Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Big Desert

environment-big-desert-mallee-7566

Yesterday I showed you a lot of wild flowers that were taken in the Big Desert National Park. I’d never been to it before, but it didn’t disappoint. Though having said that it is not what you would expect a desert to be like. There is the sand, and there was lots of that, but it was also a thriving eco system for plants. The conditions seemed like the hardest you would find plants trying to survive in.

environment-big-desert-mallee-7473

Road through the big desert.

There are roads through this part but pretty much as soon as you enter you need a four wheel drive. We were driving through very thick sand and the guy driving was finding it very hard going. I was glad I wasn’t do the driving, though I was getting tossed around in the back.

environment-big-desert-mallee-7510

A Soak with not much water in it.

There aren’t many places to get water out there. This was one of the few places we saw. They call this Ross Springs, but Jocelyn said it was a soak, so never a lot of water. In the gallery you can see all the prints from the various animals and birds that go there to drink.

environment-big-desert-mallee-7565

What people with 4 wheel drives do, drive through the area without much thought to the damage they are causing.

One of the biggest problems in these areas are people who go there to try out their four wheel drives and to see what they can do. They don’t stick to the tracks and then they destroy a lot of the area. You can see in the above image where they have been going, it isn’t good.

environment-big-desert-mallee-7619

The skull of another animal, I suspect a kangaroo.

Finding bones is natural as animals and birds die you see their remains. You would see this anywhere I think. I don’t know what this is, but judging from the size of it I thought it might be a kangaroo.

environment-big-desert-mallee-7637

A sign and warning that you a 4WD to get there, really need one to get anywhere in here.

It isn’t a hospitable environment and I wouldn’t want to get lost in it. There is food everywhere, but you would have to know what the plants were, I wouldn’t make it. It is also beautiful and the way the plants just grow despite the conditions is truly amazing. This is what many people think of when they think of the Australian Landscape.

I have some photos for you now that I will put into a gallery. I hope you are having a good weekend.

26 Comments
  1. What a gorgeous place, would love to visit it. And stay on the two-track too. Apparently, those who go off the tracks need a major fine. Hit ’em where it will hurt most…

    August 16, 2015
    • It is rather special, wouldn’t like to be there in summer though. Oh yes, stay on the marked tracks. Problem is no one patrols, no money for that, so they get away with it. Thanks John.

      August 16, 2015
  2. Beautiful and interesting. The soak photo is peaceful with nice colors. As for the 4-wheelers who ruin things, it’s unfortunate. It only takes one, and there are usually more.

    August 16, 2015
    • Thank you Nicci, it is very barren out there, I know I don’t understand this idea that we can just barrel in and destroy things, just for the sake of it.

      August 16, 2015
  3. Loved these photographs! I always enjoy visiting deserts, and am constantly amazed by all the life that thrives in these places – but could never live there myself…
    Enjoy your day!

    August 16, 2015
    • That’s great, thank you, I enjoy them too, I grew up near this one, it wasn’t desert where I was, but it is hot and hard to live there. I couldn’t go back. You enjoy yours as well.

      August 16, 2015
  4. What an interesting place. People never cease to amaze me .. Little respect for anything. Ah that soak doesn’t look tempting but there probably aren’t many alternatives ..

    August 16, 2015
    • It is Julie, I know, I was just saying I don’t get it, just because you can doesn’t mean you should. No not many other options at all, sadly. Thanks Julie.

      August 16, 2015
  5. Superb photos Leanne – I would love to spend some time in the desert, Unfortunately there aren’t too many in the U.K. – only sand dunes…

    August 16, 2015
    • Thank you James, no not too many there and too many here. Sand dunes could be good though, would love to photograph them.

      August 16, 2015
  6. Suzanne #

    Once again your photos give me the urge to get into north west Victoria. I will makeitone of these years, All the photos are evocative but it the one of the skull that really speaks to me.

    August 16, 2015
    • Yes, do go Suzanne, it is quite amazing, you do need a four wheel drive though, that is the biggest problem. the skull really gives you that idea of life there I think. thanks.

      August 16, 2015
  7. There is so much life in a desert. Thanks so much, Leanne!

    August 16, 2015
    • I know what you mean, who knew there would be. Thanks Fabio.

      August 16, 2015
  8. Great collection that really highlights the harshness of the desert. It is always amazing to see the vegetation that can survive the incredibly high temperatures in summer.

    August 16, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, I think that is what I really wanted to do, shame about the time of day, but guess that is one of the problems when you have to rely on other people to take you.
      It is amazing that they survive in that sand to, water must be so hard as well.

      August 16, 2015
  9. tlr #

    I enjoy seeing “The tracks we leave behind” in such a harsh environment. Why do I feel the need to start humming “All we are is dust in the wind”? Love the photos as per usual 🙂

    August 16, 2015
    • I like the way you look at it tlr, very nice. thank you.

      August 16, 2015
  10. Amazing photos! I´m really scared about getting lost in the dessert, especially in the sandy places without any reference point. Also scared of car breaking down and not having the proper amount of drink and food. The ironic part is that it is equally scary forgetting proper clothing and such when driving in the snow landscape(in case of car breakdown), and I have no problem with that 😛 I always forget to pack well for those occasions. I need to improve on that part. I think I am suffering after seeing to many western movies/series were there is a lot of dessert scenes. Hope you had a great time in the dessert, and the photos are amazing.

    August 16, 2015
    • We didn’t go that far and we were on tracks so it wouldn’t have been a problem if the car broke down, and people knew where we were, so it wasn’t bad. It is good to always make sure to let people know. We didn’t take food with us or water, it isn’t summer yet and we wouldn’t have needed any. I did have a great time in the desert, and think I would like to go back sometime. Thank you Mohn.

      August 16, 2015
  11. Are there tracks designed to keep the 4WD=ers in place?

    August 17, 2015
    • No unfortunately, I mean there are tracks for them to drive on, but nothing to stop them from leaving them.

      August 17, 2015
  12. These pictures remind me of this trail I went on with my husband. Nice pictures.

    August 21, 2015
    • That’s fantastic, are you in Australia? Thanks.

      August 21, 2015
      • No, in the US. But traveled to Australia in 2008. I loved it there. Beautiful world over there:)

        August 21, 2015
      • I love it here too, I hope you can get back another time.

        August 21, 2015

Comments are closed.

