Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Mono Lake

mono-lake-tufa-california-9204

After we left Bodie we went to take a look at Mono Lake. A big lake in California that is known for tufas, large mineral deposits I was told. They are quite amazing.

We got there at the wrong time of day, unfortunately and it was really hot, but I got to see it. I haven’t been too concerned this trip with trying to do everything right, I am happy to just go with the flow and see where I end up.

Of course it would have been nice to have got there for a sunrise or sunset, but I didn’t, but I saw it, and in the end that has to be just as good.

I only have a few photos and I need to get going so here are some photos that I took at Mono Lake.

43 Comments
  1. Wow for a lake Leanne, all is so beautiful: -D

    September 11, 2015
    • It is and quite unusual with the tufa. Thanks Irene.

      September 13, 2015
  2. Beautiful

    September 11, 2015
  3. stunning shots, all of them 🙂

    September 11, 2015
  4. Like the desolate photos of the lake & the mountains in the background. Also the rock on the beach with the many different shapes/errosions.

    September 11, 2015
    • It is like that, though a very busy road goes right by it. It is another place that would have been great to have spent more time at. Thanks Anders.

      September 13, 2015
  5. Nice clicks!

    September 11, 2015
  6. Fantastic shots and utterly beautiful place, hope you enjoy yourself and happy trekking and snapping.

    September 11, 2015
    • Thank you Cattan, I am enjoying it, I’ve seen so many amazing things.

      September 13, 2015
  7. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I love that tiny bridge. ❤

    September 11, 2015
    • It was in a lovely oasis near the lake, but when you get to the lake it is very different. Thanks Jackie.

      September 13, 2015
  8. Very nice collection of photos!

    September 11, 2015
  9. Very nice images Leanne. Mono Lake quite a place to visit.

    September 11, 2015
    • It is, quite a place, thanks Tim.

      September 13, 2015
      • Yes a bit over photographed. The challenge is to find a new angle. Maybe some light painting.

        September 13, 2015
      • Perhaps, I’d never heard of it before, so I was just happy to see it really. I got to see it and then leave.

        September 14, 2015
  10. Mono Lake is quite a place. We love that area. It is one of my husbands favorite places to study Volcanoes 🙂 Happy to hear you are letting this trip come to you and enjoying what you see! Looks like another great stop on your west coast tour!
    If you are still in the area, Rock Creek Wilderness which is about 25 mi south on 395 is well worth the drive to. Drive to the end of the road once you turn right off 395, about 8 mi up into the mountains. There is an easy 1.5 mil hike (one-way) to alpine lakes and gorgeous cathedral granite peaks. It is incredible, our favorite place to camp, hike and explore with our boys. Enjoy!

    September 12, 2015
    • It is quite an amazing area and I’m so glad I got to see it. I’m back in San Jose now Carrie, so I think I might have to leave that for another one. I’m off to New York on Tuesday. Thank you.

      September 13, 2015
  11. I really do understand that go with the flow thing when travelling. Much as we’d wish to be able to control everything like being at certain sites at exactly the best light, it is just not always possible. But, despite that, there is always serendipity which gives us those great unplanned surprises!! May they all be great for you and you go home with many photographic treasures.

    September 12, 2015
    • It isn’t is it Judy. I think too that when you are relying on other people to show you around, then sometimes that really is all you can do, especially if they aren’t photographers themselves. Thank you so much Judy, the whole trip has been amazing so far, and I have loved it so much.

      September 13, 2015
  12. I marvel at the way you manage to take such amazing photos while being on a whirlwind tour in the USA.

    September 12, 2015
    • I don’t know about that Peter, I’m trying to see what I can get, but the trip has been that, a whirlwind, I’ve had so much fun and seen so much, I think I’ve been very lucky. Thanks.

      September 13, 2015
  13. Mono Lake is beautiful!

    September 12, 2015
  14. Anne Bonney #

    I recently flew over Mono Lake (twice). It is quite distinctive from the air – good to see it from ground level, too!

    September 12, 2015
    • That would have been an amazing site Anne, did you get any photos? It is incredible, I loved visiting it. Thanks Anne.

      September 13, 2015
  15. Too often we photographers loose sight of a vacation in order to get the “perfect” shot…as you say, sometimes just being there has got to be enough.

    September 12, 2015
    • I think so, I love taking photos, but I am taking photos as I experience places, as opposed to going somewhere just to do that, it is quite good. Thanks Robet.

      September 13, 2015
  16. Packing so many places into your trip makes it impossible to be at every place at just the right time. You’ve got the right attitude about making the best of it. You still came away with a nice set of images.

    September 12, 2015
    • Thank you, I think so too, when people are being generous you have to go with it and accept it. I haven’t minded at all really.

      September 14, 2015
      • You are going to need a vacation from your vacation when you get home!

        September 14, 2015
      • I think I might too, but things will get very busy when I get back. Oh well, might get some time here and there.

        September 15, 2015
  17. Leanne: Mono Lake has always held a facination for me after a “spur of the moment detour,” in 1967, down a dry, heat blasted sandy path-like “road,” (seeminging isolated from this planet,) to it southern edge. A friend and I were on an adventure of a lifetime, in my MGB roadster, before the US interstate highway system and vastly increased travel capabilities ensued. I’d love to hear your comment on our encounter with Mono Lake, found in my 9 part series of that trip, specifcally “Day 8” …. http://wp.me/p37YEI-S1 Marty (M :-))

    September 13, 2015
    • What a great story Marty, sounds like you had a lot of fun. I don’t know that I have time to look at your post now, I don’t get a lot of time to spend on the computer, perhaps remind me about it when I get back. Thanks

      September 14, 2015
  18. Thank you Lee Ann wonderful photo’s

    September 13, 2015
    • You’re welcome, thank you.

      September 14, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. USA Wanderings: Mono Lake | City To Country Magazine

Comments are closed.

