Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Jellyfish at the Monterey Bay Aquarium

monterey-bay-aquarium-jellyfish-4415

Almost ten years ago my husband was here in the States and he raved and raved about a trip he did to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. He said it was one of the most amazing places he had seen. I really didn’t think I was going to get there, but the other morning we didn’t have much on so we decided to go and take a look.

We didn’t have a lot of time, and I took Ā a lot more photos, but thought today I would just show you the jellyfish. They were so amazing, and the displays for them were fantastic. Low light and constantly moving jellyfish proved to be a challenge, but it was one I was happy to take on.

I am not going to say anymore today, I will just leave you with some photos from the jellyfish at Monterey Bay Aquarium.

79 Comments
  1. You did a fine job of capturing them. The jellyfish are mesmerizing – you are lucky you could concentrate!

    September 14, 2015
    • They are that. I concentrated on taking photos instead, lol, thank you Donna.

      September 15, 2015
  2. I LOVE jellyfish! I draw them frequently as they are perfect subjects for ink drawings. I, therefore, not only love your photos but am also inspired by them. And now I truly must get to Monterey (again technically but hopefully without food poisoning) to see that Aquarium.

    September 14, 2015
    • They would be great for pen and ink, I’m so glad they have inspired you, if you draw any let me know. I hope you get to go again. Thanks Laura.

      September 15, 2015
      • If I find time this week, I might just use your photographs as the basis of some sketches. I will be sure to share the drawings with you if I do.

        September 15, 2015
      • That would be lovely, thank you, will be interesting to see what you do. I hope you can find some time.

        September 15, 2015
  3. Stunning!! šŸ™‚ Natures works of art. How beautifully captured Leanne, challenge won I think. How on earth did you get such clarity behind a glass and quick enough not to get blur.. fantastico!

    September 14, 2015
    • Oh yes, just stunning, Thank you Karen, I had to use a high ISO, but they were really well lit up in there in the tanks, so that made it easier, and the room they were in was quite dark.

      September 15, 2015
  4. There is definitely something cosmic and amazing about jellyfish!

    September 14, 2015
    • I think so too, really amazing, I love watching them. Thank you.

      September 15, 2015
  5. I love the jellyfish!

    September 14, 2015
  6. amazing! so glad you got to see it!!!

    September 14, 2015
    • I think I had to really, my husband would have been upset if we hadn’t. Thanks Jodi.

      September 15, 2015
  7. Did you use flash or just highISO?

    Whatever the technique, the photos are great.

    September 14, 2015
    • No flash, it reflects too much on the glass, but I did up the ISO and opened up my aperture.
      Thank you disperser.

      September 15, 2015
  8. You are having such a wonderful trip, Leanne! I’m so happy for you. Great posts of places I love.

    September 14, 2015
    • I am Jane, it has been such a fantastic experience, I can’t believe how lucky I’ve been. Thank you.

      September 15, 2015
  9. Very nice pictures! You must see the Atlanta Aquarium…it’s mind blowing good. Continue to enjoy your trip. Yaz

    September 14, 2015
    • Unfortunately I won’t be going to Atlanta this trip, might have to add it to the list for next time. I do love aquariums and I love the challenge of photographing them. thanks Yaz.

      September 15, 2015
  10. glorious colours! beautiful photos šŸ™‚

    September 14, 2015
    • Thanks Debi, they are spectacular to photograph.

      September 15, 2015
      • you’re having so much fun, you’re not going to want to leave! lol

        September 16, 2015
      • Haha, I am and yes, it will be hard to leave, but I miss my cat, lol.

        September 16, 2015
  11. Beautiful photos. Glad you are having a great trip, Leanne! Our turn on Thursday!

    September 14, 2015
    • Thank you Ardysez, I am and wow, have you been before, it is so cool.

      September 15, 2015
  12. Amazing photography!

    September 14, 2015
  13. I haven’t been there for a long time but I love the jelly fish there and at other aquariums. I find watching them glide up and down almost like meditating. šŸ™‚

    September 14, 2015
    • The jellyfish at the Melbourne Aquarium are nice, but they haven’t got them anywhere good where people can take photos, it was a real disappointment. I love to photograph them when I can. šŸ™‚ thanks Marie.

      September 15, 2015
  14. Amazing photos, Leanne. I have seen the exhibit and you do it justice! I must re-visit and also Henry Cowell Park. Check out the sunset right now!

    September 14, 2015
    • I missed the sunset, I haven’t been lucky with them since I got here. Thank you Susan, I love the exhibit, the Henry Cowell, they are great.

      September 15, 2015
  15. I enjoyed this vicarious view of those jellyfish!! Undersea invertebrates are so interesting and beautiful!

    September 14, 2015
    • I think so too Judy, they are so amazing to watch. Thank you.

      September 15, 2015
  16. Cool shots!
    We love to watch them at the Shedd Aquarium! They sure are unique, beautiful animals! (Currently, due to global warming, overfishing, and pollution, they are overpopulating the oceans and displacing fish.)

    September 14, 2015
    • Thank you Tom, I didn’t know that, but I’m not surprised.

      September 15, 2015
  17. Stunningly beautiful!

    September 14, 2015
  18. I’m glad your wanderings are taking you to some of the best sites in northern California!

    September 14, 2015
    • That’s good to hear, I think I have been very fortunate really, it’s been an amazing journey so far. Thank you.

      September 15, 2015
  19. Ooooooohhh wow šŸ™‚

    September 14, 2015
  20. I love jellyfish, they just seem to exude grace. To me their movement is like an underwater dance. Glad you got to stop in.

    September 14, 2015
    • They do, that is a great word for them. I am really glad too, thank you.

      September 15, 2015
  21. Great images Leanne! I was in Monteray in February. A fabulous aquarium and area in general!

    September 14, 2015
    • I think so too Robyn, my husband went on and on about it, so I really wanted to get here if I could and I’m glad I we were able to find some time to do it. Thanks, so I will see you on Thursday.

      September 15, 2015
  22. Stunning Images šŸ™‚

    September 15, 2015
  23. They are beautiful, although I don’t like to find them in the sea when I’m swimming. Lovely photos Leanne.

    September 15, 2015
    • No, I think I would like to find them in the sea either, I’ve heard how much they can sting. Thank you Chris.

      September 15, 2015
  24. Great job of capturing them, Leanne!

    September 15, 2015
  25. Just stunning .. Love the clarity and colours šŸ˜€

    September 15, 2015
  26. Nice job on those captures! It’s hard. Beautiful jellyfish.

    September 15, 2015
    • They are hard to get, a lot didn’t work, but I was happy I got these, thanks Elen.

      September 15, 2015
  27. I’ve been enjoying seeing these stunning photos on Facebook so having them all here in a collection is just wonderful. The colours are amazing.

    September 15, 2015
    • Thank you Carol. Have you been there? A gorgeous aquarium.

      September 15, 2015
  28. FANTASTIC!! These are incredible, Leanne! The clarity and crisp colors are amazing. I really need to take another class from you on how to shoot in low light. I stink at it. While you excel in it :mrgreen:

    September 15, 2015
    • Its all experience I think and knowing how to use your camera. thanks Kirsten.

      September 16, 2015
  29. Sandra #

    Beautiful photos

    September 16, 2015
  30. I was at the Monterey Bay Aquarium several years ago. It had the same impact on me that it had on your husband. Anytime I talk with anyone who’s going to CA I tell them to please go to the MBA if they find themselves anywhere near it. I consider the jelly fish exhibit the eighth wonder of the world! It still is vivid in my mind. Thank you for the familiar photos! It would be great if you could do a slideshow using the classical music that’s played in that room! I’m so, so glad you got to see it!

    September 18, 2015
    • I must admit I really went because my husband raved about it, I am really glad I did though. I loved the jellyfish. I don’t remember the music, I must listen to the small video I did of it again. Thanks Mary.

      September 19, 2015
  31. Hi Leanne. I finally found the time and opportunity to draw jellyfish inspired by your superb photographs. I put a link to this post of yours in my blog post so as to give you full credit for the inspiration. Thank you for getting my creative juices flowing.
    Best wishes
    Laura

    September 23, 2015
    • Hey Laura, I had a look and they look fantastic, I meant to leave a comment, but I ran out of time, will try and do it now.
      You’re welcome, anytime, really. Thank you.

      September 24, 2015
      • Thank you for being gracious enough to permit me to use your photographs as the inspiration for my drawings.

        September 24, 2015
      • You’re welcome, anytime, I like it when my friends find inspiration from my images.

        September 24, 2015
  32. lmarea3070 #

    Beautiful pics, Leanne!

    September 23, 2015
  33. Impressive photos. Lovely!

    September 26, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Inky Jellyfish | A Pict in PA

Comments are closed.

