Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs

There is a saying that I grew up with ‘head down bum up’ meaning working very hard. That is me right now. I have lots of work to get down in the next two weeks before I fly out.

Magazine

I’m trying to market the magazine more, but don’t really know what I’m doing. It is all about learning I guess. I have done a page lake-albacutya-fires-regeneration-yaapeet-13on my website for the magazine with a list of the articles and what each of them are about. I also added a link to where you can purchase it. Here is the page. I also put the magazine cover in the side bar and if you click on that it will take you to where you can purchase it.

Digital Photography School

One of the things I’m working very hard on are articles for dPS. I have to get quite a few done for when I’m away. All good though, I’m enjoying the writing. I’ve written three so far and have one more to do, well for this week.

‘I’m going to America’

lake-albacutya-fires-regeneration-yaapeet-6Okay I know they aren’t the right words, but seriously I’m going to America.

I’ve got nearly everything worked out for it and these last few days emails have been flying around furiously working out dates, times and places to catch up with one another. It has been good as it has made it real. I feel a sense of panic almost as I realize there are things I have to get done before I go. Still, I can’t believe I will be boarding a plane in two weeks.

Stuff for the Trip

The lenses for the trip will be delivered any day now. That is exciting. I’m looking forward to trying out more Tamron lenses. I going to use them for the whole trip, which is going to be interesting, but I have complete faith in the lenses, I think Tamron make great lenses.

I also need to get some new SD cards. I’ve always used Sandisk cards, but I’m not sure I like the company or the Australian distributors for them, my experience with them hasn’t been great. It is hard to use a product that you don’t fully like, so I’ve been thinking of getting new ones from another company. I want to try Lexar cards, so I am wondering lake-albacutya-fires-regeneration-yaapeet-20if any of you use them and what do you think of them?

Today

I have to get back to work and get something done for Monochrome Madness and then put the post together, so busy day ahead.

Last week I was in the Mallee, but it was a quick trip and I didn’t get much chance to go anywhere much. One place I do really want to get back to is Lake Albacutya. I am going to have to see if I can organize it for the next time I go up there. I want to see how the area is recovering from the fires early last year. I have for you some of the photos I took there last year. Back to work for me.

72 Comments
  1. great series leanne.

    August 18, 2015
  2. Great collection!

    August 18, 2015
  3. Great shots! I like that fire one, it’s interesting. And the big branch on the red dirt. Your magazine is awesome and really affordable.

    August 18, 2015
    • Thanks Nicci, it was a great place to go to, I can’t wait to go back. That’s wonderful to hear, glad you liked it, now to start working on the next one.

      August 18, 2015
  4. Nothing quite as exhilarating as being busy when there are such noble goals and dreams up ahead. An exciting time for you Leanne, and look forward to hearing, seeing and reading about all your future successes. Cheers ~

    August 18, 2015
    • I know what you mean, it is that definitely.Thank you, there is going to be a lot to talk about. Take care.

      August 18, 2015
  5. It is so exciting to plan for a trip, isn’t it? Especially as the departure date comes nearer.
    Can’t gibe you any advice about the SD card – I am one of those people who stand in front of the array available never knowing what the difference between the variety is. 🙂

    August 18, 2015
    • It is Colline, a little scary too, I’ve not traveled like this on my own before, so it makes me a little nervous.
      I’m afraid I’m a bit the same when it comes to the memory cards, actually a lot of that stuff. I look at what I already have and see what is similar. I should learn more about them. 🙂 thanks Colline. 🙂

      August 18, 2015
  6. I like the Scandisk cards which have worked well for me. I hope all your arrangements for the trip go well.

    August 18, 2015
    • I’ve always used SanDisk as well, but I’ve noticed the Lexar cards are cheaper, so thinking it could be time for a change. Thanks, they are coming along really well.

      August 18, 2015
  7. Wow! I am so proud of you. Pretty soon you will be on Creative Live like Sue Bryce. I cannot wait to read your articles on DPS. Best wishes.

    August 18, 2015
    • Thank you Noel, so nice of you to say. I don’t know about Creative Live, they don’t like women landscape photographers I think. I don’t know when the next lot will be published, soon I think.

      August 18, 2015
  8. Leanne – what part of America are you traveling to? Anywhere near Pennsylvania/Pittsburgh/Mars? If so, would love to meet up 🙂

    August 18, 2015
    • I am traveling to San Francisco for two weeks and then to New York for 10 days, I don’t know where you are say, but if you could get to New York that would be amazing.

      August 18, 2015
      • How exciting for you Leanne. Two amazing cities! I am about 7 hours from New York. 😊

        August 19, 2015
      • It will be exciting, I can’t wait. That’s a shame, I’m a bit limited with what I can do on this trip, but you never know, I might go back another time.

        August 19, 2015
      • Are you coming for certain photo projects? When exactly are you coming?

        August 19, 2015
      • Sort of, my trip is being paid for by someone I know who lives over there. She wanted me to get out of my comfort zone and see how I would go taking photos there, so it is going to be very interesting.

        August 19, 2015
      • that is AWESOME! can’t wait to see and hear about it 🙂

        August 19, 2015
      • It is rather, I’m very fortunate. You will definitely hear about it, 😉

        August 19, 2015
  9. I honestly don’t know how you do all you do, Leanne. Wishing I could meet you in NYC. How I wish ….. Beautiful post as always. I’ve never had a problem with SanDisk which is what I use. I’ll have to check out Lexar cards. Love, Amy ❤

    August 18, 2015
    • I don’t sleep Amy, haha, no, I am actually very fast at things I do, so that helps. It would be wonderful if we could meet and hopefully one day we will.
      I’ve never had a problem with the actual product, but the company itself, I don’t like. Thanks Amy. Take care.

      August 18, 2015
      • I have the same kind of standards, Leanne. IF I find out something about the actual company that I do not like, I will go elsewhere. Just lately a $20 fee was tacked on an order online because I did not spend $100. In calling to try to get the $20 off, I was refused. So I went elsewhere. As if we don’t spend enough money! Really! And this WAS a company I had done business with in the past. Grrrrrrr ……

        August 19, 2015
      • It is the only way to be heard really, if people don’t accept what they do then they will have to stop. I don’t see why we have to be treated so badly, when did the customer stop always being right? Thanks Amy.

        August 19, 2015
      • This world just is not the world I used to understand, Leanne. T’is a shame.

        August 19, 2015
      • I know what you mean Amy, I want those times back.

        August 19, 2015
      • Me too, Leanne. Maybe if we keep on standing up for what is truly right, we will get that world back. I hope so!

        August 19, 2015
      • That’s all we can do really. just keep letting them know how unhappy we are. It seems the dollar is more important then the customer now. Such a shame.

        August 19, 2015
      • I know, Leanne. It’s all about money. And not much else. I think we are going to see small groups at first begin to say no more! And that movement is going to grow. People are really FINALLY getting fed up. I know I have been for a long time. Here is to HOPE for a better world.

        August 19, 2015
      • I think capitalism is starting to fall apart, and the people at the bottom are getting jack of it.Me too, so sick and tired of it all.

        August 19, 2015
      • I agree, Leanne, and I’m right there with you. The more things fall apart or the worse this world gets health wise, I think more and more people will step forth and take a stand. I’m seeing it here and there. I sure know I’ve been doing it for so many years and I really get weary of always it seems, banging my head against ignorance, greed, and cruelty. Better days are ahead of us. 🙂

        August 19, 2015
      • Oh yes, we are all doomed really. We can only hope. Though I am worried about the younger generation, ‘the me’ generation.

        August 19, 2015
      • I hear you. Not all young people are the “me” generation. Too many are though. I just will not give up hope. Not as long as I am alive. >3

        August 19, 2015
      • No, not all, but a vast majority, which is also sad because they are going to have a really tough life, the world isn’t the same place it was when we were younger and they are going to find it hard to find jobs and make ends meet.

        August 20, 2015
      • Leanne, I’ve been thinking upon your words. My conclusion is this … regardless of what seems to be reality, all of us, one way or another, do learn. Perhaps it won’t be the life we each have now, yet as we go on, somehow, someday, we will learn the Lessons we chose to learn, and if we don’t they will keep on repeating, in different ways, until we learn. I see this phenomenon in my own life as certain constants keep repeating themselves until I change regarding them. I’ve also accepted (not easy at times) that I do not know what Life Lessons each person are here to learn, so I will not judge. Again, way not easy to do when my eyes see the immense negativity in this world. I also do know that change begins with me and that is all I am responsible for. I hope my thoughts help you to deal with this absolutely crazy world we live in today. Sometimes things really have to get “bad” before they get “better”. ❤

        August 21, 2015
      • I think they will learn because they won’t have a choice, but it will be very difficult for them and a struggle. I like your attitude Amy, very positive and uplifting, no wonder so many people love you. YOu have a good heart.

        August 21, 2015
      • Thank you, Leanne. It still is my choice to walk as I do, for I could choose to turn bitter for all the hardships I have endured. I decided a long time ago not to allow hatred, anger, or bitterness to slowly kill me. I know and understand what pain is, and so with that, I have developed Compassion and a deep Love for others. I just will not the ugliness of others to darken my Light.
        As for those who will have a difficult time, again it is of their choosing. Some of us need a few hard knocks in order for us to see straight. I know I sure had my share of hard knocks that really opened my eyes. ❤

        August 21, 2015
      • You are a wonderful person Amy, I really admire you, and wish I had half your goodness. The world needs more people like you.

        August 21, 2015
      • Please, Leanne, please don’t. You have such a huge Heart and YOU are not giving yourself enough credit for it. I see it. I really do. 🙂 ❤

        August 22, 2015
      • Thank you for thinking, but I’m not so sure. lol, people like you are very special, you see the good all around you, I really admire that.

        August 22, 2015
  10. Heartafire #

    Your hard work has paid off in some of the most gorgeous photography I have seen! Hats off!!

    August 18, 2015
    • Thank you, such a lovely thing to say.

      August 18, 2015
  11. Excited for You! Safe travels my dear.

    August 18, 2015
  12. Are you promoting the magazine on Twitter?

    August 18, 2015
    • No, I don’t really use twitter, not sure how, any tips would be appreciated.

      August 18, 2015
      • Don’t know much I’m afraid and I don’t have many followers or go on it my blog is linked to post automatically and a few people always re tweet me could you get more active it might help!

        August 18, 2015
      • Yeah, I do pretty much the same, I haven’t really worked it out, I don’t have a big following there either.

        August 18, 2015
  13. I’m using Transcend cards (3 * 8 GB, 2 * 16 GB, 2 * 64 GB) for years without any problems. I also have one Lexar card (4 GB). Becasue of the quite high price of SanDisk, you’re always in a risk to buy a fake SanDisk card

    August 18, 2015
    • Yes, SanDisk are very pricey, I hadn’t heard about the fake ones, that makes me nervous now. I think it is time to start using something else. I haven’t heard of that other brand, thanks for that, much appreciated.

      August 18, 2015
      • you’re welcome!

        August 18, 2015
  14. Sue #

    Leanne, I used to use Sandisk all the time, but use Lexar a lot now, and they work fine for me! I did wonder if they wouldn’t be as fast, but no problems…. Try them!

    August 18, 2015
    • That’s good to hear, I think I am going to give them a go, and being able to get two for the price of one SanDisk card is a very attractive idea. Thanks Sue.

      August 18, 2015
      • Sue #

        Let me know how you get on!

        August 18, 2015
      • I will Sue, I’m going to get some for my trip to the US, so that will be a good test.

        August 18, 2015
      • Sue #

        😀

        August 18, 2015
  15. fairviewmedia2015 #

    Very atmospheric. Love this series 🙂

    August 18, 2015
  16. I have no idea how you do everything. You should bottle your energy Leanne, you would make a fortune. I’m counting down those days for you too .. you are going to have some fun and get some amazing pics. Wow. How exciting!

    August 18, 2015
    • I just make it sound like I do a lot Julie, I don’t really. Thank you, it is going to be a lot of fun.

      August 18, 2015
  17. Love these Mallee images…and i am so excited for your upcoming trip…i use Sandisk and would be curious to see what the cheaper Lexars are like…if they are just as fast them win win 😉 Keep packing and enjoy the lead up! hugs Bev

    August 18, 2015
    • Thank you Bev, it is getting so close, almost can’t believe it, this time in two weeks I will there. I am curious too, looking forward to trying them out. I think they are faster, so even better really. I will babe, thank you.

      August 19, 2015
  18. An exciting time for you Leanne, and well-deserved with all your hard work. Enjoy.

    August 19, 2015
    • Thank you Chris, it is very exciting and scary, but I know I will enjoy it.

      August 19, 2015
  19. Reblogged this on Oyia Brown.

    August 22, 2015
  20. Going to America to “get out of my comfort zone”. It will certainly do that!
    Get the adrenaline and endorphins running and the creative process goes to a new level!
    If you ever get Toronto way (some future trip) let me know. A tour is in order.
    Cheers

    August 23, 2015
    • Yes, I think you are right, it is going to be amazing, I really think I will be so inspired I won’t know what to shoot first. I would love to get to Canada, and it is definitely on the list, but not this trip.
      Thanks.

      August 23, 2015

Comments are closed.

