Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Wharfs in Monterey

monterey-wharf-boats-birds-sealions-4186

Like most people I love a good wharf and I’m really enjoying the ones here. Before we went to the Monterey Bay Aquarium the other day we went for a walk along a wharf first. It was good to see a mixture of boats, sailing boats, fishing boats, and, I guess, luxury boats. The coast guard was there as well.

monterey-wharf-boats-birds-sealions-4107

There were lots of birds flying around, and it was great to see more pelicans. They are so different to the ones we see in Australia. Ours are not as dark, and have a lot more white.

Another bird that has been a bit of a shock are the seagulls, they have them on steroids here, they are huge. I’ve never seen them so big. The ones in Australia are half the size.

monterey-wharf-boats-birds-sealions-4036

I also enjoyed seeing all the sea lions that were sunning themselves on the rocks next to the wharf. They are quite cute and considering the numbers of them they really didn’t smell which was good. That has been a lovely surprise and, again, something very different to what we normally see.

monterey-wharf-boats-birds-sealions-4186

It was a gorgeous morning and perfect for photography. The sky was pretty clear and the water looked very inviting, well inside the harbour it did.

We really didn’t have a lot of time to wander around as we also wanted to get to the Aquarium. We had to be back by a certain time so I could pack up and get going to my sister in laws. Speaking of her my time here is coming to an end, but it has been fantastic getting to know her a lot better, and I can’t wait for us to catch up again. I’ve had such a good time here and I have laughed a lot. We seem to have a similar sense of humour, that always helps.

I am going to leave you with a gallery now.

63 Comments
  1. Loved the sea lion close up.

    September 15, 2015
    • They were so docile, it was lovely just to watch them.

      September 15, 2015
  2. Gorgeous images and love the sea lion with the mouth wide open. Utterly awesome and can see you are enjoying yourself with your family and sight-seeing.

    September 15, 2015
    • Gotta love a sea lion yawning, lol. I am Cattan, I’ve been having an amazing time. Thanks

      September 15, 2015
  3. Great set of photos. The seals are so cute

    September 15, 2015
    • Thank you Nora, I love them too.

      September 15, 2015
  4. I feel lazy like the sea lion:) Great photos you have posted! Love it. Thanks.

    September 15, 2015
    • I know that feeling,Thank you.

      September 15, 2015
  5. Beautiful pictures! Glad you’re enjoying the U.S. and getting to see our lovely west coast!

    September 15, 2015
    • Thank you Krysten, it has been great to see this part of the country, I’ve loved it.

      September 15, 2015
  6. Awesome photos sweetie! I love the sea lion ones a lot! I am so glad you are having a wonderful time! Hugz Lisa

    September 15, 2015
    • Thank you Lisa, the sea lions are so funny, and yes, I’m having the time of my life.

      September 15, 2015
  7. Such lovely photos. Wonderful to experience a new land with the visuals of your journey.

    September 15, 2015
    • Thank you Olga, that is wonderful to hear, and I’m so happy to see you are enjoying my travels.

      September 15, 2015
  8. Ron #

    Hello Leanne I have been following your USA wanderings and found them interesting especially a couple of photos which have really grabbed me as in a previous email about the redwoods. As you said the pelicans, one of my favourite subjects, are darker than our Australian counterparts. As to your comment about the sea gulls I am wondering if they are Pacific Gulls which are a larger bird. regards Ron.

    September 15, 2015
    • I love pelicans and love finding them. They are much darker here. Yes I think you are right and they would be a different sat of Seagull but still a shock to see how they are. big

      September 16, 2015
      • woops, it published too soon. thanks Ron.

        September 16, 2015
  9. our family loves that part of California. We’ve vacationed in Carmel/Pebble Beach many times. We loved the aquarium!

    September 15, 2015
    • treat part of the slate, I loved it and I hope to see it again one day. thank you.

      September 16, 2015
  10. Lee #

    Glad you are enjoying your trip and the large sea gulls. πŸ™‚ Great photos as usual.

    September 15, 2015
  11. This looks like an amazing vacation! Love the photos.

    September 15, 2015
    • it really has been, thank you.

      September 16, 2015
  12. Beautiful wildlife and water photos.

    September 15, 2015
  13. Looks you are having a fantastic time wandering around in the US! I’m really enjoying all the pictures you are posting from your trip :mrgreen:. Some days I really resemble that sea lion yawning!! Ok, maybe most days. Lol

    September 15, 2015
    • Iam having a great time and I’m glad you are enjoying the photos. I know what you mean about the sea lion haha. Thanks Kirsten

      September 16, 2015
  14. Time for another time change? Glad you are having a fun experience here.

    September 15, 2015
    • It is Iam at the airport now waiting for my flight to New York, see you in a couple of days.

      September 16, 2015
      • Safe journey – looking forward to it…

        September 16, 2015
      • Thanks Robert, I’m here.

        September 16, 2015
      • Will monitor email to see your plans, good to have you on the east coast.

        September 16, 2015
      • It is nice to be here Robert, will reply to your email soon. Looking forward to tomorrow.

        September 16, 2015
  15. Seagulls on steroids made me laugh. They are a protected species and can get quite large and very obnoxious, partly because people feed them although they are not supposed to. Love the sea lions. Looking forward to your east coast roamings.

    September 15, 2015
    • Yes they do the same in Australia. Though ours are half the size. thank you.

      September 16, 2015
  16. What a great day..those pelicans are very dark…and i love the seals..i am a tad concerned on the size of seagulls haha…beautiful images that make me miss the smell of the sea πŸ™‚

    September 15, 2015
    • It was, they are, they almost took dirty, but they aren’t. I love the sea lions everywhere. Sounds like a trip You need south. Thanks Bev.

      September 16, 2015
      • I think i do my friend πŸ™‚

        September 16, 2015
      • Maybe plan something for when I get back and I can show you around.

        September 17, 2015
      • Sounds good..have a few things going on her that need attention at the moment..fill you in later but sounds good to me πŸ™‚

        September 17, 2015
      • Okay, well I will always be ready for you. Take care.

        September 17, 2015
      • Will do sweets and thanks..we do a great excursion you and i hahaha πŸ™‚

        September 17, 2015
      • I think so too, always fun. πŸ™‚

        September 17, 2015
      • πŸ™‚

        September 17, 2015
  17. I love the sea lions and birds! Very playful and cute. I’m happy for you and glad your trip is going so well!

    September 15, 2015
    • Thank Cynthia I’ve seen Some amazing things, I feel very lucky. Thank you.

      September 16, 2015
      • I hope you enjoy the east cost as much as the west!

        September 16, 2015
      • I’m sure i will.

        September 16, 2015
  18. It’s lovely to see your (phographic) take on a few places I have actually been to too. So glad you’re getting to take this trip!

    September 15, 2015
    • Thank Tom, what a great thing to say. I hope I am doing the places justice.

      September 16, 2015
  19. Beautiful pictures.

    September 16, 2015
  20. Sandra #

    Glad to hear you are having a great time. And I am loving the photos, keep them coming. My fav was yawning sea lion.

    September 16, 2015
    • I am having a great time Sandra, it has been amazing so far. How cute is that sea lion yawning, we were disturbing his sleep. I will keep them coming. Thanks

      September 16, 2015
  21. Lovely Gallery! Hope you are enjoying our country! We moved back here from Bangladesh in July.

    September 16, 2015
    • Thank you Marland, I was enjoying it, I’m in New York now, but have some great photos and memories of California.

      September 16, 2015
  22. Great to come across photos of a place which I have wonderful memories of: the sunlight, the pelican, gulls and sealions. There used to be a few artists making crazy looking piles of stones. They’d look like they could topple any time, but actually they were very stable. Are they still around?

    September 16, 2015
    • I didn’t see any, but we were there mid week and it was early, they may be there more on the weekends. I’m glad you enjoyed seeing the photos, thank you.

      September 16, 2015
  23. these are marvelous!!

    September 17, 2015
    • Thank you Cybele. Great place to take photos.

      September 19, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. USA Wanderings: Wharfs inΒ Monterey | City To Country Magazine

Comments are closed.

