Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Arriving in New York

Yesterday I said good bye to California, San Jose, San Francisco and my sister in law. I had a lovely few days with her and really enjoyed getting to know her a lot better. I did have to leave and very early yesterday morning we made the drive to the airport so I could board my plane.

I am finding the airports here very strange. Not being allowed to have people take you to the gate is sad. You have to say good bye outside and then wait inside at the gate by yourself. They tell you to get there so early that it is so boring if you are there on your own. They also miss out on lots of parking fees because everyone gets dropped off. I’m glad in Australia that you can take people to the gate and then wait with them.

I did arrive in New York late yesterday, the flight was fun, but uneventful. I did make friends with a German girl and that helped pass the time.

wpid-20150915_133904-01.jpeg

This isn’t a great photo, I took it with my phone on the plane as we were coming into New York. I was getting excited at this stage. This part of the trip has been in the planning for over a year and I was finally here.

The apartment we are staying in is nice, and very convenient. It has a little balcony and you can see a lot.

If you click on this you can get a bigger view. I did a panorama of our view from the balcony.

wpid-20150915_192509.jpg

This was taken last night as well from the balcony, the sun settingΒ and being reflected in the buildings. I got a sunrise this morning too, but might see if I can get a better photo. I have 10 days to do it.

 

I will leave it there today, I have to get out and start exploring.

96 Comments
  1. Awesome photos.I’d like to go there too.

    September 16, 2015
    • Thank you, oh yes, I can’t wait to explore.

      September 16, 2015
  2. Had a great time living and working in the Big Apple in the 1970s. I am sure you will have a super time.

    September 16, 2015
    • Do you think it has changed a lot since you lived here? I am really looking forward to getting out and seeing it. Thanks

      September 16, 2015
      • From what I understand it’s a much newer and nicer city. But I cannot speak from personal experience, only from what I’ve read.

        September 19, 2015
      • I don’t really know, I know it was cleaned up in the 80’s, but this is my first visit here, so who knows. Maybe you will get to visit it yourself one day.

        September 21, 2015
      • Perhaps, one day.

        September 21, 2015
      • I hope so.

        September 21, 2015
  3. Enjoying your trip. Looking forward to NYC. BTW, I am of the age that I remember being able to go out on the tarmac, separated from airplanes by only a four-foot chain link fence, and being blasted by the warm rush of air from the turbo-props. The last hug good-bye before they walk across the pavement and climb the stairs to the plane.

    September 16, 2015
    • I have seen that, but yes, not something that is done much anymore. Thanks for the image Joseph, such a different time.

      September 17, 2015
  4. Welcome to my town. My husband, Marc, gives history tours in Greenwich Village http://www.marcvillagewalk.com
    It would be fun to show you a few interesting spots.

    September 16, 2015
    • That could be fun Sherry, would you be with us, and how much does it cost?

      September 17, 2015
      • Yes I’d be there. I think it costs $20 – check web. You can contact us through the site. Location, time and topic up to you. I’m at B&H camera store. Hope that is on your itinerary.

        September 17, 2015
      • Oh yes, I definitely want to go to B&H, I think we are going to drop by there today. We would love to the history tour, so will contact you through the website.

        September 17, 2015
  5. Have a wonderful time in New York. There is a lot to see and do there. I look forward to your photos.

    September 16, 2015
    • Thank you, there is, trying to working out what to do first is hard.

      September 17, 2015
  6. Welcome to my home town!

    September 16, 2015
  7. Love the aircraft photo! Glad you are enjoying your trip very much Leanne. I remember the day when we could take our loved one to the gate to see them off, i miss that. You are very lucky to still do that in Australia. Happy hunting!

    September 17, 2015
    • Thanks John, I’m a bit late getting back to comments, hasn’t been a lot time for spending on the computer. I am glad we can still do that in Australia, it is a nice thing to do. Thanks John.

      September 18, 2015
  8. Welcome to the east coast. Hope it measures up to the fun you had in CA. I read in the comments you are going to B&H, we went to their Optic Event this year and it was fabulous, such a great bunch of people. I, too, am old enough to remember being allowed at the gate and on the tarmac (and being able to smoke on a plane). How times have changed.

    September 17, 2015
    • Thank you, and so far so good, the only thing I’m not liking about New York is the weather. I did go to B&H, but I didn’t like it much, too many people and the place was crazy. I didn’t look around, just got what I wanted to get and got out. LOL. Oh yes, smoking on planes, I remember that you could do it, but it was a while ago.

      September 18, 2015
  9. It is great photograph from the plane. Fascinated me. But of course the view from the balcony is amazing too. Thank you dear Leanne, you take us with you too πŸ™‚ Love, nia

    September 17, 2015
    • Thank you Nia, and you’re welcome. πŸ™‚

      September 18, 2015
  10. Yes, it is very sad. We used to get dropped off at the gates at U.S. airports also. I loved hanging out at the gate with family or friends.! Some really great memories πŸ™‚ But then 9/11 happened…and unfortunately changed so many things that used to be lovely and innocent.

    Enjoy your trip to NYC.! It’s a great place.!

    September 17, 2015
    • It is a nice thing to do really. I love meeting people who are coming off planes at the gate, it is really good. We had changes initially after that, but they have relaxed again.
      Thanks Chirose, I am loving it so far.

      September 18, 2015
      • Yes, I used to love meeting people at the gates also.! Gosh, I really hope some of our imposed changes relax again too. I’m glad to hear you’re having fun πŸ™‚

        September 19, 2015
      • It is a lot of fun to do, nice to see a friendly face when you get off the plane. I don’t know if they will, I suspect not. Thank you.

        September 19, 2015
  11. I am looking forward to your view of New York. It is always a treat to get a fresh perspective.

    September 17, 2015
    • Thank you Mary, I am enjoying the city so far.

      September 18, 2015
  12. Beautiful photos! Would love to go there sometime!

    September 17, 2015
    • Thank you, I hope you get to come here, it is a wonderful city.

      September 18, 2015
  13. Well, Leanne, you’ve arrived in a different world than the west coast. And your arrival is well timed. Most of the important photo galleries now have shows that are open. August is a dead time for galleries in NYC. I suspect that you have done the research but here is one of the sources I go to http://art-support.com/galleries_ny.htm One of the galleries not listed in the Anastasia Photo http://www.anastasia-photo.com I think it is excellent. Call to make sure they are open. The International Center for Photography is closed but Aperture is worth the visit.Ask and you can get a gallery guide from one of the galleries you visit.
    I enjoyed walking around Midtown early in the morning just as the sun was rising. The Flat Iron and Metropolitan Insurance buildings are worth visiting early in the morning as the light bounces right. As you’ve become aware there are outstanding reflections from the glass buildings in Manhattan. Enjoy!!

    September 17, 2015
    • I certainly have Tim, I don’t know that I will get time to visit any galleries. It would be nice, but I really want to see the city.I have plans to so that, see those buildings early morning, hopefully my feet will recover from all the walking. There are some great reflections, I have been looking for them., thanks Tim.

      September 19, 2015
  14. Have a great time – NYC is an amazing place! Are you going to be visiting any other east coast locations? I’m 4 hours south of NYC.

    September 17, 2015
    • Thank you Krysten, it has been amazing so far, I’ve been loving it. No not this time, it will be just here that’s all. I will be on my way back to Australia this time next week, scary to think it is almost over.

      September 19, 2015
  15. Yay! You arrived! I don’t think I could live in NYC at this stage in my life but we do very much love to visit – which is obviously much easier now that we live in America. You are going to have an absolute whale of a time in the city and will be exhausted every night I am sure. Are you staying in Midtown Manhattan? I always find that easier as a base, largely because I prefer walking everywhere as I hate the subway. I look forward to seeing what you do and, of course, seeing your photographs.

    September 17, 2015
    • I have, I have, though I’ve now been here a few days, and have been out exploring. I know what you mean about the exhaustion, I am that, and my feet, well they aren’t happy.No, we are staying Upper West side, it is still pretty convenient. We have been walking and catching the subway. Thanks Laura.

      September 19, 2015
      • Nice spot, the upper west side. When I was in NYC with friends in March, we walked from the tip of the Battery back to the area around the Empire State Building one evening and at pace too, under a minute per block. It had been a while since my feet had ached so much but it was great to see the city transform from daylight to dusk to dark.

        September 19, 2015
      • I quite like it here, I actually think I like the uptown more than the downtown. The walking was hard, but yes, very much worth it in the end. Thanks Laura.

        September 21, 2015
  16. a huge wow from me- never having been to New York!!

    September 17, 2015
    • It is quite a place, I think I like it. Thanks

      September 19, 2015
  17. Wow, I’m sure I will see a total different NYC through your lens than through my own. Delight yourself … and don’t miss out High Line, Chelsea Market and new the Whitney’s art museum. All in the same area. Delight yourself.

    September 17, 2015
    • I don’t know about that, it is hard to take photos that are different when it is so well photographed, will see what we can do. so many great places to see. I’ve been to see quite a few good ones already. Thanks Viveka.

      September 19, 2015
      • Leanne, I’m sure we will see some fantastic angles .. of NYC through your lens. I know there is so much to do .. see. A city that constant offers new adventures. Enjoy your stay.

        September 19, 2015
      • I don’t know, I hope so, there is that, a lot to do, it is quite overwhelming really. Thank you Viveka.

        September 21, 2015
      • Leanne, I know I will … a bit envy on you … being over there .. and I’m sitting here. *smile – NYC is a lot to take in during a couple of days.

        September 21, 2015
      • It does have a lot to take in, I’m usually the one that is always jealous, so it is nice to see that others are jealous of me. πŸ˜€

        September 21, 2015
      • I get easily little jealous on people’s travels, especially if I like the place myself. I hope that is a healthy sign. *laugh … are you still in NYC???

        September 21, 2015
      • I think it is a healthy sign, and yes still in NYC, I leave on Friday.

        September 21, 2015
      • Wow, that was a great stay … even more envy now. *smile

        September 22, 2015
      • It has been a great stay, I’ve been very lucky.

        September 23, 2015
  18. Yippee! Have a wonderful time.

    September 17, 2015
  19. Great view and nice capture πŸ™‚ New York is nice to visit.

    September 17, 2015
    • Thanks Anders, it is nice to visit. πŸ™‚

      September 19, 2015
  20. How exciting! Enjoy your visit

    September 17, 2015
    • Thank you, I’m sure I will.

      September 19, 2015
  21. Amy #

    Remarkable shots of NY! Enjoy your staying. Looking forward to see more beautiful photos, Leanne. πŸ™‚

    September 17, 2015
    • Thank you Amy, I’m sure I will enjoy it. I had a big day out yesterday, but I haven’t had time to really go through them yet. πŸ™‚

      September 19, 2015
  22. Woohoo New York. It’s like s whole different world from California. Can’t wait to hear your impressions and see your photos!

    September 17, 2015
    • I am finding that too Jodi, no pretty landscapes here, lol. Thank you.

      September 19, 2015
  23. Have a good time. We, Americans, also miss the interaction at the airports, but I think you can understand, that their are people who threatened our security by hijacking planes, and destroyed lives and buildings, so now there are no longer non passengers through to gates nor lockers in airports.

    September 17, 2015
    • Thanks Sue I understand, but it is still sad.

      September 19, 2015
  24. Enjoy the city! High Line, the new Whitney, the Hudson River Park – and that’s just one area… so much to explore. Have fun.

    September 17, 2015
    • Thank you Jane, They all seem to be places people are recommending, I think High line is on the list but I don’t know about the others.

      September 19, 2015
      • If you hit the High Line, the walk on the Hudson near there with the old piers is a fantastic photo op. Certainly looks like you are hitting the highlights and having full days! Enjoy!

        September 19, 2015
      • I went walking around the Riverside Park yesterday and saw some of the old piers then, amazing, loved them. I am having a great time so far, time is running out. Thanks Jane.

        September 21, 2015
  25. Every time I see one of your posts with the words New York in them, the song of Frank Sinatra’s New York, New York keep coming into my head. I hope its in yours too lol! πŸ™‚ Loving your adventure and photos.

    September 17, 2015
    • Thanks Karen, I saw that and the song has been in my head ever since. πŸ˜‰

      September 19, 2015
      • haha great my job is done! πŸ™‚

        September 19, 2015
      • Very well done I think. lol

        September 21, 2015
  26. Looking forward to your eye in New York

    September 17, 2015
    • Thanks Vince, I hope you enjoy them.

      September 19, 2015
  27. I agree with you about missing the fun of going to the gate. We have many quirky things here 😊.

    September 17, 2015
    • I am noticing that too Pam, some good things and some not so good things.

      September 19, 2015
      • Some things here go a little beyond quirky, but I’ll stop there for now :-).

        September 20, 2015
      • I have been noticing that, lol. πŸ™‚

        September 21, 2015
  28. So glad you are finally in NYC and am loving your photos already. I especially like the panorama.

    September 17, 2015
    • I am, I am, and I am glad too, so nice to finally be here. Thank you, the place I’m staying is great for panoramas.

      September 19, 2015
  29. Ah NYC. Almost took a job there…on Wall St. (but not with a financial firm). It could have been an amazingly different life than the one I have.

    Actually, I don’t mind going to the gate alone or just with the people who are with me. Plus the gates and concourses are usually VERY crowded. If family and friends could go along…it’d be a nightmare. Trying to find a seat or charging station.

    September 17, 2015
    • It could have been, nice to wonder like that Clay.
      It is nice to have people there, I think, especially since they want you to get there so early, they can help make the time go faster. It is getting so boring to travel. I’m so glad in Australia you can still do it. I was surprised what you said about the seats, I haven’t had any problems, there have been seats everywhere.Thanks Clay.

      September 19, 2015
  30. Have a good time in New York. There are lot of places to see there like Adirondacks, Capital Saratoga, Catskills, Central New York and others. Waiting for your photos.

    September 17, 2015
    • I have been so far, it’s been really good. Wow, I am starting to think 10 days won’t be enough, lol. Thank you.

      September 19, 2015
  31. I loved NYC … Looking forward to seeing your images Leanne

    September 17, 2015
    • I am loving it too, quite a fun place. Thank you Wes.

      September 19, 2015
  32. Hey Leanne .. Have the best time! How is your clicking finger going πŸ˜ƒ

    September 17, 2015
    • Thank you Julie, the finger is doing fine, but the feet are a bit worse for wear, lol.

      September 19, 2015
  33. One of the coolest cities ever! Have a great time!

    September 17, 2015
    • Yeah, it’s pretty good. I’m having a good time so far. Thank you.

      September 19, 2015
  34. I was just there yesterday! Enjoy it..NYC is a wonderful place and a photographer’s playground.

    September 18, 2015
    • I am, it has been fantastic so far, and yes, so much to take photos of. Thank you.

      September 19, 2015
  35. Really great photos. I commented on some of them individually too. I can’t help myself sometimes. I love them.
    Have a good time and enjoy your visit to NY and the east coast US.

    September 19, 2015
    • Thank you, and I saw your comments, it is fine to do that, it is nice. I’m sure I will.

      September 21, 2015

Comments are closed.

