Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Off to Flinders Pier

flinders-pier-morning-morning-0220

Today’s post really is a continuation on from yesterdays. After walking all the way back up the steps at Cape Schanck Chris and I went to Flinders for breakfast. We went to a place that I’ve been to many times, Flinders Village Cafe. I like their french toast. After breakfast we headed down to the pier.

flinders-pier-morning-morning-0175

I like this pier as there are lots of things around it to photograph. You just don’t know what you will see. It was one of those places that when I think of it I think of textures, it really is full of them. Look at those on the rails of the boat ramp.

flinders-pier-morning-morning-0190

There has to be a photo under the pier. There are two piers here, the original one and a newer cement one. It is always great when you can get underneath, though the wood ones are far better and you can see how the wood has worn with the water,

flinders-pier-morning-morning-0217

There are patterns on the beach from the water. Because this part of Flinders is around the corner, so to speak, from the ocean it doesn’t get those crashing waves, so I think it you get interesting patterns, of course I could be wrong.

flinders-pier-morning-morning-0222

There are the rocks intermingled with sand and seaweed. The morning light on the sand was incredible. Wandering around these areas was great. Trying to photograph everything we could, trying to photograph funny shaped things under rocks, is that right Chris?

flinders-pier-morning-morning-0270

The water was stunning and look at that colour, it was so beautiful. I love water when it is like that. There were parts out on the pier that you could go down and get very close to the water. It was fun to get under the pier, well almost, out in the water.

It is the second or third time I have been there and it never disappoints. It will be nice to go there one day when the weather is stormy, but not raining. I have some photos for you now to look at, all taken at Flinders. If you want to see a bigger image just click on it. I am off to the Mallee today and I’m looking forward to seeing my mum. I haven’t been up there this year so it should be good. I hope you have great plans today.

70 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The aqua color water is beautiful. 🙂

    August 9, 2015
    • I think so too Jackie, I love seeing it. Thanks 😀

      August 9, 2015
  2. What a beautiful spot, Leanne. Love your capture of the pier.

    August 9, 2015
    • Thank you Jane, it is rather good, I must see if I can get there for a sunrise one of these days.

      August 9, 2015
  3. Awesome work as usual! I wish I could visit there but feel like I have through your photography!

    August 9, 2015
    • Thank you Jarrod, lovely thing to say.

      August 9, 2015
  4. I feel your joy through your words! Water is probably my most loved element. Your photos bring me so close to naturally flowing water all the time.

    August 9, 2015
    • I think many people feel the same way about water, there is something very attractive about it. Thank you.

      August 9, 2015
  5. Absolutely a place to continue clicking until your finger gets sore! As usual, though, you do full justice to your subjects.

    August 9, 2015
    • I agree and a place to keep going back to I think, different light and all that, thank you colonialist.

      August 9, 2015
  6. Reblogged this on William Chasterson and commented:
    Beautiful pics

    August 9, 2015
  7. I love how your pictures of something as “ordinary” as patterns left in the sand by water are always so powerful and dramatic. The sparse colors and light used so effectively.

    August 9, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, though I am sure it is more about seeing and realizing what will be good in an image.

      August 9, 2015
  8. Some great shots Leanne. Love the sand patterns, they are amazing.

    August 9, 2015
    • I got some really good ones when I was there the time before, but didn’t really see them this time, the tree sort of ones, I love those. Thanks Raewyn.

      August 9, 2015
  9. Morning Leanne .. Great images. Is the dinghy a crop? I can almost hear the water lapping 😊

    August 9, 2015
    • Morning Julie, how’s the weather over there? Yes, it is a crop, not much of one, there was part of another boat up in the left corner so cropped it out. Thank you.

      August 9, 2015
      • The weather is ok. Just had lunch at the beach .. With the camera of course! Have a lovely day 😀

        August 9, 2015
      • Lovely, lunch is always nice by the beach, you have a good one too Julie. 😀

        August 9, 2015
  10. Nice photos Leanne. Now, when you talk about going to the Mallee, I know where you are talking about, having recently driven through that area to Mildura! Thanks for all your tips and photos. Have a nice visit with your Mum.

    August 9, 2015
    • Thank you, yes, you would now, great area, looking forward to taking some photos up there and seeing what I can do.

      August 9, 2015
  11. Piers are so fascinating, the constant tension between wood and sea, and all the life that makes it home. Also great shots of the tidal flats, so difficult for me to capture the texture and shine.

    August 9, 2015
    • I agree, there is something really fascinating about them. Thank you, I just keep snapping and hope that some will work.

      August 9, 2015
  12. Great to see the mix of images, Leanne. It was such a varied weekend! I live the patterns and reflections. I don’t see the beautiful mother of pearl shell -come golf ball – under that rock though! 😊

    August 9, 2015
    • It was a great and varied weekend, especially that day, we went to so many places. Oh yes, I don’t think I took any photos of it, will have to take a look at yours. LOL thanks Chris.

      August 9, 2015
      • Enjoy the Mallee – are you running a workshop while you are there?

        August 9, 2015
      • No, just getting my car serviced, so back on Thursday, at the latest.

        August 9, 2015
  13. Amanda Hodgins #

    Lovely shots Leanne. It’s a favourite place of mine to visit and photograph. There is so much along this coast line to see.

    August 9, 2015
    • I really need to explore it more Amanda, I really don’t know enough of that area. I will have to add it to the list. Thank you.

      August 9, 2015
  14. tlr #

    You truly manage to capture the essence of the seaside, the part we often see but seldom think about, the decaying pier, the boats, the rust… the human elements that show us how fleeting our existence can be beside the ocean, (philosophical today aren’t I?) Love your photos! 😀

    August 9, 2015
    • Thank you, I try, and I hope I do. what a lovely thing to say, really appreciate it, thanks again. 😀

      August 9, 2015
  15. These are the type of scenes I see often along our coasts so enjoyed the familiarity

    August 9, 2015
    • That’s great Diana, I think they are fairly common, but always beautiful. Thank you.

      August 9, 2015
  16. lovely photos of the water Leanne! sky photo with the swirl of the clouds was great. the boat pic was gorgeous with the depth & colours in it 🙂

    August 9, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, it was a lovely morning and you always get great photos when it is like that. 🙂

      August 10, 2015
  17. I liked the simple shot of the boat and the colors in the water shifting plus the reflection. But all are wonderful shots.

    August 9, 2015
    • YOu’re the only one liking that one Mike, someone said almost the same, which is great, thank you.

      August 10, 2015
  18. Taking a walk with you along the beach gave me a deep breath. A beautiful place Leanne.

    And you being able to respond to 200 comments? WOW !!!!

    August 9, 2015
    • What a lovely way of putting it Emily, thank you.
      What do you mean, there hasn’t been that many here???

      August 10, 2015
      • I thought I saw 200 when I clicked through. Perhaps I was seeing likes instead. 🙂

        August 10, 2015
      • Haha, that is something I would do Emily, though it has been known to happen, not too often though, thankfully, it can be hard responding to that many, I’m sure you’ve encountered that.

        August 10, 2015
  19. I have never been there believe it or not..must get around to it..as alwaus gorgeous images..and yes i hate when those sunrises are spoilt by a weird landscape 🙂

    August 10, 2015
    • You should some time, I could take you, it is great, though you have to know your tide times I think, low tide is best. Apparently summer is the best time for sunrise and pulpit rock, so might have to look into that. Thanks Bev.

      August 10, 2015
      • Sounds great…funny we all have the apps for tides..sunrise and set…moon rise and set..you become like a scout 🙂

        August 10, 2015
      • We do, have so many apps, though finding a good one for tides is proving hard, of course the only time I think of it is when I’m at a beach and wondering what the tide is doing. lol.

        August 10, 2015
      • Try maybe the fishing sites 🙂

        August 10, 2015
      • Okay, will do that.

        August 10, 2015
      • 🙂

        August 10, 2015
      • Always another app…it never ends 🙂 🙂

        August 10, 2015
      • I know, soon we will start needing a second phone for all our apps, like we need other wallets for all the plastic cards we now have.

        August 10, 2015
      • It really is insane..we need a camera with the apps built in for sunrises ect..compass..and best eats in the area hahahah 🙂

        August 10, 2015
      • Now that’s a plan I like that idea. LOL 😀

        August 10, 2015
      • Me too..imagine how handy that would be ..pre set your camera with your country and area..comes up with all the best times..:) we may be onto something hahahhha 🙂

        August 10, 2015
      • Incredibly handy. Yep all sounds very good, you work on it. 🙂

        August 10, 2015
      • Bwahahaah if i could that i would be a squillionaire! 🙂 🙂

        August 10, 2015
      • Yep, and I’ll have a consultancy fee please, lol

        August 10, 2015
      • Bwahahahahaah 🙂 coffees on you then 😉

        August 10, 2015
      • Yeah, then 😉

        August 10, 2015
      • Haha 🙂

        August 10, 2015
  20. Lovely collection Leanne. I feel as if I am there with you on the beach.

    August 10, 2015
    • Thank you Colline, someone else said that, it actually inspires me to make these better, see if I can do that more.

      August 10, 2015
  21. Love your photography, you always get the high quality shots 😀 I liked the muddy sand patterns

    August 10, 2015
    • Thank you, I try, you do pretty well yourself. 😀

      August 10, 2015
      • Thanks for that compliment, I try atleast

        August 11, 2015
      • You’re welcome. I think that is what we all do, try. Just keep going.

        August 12, 2015
  22. Love the bright green water, the piers and what you say about them, and the silver sand.

    August 10, 2015
    • The colour of the water was stunning, thank you so much Nicci.

      August 10, 2015
  23. Thank you Leanne you photo’s are wonderful having trouble with the Word Press unable to click on the likes once I have this working correctly will make sure I will be added to your likes

    August 15, 2015
    • YOu’re welcome Donna, and thank you as well.

      August 15, 2015

Comments are closed.

