Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings: Foggy Country Roads

mallee-roads-fog-7731

Fog is a great thing to see in winter. It is cold, but it is also very atmospheric and when you see it it’s like you’re separated from the rest of the world. If you are out there on your own it can feel very isolating.

When I was driving back from the Mallee just after I left Woomelang I couldn’t resist the fog anymore and had to pull over. I didn’t want to stop too many times because I had to get to Bev’s house, but I thought it wouldn’t hurt to stop a few times.

I do love fog, so it wasn’t a hard call to stop. I hope you like the images as well.

Can I just say, 2 days to go?

39 Comments
  1. I am quite intrigued by fog I think it is the mystery that surrounds it and how it just sneaks in and shows up. Great pics.

    August 30, 2015
    • Oh yes, and it is so quiet, I love it, I wish we got more. Thanks Sonya.

      August 30, 2015
  2. Fog photos (and paintings) are my favorite landscapes. I’m sure that says something deeply meaningful about my psychology. 🙂 But give me a good, smoodgy, things disappearing into and emerging from, a soft focus over bright and crisp.

    August 30, 2015
    • I think they are becoming mine as well. Maybe we shouldn’t think about that, could be very scary. 😉 I couldn’t agree more, I love seeing it blanket the world around me. Thanks Laura.

      August 30, 2015
  3. Fog is awesome. You have wonderfully captured how it settles with subtlely across the terrain and structures.

    August 30, 2015
    • It is, I love it, have I said that already, 🙂 thank you, the first couple of times I did it I didn’t do so well, so good to hear I have got better at it.

      August 30, 2015
  4. The fog is lovely. 🙂

    August 30, 2015
    • Glad you like it too, thank you.

      August 30, 2015
  5. The fog is very photogenic.

    August 30, 2015
    • It is, I love photographing it, thanks.

      August 30, 2015
  6. Leanne, I enjoyed viewing your photos. They are stark contrast to my real views where I live: South Florida, USA. Foggy weather can be dismal to some people, but you have shared lovely photos – and they would be, even if they didn’t have fog in the background.

    August 30, 2015
    • When I see fog I wonder where the camera is. We don’t get a lot of it anymore, so when I see it I want to photograph it. That was possibly the last fog I will see this year, well this winter. Thank you, that is lovely of you to say.

      August 30, 2015
  7. Nice shots! From what I hear, San Fransisco can be foggy too, so I hope you get some nice fog there. Enjoy your trip!

    August 30, 2015
    • Thank you Cynthia, I’ve seen photos of that, I don’t know whether I want to see it or not, could be interesting, but I also want to see what is there.

      August 30, 2015
  8. Love your fog photos. So glad you stopped! 😊

    August 30, 2015
    • I wish I had stopped more, but oh well, hopefully another time, thanks Karen.

      August 30, 2015
  9. Only two days eh? Exciting times.

    August 30, 2015
    • I know, I still have to pack, I’ll get there I’m sure. Thanks Tootlepedal.

      August 30, 2015
  10. Only 2 days … wow! Bet you are packed. Excitement now at level 9 .. You will have a ball. And I can’t wait to see the pictures. Oh boy are they going to be good!!!!

    August 30, 2015
    • Oh yes, two day, this time in 2 days I will be at the airport waiting to board the plan, haha, No not packed yet, have started, but still have heaps to do. I will get it done tomorrow, I have a list. Thank you Julie, I hope you won’t be disappointed.

      August 30, 2015
      • No way I’ll be disappointed! I’m sitting here smiling .. You are going to have some fun ..

        August 30, 2015
      • I hope not, I’m going to be going to some great places, so that has to be good. I think I will too, I’ll be exhausted, but that will be good too.

        August 30, 2015
  11. Great fog pictures! And happy packing. Welcome this way, Leanne.

    August 30, 2015
    • Thank you Tiny, packing is happening slowly. Thanks for that.

      August 30, 2015
  12. great fog photos, and have fun packing Leanne!

    August 30, 2015
    • Thank you Debi, all left for tomorrow, haha, have done a fair bit already, just need put it altogether now.

      August 30, 2015
  13. laurair #

    …lovely blog, beautiful fog photos (fog is a great thing to see in summer too!) and happy packing!

    August 31, 2015
    • We don’t see much fog anymore, and never in summer, sadly, thank you.

      August 31, 2015
  14. I love fog in the city. I love how, when I walk, small scenes appear, then disappear. I like your photos, too!

    August 31, 2015
    • Yes, it is exactly like that, I love that too, thank you Richard.

      August 31, 2015
  15. I like fog too. The photos are moody.

    August 31, 2015
    • Have to love fog for giving moody to an image, thanks Nicci.

      August 31, 2015
      • LOL!

        August 31, 2015
  16. I obviously haven’t been on my computer visiting your blog in awhile because you seem to have a new blog theme! I really like it. It is so clean. Or maybe you just switched things up in your theme. I like the sidebar on the right. There is something so very mysterious about fog. It fascinates me. Wonderful shots!

    August 31, 2015
    • I do, but don’t worry, I only did it recently, I needed one that was more mobile friendly and the one I had before wasn’t. I like how it looks too, very simply. I love fog too, so wonderful, thanks Kirsten.

      August 31, 2015
  17. Love foggy images. I do the same – stop when I see something interesting. Have a great trip

    August 31, 2015
    • I love them too, it is good to do, but I wish I’d had more time to do it. Thanks Raewyn.

      August 31, 2015
  18. I love photographing mist and fog. It’s always a bit of a challenge, especially because most modern cameras are programmed to NOT capture the mist, but focus through it 🙂 Beautiful pictures!

    August 31, 2015
    • I think it is a challenge too, it can look like nothing was there. Thank you Marilyn.

      August 31, 2015

Comments are closed.

