Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: A Very Quiet One

edithvale-beach-houses-huts-grasses

The trip to my mum’s has been good, the car was serviced and I have two new tyres on the front. It is so much cheaper to get things done up here than it is in the city. The bonus is that I also get to spend some time with my mum. Today I’m heading back, it has been a quick visit, unfortunately, and I didn’t get many chances to go out and take photos, but I think I will come back when I get back from the States.

One thing that’s been good has been that I have had time to write and have managed to write three articles fro dPS, so I’m happy with that. I have more to write, so it will be good to get ahead. I have a big job to work on for someone next week, so lots of processing. I love that kind of work, and I know you know I will be in my element.

The photos have all been done this week, and the following two were something I was thinking of doing for Monochrome Madness.

This is Cape Otway Lighthouse on a dark stormy day. I did the black and white one first then put the colour back in.  In the end I decided to go with the other image.

I’ve been spending some more time down along the shore near Mordialloc and one of these is an Instagram photo and the other two were done using my reverse processing.

These are three more Instagram photos that I’ve done while here. The train tracks coming into town, I do that every time I come, stop on the tracks and take a photo. The other two were taken on a day out, but more about that on the weekend. I had to stop and take a photo of the sign announcing the town coming up, Galah, such a weird name for a town.  The other is the Underbool pub.

The old church in Woomelang. I tried to do some long exposures of it yesterday, but the weather was a bit to variable and I got rained on twice and then bright sunshine in between, it was a bit tricky. I did several long exposures and then put three together. I’m trying out some new things.

As I said today I am travelling home, but I will also be stopping off in Castlemaine to spend sometime with Bev another WP blogger, and she is going to take me around where she is. I know we will have a lot of fun, so it is going to be a great day. I therefore will be away from the computer and have no internet access. I will respond to comments when I get home later tonight. I hope you have a lovely day planned and it is fun.  Take care.

42 Comments
  1. Love the lighthouse shots. I can’t decide which one I like better! One love 🙂

    August 13, 2015
    • thanks Damo, that’s great, and I’m glad you like both. 🙂

      August 13, 2015
  2. Love the photo of the church. Have a nice day

    August 13, 2015
    • Thank you Raewyn, a very frustrating image to get, rain, overcast, sun, rain.

      August 13, 2015
  3. Emma #

    That sky! Wow

    August 13, 2015
  4. Enjoy Castlemaine and if you ever drop into Bendigo, do say hi!

    August 13, 2015
    • I did Sharon, I didn’t realize you were there, I swing by Bendigo on my way to my mums. We might have to organize a catch up.

      August 13, 2015
  5. Wow the magic you create Leanne!

    August 13, 2015
  6. I thought that the church worked out well.

    August 13, 2015
    • Thank you, glad you thought so.

      August 13, 2015
  7. I love the old church in Woomelang. The photo is pretty amazing..

    August 13, 2015
    • Thank you, I’ve photographed it many times, but this is the first long exposure, I’m it won’t be the last.

      August 13, 2015
  8. Super good photo’s – my fave is the church!

    August 13, 2015
    • Thank you, I really like that one too.

      August 13, 2015
  9. Loved the pictures. Excellent photography!

    August 13, 2015
  10. Great shots Leanne. I particularly like the colour lighthouse and the boats.

    August 13, 2015
    • Thank you, the lighthouse was so moody.

      August 13, 2015
  11. Sue #

    Love the old church in Woomelang….very striking processing

    August 13, 2015
    • Thank you Sue, it is a lovely old church, I love photographing it.

      August 13, 2015
      • Sue #

        Presumably no longer in use?

        August 13, 2015
      • No, hasn’t been used for years. Someone was trying to fix it up, but did a little bit and then gave up.

        August 13, 2015
      • Sue #

        So very atmospheric, then!

        August 13, 2015
      • Yes, something about the past.

        August 13, 2015
  12. Wow these pictures are stunning. I love the mood you have captured in the sky. Feels so angry.

    August 13, 2015
    • Thank you, I like angry, it is great in images.

      August 13, 2015
  13. Galah is actually a bird – better known as a rose-breasted cockatoo, or perhaps that’s what makes the name weird? Also, I think I missed the blog post on this, but what’s reverse processing?

    August 13, 2015
    • Yeah, I know what a galah is, they are also what you call people who are mucking around, a pack of galahs, so it is so strange to find a town called that. I haven’t done a post on reverse processing, it is a technique I am working on. Thank you.

      August 13, 2015
  14. Lighthouse and the church is the ones I liked the best. I did some sailboat photos yesterday at the docks. Thats funny since you posted some now. Those sailboat pictures are waiting for me on my computer. 🙂

    August 13, 2015
    • Thank you Mohn, sailboats are great, I will be posting a few I think. I’m looking forward to seeing yours. 🙂

      August 13, 2015
      • I just posted some recently actually, hopefully it will be liked by some 😀

        August 14, 2015
      • I am sure they will be, I will go and take a look.

        August 14, 2015
  15. tlr #

    I am a sucker for photos featuring railroad tracks, it makes me feel I need to write something deeply philosophical …hahaha …. love your photographs

    August 13, 2015
    • I’m the same, I love them, the idea of going somewhere or something. I like to take that shot every time. Thank you.

      August 13, 2015
  16. Pictures have such emotion – love it!

    August 13, 2015
  17. Love that stormy sky over the beach.

    August 14, 2015
    • Thank you, I love skies like that.

      August 14, 2015
  18. Great shots. Welcome home.

    August 14, 2015
    • Thank you and thank you, nice to visit my mum, but nice to be home too.

      August 14, 2015

Comments are closed.

