Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Packing

ferry-williamstown-nikonD750-river-1066

Well I’m still not there, but I will be on my way tomorrow. So starting from today my posts are all going to be about my trip, at least for the next 4 weeks.

There is going to be one exception, and that will be tomorrow’s Monochrome Madness. I am ferry-williamstown-nikonD750-river-1131going to do it a day earlier and then will start my posts on my trip when I get to the USA. I will be working on MM today, and so far the entries for Urban look fantastic.

I’m a bit nervous, but overall very excited and really can’t wait to get there. I feel all over the place today. Hopefully I can get what I have to get done done.

Packing

That is what I am planning on doing today. I’ve got a list, and I’m slowing adding things to the ferry-williamstown-nikonD750-river-1027bag. It is almost full and almost everything is in it.

It is all the camera gear that I’m worried about the most. The Nikon D750 arrived the other day, along with a 35mm lens. I went out yesterday and played with it. I wanted to make sure everything was good with it before I went. I was rather impressed with it.

I was checking out the Joby website, they made the gorillapod I am taking and saw they had some rather good camera straps, so I am waiting today and hoping the one that has been sent to me arrives. I think it will be perfect for the trip.

My new Lowepro Pro Rnner II bag is filling up nicely. The two Tamron lenses are already in it, along with the D750 and the 35mm lens. I’m taking my 24-70mm as well. I have also decided to take my own camera as well . There are some things that I want to do and I don’t have the cables for the D750 to do them. They ferry-williamstown-nikonD750-river-1282haven’t taken up a lot of room in the bag, which is good.

The gorillapod and my friends travel tripod will be with my check in luggage, along with my some of my Formatt Hitech filters.

My Merrell hiking shoes have been packed and ready for some serious hiking, I don’t know if I’m ready or up for it, but I will see.

Digital Photography School

I’ve had another article published. I did one on my favourite or my go to lens, which is my Nikon 24-70mm, most definitely the lens I can’t live without.

Here is the link to the article,Β Writer’s Favourite Lens – Nikon 24-70 mm F2.8.

Photos

The photos today, as I said were taken with the Nikon D750 and I had the Tamron 28-300mm ferry-williamstown-nikonD750-river-1465lens on it. They both performed rather well. So I thought I would show you a selection of the images. A friend and I did a ferry ride from Southbank to Williamstown. It takes about 55 minutes for the trip and the same back. We got off at Williamstown and had lunch there, wandered around a bit and then caught it back.

It was a great way to spend the day and I would really recommend it. The best thing was that you go to see some places that you wouldn’t normally see.

I going to leave it here now, I have to get MM done and finish packing.

64 Comments
  1. Have a safe trip, Leanne–and have fun!

    August 31, 2015
  2. Have a safe trip and enjoy the States, Leanne! Take care! πŸ™‚

    August 31, 2015
    • Thank you Fabio, I”m sure I will. πŸ˜€

      August 31, 2015
  3. Great post Leanne – enjoyed the ‘industrial’ feel – which seems to be trending (at least on the home furnishing front πŸ˜‰ right now….have a fab trip to the US and looking forward to seeing it through your eyes!

    August 31, 2015
    • Interesting Deb, I’ve always enjoyed the look, but it is very hard to get close to it to take photos. Thank you, I’m sure it is going to be an amazing journey.

      August 31, 2015
  4. -N- #

    As they say, welcome to the USA! Looking forward to your adventures here!

    August 31, 2015
  5. Love the shots, Leanne! Are you taking any clothes with you?!? lol You know you are a true photographer when you opt to take all your camera equipment over any clothes!!! πŸ˜‰ I’m looking forward to seeing all your trip photos. Have a safe flight tomorrow and let us know you landed safely! You are going to have a blast, I just know it!

    August 31, 2015
    • Haha, well a few, lol. Well the photography gear took the most planning, the clothes were easy. Thank you Kirsten, hopefully it will be boring and uneventful.

      August 31, 2015
  6. I am sure you will have a great time! Enjoy!

    August 31, 2015
    • Thank you, I’m sure I will too.

      August 31, 2015
  7. Safe travels, Leanne!

    August 31, 2015
    • Thank you Robin, see you in New York.

      August 31, 2015
  8. It’s late summer but still warm, welcome to summer, Leanne! hehe. πŸ™‚

    August 31, 2015
    • Thanks for that John, I’m bring lots of layers, haha, yes, it will be a long summer for me this year.

      August 31, 2015
  9. Bon Voyage. Um just checking. This vessel isn’t – how – you are getting to the States πŸ˜‰ Look forward to seeing your US images!

    August 31, 2015
    • Haha, now wouldn’t that be amazing, but alas no, I’m flying there, well in a plane. Thank you Saxon.

      August 31, 2015
  10. Can’t wait to follow your trip to the US! Enjoy Leanne! Safe travels.

    August 31, 2015
    • Thank you Jodi, hopefully it will make sense, bit worried about the jetlag.

      August 31, 2015
      • I’m sure it may be a challenge – complete opposite times πŸ™‚

        August 31, 2015
      • Yes, but hopefully I will adjust quickly, I’m hoping to start that on the plane, I’m already tired. πŸ™‚

        September 1, 2015
  11. Awesome.

    August 31, 2015
  12. You’re coming to the U.S.? Will you make it to the West Coast?

    August 31, 2015
    • Yes, I’m spending the first two weeks around San Francisco then over to New York.

      August 31, 2015
  13. Looking forward to following your visit to the USA. M πŸ™‚

    August 31, 2015
    • That’s great to hear M, thank you. πŸ™‚

      August 31, 2015
  14. Welcome to the US. I am looking forward to seeing how you see my home…both the Country and the City.

    August 31, 2015
    • Thank you Teri, I hope I can get some great photos of it, and I will be seeing both, which is quite exciting.

      August 31, 2015
  15. Hi Leanne. If you want a personal tour of picturesque New Orleans, email me a drggautier@gmail.com. Gary, aka Daedalus Lex.

    August 31, 2015
    • Thank you so much for the offer Gary, but unfortunately I can’t get there this trip, but it is a place I would love to go to one day.

      August 31, 2015
  16. Sue #

    Have a great trip, Leanne!

    August 31, 2015
  17. Yay, safe travelling.

    August 31, 2015
    • It is here, well almost, thanks Carol.

      August 31, 2015
  18. Deciding what gear to take along is always a challenge. I finally invested in a wheeled carry-on. I hope they don’t ever put weight restrictions on carry-ons! I have a Canon 28-300, I really like it, but dang is it heavy. Safe travels.

    August 31, 2015
    • Apparently they do have weight restrictions, but don’t think they are too strict on imposing them. I hope not anyway. I have a wheeled bag to check in as well. Thanks Laura, think I”m all set, I hope anyway.

      August 31, 2015
  19. Happy travels Leanne!

    August 31, 2015
  20. Have a safe and wonderful trip. Can’t wait to see the USA through your eyes

    August 31, 2015
    • Thank you Nora, not long now.

      September 1, 2015
  21. I look forward to reading the posts on your trip Leanne. Bon voyage!

    August 31, 2015
    • Thank you Colline, hopefully they won’t be too boring.

      September 1, 2015
  22. No matter where you go, your work is always wonderful to see. Welcome to the states and I hope we are able to show you a great time and sights. Can’t wait to see what this country looks like through your eyes.

    September 1, 2015
    • Thank you Mike, and thank you, I am sure you will, it is going to be amazing. I am seeing so much more than I first thought.

      September 1, 2015
  23. Have a great trip Leanne πŸ™‚

    September 1, 2015
  24. Have a great trip Leanne, look forward to reading about it and seeing all your photos!

    September 1, 2015
  25. Bon voyage!

    September 1, 2015
  26. Traveling mercies to you and loads of magical photographic opportunities as you roam the United States!

    September 1, 2015
    • Thank you so much Judy, I’ve arrived and spent today out taking photos around San Francisco, I’m a very happy girl.

      September 3, 2015
      • That is so great. My brother lives out there and I hope to visit San Fran in the not too distant future for the first time!! Have a lovely time I know that San Francisco is one of the most photogenic cities. Look forward to seeing through your lens.

        September 4, 2015
      • Oh you do Judy, it is beautiful. Thanks, I hope you saw the photos already.

        September 6, 2015
  27. Weather is changing here. Mornings and nights are getting cooler. Depending on how long you are here in the US, you may see start of fall season. Don’t forget a light jacket, and clothes you can layer. (Sound like a parent here:)) Enjoy your trip!

    September 1, 2015
    • The day was cool today and windy, but the sites were fantastic. Thank you.

      September 3, 2015
  28. Leanne, as I type this, you may still be in the air. I hope your departure went smoothly, all bags checked without issue, your carry-on with your equipment safely tucked away in the overhead, and sleep easy to come by so that you awake rested and ready as you touch down in San Francisco! I can just imagine the delight you are going to experience when you see the city and all its has to offer photographically! I was just there last week, driving through on our way to the wine country. It was difficult not to be able to spend time there. I know you will enjoy every second!

    And then there’s NYC! Can’t wait to meet up with you there and experience you experiencing the Big Apple for the first time πŸ™‚

    Enjoyed your industrial images – different subject matter for you – and congratulations in yet another DPS post!

    September 1, 2015
    • As I write this I’m sitting in the kitchen and realize I am way behind on the commments. It was all good in the end and I got here, have been out a couple of times now, and it’s been fantastic.
      I can’t wait either Stacy, it is going to be a great day, I will email you and we can talk more. Thank you, it’s been good with dPS.

      September 4, 2015
  29. Safe travels!

    September 1, 2015
    • Thank you, have arrived safely and having a great time.

      September 4, 2015
  30. Thank you Leanne for your photo I am very busy just want to make sure I looked after your message still working on trying to correct our Word Press Not sure what has happened. Have a wonderful Month

    September 6, 2015
    • You’re welcome, thank you.

      September 7, 2015

Comments are closed.

