Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Late Winter Days in Banyule Flats

banyule-flats-spring-rain-6681

Spring isn’t that far away from here, but you can see signs of it everywhere. All along the roads in the country the wattle is out in flower and there is yellow everywhere. It really is a stunning time of the year. We don’t get those brilliant autumn colours that many places get, but we get lots of bright yellows in late winter and into early spring.

I went out one day recently to Banyule Flats when rain was predicted to see if I could get some macro photos of the first blossoms for the season and maybe see how it looks right before a storm.

I love seeing the parks when it gets dark and storm clouds are coming. There had already been rain and the ground was wet with puddles of water everywhere.

Can I just say I love my new Merrell shoes. It still amazes me how you can walk around somewhere that is wet and muddy and your feet don’t get muddy. I’m getting used to it.

Then it started raining. I rushed to the swamp to try and get photos of the rain on the water. Unfortunately trying to change the lens in the rain took a bit too long and the rain didn’t last long. I am hoping to get more of it over the coming months.

The birds were having a lovely time in the water and rain. Some of them were very dark from the mud.

I’m hoping to get out to take some photos this weekend. The second lens from Tamron has arrived, the 28-300mm and I really want to try it out. I had a quick play in the garden this morning and wow, oh wow. I was taking photos in the front garden with it and I couldn’t believe how close I could get to the flowers, almost like a macro, but not quite.

That’s what I’m hoping to do this weekend, I hope you have great plans too.

40 Comments
  1. Beautiful!!!

    August 22, 2015
  2. It’s wonderful to see the small sign of Spring and your beautiful photos show that Spring is close for you now Leanne πŸ˜€

    August 22, 2015
    • Thank you Irene, it certainly is good to see it, though it is still very grey here. It will be wonderful when I get back from the states. πŸ˜€

      August 22, 2015
  3. I hope the new lens lives up to expectations.

    August 22, 2015
    • I do too, so far I think I love it.

      August 22, 2015
  4. Way to go Leanne, turning a dreary day into so much beauty!

    August 22, 2015
    • Thank you Andy, we do what we can, of course all the bright yellow wattle really helps.

      August 22, 2015
  5. I have two pairs of Merrells. Aren’t they amazing. They are great for walking too. Lovely photos Leanne. The colour is so vibrant.

    August 22, 2015
    • So do I, boots and shoes, they are amazing, I love them. Thank you Carol, wattle is fantastic for that.

      August 22, 2015
  6. I love the subdued colours of a cloudy day here, and your photos reflect a similar, but still different quality. I have noticed most of our late winter flowers are yellow, too, with the occasional splash of pink here and there, but not much. Lovely photos, have fun with your lens!

    August 22, 2015
    • They would be amazing where you are Ardysez, I think, I hope to see them one day. Yes, same here, nearly all yellow, turns the country into gold, lovely. Thank you, I am sure I will have lots of fun with it.

      August 22, 2015
  7. Love the wattle reflected in the water… and your comment on the seasons … This time of year is special with great light and moody skies.

    August 22, 2015
    • That was a lovely find, the wattle reflection. It is all those things, quite lovely really, but sad too because the heat is not that far away. thanks Chris.

      August 22, 2015
  8. Beautiful photos Leanne,.

    August 22, 2015
  9. Wow. Nice post and photo πŸ™‚

    August 22, 2015
  10. The first few pictures here feel like waking up after a good sleep.

    August 22, 2015
    • That’s a good reaction, I like that, thank you.

      August 22, 2015
  11. Deb #

    What amazing photos, that water droplet enveloping the plant bud is incredible. Beautiful shots!

    August 22, 2015
    • Thank you Deb, I saw the droplet, but didn’t realize that it encased the whole bud until I got home, lovely surprise.

      August 22, 2015
      • Deb #

        It must be such a thrill to see unexpected things in your photos afterwards like that…I can see why photography is so fulfilling!! Have a photographic weekend.. πŸ˜‰

        August 22, 2015
      • It is, I think that is one of the things about Macro that I really love. Thank you Deb, you have a good one too. πŸ™‚

        August 23, 2015
  12. Amazing photos. Favorite is the one with water droplet πŸ™‚

    August 22, 2015
    • Thank you Mohn, I think that is my favourite as well. πŸ™‚

      August 22, 2015
  13. Hey! Thank you for liking my blog post! Follow/Come back soon! I am HUMBLED that a photographer of your caliber would like my photography! Light and Love, Shona

    August 22, 2015
    • Hey, you are welcome. I like lots of photos, and there are many good ones around, so if I like it I like it, if you know what I mean Shone. Thank you.

      August 22, 2015
      • LOL! I do! Did you type my name with an “E” on the end on purpose? That’s what friends and family call me! That’s funny!! Light and Love, Shona

        August 23, 2015
      • Woops typo, but maybe it is a sign, sorry. Maybe we are destined to be friends.

        August 23, 2015
      • Haha! May. Be. Light and Love, Shona

        August 23, 2015
      • πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        August 23, 2015
  14. Lovely series

    August 22, 2015
  15. Love the moody atmosphere in these late day photos. The muted colors and the sparse/selective light make a weather-wise dull afternoon look very interesting πŸ™‚

    August 22, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, you have to love the colours of late winter. πŸ™‚

      August 23, 2015
  16. It’s good to see a place where it still rains. Unlike so much of North America which is burning up from the dryness and heat. Beautiful pictures. Reminds me when the rivers were full of water.

    August 23, 2015
    • It’s been our turn for the rain Marilyn, we did miss out on about 9 years of it not so long ago, and looks like we are heading into another drought, though hopefully much shorter this time. Nine years was tough, and then we had the worse bushfires in one day. Not good. It will rain there again, I’m sure. We are going to soak it up while we can. Thanks Marilyn.

      August 23, 2015
  17. Awesome photos. I enjoy your posts! Thanks.

    August 23, 2015
    • Thank you, lovely thing to say.

      August 23, 2015

Comments are closed.

