Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Arriving

Loved the tail cam, that was fun.

Loved the tail cam, that was fun.

After spending 21 hours to get here, I finally arrived in San Francisco. It was a longjourney that started with the plane in Melbourne being delayed almost two hours before take off. I missed my connecting flight and had to catch another one.

I hardly slept and have now been up for almost 34 hours. I need to sleep now, and I really hope this makes some sense. My first outing is tomorrow and I’m really looking forward to that.

I have a lot of catching up to do, but it might have to wait until tomorrow.

I took some photos with my phone, so will show you those for now.

118 Comments
  1. I am sure you are wiped out tired, Leanne. Rest well, welcome! 🙂

    September 2, 2015
    • Thanks John, got lots of rest and feeling much better now.

      September 4, 2015
  2. Welcome!

    September 2, 2015
  3. I can’t wait to meet you in person on Thursday!

    September 2, 2015
    • Well I hope you enjoyed it Anne, I loved meeting you.

      September 4, 2015
  4. Welcome to my home, California! Took that exact flight in March of 2014. It’s brutal!

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you, I have loved what I have seen so far. How horrible is it and so boring.

      September 4, 2015
  5. Dormis Aeternitas #

    ah bummer – flying is not what it used to be! Well welcome to US, get some rest and hopefully the rest of your trip will be very good.

    September 2, 2015
    • It certainly isn’t, thank you. I’m well rested now and have a ball.

      September 4, 2015
  6. Welcome to the US. Your on the opposite side of the country from me but I’m sure you’ll have a great time.

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you, I have been having a great time, will be in New York in just over a week.

      September 4, 2015
  7. Welcome to California, dear Leanne! 🙂

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you Fabio, so far it has been brilliant.

      September 4, 2015
  8. I feel your pain. We are doing the trip (again) in a couple of weeks. Have a great time.

    September 2, 2015
    • I’m glad it is over, I think I need something to help me sleep next time. It is horrible, I hope you have good flights.

      September 4, 2015
  9. Welcome to the U.S. Leanne! Hope you have a good rest and then a wonderful time!

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, I’m having a ball so far, so many great places to take photos.

      September 4, 2015
  10. Welcome to California! You couldn’t ask for better weather.

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you Melissa, oh yes, today was gorgeous.

      September 4, 2015
  11. Sleep well – you’ve earned it! We’d love to see more of the States, but the thought of the actual trip puts me off. have a lovely time, Leanne.:)

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you Sukie, I know that trip is horrible, I think something to make you sleep is better, might try that on the way home.

      September 4, 2015
  12. Welcome 🙂

    September 2, 2015
  13. Welcome to California!

    September 2, 2015
  14. Wish you a wonderful time Leanne, enjoy 😀 Very beautiful photos.

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you Irene, it has been great so far.

      September 4, 2015
  15. Welcome to SFO, Leanne.

    September 2, 2015
  16. I know that feeling, Leeann! Longhaul to Paris and I’m in Greece now. The ferries are long overnight trips too and everyone sleeps on the floor. I’m still sleep deprived! Have a wonderful and productive time. Great photos as alwaya. Jeni

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you Jeni, not great, but i’m feeling much better now, and getting plenty of sleep.

      September 4, 2015
  17. Sleep well and have a great time sweets 🙂 sounds like you need it!! Bev

    September 2, 2015
    • I slept for so long Bev,but really into it now and enjoying it. Thanks.

      September 4, 2015
      • Awesome Leanne..go explore! And get off the net! 😉

        September 4, 2015
      • What are you talking about I’ve hardly been on it, lol.

        September 5, 2015
      • Bwhahaaha 🙂

        September 5, 2015
      • 😉

        September 6, 2015
  18. Just a suggestion of two. Perhaps it may be of use.

    I usually try to adjust my metabolism so that I arrive at my destination ready to go according to the time it is there. I can sleep anywhere and I make sure I sleep on the plane if required. I take a blindfold and earplugs though I haven’t bothered using them on recent trips. My earplugs are industrial strength so I can take photographs in front of huge speakers at Blues Festivals (there should be a hole in the crowd there) and they cut out most of the noise on an aircraft. For my next trip I have bought a pair of Bose noise-cancelling headphones.

    If you have difficulty sleeping I suggest you should spend an equivalent amount of time meditating and relaxing. That may lead to sleep anyway. While these things are probably individual, if you can eliminate recovery time from a flight, that has to be a good thing.

    September 2, 2015
    • I couldn’t sleep on the plane, but I waited until evening when I got here and really recovered quickly.
      Sleeping hasn’t been a problem since I got here thankfully. so all good now, but thanks for the tips, I will remember them for the future.

      September 4, 2015
  19. Great photos sweetie! Glad that you made it to the U.S. safely! I hope that you get much needed sleep! Enjoy your trip here! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you Lisa, I did make it, I got lots of sleep, it has been great so far.

      September 5, 2015
  20. The start of a wonderful adventure.

    September 2, 2015
    • Oh yes, and it has been great so far.

      September 5, 2015
  21. Happy Holidays Leanne 🙂

    September 2, 2015
  22. Have a good sleep and a great trip Leanne! 🙂

    September 2, 2015
    • Thanks Adrian, sleep has been had and I’m feeling much better.

      September 5, 2015
  23. Welcome!!! Hope you get some sleep and then have fun in San Francisco. It is a beautiful place!

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you Jodi, I had heaps of fun with Dan in San Francisco the other day, amazing city.

      September 5, 2015
  24. My wife was there last year visiting friends; she LOVED it. Enjoy 🙂

    September 2, 2015
    • I love it too, beautiful. Thank you.

      September 5, 2015
  25. Welcome to the US! Hope your trip gets much better than it started!

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you Lois, i has, much better.

      September 5, 2015
  26. Have fun Leanne 😃

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you Julie.

      September 5, 2015
      • I’m away and Internet isn’t great … So looking forward to seeing your pics 😄

        September 7, 2015
      • I know the feeling Julie, talk to you soon.

        September 7, 2015
  27. WELCOME!!

    September 2, 2015
  28. First I had my silly moment were my thoughts were related to how did you get the camera up on the tail…. Then I figured.. Ahh! You took a photo of the media screen in your seat…..

    September 2, 2015
    • Yes that is how I did it, i love watching it.

      September 5, 2015
  29. Emma Winchesterr #

    Have fun there. 🙂

    September 2, 2015
    • I am sure I will Emma, thank you.

      September 5, 2015
  30. Welcome!!!

    September 2, 2015
  31. Welcome to America, I hope you have a great trip.

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, I am having a great time.

      September 5, 2015
  32. Welcome to the USA!

    September 2, 2015
  33. Welcome to America…our beautiful country!

    September 2, 2015
    • Thank you, it has been so gorgeous so far.

      September 5, 2015
  34. TPJ #

    Please don’t feel slighted if they don’t understand you. I speak ‘NYC’ and they have a problem with me also 🙂

    September 3, 2015
    • LOL, thank you, had a few moments like that, mostly me using a words that are different.

      September 5, 2015
  35. so glad you made it safely- and now rest!! I know what it’s like though your plane ride is even longer!

    September 3, 2015
    • I did Cybele it was very boring trip, and long, but worth it really.

      September 5, 2015
  36. Yay!! You’re here!!! 😃👏🏻👍🏻

    September 3, 2015
    • I am I am, and having a great time.Thanks Stacy.

      September 5, 2015
  37. Welcome to America, Leanne!!!!

    September 3, 2015
  38. Welcome to the USA. Sleep and then you won’t sleep rest of the trip…there’s so much to see and do and photograph and share with us:) Rest first, and then enjoy a lot. Yaz.

    September 3, 2015
    • I am very behind in my comments, so I am sure you have realised that I got lots of sleep and have been having a great time walking around and seeing what is here, or driving around. It has been amazing. Thank you Yaz.

      September 6, 2015
      • Enjoy, thoroughly!

        September 8, 2015
      • I have been so far, it’s been amazing.

        September 10, 2015
  39. Welcome to the USA!

    September 3, 2015
  40. Welcome to America 🙂 Take a long nap and enjoy. San Francisco is a GREAT city.

    September 3, 2015
    • I loved my day in San Francisco, it is beautiful. I seemed to have adjusted well to the time difference and have been getting lots of sleep. Thanks Marilyn.

      September 6, 2015
  41. Sleep well my friend and then go out and try to absorb all you can…

    September 3, 2015
    • I’ve doing just that Robert, it has been fantastic. thanks.

      September 6, 2015
  42. Watch out for the jet lag! It can really mess with your first couple of days as we found flying into Atlanta from London even though a shorter flight. Enjoy the states, will look forward to the updates and comparing our impressions of the place. Cheers 🙂

    September 3, 2015
    • I’ve been very lucky and jet lag hasn’t been an issue, I think sleeping for 12 hours and walking up in the morning was a great and got me going. I’m have a ball so far, it has been great and I’ve seen some great things. Thank you Saints.

      September 6, 2015
  43. Yay!! Welcome, Leanne!! Sorry about your delay. I look forward to following your travels. PS: I’m doing great!!

    September 3, 2015
    • That is great news, and I trust you will get better and better. Thank you, the delay was a pain, but I got here, eventually, just as well you weren’t meeting me at LAX then, though I got put on a later flight, we would have had more time to spend together.

      September 6, 2015
      • I actually drove my car yesterday, with my husband as a passenger just in case. I am walking very well and am almost ready to ditch the cane! I really hope your flight is on time on your return trip so we will have time to chat and sip a latte!!

        September 6, 2015
      • That is fabulous Pam, sounds like you are healing very quickly. I do as well, I would love to catch up with you there. Exactly. Love a latte.

        September 6, 2015
  44. Welcome to the USA. I hope you’ve gotten some rest by the time you read this.

    September 3, 2015
    • Thank you Tim, I have, and it’s been really good so far.

      September 6, 2015
  45. Welcome.

    September 3, 2015
  46. Welcome to the U.S.A. from this old ex-pat .. hope you enjoy you stay!

    September 3, 2015
    • Thank you, oh yes, I am enjoying it immensely so far.

      September 6, 2015
  47. Welcome to America, Leanne!

    The 34-hour day, ouch. But, now that you’re here, a few hours of sleep, you’ll be good to go. 🙂

    Safe travels.

    September 4, 2015
    • Thank you David, yes, I waited until the evening and went to sleep at 9 and didn’t wake up until 12 hours later, felt much better. I’ve been out and about nearly every day so far.

      September 6, 2015
  48. Welcome to the US Leanne!! Enjoy your trip ~

    September 4, 2015
  49. Welcome to the US! Are you just sticking to CA? How long will you be here? What are your plans??

    September 4, 2015
    • Thank you Carol, I’m here in CA for two weeks then New York for 10 days then home. That’s it for this trip.

      September 6, 2015
      • But how fun! I’ve never been to either! Are you with the family?

        September 6, 2015
      • No, I’m staying with friends, though I will spend a weekend with my sister in law, which will be fun and then back with my friends in New York.

        September 6, 2015
  50. 34 hours awake, thats about it. my rellies from the US don’t ‘get it’ as they think a 5 hour flight is too long. LOL

    September 4, 2015
    • It is a long one, and then I was told to wait until night to sleep that way I would get into the time zone easier. Feel really good now, thank goodness and it seemed to work well. Thanks Debi.

      September 6, 2015
      • the excitement of a new place to explore always helps ! lol

        September 6, 2015
      • It certainly does.

        September 6, 2015
  51. Welcome to the USA. Hope you enjoy your stay

    September 7, 2015
    • Thank you, I am so far, it has been great.

      September 8, 2015

Comments are closed.

