Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: It’s in the Book

wild-flowers-big-desert-mallee-7453

Apparently all the wildflowers that I took photos of the other day up in the Big Desert in the North West Corner of Victoria are in the book. I had a lovely day out with Jocelyn Lindner and she took us up into the Desert to show us where the flowers were. She has written a book on the Flora and Fauna of Victorian and South Australian Mallee. I will include a photo of the book cover in the gallery.

wild-flowers-big-desert-mallee-7429

Desert Phebalium

Jocelyn was amazing, she knew the names of all the flowers and would keep pointing them out. We all need a Jocelyn when we go out. I would look at her, she would name the flower and I would think I’m not going to remember that, then she would look at me and say:

‘It’s in the book.’

wild-flowers-big-desert-mallee-7449

Desert Baeckea

Nearly all of these flowers are very small, these ones are maybe a centimetre across. Then when you photograph them with the Macro lens and blow them up on the computer you discover a lot of detail, I mean a lot of detail. It is incredible how much is in these images. So Jocelyn what is the name of this flower?

‘It’s in the book.’

wild-flowers-big-desert-mallee-7530

Early Nancy, Harbinger of Spring

This was one of my favourite flowers and finds that day. The Early Nancy, apparently announces the arrival of spring. Again another very tiny flower. I’m not surprised I’ve never noticed them before.

I found it in the book.

wild-flowers-big-desert-mallee-7497

Mallee Groundsel

Some were harder to find. These were everywhere, and I’m not sure I got the names of all them right and some I couldn’t work out.

It was a great day out and something that I really enjoy doing. I love photographing the flora of Australia and again I got to photograph more of it. I would like to get a lot better at photographing them and naming them. I’ve been doing it a lot with the birds, but I think I would like to do it with the flowers more. It would be nice to know the difference between the weeds and the native flora, so I’m on a mission.

Thanks to Joyce I have a start with her book and I will be going through it over and over. Jocelyn is selling the book for $40 and it is packed with information. If you are interested in purchasing it then please go to the website of Kow Plains. Very interesting website as well.

I have a gallery for you now of the images I saw, and where I’ve been able to I have named the flower. I hope you enjoy the photos. These are the early flowers, and lots more to come as spring approaches.

34 Comments
  1. Superb sir πŸ‘Œ

    August 15, 2015
  2. Great flower shots Leanne! Especially love the Early Nancy!! Beautiful capture of a very nice flower!

    August 15, 2015
    • Thank you Pieter, it is a lovely flower, I’ve never noticed them before, I have to see if they are down here as well.

      August 15, 2015
  3. Great collection Leanne. It is so nice when you learn about the flowers you photograph and learn to identify them. The research is as much fun as the photographing!

    August 15, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, I think I do too, it is going to take a long time I think, but hopefully I will get there. the research can be frustrating, but I’m up for it.

      August 15, 2015
  4. gorgeous flowers and I love those backgrounds!

    August 15, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, I’ve been playing.

      August 15, 2015
  5. It is so easy to dismiss that habitat as uninteresting, until you send time in it and see all the little things! I am involved in a botanic art project that takes me into some of those environments, so Jocelyn’s book will be very handy. Thanks for sharing.

    August 15, 2015
    • I agree Anne, but there is so much more there if you just look. I really want to spend more time up there. That’s wonderful to hear that the book will be good for you, you can be sure if the plant is there it will be in the book. You’re welcome and thank you as well.

      August 15, 2015
  6. What gorgeous shots Leanne! I love flower photography.

    August 15, 2015
    • Thank you Desley, I love it too, and really good to get some native ones.

      August 15, 2015
      • Yes true! I should try to get out where the native wildflowers are πŸ™‚

        August 15, 2015
      • The wild flowers are great to photograph, so different. πŸ™‚

        August 15, 2015
  7. That Early Nancy really got me! I love to put the macro lens on my iPhone and take photos of flowers. I always see things later when looking at the photo that I had not seen with my naked eye. Usually I come home and do an internet search to try and find the names before I post them. That is how I am learning. Like you, I would love to have a Jocelyn with me. Thanks Leanne, beautiful photos.

    August 15, 2015
    • It got me too, I loved it. I know just what you mean, the details in them is just amazing. I try to do that, but I’m not very good at it, you seem to have to know what type it is first. I will get there, I think everyone needs a Jocelyn. Thank you Ardysez.

      August 15, 2015
  8. leecleland #

    Leanne we get most but not all of the same flowers up here on the far North Coast of NSW. If what you are calling Yellow Top was everywhere it could be a weed we call ‘fireweed’ ‘Senecio madagascariensis’ up here (looks very, very similar but without the leaves I can’t be positive). So called because if the cattle eat it they get sick. It looks like a good book and it is always great to have a local area one rather than an all Australian one but oh to have a Jocelyn with you at the time πŸ™‚

    August 15, 2015
    • You would have a similar environment up there that they have in the mallee. I don’t know, I don’t think it is a weed here Lee, I could be wrong. I looked it up and it looks similar, we need Jocelyn. It is a lovely book, I’ve really been enjoying going through it. I know I need to go out with her more. Thanks Lee.

      August 15, 2015
  9. Karen #

    Early Nancy looks beautiful, lovely images.

    August 15, 2015
  10. Anne Sandler #

    Beautiful macro images. Glad to know you’re like me when it comes to the names of these beautiful flowers!

    August 15, 2015
    • Thank you Anne, Oh yes, I’m hopeless when it comes to the names, but having said that I used to be the same with the birds and I’ve learned a lot of them. I’m sure I can learn the flowers too.

      August 15, 2015
  11. I love you way of capturing these flowers. I am sure they look more beautiful here.

    August 15, 2015
    • Thank you Rupali, I do love doing them, so maybe that shows through.

      August 15, 2015
  12. Amazing macro photos! Those seem like rare wild flowers to me πŸ˜€ I need to start learning names of the flowers as well. Recently someone mentioned a book on a comment. I will try to check it out. I want to take photos of more rare flowers in the wild than common stuff you find along the roads

    August 15, 2015
    • Thank you Mohnfoto, I can understand why you would think they looked rare, though not here. I know the names are beyond me, I need to start learning them more. Yes, look for the book, I think books are good, you can see them.

      August 15, 2015
  13. Love the Early Nancy flower!! Wonderful shots, Leanne. I never know the names of the flowers I shoot. I have to ask my Dad and he tells me. He’s a handy guy to have around. He knows the names of flora and fauna, he carries my camera equipment, and he is a talking GPS unit! Lol. Plus he loves photography trips πŸ˜€

    August 15, 2015
    • How cute is that little flower, I love it, of course it’s purple so it has to be good. I wonder how your dad would go here, haha. He can carry my bag if he likes too. Thanks Kirsten.

      August 15, 2015
  14. Lovely wildflower Photos

    August 15, 2015
  15. Beautiful Leanne!!!

    August 15, 2015
  16. The pictures are so beautiful ❀

    August 16, 2015

Comments are closed.

