Skip to content

UfD: Making Changes

lake-albacutya-fires-sand-dunes430

While I am away next month the blog is going to be different. I am taking a break from the usual blogging that I do, but that also leaves me with the question, do I continue doing exactly what I’ve been doing when I come back?

One thing I’m thinking of doing is ditching the Up for Discussion Posts, (UfD). I had hoped lake-albacutya-fires-sand-dunes434when I started them that I would get lots of people wanting to guest post, but it never really happened. I had some people say they wanted to do it, but then nothing came of it. It is very hard trying to come up with a topic each week. I thought I could do tutorials, but they are very time consuming to do properly and one tutorial could take me a day to do. At this stage I think it is best to stop them.

I will probably still do some posts discussing something, but not every week. I have thought of not posting on a Friday, or perhaps looking at an image that I have done and discussing what I did to it and why. My motivation behind it. I used to do that a lot, but I somewhere a long the way I stopped, so I would like to get back to doing that as I did enjoy it.

lake-albacutya-fires-sand-dunes443As for the rest of the blog, I’m not sure yet. I think I will continue the Introduction posts, they always seem to be well received. Again, I just have to find people.

Monochrome Madness will continue, that is if people want it too.

I want to keep doing the Weekend Wanderings because it means I have to get out and take photos for them. I can be quite lazy, so having those posts means I have to go and lake-albacutya-fires-sand-dunes438take photos. I might do one as a quick one, with a few photos and then other more detailed. Not sure yet, will see how I go. I have some ideas, but I need to think on them some more.

At this stage my Bits and Bobs post will probably stay, I do enjoy doing that one as well. A great way for me to share what I’m doing. Basically my whole trip is going to be one of those.

Is there anything you would like to see me doing? I’m happy to listen, but will depend on what it is as to whether I will do it.

I still love doing this blog and love the friendships I’ve made through it, but things are getting lake-albacutya-fires-sand-dunes456busy, so I might need to streamline it a little. I want to continue doing it and enjoying it, I don’t want it to become something I have to do.

The photos today were taken almost a year ago in the Mallee around Lake Albacutya. I won’t be there next month, but hoping to get back to take a look before the year is out.

Before I go, I had some good news yesterday and had to share, Nikon will be lending me a D750 for my trip and a 35mm lens. It will be fun to try out a new camera while away.

72 Comments
  1. Beautiful Leanne ….your photography and blog are one of my favorites , always shining with your generous spirit and your hearts light …may you continue to be blessed on your amazing journey down paths of tomorrows dreams …hugs and always love , megxxx

    August 28, 2015
    • Thank you Meg, that is so nice to hear, really. I hope so too. Take care.

      August 28, 2015
    • Thank you for visiting my blog. Liked your photos.

      August 28, 2015
      • You’re welcome and thank you.

        August 28, 2015
  2. I don’t know how you manage to fit in writing so regularly for your blog! It takes a lot of time which I think many people may not realise.
    Keep up the good work and I look forwars to seeing what you get up to while overseas.

    August 28, 2015
    • I have routines which help, but when I can’t think of something to write about, then I’m stumped. It does take a lot of time, you are so right.
      Thank you Sharon.

      August 28, 2015
      • Meant to add I am looking forward to reading your reviews of the d750

        August 29, 2015
      • It is going to be fun trying it out, seems like quite a good camera, and has some interesting features.

        August 29, 2015
  3. Wow, you are a lucky lady, with the camera and lenses for the trip! I like your ‘bits and bobs’ and ‘introductions’ the best. I have found new people to follow via these. That’s my input. πŸ™‚

    August 28, 2015
    • I am John, very lucky. I’ve been loaned some great equipment for the trip, so all set really. That’s good to know, I knew the introductions were very popular, I will keep searching for people.

      August 28, 2015
  4. Leanne, it’s difficult to keep coming up with original thoughts week after week – not to mention year after year! πŸ™‚
    Sometimes I wonder whether people will “like” what I write, but in the end, we have to do what feeds our passions.
    Whatever you do, you will do it well.
    Enjoy your break!

    August 28, 2015
    • It is hard, sometimes I really struggle. I know just what you mean, you never really know. I will do more for me, I think. Thank you so much Sheila. πŸ™‚

      August 28, 2015
  5. Hi Leanne, I enjoyed reading your thoughts on strategizing for the future. That’s so important with a blog. A couple of ideas I thought of as I read this post –
    1) You have a vibrant blog and following. You could easily go to four posts per week and still keep the blog healthy and thriving.
    2) For UfD, you might link to the post of another photographer and/or blogger – anything you might have read online – and present it here in your blog on UfD day. “www” means “world-wide web” and it’s meant to be just that – a network (a linking) of the millions of platforms on the internet. When you link to someone, it encourages them to link to your site as well. This enhances everyone’s experience on the internet, and it supports the neighborly attitude WordPress promotes. It makes a win-win for all users. You’ll pick up more followers as will those you link to, and your followers will continue to find great value in reading your blog.
    And all of this diminishes your post writing and frees you up to do more photography!
    PS I hope you are promoting yourself to guest post on the sites of others. It gives great credibility and exposure for new followers!

    August 28, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, I think you are right, have to have a rethink every now and then.
      Your first though is good, but if I don’t do it everyday, or nearly every day I think I would end up stopping, it really helps me to do it if it is part of everyday, if that makes sense.
      I like the idea of the links, that could be really good to explore. Great idea. I will look into that one.
      I haven’t really done that, promoting myself, I have to admit I don’t really know how to do that. I’ve heard that too, but who do you approach to guest blog etc.

      August 28, 2015
      • Hi Leanne,
        As for guest blogging…I googled “opportunities for photographers to guest post on a blog” and came up with this site that lists what they consider to be the best 25 photography sites for guest blogging:
        http://www.effectivebusinessideas.com/the-ultimate-list-of-photography-blogs-that-accept-guest-posts/
        I’m sure there are more sites you can find, too. Note that the above post was written in fall 2013 so some of the sites on the list may not still exist or may not accept guests anymore.
        So that’s one way to find places to guest post – through a google search.
        But also, and perhaps more genuinely, as a photographer, you should be following many blogs of photographers of your caliber. And you should be engaging at their sites – commenting thoughtfully, and becoming internet professional friends. Then if you see an opportunity to write a post that might help a blog that you follow (or help the audience of the blogger), privately contact the person and ask if you could write a post. Approach it professionally, but in a friendly way. If you’ve commented well on their site you’ve probably already become credible to them. Be sure to direct them to your site so they can see that you’re serious about your work. Chances are they are following you already. If they are, you should know it and thank them rather than direct them to your site.
        Hope this helps!

        August 31, 2015
      • That was a clever thing to do Mary, I should have thought of that, lol.
        I already post on one of those sites, though I’m a paid writer not a guest blogger, but will look at the others as well.
        I have to say the magazine is doing a lot of that for me now, I’m meeting lots of professional photographers, but I will start doing what you said as well.
        It does help Mary, hard to get my head around at the moment with me travelling tomorrow, but lots to think about. Thank you.

        August 31, 2015
      • Have a great trip, Leanne! I can’t wait to see your photos!
        I love San Francisco, enjoy!

        PS I’m a paid writer too but not on the internet. The internet is where I build an audience for my books and clients for my content writing for websites. I’ve sold some photography too, but again, I use my photo blog to build an audience. I love the idea of your magazine and that’s a good way to get paid for your writing through the internet. But I’m not sure you’ll find guest spots on blogs where your writing will earn you direct money. Maybe I’m wrong! I hope for your sake I am! Keep me posted!

        August 31, 2015
      • Thank you Mary, it is going to be wild, I’m sure.
        I think I will love it too.
        Would you mind if I emailed when I got back?

        August 31, 2015
    • I wouldn’t mind at all! I’d be happy to hear from you!

      August 31, 2015
      • Thank you Mary, that would be great.

        August 31, 2015
  6. Tanya and Michael Howat #

    Hi Leanne, Change is always good… maybe you could do a photo submission day (like mm) where people submit their travel photos. Might be a way to play on your and use your new US pics. Fingers crossed I’ve locked in a new house by the time you get back! We are hoping to get one in Eltham and it just so happens to have a studio at the front. The owners are artists. Could be handy!!! Take a look … http://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-vic-eltham-120501961 The studio is in the 3rd last image. Tanya

    Date: Thu, 27 Aug 2015 21:56:47 +0000 To: tanandmick@hotmail.com

    August 28, 2015
    • Nice idea Tanya, but it is a lot of work, MM can be really hard at times. I love the look of the house, I will keep my fingers crossed for you, I hope you will invite me over for coffee when you are living there. LOL. You will be able to make the most of that studio. Good luck.

      August 28, 2015
  7. Good idea to take stock and reassess how you will run your blog when you get back… But apart from UFD it doesn’t sound like you really changing much at all! From my own selfish point of view I enjoy your monday intros because I discover photographers I would not otherwise, monochrome madness although it seems less people take part and comment on photos, and your weekend wonderings because they introduce different regions. But we are all busy so daily posts can be just too much and I know I just skim and just ‘like’ rather than read posts when I am short on time. We can make a rod for our back with too much blogging!

    August 28, 2015
    • I am thinking of changing the way I do some of the current posts, especially Weekend Wanderings, I have quite got it figured out, but hopefully, by the time I get back I will. I think the Introduction posts are my most popular, the one I show other peoples work, which is sort of funny. I know people skim, I do too, but you can decide to do that or not, I guess, my blog is a photography blog and it is visual, so if people don’t read, that is okay. I don’t have a problem with that. We can, so it is about making it work more for you I guess. Thanks Chris.

      August 28, 2015
  8. At the end of the day you have to do what makes you grow and happy. I love the Monochrome Madness challenge as it makes me work , think, plan, and post usually out of my box, which keeps me accountable to the challenge and what I perceive the challenge to be. IE: It helps me grow as as photographer.

    I really enjoy your Introduction to other Photographer posts, but am ambivalent about your UFD posts.

    It’s your blog and life Leanne. Do what fits into your schedule, and life. We will adapt or not. Since you do such wonderful photography, and write really well I think most of us will stick with you. I could be wrong, but odds are in your favor! πŸ™‚ xxx

    August 28, 2015
    • thank you Deborah, I think so as well. I think the two posts you pointed out are the most popular ones I do, I like the reasons you gave for liking them too.

      Yeah, I think the UfD ones are good to drop.

      Thank, I think I need to keep remembering that. I guess we will see what happens when I come back. πŸ™‚

      August 28, 2015
  9. Hi Leanne,

    I would love it if you kept Monochrome Madness – they got me hooked onto your blog! It is wonderful to see so many different pictures in one colour scheme. Also your Introduction posts are wonderful because I get to find out about many other photographers. I’m not really one but I like looking at photographs and learning how to take better pictures.

    Thanks!

    Stacey

    August 28, 2015
    • I think as long as people keep sending photos I will keep doing MM. Both of those are popular, so they will stay. I think lots of people like doing that, seeing how others do their photos.
      Thanks for that Stacey, good to know.

      August 28, 2015
  10. Hi. I’m totally down with the idea of sharing posts… if you don’t mind a pile of shots of a Canadian village. We (you and I) actually discussed this a while back, but health issues and general life crap got in the way on my end. I, of course, would be very interested in having a post of your favourite shots end up on my Photo Club’s blog… not only because I’m a fan, and that it’d give us a bit more respectability, but also so I don’t have to work so hard to keep the blog looking cool.

    Maybe something floral just to get things started? If you’re interested, just shoot me an email and I’ll put something together for you…

    http://vkhphotos.org/2012/12/22/fluffy-snow/

    August 28, 2015
    • Sorry Gabriel, I really don’t remember, I’m getting to old, lol. I think at this stage I need to get through my trip, maybe something we can discuss when I get back.

      Thanks Gabriel.

      August 28, 2015
  11. Follow your heart. Behind you I stand. I meant ‘we’. πŸ˜‰

    August 28, 2015
    • Thank you so much Mar, I think I need to do that.

      August 28, 2015
  12. You’re one of the most prolific and regular bloggers I know, Leanne, and I admire your stamina and commitment both to photography and to writing. From my own 365-day photography blog last year, I know how much work, planning and time-management goes into doing something like that. Life on the hamster wheel can sometimes make it very difficult and exhausting to keep up with blogging; this year, for me, the hamster wheel has unfortunately won the battle!

    I really like the look of your new theme, by the way; I don’t know when exactly the change happened, but it looks good. I most enjoy the UfD posts, the Bits and Bobs, and the Introductions.

    Leanne, I hope you enjoy every single moment of your wonderful, exciting adventure in the United States! Take gazillions of photos, have fun playing with all that awesome equipment you get to test, keep a daily diary for yourself, and blog if you can, but take yourself off the hook if you don’t find time (or the internet connection) to blog every day. We’re looking forward to hearing all about it when you return. πŸ˜‰

    Safe and fun travels!

    August 28, 2015
    • I hope that is a good thing Reggie. It does take a lot of planning, which is part of the reason why I need to do this. Oh yes, I love that the hampster wheel.

      Thanks, I only changed the theme last week, I’m really pleased with it as well.That is good to hear which ones you enjoy, though I think you might be the only one that likes the UfD posts.

      I am sure I will, and I know I will take lots and lots of photos, no problem there.I am going to journal here, so the blog will be a record of my trip here.I will do that, I might miss some days. Thank you so much Reggie. πŸ™‚

      August 28, 2015
  13. Leanne it’s so good to step back and change things up if and when we need to.
    I really like all you’re doing and I too have my favourites which are MM and Introductions.
    You certainly deserve to do some things for you too πŸ˜ƒ
    A suggestion or food for thought? Perhaps you could do some of your posts fortnightly or monthly?
    As you know I’m mostly doing the monthly themes for MM now due to my schedule and I don’t like to miss it πŸ˜ƒ
    I think whatever you decide will be fine with everyone! You are very generous and giving of your time and information.

    August 28, 2015
    • I am a creature of habit, I work well with one, and I think people doing things weekly works well too, I know I do. See your challenge starts each month and I always forget to do it.
      We will see what happens, I want to keep doing it, but I know if I don’t make a routine with it, then I will start to forget to do it. I need to find ways of blogging that don’t take up too much time.
      Thanks Robyn.

      August 28, 2015
      • Lol… You are a creature of habit πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ You’ll work it out. A break will be good. Enjoy it immensely!!

        August 28, 2015
      • I really am a creature of habit. Shocking I know. I’m looking forward to the break, that’s for sure.

        August 28, 2015
  14. I’ve long admired your photos (and these are no exceptions) as well as the blog. My advice: take Friday off. The release of pressure is much more important than posting 365.

    August 28, 2015
    • Yes, I think you could be right, I wonder if I will be able to do it, lol. thank you so much.

      August 28, 2015
  15. I’ve only found you today, and I love the little I’ve explored already. I totally understand why you have reached a moment of reflection. I’ve only just got back into regularly blogging and it does take up so much time, and some days inspiration seems to elude me too.

    I agree with everyone who has said do what you enjoy with the blog. That has to be your starting place – everything else can follow.

    Monochrome Madness is wonderful. Would be amazing if it stayed . . to facilitate this perhaps you could change from the gallery model to a inlinkz.com model as used by Norman 2.0 of Thursday Doors. Much less work for you.

    The only other suggestion I have is something someone else has suggested but I know you are understandably wary of it, which is reducing to a few days each week. One way could be to set aside time each week to schedule 3 to 4 posts for the week ahead . . and then if you have time or are struck by inspiration in the week you can add extra posts as you go.

    Only thoughts for you to ponder, no need to reply. . . I’m sure whilst you are away you will find a path for the blog and the future. Good luck.

    August 28, 2015
    • Welcome to my blog Becky. It does take up a lot of time, but also very rewarding, I’ve got so much from this blog.

      It’s been great to hear what people like and don’t like, so that gives me a better understanding of what I’m doing.

      I don’t mind doing MOnochrome Madness, but I can’t have too many that take that much time.
      They are good thoughts and thanks for taking the time to share, I will see how I feel when I get back from the States, I might have a new leash, time will tell. Thank you so much Becky.

      August 29, 2015
  16. To echo a bit what oneowner said, perhaps a day tilted “just because” – where you put up a single photo, no text, no explanation, but you are posting it just because YOU like the image…

    August 29, 2015
    • I like that idea, though don’t think I could do it with no words, but it doesn’t have to be many. Thanks Robert.

      August 29, 2015
      • I understand that…which is why I don’t use Twitter πŸ™‚

        August 29, 2015
      • I feel the same way, lol. πŸ™‚

        August 29, 2015
  17. Leanne, I think we all hit a wall, to speak of, when it comes to blogging and visiting other blogs. More so after we go away, then come back. I’ve been experiencing that since returning home. And, that tall order of reviewing and post processing 1000+ horse-related photos just got a bit taller. It’s more like 1700+, and much of it supported my daughters’ at-the-show training and competition efforts. There are a number worthy of turning into a collection or series. I’ll sort of work my way through it, eventually. Probably finish it just in time for next year’s season. πŸ™‚

    I’m sure you’ll find your solution to where you want to take your blog. I’ll go along for the ride. I do enjoy your UFD posts. If you do keep the feature, perhaps not as a weekly post but more like as an every other month type feature. I do have an idea on a topic to contribute – but, of course, I haven’t put the idea to paper yet.

    So, how excited are you about your trip?

    August 29, 2015
    • That is a lot of images David. It is hard when you are trying to do other things as well.
      I have a month to think about it, so that should give me some time to talk to people and work it through.
      I am so excited, I can’t believe that I am leaving in 3 days. It has come up so soon. Thanks David. πŸ™‚

      August 29, 2015
      • May you have safe travels!

        August 29, 2015
      • Going to be quite a trip, thanks David.

        August 29, 2015
  18. I really enjoy your introductions and also your inspirational artists. Your photos are great and showing how you get to the final image is a good idea, but I would be weary of someone trying to copy your style. Your UFD is great, I like seeing what everyone else thinks too. Sometimes taking a break is a a good idea – to recharge your batteries. I do love your Monochrome Madness – just didn’t get around to it last week.

    August 29, 2015
    • I think that seems to be the most popular one and the one that most people want me to keep. Which is fine, it is a post I enjoy doing as well. It won’t be so much showing people how I do an image as talking about why I did what I did, or why I took it the way I did. I used to do it a lot, but haven’t for a while. I am looking forward to the break, I have to admit I feel like I’m on it now, haha. Oh yes, MM will stay at this point. Thanks Raewyn.

      August 29, 2015
  19. I really like that you’re considering to continue the posts about an image, what you did with it and why. I loved the ones you used to do! Stunning images here, as always!

    August 29, 2015
    • Yes, I used to do it all the time, I think I would like to start doing it again, it was something I really enjoyed. Thank you Tiny.

      August 29, 2015
  20. Such a wonderful place to roam around with a camera! The flowers seems such a contradiction to the bare trees. I’ll bet you’re going to love your loaner equipment!

    August 29, 2015
    • It was a great place, shame you need a 4WD to get there. I am sure I will, going to test some of it out today. Thank you.

      August 30, 2015
      • 4WD is one of my favorites things about Trouble (yes, my Jeep has a name)

        August 30, 2015
      • I hope the name isn’t a reflection of the problems you have with it.

        August 30, 2015
      • No, it’s because I have a 10,000 pound winch on the front, so it refers to all of the trouble I can get into and, hopefully, out of.

        August 30, 2015
      • That’s makes sense Laura, can I call you that? Here a winch doesn’t help much, in some places, you will put the tree out of the ground because you pull yourself. Then you will be in trouble.

        August 30, 2015
      • Laura is fine. Yes, a winch is only as good as what you attach to. Luckily, I’ve never had any problems here.

        August 30, 2015
      • I think in most places here you would be fine, but up in the Mallee it is very sandy soil so the trees might just come out.

        August 31, 2015
  21. Anne Sandler #

    Leanne, I think explaining the motivation, taking of and processing of images you take would be great. Maybe you could invite some other photographers to do the same. That would take some pressure off you and be inspirational to the rest of us.

    August 30, 2015
    • That’s great to hear Anne, I used to do it a lot, you would remember I’m sure. Interesting idea asking others to do the same, might have to give that some more thought. Thanks Anne.

      August 30, 2015
  22. hey Leanne .. oh new camera and lens how brilliant. Great images too Miss πŸ˜€

    August 30, 2015
    • Well on loan at least, will be fun to play with some new equipment, Thank you, πŸ˜€

      August 30, 2015
  23. wow, Leanne, I hardly think you could call yourself lazy!! Good luck with the new camera and have a great time. Maybe you will find some new blog inspiration while travelling. I enjoy the MM (which I always run out of time to send stuff…lol) and the weekend wanderings…concentrate on having a good time, I reckon πŸ™‚

    September 1, 2015
    • Thanks Dawn, I’m looking forward to playing with the new camera, should be fun.I think at this stage both of those will stay, though I might rejig weekend wanderings, not sure. πŸ™‚

      September 1, 2015
  24. Hi Leanne, first of all have a safe journey and enjoy traveling. Please continue the weekeend wanderings, it is so interesting to see how the world looks down under (pretty well exactly from Holland). And your MM is my favourite. So please keep up the good work, Jim

    September 1, 2015
    • Thank you Jim, I am here now and having a great time. I will keep the weekend wanderings but they may change a little. Thank you Jim great to hear which posts you enjoy.

      September 3, 2015
  25. Enjoyed your UFD Making changes with your photo these are wonderful following some of your notes here. Working on my Blog post at the present time.

    September 4, 2015
    • That’s great to hear Donna good luck with it.

      September 6, 2015

Comments are closed.

