Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Lake Tahoe and Above

sand-harbour-lake-tahoe-nevada-3481

This has to be quick this morning, we are on the move again and I don’t have a lot of time. I really wanted to show you some photos and give you a brief description of what we did.

So we went to Sand Harbour on Lake Tahoe yesterday and it was in Nevada part, so I got to visit another state. Pretty happy about that. It is like a summer resort, or a place where people go to swim and spend time when it is hot. There were people everywhere, and it being Labor Day weekend, there were lots more people.

We didn’t stay long, just had a look, then we went to the cafe there and I had a Wild Alaskan Salmon burger, something different. I know not different for here, but different for Australia. It was nice, I would have it again.

We did drive to Reno so the people I am staying with could visit their family and that was great too. It is nice being able to visit people in their homes and just hang out with them. I got to try my first Bundt cake, which was beautiful and very yummy, so much so that I had to bring a piece home with me, well back to here. I was told it is good with coffee for breakfast, guess I’m about to find out.

I am not going to say much more now. a busy day ahead and lots to see, I need to finish packing. I will leave you with a few photos. There is one of the beach area that is packed with people. I have to say that my biggest surprise of this trip has been how many people there are everywhere. We get lots of people in Australia, but not the numbers that they get here. I don’t think we have been anywhere where there hasn’t been lots and lots of people. You get used to it and accept it, nothing much you can do about it.

34 Comments
  1. Oh it is sooo fun to hear about your USA wanderings! Funny to think you have never tried Bundt Cake! πŸ™‚ Oh the small differences we discover culturally! Have you seen the movie, “My Big Fat Greek Wedding?” There is a funny part about Bundt Cakes. Happy wandering today. You are seeing some beautiful parts of our USofA!

    September 9, 2015
    • I’m glad you are enjoying them Jodi, I’m having a great time, and it is great to share the places I’ve been too. Yes, I’ve seen that movie, but not for a while, I remember something about a bundt cake, lol. thanks Jodi, I’m a lucky girl, I saw the most amazing places today. πŸ™‚

      September 10, 2015
  2. Yay Nevada! Bundt cake is fabulous too. Reno is a long way from Las Vegas, it gets really cold up there in winter. Glad you are having a great visit!

    September 9, 2015
    • I love Bundt cake too, it was so nice. I heard that about Reno, and they get snow sometimes, thanks John, I got very close.

      September 10, 2015
      • My new neighbors across the street moved to Vegas from Reno 6 years ago, they got tired of the cold up there – big surprise eh… So fun how you are getting a great tour! β€οΈβ˜€οΈ

        September 10, 2015
      • I love the cold, much prefer it over the heat, I would have stayed in Reno, haha.
        It is fun, I can’t believe how much I have been seeing. Thanks again John.

        September 10, 2015
      • Looking at 105F tomorrow here in the valley, 85F just now. Have fun!

        September 10, 2015
      • I don’t like temperatures like that, it has been very hot here today too, 104, I don’t like that. too hot. Give me a cold day anytime.

        September 10, 2015
  3. Glad things are going well. I’m always struck by how clean the lake water is in Tahoe. I used a polarizing filter to block the glare. Yes lots of people!!!

    September 9, 2015
    • They are Tim, Oh yes, the water is so blue too, really nice. I meant to bring my polarizer but forgot it, I have thought it would be good at times. Yes, so many people, everywhere we go, it sort of took me by surprise. Thanks again Tim.

      September 10, 2015
  4. On your next trip, Leanne, you must plan a visit to the South where you won’t run into nearly as many people and you can take lots of pictures in the country!! Have fun – the pictures are great!

    September 9, 2015
    • I will have to see what I can do Sheila, it would be good to see more, though I have seen a lot of great places. Thanks Sheila.

      September 10, 2015
  5. Tahoe is so beautiful, I hope you enjoy your trip!

    September 9, 2015
    • I have, it has been wonderful, thank you.

      September 10, 2015
  6. Like the mountain photo and the pine road best πŸ™‚ looks like ur having a nice trip. Enjoy ! πŸ™‚

    September 9, 2015
    • That’s fantastic, I am having a great time, thanks Anders. πŸ˜€

      September 10, 2015
  7. Looks like a fun and beautiful trip! Thanks for sharing the photos!

    September 9, 2015
    • It is both Maryann, it has been amazing. You’re welcome, glad to hear you are enjoying them, thank you.

      September 10, 2015
  8. People, food – wait until you get to NYC! πŸ™‚

    September 9, 2015
    • I know, though I expected lots there, it has taken me by surprise here, but I’ve started to just work with it. thanks

      September 10, 2015
  9. We haven’t made it to Lake Tahoe yet, thanks for sharing.

    September 9, 2015
    • Oh you should go if you can, it is really amazing, and the views around it are just stunning. You’re welcome, and thanks.

      September 10, 2015
  10. Cornelia #

    Leanne,main!y the reason that those places are so over crowded is because it was Labor Day weekend where it is crazy everywhere.

    September 9, 2015
    • But I’ve found this everywhere, before and after labour day, I think it is the population here, and there are so many more people than Australia, I just didn’t think about it, it was a surprise, though I understand it.

      September 10, 2015
  11. Ahhh…welcome to our neck of the woods (and lake!) I hope the smoke did not bother you too much. Looks like you had a beautiful day!

    September 9, 2015
    • thanks Ogee, we didn’t smell any smoke thankfully, we could see a smoke haze but that was all. We did, both days there were so good, I really hope I can go there again one day.

      September 10, 2015
      • And spend a week… πŸ™‚

        September 11, 2015
      • Now that would be fantastic. πŸ™‚

        September 11, 2015
  12. Beautiful post Leanne πŸ˜€

    September 10, 2015
  13. I’ve never visited Tahoe but it’s on my bucket list! So happy you got to experience it, and so thankful we get to see your gorgeous photos. What fun you’re having! As for the Bundt cake? Sooo yummy πŸ˜‹

    September 12, 2015
    • It is so worth it Stacy, there is the lake to see, but there are also some great mountains around it as well. I know, the Bundt cake was amazing. I had some for breakfast the next day, πŸ˜‰ thanks Stacy.

      September 13, 2015

Comments are closed.

