Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays: Playing with Images

seaford-pier-long-exposure-sunrise

One thing I have been doing a lot in the last week is playing with a lot more images. Nearly every day I’ve done at least one which has been wonderful. It is something I really enjoy doing, but really haven’t been doing enough of lately. I need to start making more time for it. As a consequence I only have a few photos to show you.

When I show these they are usually ones I’ve done a lot more processing on. I don’t do that with my weekend wanderings post, well, not much anyway. So it is nice to just play and see what I can get.

This is my monochrome madness photo of Hopetoun Falls but I had to do in colour as well. The colour version seemed to get a lot more attention on Google+ which was interesting. I think I like the colour version too, there is something about the greenery.

Last Thursday when I was on my way back to Melbourne from the Mallee I stopped off near Castlemaine and spent some time with Bev from the blog FOZZIE.M. She showed me around where she is. I have been there before, but it is always better when you find someone who knows the area to show it to you.

The first image was an Instagram one. I took some photos of the top of a ‘mountain’ and while having lunch put this one up. We stood there and watched a bank of clouds come rolling in. The second image was taken further down the hill. It was very foggy and when I saw this and made her stop so I could take photos. I love the moodiness of it.

These have been taken from Seaford to Mordialloc at different times this year. I’ve been experimenting with my processes and I like what I’m starting to get from the more landscape style of shots. All of these were done with my reverse processing, and I really like the results. Still doesn’t always work out, but I’m getting there. Another thing I need to get better at is working on small parts of the image, I tend to still look at the big picture and not break it down.

They are all the images I’ve had on Social Media this week as well. A slow week, but lots of writing and organizing has been happening. I’m staying home today to do more and hopefully the Tamron 28-300mm will arrive. The 15-30mm and the Gorillapod arrived yesterday. New toys to play with, I can’t wait. Take it easy today.

62 Comments
  1. Beautiful processing – but I am puzzled, What do you call reverse processing?

    August 20, 2015
    • I do the image in black and white first, then put the colour back in. thanks.

      August 20, 2015
  2. Andy #

    I live the last five images, especially the boat. Wish I knew how to get that colouring in my pictures. 😦

    August 20, 2015
    • Thank you Andy, I think it helps that the colours were already there, and I just played with them.

      August 20, 2015
  3. Beautiful images Leanne. I love the colour photo of the falls as well as the monochrome.

    August 20, 2015
    • Thank you Colline, I feel the same way.

      August 20, 2015
  4. I love the moodiness in all of these images, Leanne. Wonderful…truly wonderful.

    August 20, 2015
    • Making moody images is something I try very hard to get, so that is great that you think they are, thank you Sheila.

      August 20, 2015
  5. I love the waterfall in colour too. Some great work today

    August 20, 2015
    • It gives it a different look somehow, I like it too, thanks Raewyn.

      August 20, 2015
  6. Lovely shots my favs are the fishing rod and seat, and the road, and the waterfall

    August 20, 2015
    • I love that seat, but not sure it works really well, but still, I like the gear on it. Thanks Chris.

      August 20, 2015
  7. Beautiful Leanne, my favorite is the bench.

    August 20, 2015
    • Thank you, that is the one I wasn’t sure about, so that is great that you like it.

      August 20, 2015
  8. I love that little boat image Leanne..that pop of colour with that moody old sky..love it..and had a great time doing our version of gorillas in the mist! 🙂 Bev

    August 20, 2015
    • Thank you Bev, I really like it too, it was great fun, I really enjoyed and I will be back when I get back from the states. 🙂

      August 20, 2015
  9. Amazing as always Leanne. I love your work.

    August 20, 2015
  10. Fantastic photos!!!
    I have the Tamron 28-300 and I have found it very useful especially when you want to travel with the bare minimum of gear.

    August 20, 2015
    • Thank you Steve.
      That’s great to hear, I’m really looking forward to getting and playing with it. I will have to review it as well. Sounds like the way I want to travel.

      August 20, 2015
  11. Beautiful foggy Castlemain shot. It looks so cold, reminds me of the cold winter days that are now hopefully past behind us. Also really like the long exposure sunrise one. Not a bad sunset at all, lovely. New toys coming soon, how exciting. I am sure you will have a ball with them once they arrive. I’ve been thinking of getting a Gorrillapod myself too 😀

    August 20, 2015
    • Thanks Mabel, it wasn’t really which was nice, more concerned with getting rained on. Yes, love new toys, I only have them for a short time, unfortunately. I will let you know what I think of the gorillapod after I take it away. I think I might have to get one myself. 😀

      August 20, 2015
  12. These photos are marvelous. Couldn’t possibly pick which one I like best.

    August 20, 2015
  13. These images inspires me..

    August 20, 2015
    • That’s wonderful to hear, thank you.

      August 20, 2015
  14. Lee #

    Love that top photo!!!

    August 20, 2015
  15. Daylight long exposures have this effect on clouds that I love. Are you creating the same effect but on non-long exposure shots? (Hope I’m making sense. )

    And this post of yours is first rate!

    August 20, 2015
    • Yes, you can get great effects with long exposure. No, there are two long exposure there, the waterfall and one of the pier, but the rest are just normal shots.
      Thank you Mar.

      August 20, 2015
  16. Beautiful stunning shots!
    I want to capture something like this… 🙂 Amazing!

    August 20, 2015
    • Thank you so much, I’m sure you can.

      August 20, 2015
      • Well, I’m just starting to figure things out.
        Thanks for sharing these photos. 🙂

        August 20, 2015
      • Then give yourself time, you will get there. It doesn’t happen over night, I’ve been doing this for over 20 years, so it’s all about just getting out there and trying things. Good luck and have fun.

        August 20, 2015
      • Thanks Leanne!

        August 20, 2015
  17. That pier one is amazing. The ocean doesn’t even look like the ocean any more, it looks like velvet. It’s surreal. Of course you know I love that foggy road with the forest. So glad you stopped to take that picture. Finally, love the waterfall. It’s stunning.

    August 20, 2015
    • That is one of the great things about long exposures, getting that velvety ocean.I know you do, it was a great morning for photos with that fog. Thank you so much Nicci.

      August 20, 2015
      • That’s how you did it? Cool, thought it was post processing. That is such a gorgeous picture. Both of them. Would like those framed. We’ll talk! 🙂

        August 21, 2015
      • You can do it with post processing, the sky anyway, but it never seems to work for the water. thanks Nicci.

        August 21, 2015
  18. ulsterphotosimages #

    Lovely waterfall !!

    August 20, 2015
  19. Great shots! Some of them convey an endlessness! 🙂

    August 20, 2015
    • I like that idea Tom, thank you.

      August 20, 2015
  20. You have such beautiful results, it’s worth playing, Leanne. 🙂 Good times ahead!

    August 20, 2015
    • Thank you Jo, glad you liked them.

      August 20, 2015
  21. Amazing!

    August 20, 2015
  22. Sunning beauty I see in all your photos.Great shots ! Thanks for posting.

    August 20, 2015
    • YOu’re welcome and thank you for taking the time to look at them.

      August 21, 2015
  23. Beautiful lines

    August 21, 2015
  24. Just beautiful Leanne..I loved viewing these. I hate processing images, it seems the magic has stopped somehow after I have presed the shutter – but I know it is something I need to do on most of them.

    August 21, 2015
    • Thank you James, I love the processing part, I love seeing what I can do, sometimes I end up with a mess, but other times, well, you just never know. I understand though, but your images are beautiful and there is no reason why they can’t stay the way they are, you shouldn’t feel pressured to process, do what you enjoy.

      August 21, 2015
  25. Great shots. I am still stuck cataloging all our photos.

    August 21, 2015
    • Thank you, that doesn’t sound like fun, I have to spend some time going through all my photos and getting rid of ones I know I will never work on. Good luck.

      August 21, 2015
  26. interesting images – always good if I can get ‘lost’ in them

    August 21, 2015
    • Thank you Diana, I hope that means you could get lost in them.

      August 21, 2015
  27. Beautiful… Absolutely stunning !! Great work !!

    August 23, 2015

Comments are closed.

