curran-trees-colour

It has been quiet around here, I have to admit, but that’s been nice. Since the magazine was published earlier this week I’ve had a chance to catch up on some things and breath. I’m recovering from my cold, thankfully it wasn’t that bad that I couldn’t do anything, but still it was annoying to have, isn’t it always? I have heard from quite a few of you that you have loved how the magazine looked and what was in it, and I’m sure it will get better and better. I’ve added a link to the purchase page in the sidebar if people still want to get it.

Work now starts on the next one which will come out in 3 months.

old-house-reservoir-newstead-colour

The little bit of extra time has meant that I’ve had time to do some processing, the processing I like doing. So I’ve been working on a number of images to show you. The above is one of them. It is an old house that was vacated when they decided to dam the area. Years of being underwater has taken it’s toll. the reservoir isn’t that full now, so I don’t know if it will go under again.

I’m still writing for Digital Photography School and have a number of articles I need to get done for them, so I’m working on those. I was also approached by someone else to write some articles for their blog. It would be great to do that, but time will tell if they are prepared to pay me what I think I should be paid. I’m fair I think, I don’t like overcharging for things just because I can or could. I hate being ripped off, so I try not to rip others off.

The work continues, but I’m not complaining, well not too much. Lots to do means I can’t get into trouble, so they say.

On the weekends when I do my Weekend Wandering posts I only use Lightroom for the images and rarely do I do anymore to those images, but sometimes I just have to go into Photoshop and so the images today are the ones I’ve been doing a lot more processing too. I really hope you like them. In the gallery are a couple of photos from Mordialloc and the rest are from my travels inland.  You will also notice there’s the colour version of my image from MM yesterday. I’m off now to do some more writing, I hope you have a nice Thursday planned. Take care.

53 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on O LADO ESCURO DA LUA.

    August 6, 2015
  2. Love the underwater house – glad you have a chance to come up for air…

    August 6, 2015
    • Thanks Robert, took a bit of detective work to find it.

      August 6, 2015
  3. Love the dark, foreboding feeling of some of the images.

    August 6, 2015
    • Thank you Olga, I think it really suits the subjects.

      August 6, 2015
  4. Love the photos, they have so much mood 🙂

    August 6, 2015
    • Thank you Karen, I’m trying to do more of that. 🙂

      August 6, 2015
  5. Ahh those skies..gorgeous..i have to grab the magazine it looks beautiful and bravo as i know you are under the pump with several things…i agree those colds are just a pain!

    August 6, 2015
    • Thanks Bev, those skies, let me tell you, I live for skies like that. I am so pleased that this didn’t turn out to be really bad.

      August 6, 2015
      • I can imagine! Just got back from the foggy mountain..some good skies today..18 minutes from home..timed it 😉

        August 6, 2015
      • Nice, I spent some time down at Banyule Flats, in the rain really, haha, lots of lots of wattle down there. 😉

        August 6, 2015
      • Yep rain here too…the wattles are gorgeous …bit behind here they have no idea if they are coming or going..;)

        August 6, 2015
      • They are, a sea of yellow in all the gloom. They are really out here.

        August 6, 2015
      • Awesome! Waiting for mine to go ganf busters..early morning dew on them makes for great shots..:)

        August 6, 2015
      • I was getting them with rain on them today, nice.

        August 6, 2015
      • Ah yes..i was bent over a pond with an umbrella taking shots…being yelled at by Cockies hahaha 🙂

        August 6, 2015
      • I had the cockies yelling at me today as well. sounds like a site I would have enjoyed. 😉

        August 6, 2015
      • Oh i know you would 🙂

        August 7, 2015
      • Oh yeah, hahahaha 😀

        August 7, 2015
      • Hahahahah :0

        August 7, 2015
      • 🙂

        August 7, 2015
  6. I use Lightroom all the time, since I am shooting raw, it makes it so much easier. Can’t wait for your magazine to arrive in my mailbox, I had ordered a few days ago, I am so excited.

    August 6, 2015
    • Hi Cornelia, the magazine isn’t that sort, you download it, so if you purchased it from the site you should have got a email with a link in it to download.
      Thanks, I use both lightroom and Photoshop, depends on what I’m doing really.

      August 6, 2015
  7. Very nice!

    August 6, 2015
  8. Wonderful images Leanne .. 😀

    August 6, 2015
  9. Great mood to these images. Nice work. As photographers it’s amazing how many options we have with what we want to produce. Describing a raw shot as a ‘digital negative’ is so true. We can process these so many ways now. Moody always looks good!

    August 6, 2015
    • Thank you, I think I am addicted to putting mood into my images, and if there isn’t any then I put it in there. We do have lots of options, thankfully, I love that.

      August 6, 2015
      • Yes I totally get that! There’s something very exciting about having a new image sitting in your editor of choice for the first time and exploring all of the different looks you can apply. There’s usually one that makes you stop and go, yep that’s the one! I think there’s a little bit of skill in actually not over-processing an image too.

        August 6, 2015
      • I think also it is a learning thing as well, you start to learn when an image is overdone I think, it is all experience. I like what else you have said as well.

        August 6, 2015
  10. Great photos 🙂 love ur photoshop techniques!

    August 6, 2015
    • Thank you, I’ve spent a lot of time learning them, so it is good to be able to do whatever I like.

      August 6, 2015
  11. Great light Leanne. Wes

    August 6, 2015
  12. The one with the trees in the body of water looks amazing!
    It’s as though the water is on two separate elevations.

    August 6, 2015
    • I noticed that two, of course they weren’t but very weird, thank you.

      August 6, 2015
  13. Just got the magazine – hope to have time this weekend to read!!!

    August 6, 2015
    • Fantastic Nora, I hope you enjoy it.

      August 6, 2015
  14. Gorgeous photos, mystical. Love the tree at the end the most, and the first one in the gallery, the one with the step handles on the pier. So excited for you with all the writing you are doing. I need to go download my magazine as I think I just opened it in my browser, and I want to make sure I have it. I looked through all the pictures really fast. I don’t have time to read all of it this week. But I did read some of the article on street photography. I couldn’t resist. The quality of the articles is awesome.

    August 7, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, I did that tree last minute, so that is great to hear that you liked it. Thanks, it is weird that I almost seem like I’m doing more writing than anything else these days, but I don’t mind, I do enjoy the writing too, as long as it is about photography. That’s great about the magazine too, the response has been really positive, well from women at least, I’ve heard that a few men are put like why do we need our own magazine, blah, blah. They think we are over reacting, but I don’t think so.

      August 7, 2015
      • Wow, just goes to show you how when you are not part of an underrepresented group, you just don’t know. I figure it’s okay to let men contribute, but not losing the focus, like YMCA. Do you have those? Females and all ages and beliefs can go but it’s still called YMCA. Just rambling here. It’s interesting

        August 7, 2015
      • I think that is it exactly. No men, I just think there are thousands of other magazines that will take contributions from men before they take them from women, so this is for women. It is women writing for women, and men I suppose.

        August 7, 2015
      • Good for you. I find it unique and enjoyable.

        August 7, 2015
      • I hope so Nicci, thanks.

        August 7, 2015
  15. Superb photos with a personality of their own! Wow! 🙂

    August 7, 2015
    • I like the idea of the personality, thanks Tom. 🙂

      August 7, 2015
  16. Lovely photos. I tried to buy the magazine but it will only do PayPal which I don’t want to use. Is there any other way to buy it with my credit card?

    August 7, 2015
    • thank you. I can’t do any other way because of the overseas thing, if you pay through the bank I will get charged so many fees it isn’t worth it. You can pay by credit card with paypal without having an account or anything, and you don’t have to open one Raewyn. At this point in time it is the best option for me.

      August 7, 2015
  17. Beautiful quiet images just perfect for a quiet Thursday . Sorry I am so late in commenting. It has been full on with getting my family back on a plane to France. Now having a quiet Friday of recovery!

    August 7, 2015
    • I guess that means the holiday is basically over. I hope your sister and her husband had a good time. Enjoy your quiet time before you head home.
      Thanks Chris.

      August 7, 2015
  18. indianonthestreet #

    Fantastic pics… Love the cover pic

    August 13, 2015

Comments are closed.

