Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Sailing Around San Francisco Bay

sailing-water-san-francisco-bay-3068

Last Friday I spent the day with my brother in law Andrew. He took me to some great places and I got to experience some new things, but the thing that was the highlight for me was the sailing. He is co owner of a boat, the Drop Beer.

wpid-20150904_170206.jpg

There she is already to take out. I’d never been sailing before so it was going to be interesting, one to see if I would like it, and two would I get sea sick. I’m happy to report that I didn’t get sick, and I loved it.

sailing-water-san-francisco-bay-2981

I tried taking photos of the sailing, but what I wasn’t expecting ย how hard it would be to take photos. I managed some of the sailing bit and some of the landscape around the water.

sailing-water-san-francisco-bay-3028

The scenes where we went were very industrial, but it was a day of that. I love industrial stuff there is something about it, and I don’t mind photos of it.

Sailing was great but very wet, I got soaked. Andrew asked me if I wanted the camera to get wet and I said no, so he grabbed it and put it down below for me. I swear two minutes after that we hit a big wave and I got really wet. I mean really wet, right through.I think it added to the experience. It was very windy so the sea was very choppy. We got splashed over and over.

We were going to stay out and have a light dinner, but I was getting really cold so we went to the yacht club which had a fire instead. So instead of waiting for the sunset on the boat we watched it from the club.

sunset-san-francisco-redwoodcity-marina-01

I took this with my phone. I had put my camera in the car, so when I took this I ran to the car, but most of it had gone by then. I do have one to show you that I took with the D750, but will put it in the gallery.

It was a lovely way to spend the afternoon and I really had a lot of fun. I have a few more photos for you now.

I’m not having a lot of time to catch up with everything, but I will do things when I can, so if I don’t respond to your comment for a day or two, that is why.

90 Comments
  1. Another place I want to visit (and photograph) . . . only from dry land.

    September 7, 2015
    • What you don’t want to do it from a boat, it is a bit more interesting, lol.

      September 7, 2015
  2. Great story! I think that the family and I will start sailing very soon… it does look like fun!

    September 7, 2015
    • It was great fun, I hope you do. I love it, thanks.

      September 7, 2015
  3. How wonderful! Love the sunset photo! ๐Ÿ™‚

    September 7, 2015
    • It was Radhika, thank you.

      September 7, 2015
  4. โ›ต๏ธ congratulations on your maiden voyage. Welcome to the wonderful world of sailing. Beautiful images of the sailboat, the sunsets, and the sea.

    September 7, 2015
    • Thank you Lisa, I think I have done quite well really. Thanks, sailing is fun, I have some friends in Australia that have a boat and I really hope to go out with them as well.

      September 7, 2015
      • Wonderful that you plan to sail again! I’ll be sailing down Australia way in November for six months. Maybe I’ll see you on the high seas.

        September 7, 2015
      • I really liked it so I would like to do it again. Maybe you will, where will you be sailing?

        September 7, 2015
      • Predominantly Sydney

        September 7, 2015
      • Oh that’s a shame, if it was near Melbourne you could have come and said hello.

        September 8, 2015
      • I’ll definitely pass through Melbourne for a visit but not with the boat. She’ll stay in Sydney for the season.

        September 8, 2015
      • Maybe you should let me know and we can see if we can catch up.

        September 10, 2015
      • That would be fun! I’ll give you a shout when I head Melbourne way.

        September 10, 2015
      • Sounds good.

        September 10, 2015
  5. The sunset photo with your phone is fantastic!! Glad you are enjoying yourself Leanne! โค๏ธโ˜€๏ธ

    September 7, 2015
    • That’s John, I was quite surprised. I am really enjoying it, thank you.

      September 7, 2015
  6. Anne Sandler #

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying yourself Leanne.

    September 7, 2015
    • It has been fantastic Anne, and of course meeting you was an absolute highlight.

      September 7, 2015
  7. I’m happy you are having fun and experiencing new stuff here in the US! I know it’s not easy to take photos on a sailing boat, or any boat that’s not “ferry-like”, I’ve tried.
    Enjoyed the photos, as always.

    September 7, 2015
    • I certainly am, it has been very eye opening that’s for sure Tiny.
      Thank you Tiny, I think it is safe to say I will keep enjoying it.

      September 7, 2015
  8. Cool photos! San Francisco is a very interesting (and clean) town. (At least it was years ago.)

    September 7, 2015
    • I thought it was great too Tom, lovely city, thank you.

      September 7, 2015
  9. Beautiful pictures as usual.

    September 7, 2015
  10. You have better sea legs than me. I wouldn’t have been standing up to get any photos. That sunset is spectacular. I saw the best sunset of my life in San Francisco but I had left my camera in the car too far away to run and grab it). I wonder how many more lovely sunsets you will be treated to.

    September 7, 2015
    • I was sitting Laura, and it was very smooth when I was doing it, once the water got rough the camera was put away. that was almost like what happened to me, but then I did have my phone, so I have that. I don’t know, hopefully some more. would like a lovely sunrise on Wednesday morning when we are in Yosemite. Thanks Laura.

      September 7, 2015
  11. Great photos Leanne ๐Ÿ˜€
    I love sailing too, just not with too high waves.

    September 7, 2015
    • Thank you Irene, the waves were high, or I thought they were, loved it, not so much getting wet though.

      September 7, 2015
      • Some years ago I were at a big ferry, where we had around 18 meter high waves, which was not so funny. A little water is okay for me.

        September 7, 2015
      • OMG Irene that would have been scary, don’t think I would have liked that.

        September 8, 2015
      • Me neither Leanne, I became seasick.

        September 8, 2015
      • I guess it would make most people sick, waves like that.

        September 10, 2015
      • Yes, very few were in the restaurant that evening ๐Ÿ˜‰

        September 10, 2015
      • I can imagine ๐Ÿ˜‰

        September 10, 2015
  12. Great images …. as always – love the one with the sail that is going up .. or down. The power lines and towers are very powerful images. I love sailing … but don’t do it often enough. Just now I don’t know anyone with a sailing boat.

    September 7, 2015
    • That can be a problem Viveka, it is hard if you don’t know anyone with one. I really enjoyed the experience and can’t wait to go out on a friends boat when it comes back to Victoria. Thank you.

      September 7, 2015
      • Leanne, good for you …. just get out there so much as possible, because it’s so relaxing and it gives that feeling of total freedom. And you get a great tan too. *smile

        September 7, 2015
      • I am Viveka, not much time for the computer, but that’s okay, I’m having a great time. I’m keeping the sunscreen on, I don’t like tanning.

        September 8, 2015
      • Leanne, I’m so envy … just enjoy life .. because if we don’t it will take off without.

        September 8, 2015
      • I will, thank you, that’s for sure.

        September 10, 2015
  13. I am glad that your trip is proving fruitful.

    September 7, 2015
    • It certainly is, and have a great time too, thanks.

      September 7, 2015
  14. You are having a very fine USA experience – good for you!!

    September 7, 2015
    • I am Sheila, I’ve been very fortunate, it has been beyond my wildest dreams. Thanks.

      September 7, 2015
  15. Power towers are a forest of iron.

    September 7, 2015
    • Yes, I know just what you mean, I can’t help photographing them.

      September 7, 2015
  16. I sailed around the Hawaiian islands…sometimes it was fun; sometimes it was downright frightening! Too much wind and you will sail on one side while looking straight down at the water. I love, love the sunset photo. Gorgeous!

    September 7, 2015
    • We were in the bay, so it wasn’t scary at all. I am not sure how i would go with that sort of weather, haha. Thanks Mary.

      September 7, 2015
  17. Fantastic Leanne..and you know i LOVE thosr towers..clever name for the boat hahaha…i love the ocean and could happily set sail right now…wonderful images keep having fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

    September 7, 2015
    • Thanks Bev, those towers are great aren’t they. Very clever name and they are both very pleased with it. I loved it too, I can’t wait to go sailing again. I will do my best Bev, thank you.

      September 7, 2015
  18. Beautiful

    September 7, 2015
  19. Lovely sunset photo.

    September 7, 2015
  20. great shots, sounds so exciting! ๐Ÿ™‚

    September 7, 2015
  21. Glad you are having new experiences in the USA. I enjoyed my very short time in New Zealand and Australia. With all the popularity of sailing down under, I was surprised that you didn’t have your first sailing until you got here. Glad you did though. Continue your journey with new experiences.

    September 7, 2015
    • Thank you Sue, that’s great Sue, it is nice to experience new places. I haven’t really known anyone who has a boat that I could go on. I do now and we will be doing some sailing at some point. Thanks again, I’m sure it will continue to be great.

      September 8, 2015
  22. Beautiful pics. Here are some things we did in SF when we were there 2 yrs ago: https://webetripping.wordpress.com/2013/04/06/three-days-in-san-francisco/.

    Be sure to check out Napa Valley if you like wine!

    September 7, 2015
    • thanks, looks like you really had a great time and saw heaps.
      I will keep it in mind, but I don’t think I am going there this trip.

      September 8, 2015
  23. Looks like you enjoyed a beautiful day for sailing – the sunset was perfect!

    September 8, 2015
    • I did, the only bit I didn’t like was getting wet and then cold, but everything else was fantastic. Thanks Mary.

      September 8, 2015
      • Those waters can get really choppy around the harbor, I’m surprised you didn’t get sick. Nothing like a sunset blazing across San Francisco though – got to love it.

        September 8, 2015
      • I found that out Mary, very choppy. I didn’t feel sick at all, I loved it. I loved the sunset, amazing. thanks Mary.

        September 10, 2015
      • That’s great Leanne – so happy you are loving your trip to SF. One night my girlfriend and I were driving over the Bay Bridge toward the city with the most brilliant sunset against the black outlines of the SF city buildings – to this day it was probably the most amazing sunset I’ve ever scene. Have a great weekend ~

        September 10, 2015
      • I hope you had your camera with you. It is always disappointing when something like that happens and you can’t take photos. We didn’t drive on the bridge, but it was it was nice taking photos of it.

        September 11, 2015
      • Sad to say we were coming back from a meeting and didn’t have our camera’s ~

        September 11, 2015
      • That is sad, but glad you have the memory, which sounds like it was a vivid one.

        September 11, 2015
  24. As the former owner of a small sailboat, I never took pictures when we were sailing. I was too afraid of getting saltwater in my camera … or having my camera knocked into next week when we jibed! You did amazingly well! Glorious sunset.

    September 8, 2015
    • I took photos until just before we hit rough water and then it was put away. My brother in law has been sailing for a while, so he knew when it was time to put it away. I didn’t take photos when it was got rough. It was safely away.

      September 10, 2015
  25. I’m glad you’re enjoying it all. I really like the big electricity towers. They have an out of this world feeling. You’ve captured them well.

    September 8, 2015
    • Thank you Tim, I love those electricity towers, I think they say a lot.

      September 10, 2015
      • They are strange and there’re not all the same

        September 10, 2015
      • I’ve noticed that, I am strangely attracted them.

        September 10, 2015
      • They are one of the subjects I enjoy photographing.

        September 11, 2015
      • I do too, but I find them hard too, always interesting.

        September 11, 2015
  26. rainydayreflections #

    Looks like you’re having a wonderful trip. Thanks for sharing your photos. Will you be going to any other states while you’re in the US?

    September 8, 2015
    • I am, so far it has been amazing, a couple of things have been a bit disappointing, but overall I’m having the time of my life. Thanks.

      September 10, 2015
  27. Victoria #

    The sunset photo is absolutely stunning, and I like that you capture the “industrial stuff” so well too!

    Victoria
    http://awayweroam.com/

    September 9, 2015
    • Thank you victoria, the only really good sunset I’ve got so far.

      September 10, 2015
  28. Hey Leanne … I hope you enjoyed the sailing! Wonderful pics .. great iPhone shot ๐Ÿ™‚

    September 12, 2015
    • I did Julie, it was so much fun. thank you.

      September 13, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. USA Wanderings: Sailing Around San Franciscoย Bay | curiousphotograph

Comments are closed.

