Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs: Getting Ready

macro-mallee-viv-garden-mine092

This time next Tuesday I will getting ready to board a plane. I would be almost at the airport and, I no doubt, will be feeling incredibly anxious as I get ready to take my first international flight in over 20 years, and my first ever on my own.

Trip the USAmacro-mallee-viv-garden-mine089

This week is very busy, but I don’t have a lot to report. I am spending the week getting things finished before I go and getting other things finalized.

Blog

The blog will be different while I’m away. I don’t want to stop doing it, but somethings I do now take a bit of time, like Monochrome Madness, so I am going to take a break from my usual routine. I will still blog, but I am going to do more a journal style and write about my trip.

The laptop I will be using isn’t great for processing, I also won’t have the time to do lots of work on images, so there might be a lot of photos taken with the phone, or processed very quickly. I macro-mallee-viv-garden-mine085will have Lightroom with me so I will be able to do some basic processing. I will wait until I get back to do most of the photos.

This will start from next week, most probably on Monday. There will be a Monochrome Madness post, but it will be on Tuesday, my time, and from there it will be the journal of my trip.

Monochrome Madness, if you don’t get your image to me by Sunday, it won’t go in the post.

Gear

Two new lens from Tamron Australia have arrived.  They have sent me the 15-30mm which is going to be brilliant in New York, and the 28-300mm. I went out yesterday with a friend to Banyule Flats and took the 28-300mm with me, can I start by saying wow. I’ve never used a lens macro-mallee-viv-garden-mine088like that would let me get that close to objects. It was almost as good as my macro, almost. I knew I wasn’t going to take my macro with me, there are only so many I can, but with this lens I will still be able to get close things and I think it will be a great compromise.

I am going to be using the Lowepro ProRunner II backpack on this trip. The bag has been loaned to me by Lowepro and it looks perfect for what I need. It is the smaller one, but there is enough room in it for my camera, three lenses, a few other pieces, but also my laptop will fit in as well. It will be my carry on luggage. The great thick straps are going to make it fine to wear.

Maxwell International Australia have also loaned me a gorrillapod. I’ve never used one before, so I’m really looking forward to trying that out. It is a Joby and is rather cool. It has a ballhead on it macro-mallee-viv-garden-mine091and a good size, so it is going to be fun seeing the different ways I can use it.  As I said, it will be my first time using it, and I think I will take it out with me each day and see how I can use it.

I’ve had my Merrell Moab hiking shoes for a little while and I’ve been getting out and wearing them as much as possible. I don’t want my trip to be spoiled by uncomfortable feet.

I’ve ordered some new memory cards and have decided to give SanDisk a miss on this trip and go with Lexar. I keep hearing good things about their cards, and that’s enough for me.

Clothes

I don’t know what clothes to pack, I assume summer ones, and maybe a couple of things for if the weather starts to cool. We are still wearing winter stuff here, so I’m not sure. Any tips from macro-mallee-viv-garden-mine084people about the weather there would be great.

Photos Today

I found some photos that were taken almost exactly a year ago. They are flowers from my mothers garden, so I was in the Mallee a year ago. It seemed like a good idea to show them today, I hope you enjoy seeing them again.

125 Comments
  1. Enjoy your trip, Leanne – happy photographing! 🙂

    August 25, 2015
    • Thank you Ruth, I think there will be lots of photos.

      August 25, 2015
  2. You are a bundle of nerves aren’t you! So much to do! This is a major trip, more so to be going solo. The time difference is major, I am 15 hours behind you!

    August 25, 2015
    • I am a bit, I’m not nervous about flying, but am worried about being stuck in a plane for 14 hours, what will I do. Thankfully only the plane trips will be solo. Yes, you are, or I am 15 hours ahead, haha. Thanks John.

      August 25, 2015
  3. I really enjoy these flowers.

    August 25, 2015
    • That’s fantastic, thank you.

      August 25, 2015
  4. Nice pictures Leanne. Have a safe journey. Im sure you will be fine. I travel a lot on my own, it gets boring at times, but it also makes you a bit more open towards people. I sometimes get to chat to fellow travellers, despite im quite an antisocial person sometimes haha x

    August 25, 2015
    • Thank you Andrea, I think that’s the bit that is bothering me, the trip there and being on the plane for so long, it will be so boring. I won’t be lonely once I get there. That’s good, shame you won’t be on the plane with me.

      August 25, 2015
      • How long is the flight? You might be able to watch films, that should make time go quick. I know,it would be awesome, we could talk about photography for hours 🙂

        August 25, 2015
      • It is about 14 hours Andrea, I have been lent some books for the Kindle, so plan on reading, sleeping and maybe watching some movies. Oh yes, that would be so cool, time would fly. 🙂

        August 25, 2015
      • Sounds like a good plan 😉
        Literally lol

        August 25, 2015
      • I hope so, anything to stop me from getting bored. LOL

        August 25, 2015
      • If you had some addictive series, like Homeland, or Prison break on dvd or downloaded on your laptop, the 14 hrs would feel like two minutes. 😉

        August 25, 2015
      • My laptop doesn’t work without power, it is quite old. I am sure I will get through it, hopefully the boredom will let me sleep, which is what I really need to do, get ready for a new time zone. 🙂

        August 26, 2015
      • Oh right. Mine is same. I have a little portable dvd player and the battery is quite good in it, but sometimes its a nightmare at security…i must have one of them faces lol
        Thats true, you will have a massive jetlag, i have a friend in Trinidad and when its 10pm here, its her afternoon, its crazy 😉

        August 26, 2015
      • I can use my phone, I can connect a USB drive to it and watch something, but then I might use too much battery. I think reading could be good, get lost in a book, well I hope. It is crazy it is almost 8am here now, I must go and get ready, going to see an exhibition at the National Gallery of Victoria today. I might have to see your face now, haha

        August 26, 2015
      • Thats a good idea. I love reading, but recently i havent really had time, or if i did i was tired. Its 11pm here 😉
        Sounds fab. Have a good time, im going to get ready to sleep lol
        Have a look in the women photography group in fb 😄

        August 26, 2015
      • I know what you mean, that’s late, it is now early evening and I’m wondering what to have for dinner.
        Thank you, I hope you had a good sleep.
        Which group, the women behind the lens, what’s there, I haven’t been looking at it lately.

        August 26, 2015
      • I did have a good sleep thank you Leanne, i needed it. Oh sorry, i do that sometimes too fast thinking lol. So, you said you want to see my face, when i mentioned the
        airport security stuff. If you look up the members, in that group my profile should come up 😉

        August 26, 2015
      • I’m about to head off to sleep now, I’m very tired now. Oh okay, I will do that, aren’t we friends on facebook? 🙂

        August 26, 2015
      • Its so weird that when my day starts you going to sleep 😉 I dont think we are, i follow your page, but i will send you a friend request ;))

        August 26, 2015
      • I think it is something I’ve got used to, working out when people are awake in the world. We are now, friends that is. 🙂 and I saw you.

        August 27, 2015
      • I will get used to it, i only know you and Karen from Australia 😉 Yes, and on Instagram as well 😉😉

        August 27, 2015
      • I guess it is just realizing when you’re awake we are asleep, though I tend to think early morning or evening are the best times to catch up. Oh Instagram, I’ve been trying to use that more.

        August 27, 2015
      • I use Insta more than fb, although many profiles are just full of selfies, sometimes i find some good pages to follow. With my own pictures I dont really use their filters though.

        August 27, 2015
      • I haven’t seen many of those, I don’t follow people who just do selfies, bit self absorbed. I have found some nice ones, I guess you just have to look. I do like Flickr though, some gorgeous stuff there.

        August 27, 2015
      • I dont, i just noticed them on the search bit. I only follow celebrities to have a nosy lol
        Yes Flickr is very good, sometimes i have a look on it, but these days i reduced the internet, there are so many things to follow etc

        August 27, 2015
      • Haha, you sticky beck, that is too funny.
        There are too many, you have to pick what you want to follow. I only do a few and see how i go.

        August 27, 2015
  5. Have the very best time Leanne! 😃 ..and enjoy your well earned break.
    I love the photos of your mothers beautiful garden.

    August 25, 2015
    • Thank you Robyn, can’t believe it is here already.
      My mum has a great garden, love going there with the macro.

      August 25, 2015
      • I can see why Leanne 😀
        Your trip has come around very quickly!

        August 25, 2015
      • :D, it has, then again, it’s been in the planning since April last year, but it is amazing that it is finally here.

        August 25, 2015
      • 😀 😀 😀

        August 25, 2015
  6. Safe trip Leanne, I look forward to your posts.

    August 25, 2015
    • Thank you Sharon, hopefully it will be interesting, lol.

      August 25, 2015
  7. Lee #

    Like your new Zuki Theme.

    August 25, 2015
    • Thank you Lee, I like it too, simple, but that’s good.

      August 25, 2015
  8. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Just bring your accent and you will charm anyone. I can’t wait to see your images.

    August 25, 2015
    • Haha, a few people have said that Jackie, I was with a friend yesterday and I put it on very broadly and she said it was good, so might have to do that. I don’t really have a strong accent. Thank you Jackie.

      August 25, 2015
  9. Have a great trip. Looking forward to following your travel posts.

    August 25, 2015
    • Thank you Lisa, it should be great.

      August 25, 2015
  10. Bon voyage. You seem to be well equipped.

    August 25, 2015
    • Thank you Tootlepedal, I think I am, and very lucky.

      August 25, 2015
  11. Hi Leanne,
    I’m so excited for you! I’d be nervous too, but if you’re like me, once you’re underway, the jitters will pass and you’ll be excited for the adventure! By Saturday, you should be able to get the full week’s weather through weather.com. The only clothing suggestion I’d make is to be sure you bring a light-weight jacket with a hood. Having to use an umbrella on a rainy day doesn’t leave your hands free for photography. (Remember your rainy day cover for your camera too!)
    You have my contact info – don’t hesitate to use it for anything.
    Have a blast!

    August 25, 2015
    • Thank you so much Mary, I am getting very excited. Thanks for the top about the weather site, I will check that out. I’m thinking mainly summer gear, but some things if it gets a bit cold. I was thinking of wearing a light weight jacket there, though will have to remove it as soon I get there no doubt. No hood on it, but I am convinced the weather is going to be wonderful, I won’t need it, lol.
      I do and thank you again.

      August 25, 2015
  12. What is your itinerary Leanne. If I can I will make some clothing suggestions, but mostly just take layers. If you are going to the higher elevations or northern US you will need a jacket and sweater for night time temps or cloudy days that can be cool. Probably you will get plenty of suggestions, but if you need more let me know where you will be. Buon Viaggio!

    August 25, 2015
    • I’m spending the first two weeks around San Francisco and then the last 10 days in New York Ardysez. I like the idea of layers.I though I might wear a jacket on the plane, then I don’t have to pack it. Thank you so much.

      August 25, 2015
      • Every time I’ve been to SF it has been on the cool side, so around 15-17C during the day. They used to say no matter what time of the year you were there the temp was likely to be the same (55F), and that was certainly true for us. It doesn’t usually get that cold at night, but the wind off the ocean, depending on where you are, can feel cool, even in summer. NYC can be hot as blazes in the summer, and humid, probably about like Melbourne on a really hot summer day. So really, layers will be the key. I hope that helps a little. Have fun!

        August 26, 2015
      • That isn’t warm at all, what we are getting now, so maybe summer type tops but take some 3/4 length long sleeve tops to put underneath, keep the chill out. Okay, I might have to rethink a few things. Thank you for that. I am sure I will, it is going to be mind blowing I think.

        August 26, 2015
  13. Awesome shots!

    August 25, 2015
  14. Gary Light - Photographer #

    Enjoy your trip.

    August 25, 2015
  15. I am looking forward to all your reports from your trip.

    August 25, 2015
    • Thanks Laura, hopefully you won’t find it too boring.

      August 25, 2015
  16. Love all the pictures you have posted. Have a great trip. So, you are coming to New York…where else? Are you going on a hiking or trail trip in the US as well? It will be fun…You will be fine traveling international. All the best to you. I love your blog!!

    August 25, 2015
    • Thank you, and thank you. I am going to New York and to San Fracisco. No, not really, just visiting a few places around San Francisco and then lots of architecture in New York. Thanks, I’m sure the nerves are very normal. That is so nice of you to say, it is nice to hear from time to time.

      August 25, 2015
  17. Dormis Aeternitas #

    depends on what part of the country you’re talking about. Some parts in South are very hot but in PA and North it is getting cold at night (Fall like) and you need a light windbreaker, sweater or a hood for evening/night time. Check highs and lows in area you are heading.
    http://www.weather.com/forecast/news/national-forecast-20141009

    August 25, 2015
    • I’m going to San Francisco and New York, no where in between, unfortunately. Thank you so much for the link, much appreciated, I will check it out. I will have to use my temperature converter so I get a better idea of the temp in celcius. Thanks Dormis.

      August 25, 2015
      • Dormis Aeternitas #

        http://www.wbuf.noaa.gov/tempfc.htm
        NY will be colder in evening/nights. Have fun! Welcome! 🙂

        August 26, 2015
      • Thank you, that link doesn’t work, though it might be because I’m in Australia.

        August 26, 2015
      • Dormis Aeternitas #

        http://fahrenheittocelsius.com/
        yeah must be US only.

        August 26, 2015
      • Oh well, I have an app on my phone that does that too, very handy. Thank you Dormis.

        August 26, 2015
      • Dormis Aeternitas #

        ok welcome!

        August 26, 2015
      • 😀

        August 26, 2015
  18. Have an absolutely wonderful trip! I’ll look forward to your postings : )) beautiful flower pics….am loving the almost spring blossoms in my garden : )) trees

    August 25, 2015
    • Thank you so much Trees, it is going to be an adventure, I’m sure. My mum has a lovely garden, though not much was flowering when I was there a week or so back.

      August 25, 2015
  19. Hi Leann. I enjoy your blog. Welcome to America. The weather should be in the mid 70s to low 80s for your trip. I like your lens selection and I just bought the Tamron 15 b- 30 mm and just got it today so I haven’t even shot with it. I’m looking forward to doing that.

    I know that sometimes it seems like you are trying to push a rope up hill be keep doing what you’re doing. It’s all good and you’re doing good stuff. It takes time.

    Regards,
    Dave

    August 25, 2015
    • Thanks Dave, though still have a week before I will be there, but it is very close now. The temp sounds good, I like those. It is supposed to be a great lens, and I’m really looking forward to trying it out on the trip.
      It does seem like that at times, you are right, it is going to be nice to do something while I’m away. Thanks again Dave, and have fun with that lens, let me know what you think of it.

      August 25, 2015
  20. lensaddiction #

    So exciting! Travelling alone is an experience but I have been lucky and not had any major issues, mind you I havent gone as far as NY tho!

    August 25, 2015
    • It is rather. That’s good to hear, though it is only the flying that I will be doing on my own, thankfully. Once I am there I will have company every where I go. NY should be very exciting and I can’t wait to see the architecture.

      August 25, 2015
      • lensaddiction #

        Thats good that you will have native guides, the best way to travel. I like flying by myself, no worries of seating issues and arguing over who gets the window seat and elbow room and all that stuff, you are just another passenger on the plane

        August 26, 2015
      • Yes, I won’t have to think about much, I hope. I am not very good at sitting still, so having to sit there for 14 hours is going to be a challenge, haha. I am hoping I will be so bored I sleep. Thanks Stacey.

        August 26, 2015
      • lensaddiction #

        Sitting for 14 hrs in a plane is pretty horrible anyway, I have my ebook reader and my ipod with headphones so between them that usually keeps me happy. My longest flight has been from Sydney to Hawaii and back and that was about 10 hrs and that was hard work.

        August 26, 2015
      • It is, I have a kindle, so same thing, and a friend has given me the Miss Fisher Murder Mysteries, so I will be all set. I wonder how many I can read. I was thinking headphones would be a good thing too. I have 14 hours to LAX, a 3 hour stop and then just over an hour or so until I get there.

        August 26, 2015
      • lensaddiction #

        Oh I love those books it I personally find them quite light reading and itHink I would get sick of them after a few. I suggest some variety with books and music😜

        August 26, 2015
      • I think I’ll be fine, I can watch movies as well, and my Kindle has heaps of other books on it as well, so all good I think.

        August 26, 2015
  21. Beautiful flower photos. Very vivid and cheerful. Good to hear packing is going well 😉 A Lowepro backpack with thick straps, that sounds good and hopefully it won’t be too heavy to lug around the airport and wherever you need to take it. Let us know how the Joby is as well. I’ve read good things about it, but you never really know until you try. Take care 🙂

    August 25, 2015
    • Thank you Mabel. Yes, it is slowly coming together, I’m sure by the time I am ready to go to the airport next week I will be ready. The back pack is great, I really like it, I want to use it for carry on, so it can’t be too heavy. I will, it looks great and I keep thinking of lots of things I can do with it. That is so true, you don’t. Thanks again and you be good.

      August 25, 2015
  22. Beautiful pictures, and so exciting to be planning a trip! As an American looking at the weather, it appears days will be warm (about 30 degrees C) and the nights mild (about 22 degrees) in New York City, so what you’ve planned to pack sounds appropriate! Have fun, and get some awesome shots!

    August 25, 2015
    • Those temps sound perfect for me, I can’t wait, I hate heat, so it will be mild and nice. That is great, thanks for the Stephen. I am sure I will get way too many photos and have heaps of fun.

      August 25, 2015
  23. I hope you have an amazing time in the U.S.

    August 25, 2015
    • I am sure I will, thank you so much.

      August 25, 2015
  24. How exciting. You’ll have a wonderful time and I can’t wait to hear all about it.

    August 25, 2015
    • Thanks Carol, I think I’m all set to have a great time. I’m sure you will hear all about it.

      August 25, 2015
  25. Awesome selection of photos, love the flowers, never seen these types before :-). Have a great trip! Hope you also get some leisure time and not only work.

    August 25, 2015
    • Many of these flowers are native Australian so not surprised you haven’t seen them. Thank you, I’m all set for it, well almost.

      August 25, 2015
  26. Your first international flight in over 20 years and the first ever on your own. That’s a milestone! Safe & happy travels Leanne!
    I’m going to Italy this weekend and I’m looking forward to some sun, heat and new places/things to photograph.

    August 25, 2015
    • So we are both travelling, so amazing how you can travel so easily. It means big flights for us if we want to go anywhere, except maybe New Zealand.
      Thanks Cardinal, safe travels to you too.

      August 25, 2015
  27. sounds exciting – have a great trip!

    August 25, 2015
  28. I hope your trip is wonderful! I agree, weather.com is good for the forecast. In the NY area, it will still be warm during the day but it is starting to cool off at night. I would pack both shorts and pants, plus a jacket. But then again, I have an overpacking problem anytime I go somewhere! Looking forward to reading about your adventures and of course seeing your photos!

    August 25, 2015
    • That sounds good Cynthia and much as what other people are saying, which is a relief, gives me a better idea of what to pack. I do too, which is going to be interesting.Thank you, it is going to be quite a trip.

      August 26, 2015
      • I’m excited for you, it’s going to be great! I didn’t mention before but remembered that NYC is always has the wind whipping around the buildings so there’s another argument for a slightly warmer layer. I hope you have perfect weather and a fun trip!

        August 26, 2015
      • I just got a wind breaker waterproof jacket from a friend that folds up to almost nothing, so sounds like it will be perfect. I hope so too Cynthia, either way it will be fantastic. Thank you.

        August 26, 2015
  29. Enjoy your trip! Looking forward to seeing the photos!

    August 25, 2015
    • Thank you, I’m sure there will be lots.

      August 26, 2015
  30. I hope you have a wonderful trip and get to see some different things than your use to seeing and take a lot of pictures. I prefer the Lexar cards over the Sandisk I need to order some new ones too.

    August 25, 2015
    • I think we can be guaranteed of lots of photos, and I am really looking forward to seeing what is there. That’s good to hear, I’m glad I have finally decided to try some, the Lexar one. Thank you Sonya.

      August 26, 2015
      • Did you say your are going to San Diego? If you check ou the Sea Lions in San Diego at La Jolla Cove I did not find out about them until we had already left San Diego. I would have loved to see them.

        August 26, 2015
      • No Sonya, if I did I didn’t mean too, I’m going to San Francisco and San Jose. That sounds good though.

        August 26, 2015
  31. Have a safe trip to the USA!

    August 26, 2015
  32. All the best wishes for your trip to America!

    August 26, 2015
  33. Anne Sandler #

    Leanne, bring layers. Mornings and evenings get cool in the bay area. San Francisco gets cold. Pretty much the same for New York, except the humidity is higher there.

    August 26, 2015
    • That’s good to know, it seems to be the popular idea, so will follow that. I hope NY isn’t too humid, I really don’t like humidity. Thanks Anne, I will see you next week.

      August 26, 2015
  34. Welcome to America, have a great trip! I just got a new Tamron 16-300mm zoom and discovered it is great for macro… Well, almost macro anyway. I am enjoying a new (to me) facet of photography.

    August 26, 2015
    • I’m not quite there yet John, but not far away. I haven’t seen that one, but I agree the one I have is quite good too, not quite as good as a macro, but not bad. That’s great to hear. Thank you.

      August 26, 2015
  35. Good luck Leanne – High 80°F to low 60°F at night – as always, layers are in order for over-used A/C…have a splendid trip and I’m good to loan any Nikon/support equipment should you need it…

    August 26, 2015
    • Thanks for that Robert, 60 is quite cool, what we are getting during the day at the moment. I better bring some warm things as well. thank you for that, looking forward to catching up with you in New York.

      August 26, 2015
  36. Gorgeous photos Leanne .. Not long to go 😄

    August 26, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, no not long now, this time next week I will be there.

      August 26, 2015
  37. Have a great journey with lots of new adventures, Leanne. We’ll all be here when you get back. Cheers!

    August 27, 2015
    • Thank you Elen, I hope you will enjoy the virtual trip, I’m getting really excited and time seems to be moving too fast, too much to do.

      August 27, 2015
  38. Good luck, Leanne. Sounds like you have all the gear you will need. Hope it is a fabulous trip.

    August 27, 2015
    • Thank you Robin, I think I will have what I need, that’s for sure. I am sure it will be, guess I will be catching up with you in about 3 weeks.

      August 27, 2015
  39. Have a lovely trip. Unusual flowers!

    August 27, 2015
    • Thank you, some of those a native here, so quite different.

      August 27, 2015
  40. You take such beautiful pictures! I love the rich colours. You’re truly an inspiration. Enjoy your trip!

    August 31, 2015
    • Thank you, what a lovely thing to say, thank you so much.

      August 31, 2015

Comments are closed.

