Skip to content

USA Wanderings: Being Introduced to New York

newyork-twilight-city-

I had my first full day in New York yesterday. We did a few things, but not a lot, today is the day that we will be doing a lot as I catch up with a few other WordPress Bloggers. It is going to be a great day, but first I should tell you about yesterday.

newyork-twilight-city-streets-5089

So far New York, or Manhattan, has been great. I haven’t been at all disappointed. It was as I imagined it and more. I loved the streets and the architecture is fantastic. I had to make sure I didn’t just look up all the time.

newyork-twilight-city-streets-5226

I got to go on the subway, which was really fun. I know a train is a train, but they are all different really. The stations were just like I’ve seen in movies and television shows. It was hot down there though, and I did have trouble with my ticket, You have to be so fast when you use them. So with the subway, that’s a tick and I’ve done that now.

newyork-twilight-city-streets-5109

I know not a great photo, but this is my first glimpse of the Empire State Building. It was fun to actually see it in the city. We do have plans for going up it, but not sure when. One of those iconic tourist things that you have to do.

newyork-twilight-city-streets-5123

Some street art we saw. It is nice to see what is around. Close to this place we had lunch. If you have seen my Instagram photos then you know what I got. I had a hot pastrami and corned beef sandwich from the 2nd Avenue Deli. OMG is was HUGE, but also delicious. I shared mine with a friend, so it wasn’t too bad. I’ve never seen anything like them. Great lunch.

newyork-twilight-city-streets-5119

I’ve seen the traffic police on television and such, but it was nice to see one in person, though this one was not happy. Something happened and she was pretty annoyed with it. I guess the fact that it was hot and humid, well I thought it was, so that and drivers doing silly things would tick off anyone.

We wandered around the streets for a few hours just looking and taking photos before heading back. I was tired and I know today is going to e a big day so I wanted to rest up a bit. However as the sun was setting I had to set my camera up on the balcony to see what I could get.

newyork-twilight-city-streets-

We can’t see the sun setting where we are, but we can see the reflections in the buildings. It is still really nice. Being on the 23rd floor means we can see a fair bit, and the balcony is also on a corner, so we get 180 degree views, even better. We took photos until it was past the blue hour.

I believe the image above and the last image in the gallery are both HDR’s. I don’t do them very often anymore, but I think I like them for night photography. I used Lightroom to do them. I thought it did a pretty good job.

I shall leave you with a gallery now of some more photos from yesterday.

97 Comments
  1. Chrysler tower, Grand Central, Waldorf Astoria. Three great sights.

    September 17, 2015
    • I’ve been to Grand Central, seen Chrysler tower from afar. So much to see. Thanks Victor.

      September 19, 2015
  2. Reblogged this on O LADO ESCURO DA LUA.

    September 17, 2015
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Wow! You have gotten photos of places in new ways. Every single image makes me smile – even the grumpy traffic police. I loved the golden reflections from the sunset.

    No need to reply… save time and energy for New York. πŸ˜€

    September 17, 2015
    • I don’t know about that Jackie, I did have fun though. the reflections were great.
      Thanks Jackie, of course I can reply. πŸ˜€

      September 19, 2015
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Leanne Cole Does Big Apple

    September 17, 2015
  5. Loved the pictures

    September 17, 2015
  6. If you get a chance go to the “Top of the Rock” which is the top of the Rockefeller Center. We went in the late evening to catch the sunset. Very crowded, but the view is amazing. Enjoy NYC!

    September 17, 2015
    • I am trying to get to as many places as I can, but it is hard too, only limited time, but doing what I can.

      September 19, 2015
  7. Anne Sandler #

    Love the view from your balcony. Will you be visiting the 9/11 memorial? I wasn’t able to get there during my last two visits to New York. I was with family on Long Island.

    September 17, 2015
    • It is a good view Anne, you can see so much. I think so, at this stage it is on the list. That’s a shame, I hope you get to it one day. Thank you.

      September 19, 2015
  8. Great NY shots. I can tell where you have been πŸ™‚

    September 17, 2015
    • Thanks Sherry, I bet you can. I went to B&H, what a crazy place.

      September 19, 2015
      • They have do have everything. Went to a camera shop in Sydney and they’d been there too. I like to go to the great free classes at B&H Event Space.

        September 20, 2015
      • I can imagine they do. I buy from them all the time online. That’s cool that they offer free classes. It would have been nice to spend more time there, but I didn’t want to leave my bag.

        September 21, 2015
  9. interesting photos that you have made from New York.

    September 17, 2015
  10. Amy #

    Thank you so much for this grand tour, Leanne! I like all the shots you took. Enjoy the rest of the trip. πŸ™‚

    September 17, 2015
    • You’re welcome Amy, Thank you so much, I’m sure I will. πŸ™‚

      September 19, 2015
  11. It looks like you are having a great time on your wanderings. Did you take any photos of the flatiron building? That is one of my favourites but I have never managed to get a decent photo of it. I look forward to seeing what you see next.

    September 17, 2015
    • I am Laura, it has been wonderful so far, and I’ve seen so much. I haven’t been to it yet, but it is on the list. I am hoping to go early one morning. Thanks Laura. πŸ™‚

      September 19, 2015
  12. Glad to see your wonderful photographic talent here in New York. The city offers infinite possibilities. M πŸ™‚

    September 18, 2015
    • What a nice thing to say, thank you, lots and lots of possibilities, hard to know where to go. πŸ™‚

      September 19, 2015
  13. Awesome photos. Although I’ve been to NYC several times…your visit is making me want to visit again. Keep enjoying!

    September 18, 2015
    • Thank you, I hope you get back, it is a great city. I am really enjoying photographing it.

      September 19, 2015
      • I love your site. I know you have many awards under your belt. But, I still wanted to recommend it to more people via the Blogger Recognition Award. I know not everyone participates in the awards system, and if you don’t, I completely understand. But you can find the details at http://wp.me/p6s2CE-8i if you’re interested. Either way, please take it as a sign of my regard for your site!

        September 28, 2015
      • I don’t really do awards, but I did have a look at your post and I think you made a mistake as you didn’t nominate me. Which is fine too.

        September 28, 2015
      • I did nominate you for sure. I went back to check as I did this 2 in the morning:) I couldn’t have not nominated you. I love your site too much.

        September 29, 2015
      • I couldn’t see me there, I will have to take another look, maybe when I’ve had enough sleep.

        September 29, 2015
      • yes:)

        September 30, 2015
      • πŸ˜€

        September 30, 2015
  14. Your photography is beautiful! You’re so talented!

    September 18, 2015
    • Thank you, what a lovely thing to say.

      September 19, 2015
  15. Always interesting to see what catches the eye of folks who visit my town. There’s so much to see and so much to do that many strangers find it all disconcerting, even a bit unnerving. Have a wonderful time.

    September 18, 2015
    • A lot is catching my eye, that’s for sure. I have to say, I could understand that, but I am just going with it. I say I want to see something and we go. I know I won’t see everything, but that was always going to happen. Thank you Myron.

      September 19, 2015
  16. Welcome to one of my fave cities! You must try the cheesecake at Juniors! yummmmm

    September 18, 2015
    • Thank you, I’ve never heard of that place, where is it?

      September 19, 2015
      • There are various spots in Manhattan. The one I went to was in the theater district.

        September 21, 2015
      • I will have to see if I see it anywhere, though time is starting to run out.

        September 22, 2015
      • Oh no! Here is the location of the one I went to…
        1515 Broadway
        New York, NY 10036

        September 22, 2015
      • Will have to see, we are running out of time to do so many things.

        September 23, 2015
  17. Almost 20 years ago my late brother-in-law Walter Panknin, an engineer from Germany representing a large manufacturing company, fell in love with New York. Your magnificent photos now tell me why.

    September 18, 2015
    • What a lovely story Peter, well I hope I can show you more. Thank you for sharing that.

      September 19, 2015
  18. Reblogged this on The Peter and Gertrud Klopp Family Project and commented:
    This is the city that Gertrud’s twin brother liked so much. It was love at first sight.

    September 18, 2015
  19. Have a great time – if you like toy stores – try to go to the FAO Schwartz store (if it’s still there). There’s a keyboard on the floor that you jump on to play the notes and was used in the Tom Hanks movie “Big”

    September 18, 2015
    • I remember it from the movie, I don’t know if I will get there, so much to see and the days are running out. Thanks Nora.

      September 19, 2015
  20. Looks like you are having a wonderful trip Leanne; your photos are just great as I knew they would be. Safe travels.

    September 18, 2015
    • I am Andrew, it has been wonderful. OH, thank you Andrew, that’s nice to hear.

      September 19, 2015
  21. Are your feet worn out yet?! ENJOY!!!

    September 18, 2015
    • O M G my feet are killing me, I’ve done so much walking, they are not happy. LOL, they will get used to it, thanks Jodi.

      September 19, 2015
      • i figured lol

        September 20, 2015
      • Hahaha, seems to come with traveling.

        September 21, 2015
  22. Glad you enjoyed this great city!

    September 18, 2015
    • I am Marland, it has been great so far. Thank you.

      September 19, 2015
  23. Stunning set Leanne. Just really shows up NY how I imagine it.

    September 18, 2015
    • Thank you James, I hope I am doing it justice, still so much to see.

      September 19, 2015
      • You certainly are Leanne πŸ™‚ I look forward to more of the same…

        September 19, 2015
      • Thank you James, that is nice of you to say. I am hoping there will be lots more. πŸ™‚

        September 21, 2015
  24. love the reflections in the top shot, Leanne

    September 18, 2015
    • I really want to get more buildings like that. Thanks Graham.

      September 19, 2015
  25. Fantastic Leanne. Oh, you make me want to visit New York…right now!

    September 18, 2015
    • Haha, perhaps you should lol. Thanks Carol.

      September 19, 2015
  26. I’ve never seen sunset on a city rendered so beautifully. Thank you.

    September 18, 2015
    • I’m sure you have Linda, but thank you for that, lovely compliment.

      September 19, 2015
  27. I love reading a visitor’s perspective of Manhattan. Great photos by the way. Did you do any of my three favorite things? My post today http://undisputedorigin.com/2015/09/17/three-manhattan-favorites/

    September 18, 2015
    • I done the walking Brooklyn Bridge, not skyline, and I’ve been to Central Park, but I won’t be biking it, not one for cycling. Thanks Madeline.

      September 19, 2015
  28. Great pics, but none of the Statue of Liberty!

    September 18, 2015
    • Give me time, haha, it is on the list, I did see it from a distance the other night from the Brooklyn park, thanks.

      September 19, 2015
  29. Now that is a beautiful visual. I love nighttime cityscape photography.

    September 18, 2015
    • Thank you, I love cityscapes like that.

      September 19, 2015
  30. I recommend going up in the Empire State Building at night…you beat the lines and the view is fantastic. Also the 9/11 memorial is stunning and moving at sunset.

    September 18, 2015
    • Yes, that is what I want to do. I planned on doing that as well, hopefully I won’t run out of time. Thanks

      September 19, 2015
  31. One of the most photogenic cities in the world – wonderful.

    September 18, 2015
    • It is certainly very pretty in a city sort of way. Thanks.

      September 19, 2015
  32. Love your pictures and I love NY! Can’t wait to see more of your trip!

    September 18, 2015
    • Thank you Molly, I have so many photos, it might take me months to show them all.

      September 19, 2015
  33. I’m glad to see you’re getting out and seeing things. Great night shots.

    September 18, 2015
    • Thanks Tim, I am, and it has been really nice.

      September 19, 2015
  34. Great pictures of a fun city…love hearing your impressions of the States…

    September 19, 2015
    • Thank you Robert, it has been an interesting experience, see you soon.

      September 19, 2015
  35. I love the late afternoon and night shots!

    September 19, 2015
    • Thanks Cybele, good time to shoot.

      September 19, 2015
  36. Wow! You are really experiencing a true NYC visit! There are some really fabulous nooks and crannys – try to explore Greenwhich Village – which is quite interesting. Ahhhhh – pastrami – my husband who is French had his first pastrami in NY during our dating time – he loved(s) it so much every time we go to NY we go to a spot that serves pastrami! LOL Enjoy the Big Apple! I am really looking forward to seeing your views of my hometown! Debby

    September 19, 2015
    • I am, I am being shown around by people who know the city which has been fantastic. Oh yes, I liked the pastrami sandwich, but not sure I could have too much of it. I know there are plans to go around to lots of places, but not sure where, time is running out. Thank you Debby.

      September 19, 2015
  37. Welcome, welcome!!! We ordered up some nice weather for your stay, too!

    September 19, 2015
    • No, I’m not liking the weather, too hot and too humid, hopefully it will cool down. I don’t like hot weather, cool is good. LOL. Thank you Lori.

      September 19, 2015
  38. Joe #

    Great images and I hope you are enjoying “The Big Apple” Leanne. Sorry I didn’t get a chance to meet up with you in your travels but you did get to meet Stacy and Robyn who are both a lot of fun to get to know πŸ™‚

    September 19, 2015
    • I am enjoying it Joe, oh yes, a shame, I love meeting people when I travel, that is the fun part. Thanks Joe.

      September 20, 2015
  39. Oh wow! I knew you would love it .. fantastic Leanne!

    September 19, 2015
    • Thanks Julie, it has been fantastic.

      September 21, 2015
  40. great shoot

    September 20, 2015
  41. Great shots! Glad you enjoy d the USA

    September 29, 2015
    • Thank you, it was quite a trip.

      September 30, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. USA Wanderings: Being Introduced to NewΒ York | City To Country Magazine
  2. Studio 365: Day 261 | thechangingpalette

Comments are closed.

